We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all inclusive option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #21 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I almost never stay in all inclusive resorts for many reasons. This trio was a gift and I was very happy to be there but my style is more like a hut on the beach or low key hotel in Tulum. I stayed at the resort for 3 nights and did not leave grounds once. Usually the food at these places is pretty bad but the Paradisus did a good job with all sorts of cuisines. If anything there was too much food and too much temptation to eat all day long. There is a buffet offered almost all day with fresh vegetables and healthy options and many restaurants on site to choose from. This is a huge resort and feels a little but like a cruise ship but for what it is I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very helpful and there were some good activities offered like Yoga and Tai Chi. Both instructors were great. We stayed in a vip area and had a personal butler Sandra who was very nice and made the stay more enjoyable. There was also a cocktail waitress on the beach, Carmen who was great. I had a massage at the spa which I enjoyed. This is a great vacation for someone just looking to get away and relax but not a place to go if you want to explore and get to know a place or a culture.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest,

We can see you paid attention to every element from the resort and we appreciate you took the time to share your opinion about all we have to offer to our guests.

Our LUXEclusive plan in one of our strengths, most of our guests enjoy the wide quality food and beverages variety and the life enriching activities offered in the resort accompanied with warm and professional service. Sandra and our instructors will be delighted to hear that they contributed to your stay.

Thank you for your kind words and because you are completely sure you will come back to our well-appointed Paradise.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,879)
There are newer reviews for Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,834 - 4,840 of 8,879 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Absolutely impressed at the hotel's ability to create a luxury boutique atmosphere in a larger hotel. This is both a result of the smart design of the place (no giant areas, lots of little nooks and crannies, plenty lounge areas and palapas so no fighting for them, no one area is overcrowded... and the staff, who are fantastic, well trained and make you feel important. Food was outstanding.
Having the adults and kids sections is also smart; we did not want to be surrounded by kids on March break, and the adult section was exactly what we needed... but we will return with siblings and their kids, as they can have their area too. The best of both worlds!
Not a cheapo option, but we felt our money was well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to receive reviews from our tourists. We are proud that you have had a memorable stay at Paradisus. Thank you for your time.

Our most important goal is to exceed our guests´ expectations in all the possible ways and we feel pleased to know we did it with you. Our LUXEclusive plan were well appreciated for you, like the beautiful decorated resort facilities, the outstanding food in our restaurants and the fantastic service of our staff.

We will keep the committed work to surpass all our guests’ expectations and continue with our most important goal, creating memorable experiences to all our visitors.

Please remember to come back to Paradisus, where reality melts with Paradise.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The five days we were there FLEW by! The hotel is absolutely beautiful, clean, maintained wonderfully. The beach was awful, the pool was ok but they need more activities. Only 1 swim up bar. Drinks are good, food is the BEST food I've ever had at an all-inclusive. Room-service food is awful, though. I think they need more nightlife. Only one "club" that was kind of lame. They did have great entertainment in the evenings. Since the resort is offset from the beach, they need to have more activities at the pool like salsa dancing or beach volleyball. Overall, I'd go back and recommend the hotel in a heartbeat -- for those who like the pool, to lay low, and eat great food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.
Our guests ‘points of view are important for us. Be sure that our Activities Manager is now aware of your opinion regarding pool activities and your notes will be taken under consideration as all our guests’ comments and suggestions.

On the other hand , It is great to read you enjoyed the beautiful facilities, the culinary experience at our top class restaurants and the great entertainment in the evenings , that is to be expected of the Meliá brand.

Thank you for your recommendation it would be fantastic to host you again in the near future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Resort is beautiful! The food was delicious…staff is great! Jose who works the beach area was awesome! He always had a huge smile and a cold beverage for you! Guadalupe, the bartender at the Martini bar, is awesome. She always had a big smile for you, great conversation, quick wit and a delicious martini! Our last night we ate dinner at Passion. You pay an additional fee for dinner. We decided to do the wine pairings also. We are spoiled in Chicago with amazing restaurants so we didn't expect this restaurant to be of the same quality. It was delicious. Each course was beautifully presented and perfectly paired with the wine. Outstanding dining without the pretentious atmosphere! The property is immaculate. We would definitely to back!

Room Tip: Pool is busy…so the rooms facing the pool are noisy until the pool closes at 7pm. We didn't hav...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting us as a destination for your vacation.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the food quality and variety in most of our restaurants and especially that you had an outstanding dining at Passion restaurant.

As well you highlighted the caring and attentive service provided by most of our staff members, specially to Jose and Guadalupe, who went beyond your expectations. We are proud of them and we are confident we will keep the same level of service. Our mayor interest is to create everlasting memories in our guests.

We will be happy to host you again whenever you want a relaxing and pampering marvelous getaway.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After a delayed flight and trying travel experience from the airport to the hotel, we were greeted graciously by the hotel employees. The dinner experiences were all great- loved the food at La Palapa and Bana. It was great to eat lunch by the pool everyday and read in the palapas pool-side. The breakfast experience was the best! The breakfast team at Hadar was amazing: Antonio, Alejandro, Luis and Carolina were friendly and wanted to do everything to make the start of our day great!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and provide us the privilege to serve you.

We are glad to read that your expectations were surpassed during your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla. As we can read, your overall experience at our restaurants was amazing, while having some international delicacies at Hadar buffet, and with attentive servers willing to satisfy all your needs like Antonio, Alejandro, Luis and Carolina. All of them will be notified about your recognition to their friendly and outstanding job.

Thank you for your words and for your preference.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We just got back from a week at La Perla. We've been to several all-inclusive resorts, so this is really a comparison to the others. The only advantage is the rooms. They're beautiful and huge. If you plan on spending almost all of your time in your room, this is a good choice.

The disadvantages though are many. The food is downright awful. Everything is overcooked and cold. We maybe had one decent meal (besides breakfasts, though even the pancakes were cold). We found that the hotel was severely understaffed. Maybe this is why everything was cold and the drinks were flat. Not enough hands to get things to you as they should be. However, one of our biggest complaints was that we upgraded from La Esmerelda to La Perla and the room we were given was directly across for were all of the evening performances were. It felt like they were in our bedroom. I may sound like an old man, but I'm not. I'm 35 and I like a good time. But this was insane. The first night I called and asked if this went on every night (thinking that if it did we'd ask to move) and the concierge said it was just that night. It wasn't. It was every night.

I was ready to tell the concierge about my experience, but they didn't even ask how our stay was when we checked out. So, here is my review.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to read that your expectations regarding your room location , quality food and Concierge service were not fully covered. Your review it is very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. We already let the differences departments know about your notes.

On the other hand , we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our rooms and you found them beautiful and huge.

We hope that these issues aside you would be willing to return and allow us to improve on your overall experience.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just got back from a week of magnificent Mexico made perfect at La Perla. Had only an online tour of this resort but relied on other tripadvisor reviews in choosing La Perla. The reviews were spot on and we had a great time. Arrived on a Thursday and the first thing I noticed was the fantastic atmosphere of the desk and lobby area of check-in. La Perla uses a lot of aroma therapy and boy does it work. Thomas set us up with dinner reservations for the week and provided us with information about the resort. He was very gracious and greeted us warmly when we saw him around the resort the rest of the week. Our room was the standard room and terrific. We did get a view of the pool area which I believe made the room more pleasant. We got right out into the sun (we come from Western NY and have had an unbelievably cold winter) on Friday.... and yep, we did it, even though we knew better and DID use a lot of 50 sun screen, we burned. But it was so gorgeous. The water at the beach was fabulous. Anyway, word to the wise.... only a little sun the first few days AND USE SUN SCREEN. The restaurants are fun, my favorite was the Mediterranean one. The entertainment was pretty good. The only thing my husband and I would have liked more of was the opportunity to dance. Not quite enough of that in our opinion. Some of the most outstanding features of La Perla and Paradisus overall.... staff: the staff, and I mean ALL the staff, seemed genuinely happy to be there and happy to see guests. We felt very welcomed. Cleanliness: super clean and quite beautiful. Beach: although not very wide, the beach is very nice and well kept. The water was wonderful. We got a couples massage at the spa and we really enjoyed that. The only bad thing about this trip was having to leave on a day that Western NY was getting a blizzard! What a reality check. I have no doubt that anyone visiting this resort would have a wonderful, relaxing time. We plan to go back soon!

Room Tip: get a nice view of the "courtyard" pool area. We did not have a swim up room but if you d...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad to read that you had a magnificent stay at Paradisus Playa del Caremen La Perla.

Our most important goal is to exceed our guests´ expectations in all the possible ways and we feel pleased to know we did it with you. Our LUXEclusive plan were well appreciated for you, like the aroma therapy in our facilities, the comfort in your suite, the entertainment , the quality food in our restaurants and the friendly service of our staff.

Thank you for your recommendation to future tourists to live the Paradisus experience and please remember that you will always be welcome at our little piece of heaven.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,614 reviews
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#36 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,284 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £234 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Melia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing