We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #23 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
WAYNESBORO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A friend and I took advantage of some time off at La Perla. We were impressed with the decor the, all the restaurants, the room, the service.
The main pool is very cold. There is no walking in, you just have to jump and get it over with.
If you elected to upgrade to Royal Service, the pool is heated.

The gift shop is typical-lots of souvenior type items, some clothes/bathing suites/shoes. Incredibly overprcied. Do you not forget you sun tan lotion because you will pay $30+ USD there.

Sunest Cafe has the best Guac and Chips, Vento-Mediterranean and Bana-Asian Fusion/Sushi were our favorite restaurants. La Palapa was prob the 2nd. I did not care for anything at the Mexican restaurant on site, but come to find out I'm a south-west mexican food fan, not an eastern fan. Lots of red sauce and mole sauce (not may favorite).

They YHI Spa is a wonderful experience. The locker is a little space, but there are not a lot of people scheduled together. The rejuvination pool is warmer than the main pool so it is relaxing and the spa tubs are not too hot, just right! I got a deep tissue massage-ask for Alejandro. Wonderful.

We used Best Day Travel for our transportation to and from the airport. THey also offer wonderful excursion (for an addition fee) like swimming with the dolphins, zip-line tours, atv tours. Etc. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and make sure to get your information exactly correct.

I would come back to this resort again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUZANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time and write about your experience in our Resort.

It is very important for us your comments about you stay in our Hotel, it is heartwarming to read that you enjoy the room, the service and above all the experience culinary that we offered in our restaurants.

Also we would like to thank you for your comment about Alejandro and his excellent work, please be sure that he will know about your review.

Would be a honor for us take care of you on your next stay.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,497
    1,389
    417
    150
    111
See reviews for
974
5,538
100
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,943)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Playa del Carmen in Sept and stayed at Paradisus. Our expectations were high since we had been to the one in Punta Cana. When we arrived, the room they gave us wasn't really clean. It was really dusty and you could see fingerprints on the mirror. We complained and they changed us to a room facing the inside of the resort. It wasn't too bad. However we had paid additional for the room we initially reserved. They didn't mention anything to acknowledge this, we reminded them of this at our check out. They gave us a free night, which I doubt we will be using. The food was ok. La Palapa Grill was our favorite restaurant. The ceviche at Bana was overrated. Mole was good, but the waiter we had had his mind somewhere else. The beach was nice. I didn't find it as rocky as some of the comments made by other reviewers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments about your past stay in Paradisus La Perla.

It is very essential for us to know about the experience of our guest, to know what we have to improve, in this case about your room and about the restaurants, thank you very much. Please be sure that we will be working on those details and all your comments has been sent to the manager involved in order to avoid issues like those you have mentioned.

If you gave us the opportunity of stay again with us, we are confident that you will live the real Paradisus experience and you will notice our improvements.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Spent 4 days/3 nights at La Perla March 7th - 10th and all I can say is I'm going back this summer! As soon as we got off the cab we recived amazing service. It took us about 50 steps to get to the front desk and 4 people had already "serviced" us. A doorman, greeter, wet towel, and welcome drink all before checking-in. We already knew our stay would be amazing! We decided to upgrade to a swim-up room which was totally worth it, I only wished the pool wasn't as cold as it was this weekend. Everything was clean, modern, comfortable and sophisticated. Our favorite restaurant was La Palapa which is only for Royal Service but it was open for everyone during the dinner service. It was upscale and delicious! Every restaurant has the highest quality of food imaginable. No cheap put together buffet, it was a high quality menu. Delicious rib eye steak at The Grill and sushi at Bana. The only restaurant that I found disappointing was Mole, some appetizers were okay but the main courses need some serious help! You will see some kids here and there but only at Gabi Club and maybe the hallways during dinner time since kids are allowed in all restaurants until 8 PM. Besides that there were no children near us at the pool or even the beach. Yhi Spa was so worth it, too! This resort was made to just be and relax. No need for tours, excursions, etc. Just a piece of paradise here on Earth for us to disconnect from our busy lives and just enjoy. What really made this facility outstanding was the staff that made our stay memorable. Carmen from housekeeping, Antonio from the pool, Rigo the bartender at M Bar, Yenisse from Yhi Spa, and Ivan at the buffet. They took care of our every need and things we didn't even know we needed yet. We always tipped the employees, although they don't expect it. It just felt right to appreciate all they did for us! This is the perfect destination to get away from reality and relax. Try spending a whole day laying down under a private palapa by the pool sipping on mojitos and piña coladas, oh and if you get hungry Antonio can bring some nachos, wings, or white ceviche! Also, don't forget to order a Rigo martini from Rigo at the M Bar. This is his signature drink made with apple juice, cucumber, and mint; super refreshing and delicious! My husband and I already have plans to go back, this has turned into our favorite getaway destination!

Room Tip: Swim-up rooms definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEO-DFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest

It is an honor for us to read your comments about your recent stay in our Resort.

The most important thing for us is that our guests feel the warmth of our service since their arrival, thank you for sharing that part of your experience. Also is very significant for us read how you enjoyed every portion of our hotel the restaurants, the facilities and the YHI Spa.

Carmen, Antonio, Rigo, Yenisee and Ivan will know how they enriched your experience with us.

Will be a pleasure to host you again and we will be waiting for you.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We went to this resort in November 2012 and would definitely return. The staff treats you like royalty and are super accommodating. We stayed on the adults only side and had a junior swim up suite. That probably would have been really cool had the temperature been warm enough to actually use it. Great idea just the wrong time when we went. All the food was wonderful and even had great vegetarian options to my surprise.

I had a massage/body wrap in the spa and that was fine, nothing spectacular. We had a credit so that is what we used it on but I don't think I would have paid money for the service since the moment you walk in the stress seems to melt away anyway at the resort.

The resort was not crowded on the adults only side which was nice. You only had to deal with children when you ventured over to the restaurants on the shared side of the resort, then there was a plethora of kids and strollers. Yikes! Only negative thing I would say is that some of the best restaurants were on the shared side and you couldn't get away from the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klhellenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time and share your experience with futures guest.

We are glad to read that our facilities, the service and the different restaurants make your stay memorable. We have guests with different needs, and we really try to please any of the special requests for them.

It is an honored for us know that you are thinking in come back, and be sure, we always will do our best to please our guest.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

we stayed here for 9 days in feb 2013. i have stayed at many resorts and this by far was the best for service and food quality. excellant food, great service everywhere in the resort we would definately go back. this is expensive but worth it if you want great service and a comfortable relaxing place to holiday. i would suggest spending the extra to stay in the family concierge part of the hotel as is a better faster check in. the family concierge pool is nice and warm just tough at times to get a good chair around the pool. the kids club was great for our 4 year old. he spend time there every day and was always excited to go there. very nice beach. quiet at night but is close to playa del carmen and 5th ave. danella was our concierge and she went out of her way to have surprizes for us like an aniversary cake and surprize bubble bath waiting for us. we used the spa and had a nice couples massage. these are expensive but not a surprize. the room was clean with a great view and was very quiet with a comfortable bed. would suggest this resort and will go back for sure.

Room Tip: with kids choose the family consierge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdkj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest

It pleases us to know you found our service satisfying and helpful.

At the Paradisus La Esmeralda Family Concierge, we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence.

We will let Daniela and the Kids Zone know about your comments, they will be very glad to hear that they help you to have a memorable experience with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon here in paradise.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Myself and a friend have just returned from a great week at La Perla...wonderful service, surroundings, food and attention to detail. From a smooth and seamless checkin, surprising up-grade, to the departure .
The hotel has a very "zen" like ambience, and any one aquainted with the "W" chain will see a resemblence... very interesting decor and layout. Great comfy beds and pillows with a roomey bathroom and wonderful waterfall shower. The pool area is large and spacious, and little difficulty getting chairs in the morning. To those who have complained about the pool temperture... we found it refreshing and took 2 seconds get used to it... I overheard a couple complaining endlessly to front desk staff on one occasion, yikes... get a grip... next time stay home if your that picky.... The food was very, very good, at times we were floored by the presenation , and service was exceptional. Particular highlights were Vento, Fuego and La Palapa ( went twice it was so good , and were greeted by name on the second visit by our waiter, nice touch) Not so good was The Market, but I'm not a fan of an all-meat dinner :). Great fun had at all the after dinner bars, good shows to enjoy and the wait-staff again at all of them , had a great attitude and quick service. Location of the hotel is great (albiet a little nervous on our initial drive in... neighbourhood is sketchy) We walked into town by beach a few days in, enjoyed some bar-life on the beach and cabbed back ( $10.00) Second time in for serious shopping we cabbed, worked out well. The beach , while some have complained about it, was great.... a little narrow, but not an issue. Also had no problems getting into the lovely warm water... only a very few rocks, which were no issue. Just walk down to the beach and you'll notice some hotels with a beach made up of sand-bags and you'll appreciate Paradisus........ we were impressed with the ever-present welcoming attitude of all staff at this hotel, They've done a great job of training their staff ! I would not hesitate to recomend this hotel to my friends... even the incredibly picky ones, which to be honest, is also me :) Looking forwarding to heading back sometime with a group in tow.....:)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mern_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for selecting Paradisus La Perla for your recent vacations and for taking the time to describe and specify the areas that you enjoy the most.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the food quality and variety in most of our restaurants especially at La Palapa, Fuego and Vento; and the facilities in general.

We will be waiting for your prompt return to Paradisus Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at Royal Service and I would recommend it to anyone. We stayed at La Perla and everything was great. Special gratitude for great drinks and service at Royal Service pool bar provided by Mario and Diego, Arturo was great too at providing excellent service for any daily needs. All restaurants are great, special thanks to Victoria from Fuego for being very pleasant and attentive. Passion restaurant was exceptional in terms of very unique service and unique food presentation and preparation as well.
Beach was rocky and with seaweed but we love pools more than beach so heated Royal Service pool was great enough.
Would come back with kids, but we have three and this hotel doesn't allow five in one room.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor, which is highest, at Royal Service section with partial ocean view and every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpac0t04ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for selecting Paradisus La Perla – Royal Service for your recent vacations and for taking the time to describe and specify the areas that you enjoyed the most.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the food quality and variety in most of our restaurants, the facilities and the attentive service provided by Victoria, Mario, Diego and Arturo. All of them will be informed about your kind words expressing they were your favorite employees from the whole trip.

It would be a pleasure for us if you come back to live again the Paradisus experience.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
651 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,145 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,408 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus By Melia Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing