We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #22 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Flanders, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from spending a week at La Perla royal service and the service was absolutely great. Carmen Fernandez was amazing. Always smiling and trying to make you feel special. Our butler at the royal service, Neftali Quesada made our stay unforgettable. He took care of everything for us. He also took care of arranging a special birthday for me. We always go to small resorts and were afraid that Paradisius was going to feel massive. We were pleasantly surprised that we never felt that the place was busy or massive. The landscape just made it private form the Esmeralda side. I would go back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us .It is a real pleasure to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest.

We are delighted to read all your compliments particularly the service provided by Carmen and Neftali. Our goal is to turn moment into memories for all our guests, throughout all seasons.

Please honor us with your visit in your next vacation.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,616
    1,401
    419
    153
    116
See reviews for
1,009
5,618
101
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,968)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

WE had a great time, service was better than most, but slightly under what we had at Sun Palace. Food was very good, but meat as is usual in Mexico was a little under par. Bana Restaurant had great Sushi, and a fantastic Waiter, named Nehemicos Gidova. He served our two best meals of the week.
A few glitches with reservations. We came as two couples and had rooms on Esmerelda side (Children & Family) side of resort. They need to make it more clear of what you have signed up for. Also our rooms were beautiful but had 2 double beds instead of King size beds. So ask before you sign up what side you want and what beds are in your rooms.
The beach was small and not picturesque to walk but we spend most of our time around the pools.

Room Tip: If you have kids stay on Esmerelda side, if you dont' have children stay on La Perla side. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are pleased to know you had great time during your vacation at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

It is good to know that in general you have enjoyed all the facilities, the great sushi at Bana restaurant and the service provided by Nehemicos Gidova , he will be pleased to know that his efforts did not go unnoticed.

We hope this is the first of many more times we will have the pleasure to host you at the Riviera Maya.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Paradisus La Perla, Royal Service section the first week of March 2014 and in our minds this was by far the best vacation in our lives. The hotel was beyond doubt “perfect” in all respects, the rooms were immaculately clean, the grounds were perfectly kept and manicured, the facilities were top notch, the restaurants were some of the best that we have eaten at, the service that we received was without question the best that we could have asked for. The bartenders at the various bars that we frequented were exceptional and were ready to not only serve you but also engage in worthy conversation that went a long way to making our vacation more memorable. The two individuals serving guests on the beach Ernesto and Charlie were absolutely wonderful, taking the time to cater to all of our needs and ready to serve us with a smile and conversation.
About the Royal Service, the entire staff of this area which was headed by a young woman Veralucia along with her assistant Lucia were always there to make our stay more pleasurable and assist us with our questions, advice and direction to make our stay much more pleasurable. There were butlers like Gilberto, the Club Melia Quality host Arnaud who were pleasures to speak to and always at the ready to help with whatever they could. The young trainee Marco Polo who was at the towel kiosk greeting beach and pool goers with a pleasant attitude and a wonderful smile, what a great disposition that this young man had towards the guests. Guadalupe and fellow bartenders in the “M” bar were a pleasure to go visit before our restaurant reservations and after our meal. Guadalupe was an extraordinary lady, knowledgeable at the ready to help and have worthy conversations with, what a wonderful experience talking to this young woman.
Need to mention the Yoga instructor in the Royal Service gym, Elizabeth. My wife loved this young woman who took the time to help train my wife in the techniques of Yoga. Elizabeth was an excellent teacher and made my wife’s experience very special.
Alma Moreno our butler, what a wonderful young woman who was always there to cater to each and every request that we had and to do all of the little things in our room that not only surprised us but supported the decision to stay in the Royal Service section. We really did get royal service from this young woman. She is by far the reasons why we would return and recommend the Paradisus to all of our friends. What an awesome experience! This young woman is an absolute “gem” and made our stay at La Perla special!
One could ask if there was some things that could have been improved on or made our experience that much better, to be frank and honest yes of course but very little. There is always “stuff” which happens that should not but that is more related to the guest than anything else and the hotel nor its staff could have helped that.
We have travelled all over the world and money will buy you lots, but it will not buy you the staff and people that worked to make our vacation one of the best in our lives. The staff of La Perla is truly exceptional and the reason that we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We just returned from 5 nights at Paradisus La Perla. This is our 6th trip to Riviera maya. We've stayed at the Moon and Aventura palaces, Sandos playacar, Secrets Silversands and El Dorado Royal. We loved our stay. Friendly staff everyone, service in restaurants was always fantastic. Free wifi! Clean, beautiful rooms. Great food. We will be going back.

For the food, they will bring you anything, order 2 dinners if you can't decide, order something else if you don't like what you got, etc. We had duck, lamp, tuna, octopus, steak, sushi, etc. They ask at every restaurant if you have allergies. We don't have any allergies but they seemed willing to accommodate requests or dietary restrictions. There is some upselling of wine, steak and lobster dinners but we just declined and there was no problem. We enjoyed the house shiraz and cab at dinner. They make an excellent mojito and bloody mary. we asked for Kahlua and coffee one night and the waiter brought the whole bottle of Kahlua. Tons of food and drinks to choose from. For an all inclusive, I think the food is pretty good. Lots of variety. Raw and seared ahi tuna, steak carpaccio, it's better than pretty good!

The Asian restaurant was one of our favs. families can dine at this one and some others before 8 so you will see children at dinner time. We never had a problem but did talk to someone who didn't know there would be kids and had a less than romantic dinner. Breakfast is buffet, lunch can be at a sit down restaurant, just do buffet, grab something at the pool or do burgers and chips at the beach. Reservations are expected at all dinners. We made our reservations as soon as we arrived with our concierge since our room wasn't ready anyway. We ended up changing some times around. We showed up an hour early to one dinner, half hour late to another, it was no problem.

They do offer 24 hour room service, I ordered it one afternoon and it never arrived. We didn't check on it or order it again. The fridge is stocked with soda and beer. There is no hard liquor in the rooms.

This place is very quiet and relaxed except for one day when a dj was at the pool, that was a fun and lively day. The Michael Jackson concert and fire show were my favorites. There was a duo that sang some cover music and other live music earlier in the evenings. This is a very relaxed place, not a lot of wild parties.

We walked around the Esmerelda side and thought it was active, fun and great for the kids. We plan on going back with the kids.

The beach is narrow. We ended up at the la esmerelda side one day when all the chairs were taken on the la perla side and I found it more comfortable since the chairs aren't on such a slant and less crowded. Public beach access is near by on both sides of the hotel.

There are not any hotels immediately near by so the beach is not crowded. We walked to downtown Playa on the beach, almost 2 miles, and the beach closer to downtown was crowded, wider beach, lots going on. The beach was safe. Lots of people walking and running. Downtown was wonderful, fun, safe to shop, eat and walk around. It was an easy and fun day for us that didn't require reservations or a bus to catch, just on our own. It became quickly obvious that the hotel bracelets are easily recognizable. More than one person pretended to know us from La Perla and act like it was their day off. Still no idea what they really wanted but we chatted the first time, realized he didn't know us, didn't fall for it again.

There's free wifi throughout! I never had trouble, was able to video chat,watched Netflix on my kindle, downloaded books etc. Other hotels we've been to make you jump through hoops for wifi, this was a pleasant surprise.

This is a beautiful, relaxing place. We had a swim up room which is not necessary at all but it was pretty nice! We enjoyed hopping in the pool to walk to the bar or just go for a quick dip without packing a beach bag, saving a chair or beach bed. The room was one bedroom, bigger than I expected, not the standard room. Doors can slide closed to separate the bathroom, kitchen and bedroom areas. beautiful. we did not have the fake fish tank in our bedroom though.

We don't usually go back to the same resort twice but we are going to look into returning and staying on the esmerelda side with our children. There is so much food that is not just for kids and looked like lots for them to do.

Enjoy your stay! We did!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom swim up suite. The room was larger than I expected and the swim up, while not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hotpugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

As service-oriented company, we have a firm devotion to accomplish our guest’s satisfaction; therefore, we are sorry to read Room Service was not what you were expecting for. Be sure we will take corrective actions to prevent future occurrences about it.

On the other part ,we are completely glad to read you had a beautiful and relaxing time here with us and you really enjoyed the facilities of our resort like the rooms, the restaurants, the beach ,the night entertainment and the service of our staff.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation this time with your kids.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

So the trip was fabulous, everyone was extremely nice and helpful who worked there. Don't forget to tip those who work there and serve you! Seriously, they work hard and deserve it, and I know it's all inclusive, but they work hard and deserve the tips and are extremely appreciative if you do. Oh, and Adelaido in HADAR was fabulous, I recommend him to all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations. We will surely congratulate Adelaido in your behalf.

Thank you again for your post and we hope you will return to this portion of Paradise!

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early March 2014 for our 3rd year anniversary. We chose the Royal Service side of LaPerla because we liked the idea of a butler and private pool/restaurant. Our butler, Lazaro, was great – he was attentive and drew us a bath after a long excursion then again on the one day it rained. Expedia said the room I purchased had an ocean view. We were initially given a room with no ocean view that looked out to trees and the main sidewalk so everyone could see into our room. After talking with Lazaro he was able to bump us up to a better room (Rm. 1388) for no charge. It had views of the ocean and Playa Del Carmen so that was a definite plus!

Below is a quick breakdown of what I felt were the most important aspects of the resort:

Resort – The grounds are beautiful with lots of lush vegetation, ponds with koi fish and turtles and plenty of couches/chairs to relax in but it’s very, very large. Online it says there are only 450 rooms, but it doesn’t really say that it shares property with the family side that has another 450 rooms. All 900 rooms share majority of the restaurants which are in the middle of the property so be prepared to put on your hiking shoes to get around. You could also have the front desk call for a golf cart if you had a particularly long walk to make.

Beach – I was reluctant about booking this hotel because of the trees between the resort and the beach. I love the beach and since I don’t live anywhere near a beach I like to see/walk/sit there as much as possible. The mangrove is pretty, but it completely blocks any and all views of the beach. But when you do go to the beach it’s very long with plenty of chairs, waiters taking orders, and a food stand.

Room – The beautiful fish tank is just a picture backlit with lights! This was very surprising and disappointing. This was one factor of why we chose this resort but no reviews mention this? Again we were initially disappointed but later more worried about the view we were promised. Other than this, the room was very nice and large. Huge bathroom with enormous tub and double shower. The deck had a nice sized hot-tub, also.

Lobby/Royal Service – Until 11pm they have appetizers and full bar to make your favorite cocktail. The cupcakes in the evening are the best I’ve ever had!

Bars – Can’t complain about any of the bars or swim up bars. The drinks were not watered down and they had a large menu to choose from depending on if you want frozen drinks, martinis, etc.

Food – I’ll be blunt…it’s pretty much all boring and bland. I had to spice up every meal with salt & pepper. Honestly, it was like they were making food for a nursing home? The only good meals we had was the breakfast buffet, Market and Fuego. Fuego was an amazing meal if you like fish. Market had an extensive salad bar and the steak was superb! And don’t expect to have any Mexican food when you are there either. The only ‘Mexican’ restaurant was fusion style and it was not good at all except for the beef burrito, the only thing that saved it was the dipping sauce. Mexican Food just simply does not exist at this resort, we were disappointed by this and that they mainly only served American food or some strange fusions. And avoid the room service (other than breakfast – which was great!). If you have to do room service, just get the Caesar salad.

Club Melia aka TIMESHARE – We originally cancelled a trip to Cabo because of the time-share warnings we read in reviews. I didn’t read any warnings about Paradisus, but we were hounded from our very first day (before we even got to check into our room). The time-share stalker was very nice and seemed like a good guy, but he was waiting every day when we got off the elevator to convince us to sit down for a 90 minute meeting. We said no for three days but he just wouldn’t relent. He offered us a free massage, free trip to Chiten Itza and finally a 3-nite stay in their resorts for another time. We really wanted to just be left alone for the rest of our trip so we finally said yes. It was supposed to be a "90-minute" presentation (that included breakfast). Fast forward to THREE hours later… its over $120k to join the club so don’t waste your time. It took us at least 6-7 times of saying ‘No, we can’t afford that’ for them to finally let us go and give us our ‘gifts.’

Transportation – Book the transportation with BestDay. The bus was very nice and the guys were friendly. They have BD agents all around the resort to also help book your excursions. We did the Chiten Itza trip which was amazing – wear comfy shoes and a hat as you’ll be walking a lot and the sun will be on you most of your walk.

All in all it was a wonderful trip for the price. I made the mistake of constantly comparing the resort to Sandals (we went to St. Lucia Sandals for honeymoon). Paradisus is wonderful but it isn’t Sandals… but for what you pay, it’s worth the cost.

Room Tip: Get to the pool early - people start putting their towels down at 6am and 'reserve' them all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your review and comments about our hotel.

In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion; we assure you that every detail that you mentioned will be verified and shared, in order to polish our services.

We really appreciate your compliments towards Lazaro ,he will be pleased to know that his efforts did not go unnoticed.

Thank you for your contribution. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you really enjoy the Royal Service benefits, that your meals at Market and Fuego were amazing, an in general you had wonderful stay with us.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience in the future should you join us once again.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had a relaxing time. We had the Royal Service and our Butler was nice her name was Gisel. I thought we would have a phone so we could contact them if we had a question but we never did get one. The food was good and everybody seemed happy to work there. I didn't care for people throwing there towels down on the chairs by the beach and pool area then never showing up. The bell boy was supposed to come to our room and get our luggage on the day we were leaving but never did. There was nobody around at 5 am. Overall it was a good experience. I would come back if I ever got the chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to express our appreciation for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla/Royal Service.

We regret that we did not provide you the bellboy service at the time you requested. We assure you, that the Chief Concierge has been informed of this particular observation, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Moreover, we are glad that you had a relaxing time at the resort , that you enjoyed the food and the service of our friendly staff. Gisel will be delighted to hear that she contributed to your stay.
It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to your second home, Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,422 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing