We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #19 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the Paradisus la Perla over Christmas and New Year's Eve. We booked the Royal Service which was really very nice. First I have to mention that it is absolutely great anyway to stay in a hotel where there are no kids! Of course in the evenings for dinner in the restaurants there were also the guest from the family part of the hotel but this was absolutely ok. At the beginning I was not quite sure about the All Inclusive offer but I was more than surprised! The food was delicious and not in mass-style as well as the drinks which were always made freshly and with the "good", famous branded spirits. the whole infrastructue at the hotel including the interior design was fabulous. Our butler (Alma) was an angel! she really organized everything for us and was always friendly and supportive! they really try to fullfil you every wish you have! the only thing that was disturbing was the behaviour of some guests. as in every average hotel there was a huge problem with the "towel-reservation" at the pool and beach! although it was claimed by the hotel management that they would take away the towels after 30min if no one is there, this was not done. at least they reacted after we complaint as there were loads of reserved chairs at the beach, so that we got our place. there the hotel management should be more strict. this is just not luxury level.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and candid feedback about your recent stay at Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent experience in our property. Also, it is a real pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest and to learn you enjoyed the culinary experience we offer in our restaurants.

You may feel assured that we took good notes from your particular observations, in order to provide you unforgettable experiences.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us, we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,976
    1,277
    376
    136
    105
See reviews for
866
5,096
93
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,782)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, MO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We went to the Paradisus to attend our nephew’s wedding. We left with a real appreciation for the property and its staff.

Our king-bed ocean view room in the Royal Service segment included a hot tub both inside the room and on the balcony. The balcony also had a small table and chairs. . It was quiet and lovely.
We found our room as well as the rest of the property very clean. The wait staff throughout the property were friendly, helpful, accommodating and fabulous.

The food in the restaurants and on the buffets was always tasty and visually appealing. Breakfast buffets were extensive. At breakfast, the grill-person one day prepared for me pancakes, resembling cartoon characters.

In the restaurants, when I explained I was allergic to fish & seafood, the wait staff made certain no fish/seafood products appeared on my plate. In one instance, the chef created a special dish for me.

We attended a lovely wedding ceremony on a bridge leading to the beach. We also attended an amazing rehearsal dinner and very fun wedding reception (each at different venues). You can observe the attention to detail. They really cared.

A very energetic and talented troupe of entertainers clad in bright costumes, were on-hand both at the “adult pool” and at evening performances. They were GREAT.

All in all, I totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For an "adult experience", stay in the "Royal Service" area. The families with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jukebo1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your comments with us.

It is a pleasure for us to read you had a wonderful experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla. We are glad to be part of especial occasions for our guests, so it makes us happy to learn your nephew’s wedding was lovely as he deserved.

On the other hand, we appreciate your kind comments about our facilities, the dinning options we offer and the entertainment. Also we are glad to learn that the service provided by our team was attentive and always focused in your total satisfaction.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Figure the odds of the/a polar vortex arriving in Mexico just when we did from snowy Boston. What can you do but make the best of it? First off, the property is beautiful, that is if you like indoor koi ponds, relaxing open spaces, and tranquil music. We opted for the Royal Service. I couldn't recommend this highly enough. Our butler Gisel was absolutely fantastic. She made nightly dinner reservations for us as well drawing our nightly tub soak. I'm not exactly a tub guy, but let's just say it's pretty relaxing.

LaPalapa was hands down our favorite restaurant, as can be attested by Renau. The food and service is beyond reproach. Renau was great. Our meals and the time spent enjoying them make me smile just typing this. What makes me sad is that I won't be enjoying ceviche tomorrow for lunch.

We believe that when life give you lemons, or in this case, Mexico gives you four straight days of rain, you should make lemonade, or better still, allow Arturo to make you pina coladas, cucumber margaritas, or mimosas and tuck yourself into one of the outdoor cabanas. If it had to rain, I'm greatful that it's a warm rain. It was still very relaxing to be outside regardless. I will say that it was much more fun when the sun was shining bright.

There are dozens of covered structures to enjoy the pool area from, and Humberto was there every morning to ensure that I could laze the day away from cabana 3. I so desperately wanted to order lobsters and a could of bottles of Dom and charge it to the Underhills room, but alas, there is no charge for your food or beverages.

My only complaint, and it's not directed at the resort, is that my eyes didn't witness enough tipping from the guests. I know it's an all inclusive resort, and it's not an inexpensive trip, but these wonderful people literally wait on you hand and foot. You want something that's not on the menu? You get it. You want to use your 27th towel of the day? It's brought to you with a smile. You have an empty glass? Actually that never happened as Arturo and his guys never stop moving.

Every single act that every single member of the staff does is all for the benefit of the guest. Treat the staff properly. It's well worth it, and more importantly, it's just the right thing to do for good good people who have made it their mission to give you and I a memorable time.

Jessica and I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: In the adult hotel you want a room that ends in the 90's to ensure a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jruscansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations. It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us.

We sincerely appreciate your kind words about our facilities. Regarding the service, your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to create memorable moments for our guests.
We will gladly pass on your compliments to each one of them.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Beautiful property. Would return ASAP. Booked an ocean-view suite in Royal Service & were very well-looked-after by the delightful Gisele. As part of the "Glow" Romance package, she arranged a room-service breakfast with mimosas; we saved the drinks in the mini-bar fridge for the wonderfully romantic bath she prepared later that day (candles, rose petals, bubbles & a sweet personalized congratulatory card). Jesus at the bar by the pool makes the best margaritas; Gilberto provides excellent service with chairs/beds & Arturo saw that we wanted for nothing. We liked all of the restaurants (especially delicious morning coffee at Hadar from Chiapas) but particularly enjoyed dining on the adults-only side as kids were noisy, even during 9:30pm reservations. Very good couples massage (deep-tissue by Alejandro for the hub, lighter pressure "Mayan" by Ketti for me) & enjoyed using the spa facilities afterwards for the "water ritual." We were excited to see exotic birds (flamingos & perhaps egrets or herons) in the wetlands adjacent, the occasional lizard on the decking & one intrepid coati enjoying a spilled cola.

Room Tip: Ocean-view rooms are quieter than poolside rooms during the day - pools are open 7am-7pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobokenienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.

It is a pleasure for us to learn you have beautiful and unforgettable memories of your honeymoon. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

We are glad to read you enjoyed our facilities, the culinary experience we offer and our magnificent Yhi Spa, but most of all we thank you for complimenting the service, as our excellent team is the most important resource in our commitment to exceed our guests expectations and create memorable experiences.

We look forward for your next holiday in Paradise.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Fantastic place! Unfortunately no sun that week. Such is life! But, but... the hotel resort is fantastic. Service outstanding! Delicious food (except The Market which was a disappointment) ! Do I want to go back, ... you bet! And the people; Mizaul Gomez Hadar smiling and taking great care of us every morning, Angelina Lopez at the concierge greeting us and making all the local arrangements, Lazarus at the La Palapa restaurant giving excellent service, and so on. The list is long. You won't regret visiting this place. We didn't in spite of all the rain. Look for us again!

Room Tip: Rooms are all very spacious. If you go for a "swim-up" room then request a room with afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstromT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had a fantastic time in our property. Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations. We will gladly pass on your compliments to each one of them.

Thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you again.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent restaurants, áll of them, good pool bar, beach OK, swimming not, services professional, very good, good watersport facilities, nice surroundings, modern fashionable building, good quality overall

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

It is a pleasure for us to read you had an amazing experience in our Resort, our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are pleased to learn we accomplished that objective during your stay.

We appreciate your kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the near future to repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We honeymooned here in January. Best decision ever. Pure luxury, really a 5 star. We had royal service with a butler and swim up suite, well worth the extra money. I cannot say enough good things. Despite the beautiful resort, exquisite food and amazing entertainment, what we bring us back here is first and foremost the wonderful staff. A special place in our hearts will always be reserved for the staff, especially our butler Nash and the Royal Service pool staff Arturo, Gilberto and Jesus. Thank you for the best week of our lives!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsurmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to extend you our gratitude for selecting us to celebrate your honeymoon, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay.

It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience. We are glad to learn you enjoyed the benefits and services of our exclusive Royal Service Area.

Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Nash, Arturo, Gilberto and Jesus, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

Was a pleasure to host you and we hope this is the beginning of uncountable vacations at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,483 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
9.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.9 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,303 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing