We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$459
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$444
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$556
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$399
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$232
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (9,973)
Filter reviews
9,973 results
Traveller rating
7,635
1,566
460
172
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,635
1,566
460
172
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal servicemolethe grillsouth bargabi clubla palapa restaurantyhi spadinner reservationsalfredobutler serviceguest servicesswim up suitebali bedsour honeymoonpool partypersonal butlerall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
5,595 - 5,600 of 9,973 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 5-day stay at the Paradisus La Perla in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. There is really not much more that I can add in regards to the overall greatness of this resort. It is beautiful and amazingly well run. The staff is unbelievably friendly and willing to accommodate just about any reasonable request that you might have. That being said, I will add a few specific comments to make you stay more enjoyable and possibly to add a suggestion of two for the folks at the Paradisus to consider.

The restaurants were fantastic, just make sure you get your reservations when you first arrive at the resort. You don't want to miss anything. The Bana sushi restaurant and Mole were particularly outstanding. Even the breakfast buffet at Hadar was very good. We did not eat at Passion or La Palapa. The only disappointing meal was at the Grill that serves rodizzio style grilled meat. The meat selections and quality were fair to poor. We recently ate a Fogo de Chao and that might be why the Grill suffered in comparison. However, if you are a serious fan of red meat you should probably avoid the Grill.

The only thing I wish this resort had was a simple pub bar where you could stop in for a casual beer or drink during the day and maybe watch ESPN. None of the non-pool/beach bars are open during the day, so your only option for drinking during the day is either in one of the restaurants or out by the pool. That is a very minor quibble.

I hit the YHI Spa for a massage and that was an excellent experience and I highly recommend anyone to get one if you like massages.

The best pool chairs do fill up early in the morning, but that is expected at any resort. However, there are always chairs and bali beds open throughout the day. You can always move the chairs to a sunny or shade spot if you want to. The staff will help you to move the chairs or help you find open ones as well. The drink and food service by the pool was exceptional. Your next drink or snack was just a few minutes away. Please tip your servers. Even though you don't have to, these folks really work hard to make sure you have a great time on your trip and they should be rewarded.

We were upgraded for free to a ocean view room and it was so nice to be able to watch the sunrise over the ocean in the morning. We did not get a swim up room, but those looked pretty sweet. We did not do the Royal Service, so I can't comment on that and we didn't really interact with anyone that chose that option.

If you are looking for a great trip to the Mayan Riveria, I highly recommend the Paradisus La Perla.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNBigRedFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to express our appreciation for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Paradisus La Perla.

Thank you for paying attention to significant details at our beautiful areas around the property. On the other hand, we appreciate your observation about The Grill restaurant, we want you to know that the comments and observations we receive from our guests are always taken very seriously, as they tell us what we are doing right, wrong, and how we can improve it.

Please be sure that we will share your notes with the Manager in order to provide the best service.

It would be a pleasure server again in the future and exceed your expectations.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Cramen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We just returned from The LA PERLA in Playa and it was the best experience we have ever had at an all inclusive resort! The facility is clean and the food is fantastic. We are going to go back again next year. We generally do not go to the same resort on consecutive years but The LA PERLA deserves a second go. A special thanks to Amber and Adelatdo for going that extra mile.

Room Tip: Pool side suites are the best!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time in our Resort. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be. Thank you also for recognizing the great service provided by Ambar and Avelardo, they will be delighted to hear that they contributed to your stay.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Paradisus Playa Del Carmen, La Perla was a great resort.
We got the option for the Royal Service and we enjoyed it. The pool seemed a bit noisy(of course the unlimited drinks played a part) but that wasn't the resorts fault. When getting to the pool or beach, go early! spots fill fast and everyone leaves their belonging to "save" their seat while they roam around. Again, not the resorts fault. The staff was incredibly helpful and always had a smile on their faces. Our Butler Hector came to find us everyday to let us know what time our dinner reservations were. The day before we left he took all of our flight and car information and scheduled everything to make sure it was on time. This was a perk.

The restaurants were great and the food was amazing for an all inclusive. We chose the option to pay extra for Passions and it was well worth it. Its $113 per person for the menu with the wine paring. Everything was wonderful and at the end of the meal, the chef comes to your table to ask how service was and gave me a rose.
We dined at Bana, Mole, La Palapa, Fuego and all were beyond our expectations

In the Royal Service they had wine and hors d'oeuvres all day. Frank who was also in the Royal Service helped us with any question we had.

We got a couples massage and it was very relaxing. The hot tub and pool outside the spa was our getaway. No one was there and it was a little sanctuary.

We are very happy we decided to go and looking forward to returning

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Resort during your stay with us.

It is a pleasure for us to know that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience. We are delighted to read that you spent a great time in our property.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest, the culinary experience we offer in our different restaurants and the relaxing atmosphere of our Yhi Spa. As for the service provided by our team Hector and Frank will be delighted to hear that they contributed to your stay.

We hope this is the first of many more times we will have the pleasure to host you at the Riviera Maya.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The food and service was the best. We walked to town a couple of times and took a tour of the Mayan ruins which I would highly recommend. Of course t5he beach was wonderful as we really don't have warm water in Colorado.
I could live there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Drycreek1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time in our property. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, we are very happy to learn we accomplished that purpose during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back on your next beach vacation.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I were part of a large group that stayed at this resort. We were both pleased with our room, the friendly staff, and the food! I want to give a shout out to Carlos, our waiter on the beach! He was awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyandSharonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, we are very happy to learn we accomplished that purpose during your stay.

Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Carlos, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

We appreciate your kind comments; we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews