We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service, and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #23 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Excelsior, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, service, and room”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is definitely the nicest all-inclusive I've stayed at in Playa del Carmen. The food itself is worth going (and that's generally not the case with other all-inclusives). Because all the junior swim-up rooms were booked during our stay, we were offered a free upgrade to a master suite, which was fantastic. Service was also notably friendly, attentive, and thorough. The only downsides we experienced was the main adults-only pool was not heated and the weather was mostly cloudy during our stay, making it uncomfortably cold for swimming. We also weren't impressed with the stretch of beach. It was OK, but not your usual Playa expansive beach. And lastly, while I had no complaints about the food, I would have definitely preferred that the sushi restaurant (Bana) was adults-only since it was on the La Perla side of the property. Overall, I think we would consider going back and I would recommend to others!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Briana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

It is a pleasure for us to learn you enjoyed our facilities, your fantastic room, our dinning options and the service provided by our staff. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guest, we are glad to read we accomplished our objective during your stay.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the honor to host you again in the future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,283
    1,354
    409
    148
    108
See reviews for
924
5,383
99
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,885)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

BEST PLACE TO STAY... but hope you like the smell of incense...

Safe, secure, great choices of restaurants, very friendly staff (Hats off to Carmen, she was the best server on the beach)

Just walk 40 minutes on the beach or $10USD to go shopping on 5th Ave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We are delighted to read that you spent the best time in our property. It is a pleasure for us to know the service provided by Carmen was excellent and personalized, always focused on your total satisfaction.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in late December with 3 of our young adult children in the Royal Service area.

We thought the rooms were very good - very new, spacious and well equipped. The swimming pool and service there was great. Beach is very narrow and "limited" would be a good description.

The "all-inclusive" format does not really appeal to us and we thought all the restaurants we tried were a bit ordinary. Our kids enjoyed the all-inclusive format though and got their monies worth.

Service was very polished and helpful albeit, the reservations for dinner approach seems a bit of a nonsense.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

It makes us so happy to know that you had a nice holiday with us and we want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest, our facilities and the service provided by our team.

Thank you again for your kind notes and we look forward to welcome you back on your next beach vacation.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Paradisus La Perla (adults-only) side for a week and loved every minute of it. The hotel is new, modern and BIG! Upon arrival they asked us if we wanted to upgrade to Royal Service for an extra 100/n and we declined. After everything was said and done I don't feel like we missed out on anything by declining the Royal Service, so save your money.

Viviana was our Paradisus representative that welcomed us once we arrived and helped us get restaurant reservations and the lay of the land. We ate at most of the restaurants (Vento, the Mediterranean, being our favorite) and enjoyed mostly everything, but they could have had a larger vegetarian selection on all of the menus. We also enjoyed the room service which was pretty tasty but limited in variety.

The entertainment was fantastic, especially the hilarious Saturday afternoon poolside musical and performing acts, along with the evening shows. The hotel room was great, we had a huge comfy bed, an amazing dual-head rain shower and a great balcony with a view of the ocean. The beach wasn't that huge but it didn't really bother us all that much, as long as you can find a chair to lay in then you're good to go, the waiters will bring you anything you would like. Thanks to Charlie, for helping us out with drinks and such while we laid out at the beach. We walked along the beach to downtown Playa two times, which was not a quick walk, about 30-40 minutes to get to the part of downtown Quinta Ave (5th avenue) with all shops and restaurants.

No complaints at all, this is a great hotel and well worth the money for a great experience. Muchas Gracias to all of the staff of Paradisus for a fantastic week in Mexico.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryanexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Resort during your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you spent a fantastic time in our property. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

It is a pleasure for us to read you enjoyed our facilities, the dinning experience we offer, the daily entertainment and the service provided by our staff, Charlie will be delighted to hear that she contributed to your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I just returned from a week long stay at La Paradisus La Perla. Everything about the trip was amazing. It was truly one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. I was a little skeptical of going all inclusive due to past experiences with food and service. However, at La Paradisus we did not have one bad meal and the service was above and beyond excellent. We will definitely be returning next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

It makes us so happy to know that you had an amazing holiday with us. Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest thoughts, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to show how to you embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be. We hope this is the beginning of uncountable vacations at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

As I write this review I am sitting on the balcony of our swim up room, the sun is shining and the escape that we needed from the terrible NE winter is well in swing. So let me start with the pros. The hotel is new and the decor is superb, everything is new and the rooms are wonderful, clean and well equipped. The staff are amazing, very polite, friendly and helpful.
To be balanced though there are. Some negatives about this property that will ensure that my wife and I try somewhere different next time. Firstly is is a maze, huge and sprawling with adults only (where we are) on one side and families on the other. We have three main issues with this place. The first is the standard of the buffet breakfast, the food is good however they seem incapable of keeping it warm. Our advise is get something freshly cooked. In the other restaurants (we have so far dined at the Mexican, the grill and the Asian fusion, the food is what I would describe as ranging from average to terrible, with the service being very much the same. The Mexican restaurant meal was the most tasteless mush I have. Ever eaten and the Asian while better was far from what you would expect. Despite reservations we have had to wait over 30 minutes for our table and forget adults only after 8pm, that's not the case and at the Mexican in particularwe had 6 loud kids within 10 feet of us.
Getting back to the hotel itself, we like nightlife, and always find that the hot tub can be the center of activity very late in the evening, so the night we arrived we went for a hot tub at 1am, well at least we thought we would, and we would have, if they had one !!!!!!! Really can you believe it? No hot tub ????? That. On its own will stop a return visit.
The beach, well what beach, literally. 10 feet wide and full of seaweed, not very appealing at all. I would also say that if. You are young or young at heart this place. Has no character or vibe, yes it is luxurious but beyond that you could be in a resort anywhere in the world, By the way when I think all inclusive I think that, yet every restaurant has better meals and wine that you have today for, candidly this place isn't cheap,so either be fully inclusive and provide quality or just charge for the room.

As for PDC( which is a ten dollar cab ride unless you. Get ripped off by the cab driver who is contracted to the hotel) it is not walking distance (the area outside the hotel is a slum and I wouldn't walk there at night) PDC is amazing, my advise, stay closer to town and enjoy better beaches, better value and more atmosphere

Room Tip: Ask for a swim up room facing east, ours is 1041and. Gets no sun on the deck at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussieabroad2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time during your holiday to share your impressions on Tripadvisor.

Your review it is very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service. This is definitely not in keeping with our high service standards and be sure that we will follow up internally with our Food and Beverage Manager. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention

We understand we didn't provide you with the hotel experience you expected and sincerely hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes and welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We visit Cancun on a regular basis and this was our first visit to La Perla. We received the best service we have ever experienced in Cancun at this resort. Our room was really lovely and clean with a balcony that we used each day. The restaurants were all divine and we found that they really differed from one another, so each evening was a new experience. The staff in the restaurants was cheerful and courteous. They seemed to really like working at this resort!

We were supposed to have a view of the ocean and when we got to our room, we did not. However, the room was nicely situated on the resort grounds. We stayed on the "Adults only" side. Originally we thought we were going to an adults only resort, yet this one is just divided into adults and families. This is just something to note if you also get the same impression when booking your trip.

The modern decor was a new twist, compared to the "hacienda" styles we were used to. The electonica music is prominently playing in most public areas. I liked some of it, but some of the other music wasn't as relaxing for the beach/pool environment as I like. Christmas music was still playing in the "quiet pool" areas. On Saturday, January 25th, the La Perla pool area was really rockin'! It was okay for a while, but later we went to our room for our "siesta" and the noise was impossible to close out... Sunday was much quieter:-)

This resort has wonderful pool towels and guests are able to purchase them (supposedly). We really got mixed messages on what towels were available---someone said white, someone said purple... And when we visited the reception desk, there were no towels available for purchase. The other disappointment was that we painted plaques on the one rainy day we had and when we went to pick them up, the people were not at the pool for us to retrieve them. We had to leave too early on Monday to get them. We had prepared. Guest services told us that we could pick them up at the desk, but none could be found.

The resort offers many accommodations---poolside, beachside, pool beds, balconies, etc. The seating in public areas are plentiful and the lobby is roomy to stroll around after dinner. The cleanliness of the resort is very noteworthy and again the service is outstanding!!!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool, beach or green areas. Some rooms overlook restaurant areas or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting us as a destination for your vacation and for sharing your comments with our future travelers.

Our passion is exhibited through our service. We are happy to learn that our friendly and attentive staff was able to display our key philosophy by providing you with a wonderful experience. We are delighted that we were able to offer you a memorable experience that surpassed your expectations.

It is pleasure for us to read you enjoyed our facilities, the décor and the culinary experience we offer in our different restaurants, which in one of our most important attributes.

We appreciate your particular observations, be sure we will share your comments with our staff in order to improve and take actions to give an exceptional service

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,897 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,381 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,228 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing