We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were mislead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #21 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Via a travel agent we made specific requests in terms of room location and type. As no reply was made we assumed that these requests had been met only to find that they were not.

On arrival and in order to satisy our request for a quiet room away from the noise of the pool (significant on "Pool-Party" days) we requested a room change.

We were moved to a lesser quality room and despite requests from the start for a refund for the difference and having been lied to by both the hotel and the travel agent - the difference in cost (over $1,600.00 US!!) was not refunded.

We were told by the Hotel that the agent did not release funds until check-out and by the agent that this was not the case. Either way - one of them is lying and we are significantly out of pocket. The Hotel (on departure) offered us a voucher to receive discount on a visit within the next year (which we would have no intention of doing). We made it clear that this was not of interest but the girl insisted we take it. AT NO TIME were we told that this was compensation for our complaint. We made it clear that a refund was required however, upon return, our agent tells us that we accepted the voucher as compensation. Another lie!

This is a HUGE American style hotel that gives the feeling (aesthetically and service) of a conference centre.

The service is with a smile and 99% of the time polite and curteous however, you get the feeling of being on a conveyor belt. The restaurant booking system adds to this and removes any possibility for spontinaity.

Personally we do not understand the attraction of swim-up rooms. They're obviously located on the ground floor and the design of the hotel and grounds means that they are the darkest rooms, the noisiest rooms and most overlooked rooms. The additional cost is not worth the small benefit. Also the ban on swimming after 7pm restricts any pleasure of this "benefit".

The location of the Hotel is 45 minutes walk from Playa Del Carmen - reportedly a dangerous walk (as advised by security at entrance gate) although we did walk almost daily (on the beach during the day and usually a cab ($10-15) back). It is a hotel for those that never want to leave an overly air-conditioned complex.

We visited other boutique style hotels in Playa del Carmen and believe that the average European would enjoy these more.

We liked Mexico and its people but felt truely that Le Paradisus is not the best experience to be had.

Room Tip: Any requests that you make may not be taken up by the hotel - ours were not, which given the cost an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank man33uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are sorry for the misunderstanding you passed through during your check in due we understand that the unfortunate incident definitely impacted the rest of your holidays. Fortunately, we received information from your agency and we have sent them the correspondent support in order to clarify your reservation concern.

It is disappointing for us to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

We understand we didn't provide you with the hotel experience you expected and sincerely hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes and welcome you back in the future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,222 - 5,228 of 9,184 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were part of a group of 33 winners to this beautiful all-inclusive resort with CHFI, Tripcentral.ca and Transat Holidays. This resort is absolutely first class all the way. The rooms were very large, we were all upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite upon our arrival which was really nice. The only strange thing was that as this is a couples/adults only resort, each of the 1 bedroom suites had 2 double beds instead of a king size bed. This was like this for every 1 bedroom suite. Seems to be a bit strange for a couples/adults resort to have seperate beds but we made due. Let's move onto the food, WOW!!!, I have never had a bad meal in Mexico and this resort is no exception. Food was absolutely fantastic, we ate at The Grill, La Palapa, Fuego and Bana (Show cooking). Lot's of choice and everything was cooked perfectly.

The beach is a little on the rocky side where La Perla sits. Bring your water shoes!!!, once you are passed the rock, it's all sand. If you need sand right from the edge of the water, you can walk down the beach about 300 yards and you will find a sandy beach. Interesting note, there is a fresh water Cenote down the beach a little and it creates a river that flows into the Caribean Sea where the sandy beach is, it's quite something to see.

Overall, i would return to this resort and would recommend it to anyone. Thanks CHFI for a great vacation.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suites have 2 double beds only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation.

Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be. We are delighted to read that you spent a great time in our property.

It is a pleasure for us to learn you enjoyed our facilities and the culinary experience we offer which is one of our most important attributes.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is wonderful all-inclusive resort. It is beautiful and immaculate. The resort staff in every area were exceptionally polite and friendly. This resort is superior to any other all-inclusive resort I have stayed at in the past! La Perla is all adult and most were 25 plus! Don't pass up the spa, it is worth the money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to extend you our gratitude for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you had a wonderful experience in our property. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Paradisus La Perla for 4 nights in January. We stayed in a junior luxury room which was beautiful, updated and clean. It had a huge tub and a great double shower. The bed was very comfortable and the cleaning service came twice a day. Overall a SPECTACULAR room.

The resort is very spread out with a great variety of restaurants. Definitely more square footage dedicated to restaurants than most resorts. The food was definitely above average, great in some instances and would satisfy most foodies. The variety was also great at the buffet. Top shelf liquor at every bar and great drinks.

The weather was slightly cloudy, but otherwise beautiful. Not many used the pool, so our friends that bumped up to the swim up suite didn't get much use out of it. However, if the weather had been warmer, the swim up would have been awesome.

The beach is narrower than I'd prefer and most areas in the water were fairly rocky. I didn't find much good snorkeling right off of their beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt9687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We are delighted to read that we were able to offer you a memorable experience that surpassed your expectations. Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest thoughts, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

It is a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed our facilities, your spectacular room and the dinning experience we offer in our several Restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We just got back from a 4 night/5 day stay at the La Perla. This was our 5th time to the area and 1st time to La Perla. I have stayed at Valentin Imperial and The Excellence. I thought the resort was amazing! The food is delicious and drinks are great (best out of the 3 resorts I have stayed at). The customer service was wonderful! I definitely recommend upgrading to Royal Service especially if you want to avoid kids and enjoy the heated pool(on rainy days it is especially nice!). Included in the RS is access to the spa facilities which are very nice. The beach was not that great but honestly I do not think any of the resort beaches in that area are that fabulous. There were plenty of lounge chairs and food/beverage service at beach so it was still very enjoyable! Our room was ocean view over looking the resort. It is definitely worth upgrading to ocean view because the town view is somewhat of an eye sore. The resort is about 45 minutes from the airport so I definitely recommend going with a private transportation instead of group shuttle. We used Bestday.com. I would highly recommend La Perla for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla during your recent beach getaway.

It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience.

We are happy to learn you had a great stay in our property. Also we are glad to know you enjoyed the benefits and services of our exclusive Royal Service area and to read you enjoyed the culinary experience we offer especially Fuego (Latin cuisine) and Mole (Mexican).

We appreciate your kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a quick getaway. Food was amazing. Any foodie should be thrilled. LOVED Feugo and Mole especially. We upgraded to Royal when we got there and it was worth it!!! The only complaint that I had was that the entire beach was not nice in terms o swimming sections. We were able to walk down to the cove section at the end. It was a nice short walk and the water was clear. We had a wonderful time. I'm so relaxed!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and are we are thrilled to know that you had such a great time in our property. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest. Also we are glad to learn you enjoyed our dinning options and we would like to thank you for recognizing the great service provided by our dedicated staff members.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Arrived on a Saturday, the resort was alive and vibrant, we went to our room, in the royal service which was well appointed and Luxurious very nice indeed. The services that come with the Royal service are fantastic as well, private heated swimming pool, lounges, and amenities are well worth it.
We swam in all the pools, the attention the servers provide is excellent as well as quick. The resort is very clean, well looked after, as well as modern. The resort is well lit up at night, beautiful red and blue ambience lighting everywhere makes you feel very relaxed and comfortable.

The restaurants were fantastic, easy to book into for dinner and the food excellent, as well the buffets. If room service is what you need after a long day at the pool, enjoy, as you will be amazed at the food and quick service!

There is also an abundance of couches, day beds and balanese beds around the pools and all over the resort to unwind on.

We cannot say enough about the staff & service at this resort, and will be sure to return in the future.

Enjoy, we did.

Room Tip: From all the other visitors we met and spoke to, all were extremely pleased with their accomodations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

One of our top priorities is to provide the highest quality service always oriented in your total satisfaction.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest. Also we are glad to learn you enjoyed our facilities and the dining experience we offer in our different restaurants; but most of all we thank you for complimenting the service, as our team is the most important resource in our commitment to create memorable experiences.

We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Pablo Cogolludo
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,842 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
7,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,523 reviews
10.9 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,184 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £241 - £700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing