We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all inclusive experience ever with a Royal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #21 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We just got back from one week of vacations at the Paradisus La Perla in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico which exceeded our expectations. Following recommendations fron review on Trip Adviser, we chose the Royal service, indeed we felt like royalties during the entire stay.

From the moment we stepped in at the reception of La Perla, we were given a chilled towel while waiting for a golf cart to take us to the Royal Service Entrance, quickly followed by two cups of a great in house sparkling wine.

After checking in, we were escorted to tour the property with one of their amazing concierge member as our assigned one, Nash Perez was off on this day.

After the tour, while waiting for our ocean view room to be ready, we had a late lunch at La Palapa, pool restaurant exclusively reserved for Royal members. We quickly immersed in the all inclusive service with a fantastic culinary experience. ( Amazing Caesar, tasty beef carpaccio with truffle, and authentic ceviche) and tasted what will then become our chardonnay for the week, a great twist from Chili. Their premium alcohol marked a high hand standard. Renau and Juan Carlos became our every day waiters with an attention to details more than exceptional.


Let us take you through the Paradisus by department as everything was so fantastic:



Concierge.

Nash was our every day assigned concierge and from sparkling wine waiting for you into your room, to rose petal filled bath, aromatherapy on the pillows before the night, we kept being surprised day after day.

When Nash was also busy with others lucky clients, Hector and Gabriel made sure that all our desire were fulfilled and also made certain to catch a great laugh with us either by the pool or at the beach or in the private lounge always ready with great appetizers and top shelves beverages.

Room. Always spotless and refresh through the day with fresh towels, always full minibar, nespresso pods and more. Nothing was spared. Design f the room was exactly what we enjoy and might even have inspired our next bedroom at home.


Beach and pool.

We completely fell in love with Carmen our beach waitress. From the first bottles of chilled water to the special cocktails she was asking the great bartenders to prepare for us. Her laugh and great mood made the sunny and beautiful beach an anticipated moment for us every day.

While at the Royal pool, Arturo always made sure we had what we needed to enjoy ourselves


Spa:

Nash keep recommending the Spa experience so we decided to indulge ourselves on the third day. We always use spa service while at home in California or while travelling but this one was above outstanding. From a zen welcoming and a perfect music, the setting and the delicate touch of our masseuses was exactly what we needed. We really wish we would remember the names as we would extend the recommendations to them.


Other:

There are to many great things about the Paradisus to say. We, of course, went to check some of the shows and entertainment organized at night. Gabi is a fun place to be after dinner as you can enjoy music and great entertainment. Michael Jackson show and Elvis Presley show are very well done and we enjoyed meeting some of the dancers such as Jonathan who were sharing their happiness to work in this hotel. Everyone keep on smiling.


Cuisine.

Let's start by letting know those of you reading this review that we are both in the event and food industry so our expectations are above high when it comes to cuisine and that it is also one of the raison it took us so many years to come back to an all inclusive.

Day 1: Mole, authentic and cultural Mexican cuisine. Chef Julio Caesar happen to be in the dining room at the time we came in around 9 pm. He start talking with us. He took our menu and asked about restrictions or allergy, which we had none and took us into a degustation path of Mexico in fine bites. About fourteen of them and the standard of great cuisine was set.

Chef Julio asked us if it would be possible to have us as a special guest on the last day of our stay and create an even higher standard that we did not even think possible. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR THIS, REALLY.

Day 2: The Grill, Italian café with an amazing outdoor setting. It was apparently the first day of re-opening. Food was simpler yet great and tasty.

Day 3: Fuego, latino fusion with an amazing ceviche bar. So fresh grilled ahi tuna. Service was impeccable and we even met Marco and Pauline who became friends.

Day 4: Bana, a Japanese fusion experience. Our concierge recommended the teppanyaki where the chef cook in front of you and I guess because we experience those shows a lot in alifonia we are just too spoiled. The food was good, the show ok, the service perfect but most people we met said the a la carte is far better. Regretfully we have not tried it this time. The bar of the restaurant on the other hand make amazing molecular cocktail with Sake and Vodka, and we returned several time during our stay.

Day 5: Passion, the only restaurant in the hotel with an additional fee as Martin Berasategui brought his menu in.

Nouvelle cuisine with molecular twist to remember. We chose the degustation menu, 2.5 hours of enjoyment. It is way above most famous restaurants we have tasted in California and abroad yet at an affordable price. Following the recommendation of the sommelier we even tried a fantastic cabernet sauvignon from Baja and the pairing was amazing. The on site chef de cuisine, an amazing woman from Brazil (We feel ashamed not to remember her name) also came out after we kept thanking her through our waiter and we spent more than 20 minutes laughing and sharing experiences with her)

Day 6: Fuego again as their menu was so extensive we wanted more and more and again we were amazed.

Day 7: Mole. It was really impossible for us to miss the special invitation by Chef Julio to create a final amazing experience. Thank you again, your soup was superb, your langouste on Guacamole out of the world, and we are still salivating thinking about the oyster with salsa.


Suggestions:

To make our stay even better Royal service should propose a shuttle from the airport .

In busy season, like the last two days of our stay, hotel should enforce the fact that you cannot reserve your beach bed as we arrive around 9 am to discover only bed with towels and a hat and no customers for hours.


Overall, this stay was, by far, one of our best hotel experience for an all inclusive.

Room Tip: We had the room 1291, it was perfect. If you can choose the top floor as it can be noisy depending w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChefChristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to extend you our gratitude for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay.

Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be. We want to ensure that once you walk through our lobby doors, you’re able to relax and enjoy every moment of your vacation.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest, also we are glad to learn you enjoyed the culinary experience we offer in our different Restaurants, it is very important for us, because is one of our most important attributes.

As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

Thank you very much for value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,879)
There are newer reviews for Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,140 - 5,146 of 8,879 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

After a roundtrip of one week by car through Yucatan we spent one week in this hotel.
We had a really good time. The staff is perfect, very kind, careful but not intrusive. The rooms are unbelievable huge and with all you need. Perfect bed, nice bath for 2, wonderful equipment and two rainshower so you can take a shower together. Also great room service (inclusive). The pool is very nice, the variety with all the à-la-carte restaurants great (also their quality) and we had a wonderful week. The weather was not all the time very well but especially then we appreciated the beds around the pool area. And when it was raining, the hotel organized special events to keep the cheering mood, great. The beach is not as good as in other areas, but this is not a complaint. Unbelievable is also the selection of alcoholic drinks/liquors; only the best brands and it is impossible to drink all of them during one week. We tried to...
Finally: RIGOBERTO, our waitor at the SOUTH AVENUE BAR, is the best; THANKS A LOT!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to extend you our gratitude for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and are thrilled to know that you had such a good time in our property. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed our facilities, your unbelievable room, the pool area and the variety of our Restaurants, but most of all we thank you for complimenting the service, as our staff is the most important resource in our commitment to create memorable moments.

We really appreciate your compliments towards Rigoberto: he is a big asset of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just arrived back from a 10 night stay at Paradisus del Carman La Perla, wish we didn't have to come home! We booked our trip through Kuoni ( which we also recommend).
We stayed at the Royal Service part of the hotel, which we would thoroughly recommend. In this part of the hotel you have exclusive areas such as lounge, pool, restaurant and use of butler service. You can however use any part of the hotel which is just as nice but the Royal Service (RS) gives you the nice personal touches.
We arrived from London later in the evening after a tiring flight, where we were taken from the main reception area to the RS book in area. We had requested a 3rd floor room (after reading reviews on this site) they however didn't have a room on this floor and wanted to book us in on the 1st, my wife then asked if this could be changed, which they accommodated to the second floor.
When we arrived in the room, first impressions were good, however after a closer look there were a few problems, although small were not expected of a 5 * hotel and the number of 'small' issues within the room made it unacceptable.
We raised these issues with the patient lady at reception and in the morning we met with our butler Carina, and discussed the issues we had (we are very fussy). Carina was very understanding and couldn't have been more helpful to resolve these issues. They then offered to have the issues resolved immediately and the RS manager Alma offered us a room on the third floor with an ocean view (which we did not expect)!
From then on in we found the staff in every area of the hotel outstanding, going out of their way to make our stay memorable and special. My wife is a very fussy vegetarian and we enjoy fine dining. My wife was offered a meeting with three of the hotels chefs through our butler and they discussed all of her likes and dislikes which were then catered for. The food and service is outstanding in all of the restaurants. We really recommend Passion, fine dinning at its best, comparable to Michelin star restaurants back home.
We would like to give a special mention to the following staff
Carina - our Butler
Alma and Julia - RS managers
Renau, Juan Carlos, Jaziel and this lovely lady possibly a supervisor - La Papla RS restaurant
Arturo - pool service
Hector - staff within RS
All RS staff including housekeeping
Head chef at Bana, Passion and La Palapa

It is the staff at this hotel that make it up to 5* standard.

Room Tip: We were in room 1398
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations. It is pleasure for us to read you had a wonderful stay in our Resort.

We are glad to read you enjoyed the benefits and the service of our exclusive area Royal Service and the dining experience we offer in our different restaurants.

As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We visited in September for our honeymoon and had an amazing time here. It was our first time to Mexico, and first time at an All Inclusive, so we weren't sure what to expect.
The hotel is fantastic, and the food truly amazing. There are so many options for dining, and every restaurant we tried (most of them!) was fabulous. Meals were a highlight of our trip! - I'd recommend the 8 course taster menu at 'Passion', which you have to pay a bit extra for but is totally worth it. 'Bana' was amazing for both Sushi and Tepenyaki, and 'The Grill' very nice for lunch.
Pool areas were nice and with plenty of beds/cabanas. We went in a quiet month so had alot of the place to ourselves most of the time - so nice and quiet in the day but people did appear in the evening so there was a bit more atmosphere around at dinner and the bars. Plenty going on with entertainment etc most nights if you want to get involved or be entertained, or you can chill out in quieter areas.
We didn't go for the Royal Service option, and I'm glad as I don't think it would have been worth it, especially as it was so quiet when we went. We had a standard room, which was lovely and also large!
Weather was mixed, as we expected in September, so when it rained we went to one of the many bars or for a long lunch! You can walk into the centre of Playa del Carmen along the beach from the hotel, which is a nice walk and takes about an hour.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough - the whole experience was fantastic, with fabulous amenities, service and ambience. Plus the food!!... did I mention the food?...

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank saresb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to extend you our gratitude for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay.

It is a pleasure to read your kind comments about the culinary experience we offer, because the gastronomy is one our most important attributes. Also we are happy to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I'm going to keep it brief.
We went to paradisus and stayed in the royal service section ocean view room with "butler service" from Brandon.
He showed us to our ocean view room that faced the lagoon.. I had to lean over the railing to catch a sliver view of the ocean...not acceptable...so we asked to be moved to the type of room we paid for and were accommodated.
That was pretty much all we saw of Brandon until we were scheduled to leave.
He disappointed us on a daily basis (failing to book our requested dinner times and locations, not providing us with a cell to contact him ( when we did get one after the second day, he was often unresponsive))
We noticed other butlers checking on their customers throughout the day, by the pool, beach wherever.. Brandon was a ghost!!! I asked to speak with a manager regarding the exceptionally lackluster performance of our butler and I was assured that the issue would be corrected and we would receive a more attentive butter.... Never happened... He did deliver us to the front desk on our departure, likely expecting a tip that never came... I tipped him when we were first introduced and was so turned off by his performance did not tip again...
The pool side service and the service at la palapa was exceptional, earning most of our tipping money.
If you decide to book royal service, do it for the private pool area and extra dining options NOT for the "butler service" and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank vargatron77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.

Your observations are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. We have spoken with the appropriate department and person regarding your comments and the proper actions will be taken.

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back, and you can be sure that we will never cease in our efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

You will be treated like royals at this resort. We just got back and are already working on dates to travel to the Paradisus again. The grounds are beautiful, the food is amazing, the drinks are wonderful, and the rooms are well kept and very clean. I wanted to bring my bed home with me! I really enjoyed the Blue Agava bar. Adrienne is the best bartender! My husband and I learned a lot about tequila. Our favorite restaurant was the Brazilian steakhouse and room service. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the Royal Service. The La Palapa restaurant for breakfast and lunch is worth it. Plus, the private pool and beach access is nice too. The bartenders at the Royal Service pool were exceptional. They learned what we liked and always had drinks ready for us. We loved loved loved our master suite swim out room! This place gets 10 stars from me! If you are looking for an adults only resort this is the place. It had many shows and bars to entertain.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Royal Service and get a swim out room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennilleculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla and for thinking in coming back soon.

Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing stay in our property; also it is a pleasure for us to read your compliments on the facilities, the dinning experience we offer, your comfortable room and the service provided by or staff.

Thank you again for your kind comments, we truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to surpass this experience.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This place is amazing, we never had such a good experience in a resort. The staff was super friendly and helpful, most of them speak good English and some speak French. We had Royal Service and it made it even more amazing. Our concierge made us feel like Royalty, she surprised us many times with some extra luxuries, really nice. The food was excellent and well presented. They had enough staff to care well for the guests. The modern room was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the whirlpool tub on the balcony. Will go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francineb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience.

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our amazing property, the helpful and friendly service provided by our team and the culinary experience we offer in our different restaurants.

Once again thank you for your kind comments, and please honor us with your visit in your next vacation.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,614 reviews
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,284 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £234 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing