We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Nearby Hotels
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$436
US$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$450
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$689
US$669
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$497
US$463
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$656
US$506
BlueBay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$710
US$383
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,076
US$1,004
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,033
US$553
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$477
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,845)
Filter reviews
9,845 results
Traveller rating
7,539
1,551
452
166
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,539
1,551
452
166
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal servicemolethe grillsouth bargabi clubla palapa restaurantyhi spadinner reservationsalfredobutler serviceguest servicesswim up suitebali bedsour honeymoonpool partypersonal butlerall inclusive resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,444 - 5,449 of 9,845 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our 8th trip to Mexico and most were to all-inclusives. Overall our experience was great. My wife and I are picky travelers so I'll start by saying if you have a bad time here I would imagine it's difficult to please you anywhere.

We spent our week at the beach and the Royal service pool so I can't comment on the other pools.

Room: We stayed in room 1091 in a Royal Service swim out room attached to the Royal Service pool. The room was spacious, clean, modern, and the bed was very very comfy. We had an in and out hot tub with a large deck that also had chairs and a bali bed. Nit-pick: the rooms could use ceiling fans.

Service: very good all around. Our private check in was quick and easy. Our butler, Alma, was fantastic! She checked in with us every day, filled our tubs with roses and left champagne for my bday. She arranged our transfer back so we didn't have to deal with Lomas representatives time share and excursion pitch. She was always asking if everything was ok and what she could do to make it even better. She made all of our dinner reservations and even accommodated us when we wanted a switch at the last second. We did have a phone that we could reach her on but only used it once or twice since she seemed to find us first.

Carlos, Carmen, Alfredo, and Angel were all outstanding servers on the beach and by the pool. Tips didn't seem expected but were much appreciated. Karma will catch up to those who pay thousands for vacation but don't tip those who wait on you hand and foot the entire day:)

Food: The food was a step up from most AI resorts. The only bad meal we had was at the Mediterranean restaurant. We thought Bana was the best, both the regular restaurant and the tapenyaki. We ordered room service for breakfast and lunch each once. Breakfast took almost an hour to get but everything was correct and tasty. The pizza, as others have mentioned, isn't what you're used to in the states, but the wings are to die for. We also ordered chicken tacos and quesadillas at the pool and beach. They aren't on the menu but they will gladly make them for you. Side note: The liquor at this resort is top notch. Johnny walker black, grey goose, aged rum, etc is all standard on the royal service side.

Beach: I'm definitely a beach person and I can honestly say it's not as bad as some on here make it out to be. Is it narrow on the adult side? Yes, but that means your chair is simply closer to the water. Enjoy the view. No matter when we went to the beach there were always bali beds or loungers available. The walk to get to all sand on the bottom for swimming is less than 45 seconds. The sand is great and Carlos and Carmen will bring you all the food and drinks you can handle. The only negative to the beach that we could find was that you can't see if from the resort grounds due to the vegetation. We loved that you can walk for miles in either direction. Some make it sound like downtown playa (5th st) is a very long walk. I'll put it like this; if you're American you will think it's far. If you aren't, you won't. We walked to Pla 3 or 4 times.

Room for Improvement:
-Towel Game: It simply should not be allowed at any resort, ever. Some people think they're entitled to put a book or towel on the best chairs at BOTH the beach and pool in the same day even if they decide to only use one. Rather than remove the towels after hours of them sitting empty they remain empty all day. What a waste. One thing we really liked is that the resort didn't have towel cards. They were always available and you could use as many as you liked. No 5 star resort should have towel cards and i'm glad this one didn't use them.

-Adult only: Sort of...kids are allowed at all restaurants except one or two. You will see them at dinner and in the bars at night - lots of them since La Perla is attached to a family resort.

-Noise: If you didn't know better you'd think someone was firing a 10 gauge shot gun in the hall each time a door closes.

Royal service lounge "food" was terrible. Not edible. I don't even know what most of the stuff they had out was. A simple bowl of nuts or some fresh fruit would have been much better.

BIGGEST room for improvement: Dinner Reservations> I don't want to have to plan what time i'm going to eat each night. If I decide to go during a peak time and there's a wait, that's no problem. I'll simply get a drink at the bar and wait. The most frustrating part of this is we ate at 7:30 (peak time) each night. Every single restaurant was nearly empty when we ate, yet they act like reservations are very hard to come by when you check in.

Again, I wouldn't hesitate recommending this resort to family and friends. There's always room for improvement no matter where you go. I'm happy to answer any questions via email. ONe last note, we were by far the youngest people at the resort. Most are 40-70. Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your ample review regarding your recent stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

It is a real gratification for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest. We appreciate your compliments on the rooms, the pool, the beach , the food and particularly the service provided by our colleagues.

Be sure that Alma ,Carlos, Carmen, Alfredo, and Angel will be informed about your recognition to the outstanding service they provided to you at their different working areas. All of them were an important part from your whole experience and they deserve to know it.

Regarding pool area organization and dinner reservations, let me inform you the we have sent your comments to the corresponding managers in order to take them under consideration and improve their procedures and customer attention at the mentioned departments.

We are counting with your presence in the near future in Paradisus and thank you for your recommendation to future visitors.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Staff are like computerized robots, all asking the same coached questions. Food is mediocre or sub par, room service food is practicallly inedible except for the salad. Worst of all, every drink we ordered was either bottom shelf (no matter what you order) or completely watered down. There's no such thing as clear southern comfort, we saw the bottle. Room was nice enough but not enough to make me ever go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the details of your experience and we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

We will transfer your valuable suggestions to the Food and Beverage department, the manager will take them under consideration. It is always satisfactory to receive feedback from our guests.

Your satisfaction is our utmost concern and we would love the opportunity to regain your confidence and retain you as a valued guest.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We went to this hotel from march 19th to march 26th 2014. It was AMAZING. It is, for now, the greatest hotel we've experienced.

Room:

The room was really great! We had a normal room but we upgraded to a Master suite because we wanted the Royal Service everyone was talking about on this site. Our room looked like a condo with a "kitchen-like" space, a living room with a TV, HUGE balcony with spa and table, bedroom with tv and 2 bathrooms (one with tub and one with shower/toilet), The minibar was nice too, and refilled daily.

Royal Service:

It was great, even though we didn't use it that much. The most important part is the access to the restaurant La Palapa which is only for Royal Guest users. Good breakfast and lunch A la Carte. The private access to the beach was good too, but the private part of the beach was the worst one (the water was kinda brown and lots of seaweed on the sand) so we didn't stay much on the private side. The private pool was warm so that is nice in the eivening when it gets a little colder. Our butler (Carlos Castaneda) was really cool and friendly, was trying hard to speak French to us and booked our restaurant reservations.

Beach:

The beach was, honestly, really nice! We thought it would be bad since we read a few reviews about it but it's not. Of course, it's not the best beach we saw in our life, but it was good. There was a lot of seaweed from day 1 to day 3 but no more on day 4 to 7. We always had at least one spot to swim in where there was no rocks or seaweed and the water was clear. The sand is really great too! The service on the beach was SO NICE. We always had the same waiter, Jose Manuel. Look for him if you go on the beach because he is everywhere! You never miss a drink with him on the beach. He's friendly and gets your order in a few minutes!

Restaurants:

Now, this is the greatest part of the hotel. We really love good food but the food in this resort is just INCRDIBLE. The 100$/2 persons at la Passion was really, really worth it. It was the best meal we ever had in our lives. A real culinary experience. The other restaurant we really loved was the Fuego. Another culinary restaurant with really good taste. The 2 waiters at the entrance of the restaurants who get you to your seats (2 girls, can't remember their name) were so kind. The remembered our names the 2nd time we got there and were pleased to see us again! We went 3 times at the Fuego because we loved it so much. We also went to the Palapa, which was nice too. The Bana was great too, best tepanyaki table we had with good flavours and great show! The food at the buffets was really good too, breakfast and lunch.

We also went to the gym everyday. It was good, not that impressive but everything you need is there. We didn't try the Royal Guest gym because it was little and had less machines.

CAUTION: Club Melia

There is one thing we didn't like though: the Club Melia presentation. We were invited to a 90-minutes presentation to that Club. We accepted just because they gave us 50$-coupon to use in the hotel (which we used in La Passion) even if we didn't choose to enroll in their club. The girl who presented us the Club was really kind and friendly. But the program itself is not good to us. You waste 90 minutes of your precious beach time to hear about a deal that gives you "free" vacation for 50 years for the price of 2000$/month (!!!) for the next 5 years (!!!). Even though you're not interested, she'll show you another king of arrangement like 1000$/month but you have half the "options points" which equals money for the next years. I can't even explain it correctly because it seems to be like an hustle. Even when you don't accept this second offer, the "big boss" comes and tries to deal something for the next year and after you chose to continue or not... At the end, when we said that we don't want that for the 5 or 6th time, they looked really surprised, as if everybody accepts their offer. If you want to get a 50$ discount on your food, you can invest that 90 minutes... But beware of the pressure to buy. I wouldn't recommand this club to anyone. And if someone from Melia Club reads this, just be aware that this presentation gave me a bitter taste of your company and we really REALLY hated the pressure around that pitch.

Beside that little bad point, everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your comments with us.

We gladly to read that our Royal Service facilities and service, went beyond your expectations and made your vacations memorable.

We are content to know in general you had an amazing stay and we appreciate a lot your recommendation to future visitors. We can assure you we will do our best to provide them an unforgettable Paradisus experience, exactly the way you left the resort.

Moreover, your comment regarding the Meliá Club was sent to the manager in charge for review and take appropriate measures to avoid future inconvenience to other guests. We regret that the Club program was not appropriate, as well as program sales tactics.

Thank you for your kind words and please remember you have a home away from home at Paradisus La Perla – Royal Service.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Unbelievably wonderful resort! This is the best resort we have stayed at, with first class service, accomodations, activities, and food.
We booked the least expensive room, a junior luxury suite, which was more plush than anywhere we had ever stayed. Beautiful, new furniture, good lighting, huge bathtub, and great shower. (Only strange part is that the shower and the toilet weren't separated, but that's a minor complaint.) Refrigerator restocked daily with water, sodas, and beer. Patio with two kinds of chairs. Lots of drawer space.
Activities ranged from learning about preparing sushi and guacamole (not together!), giving a massage, salsa dancing, daily water aerobics, ping pong tournaments, learning some Spanish, and flower arranging. Every activity I attended was fun and informative. New activity leader Napoleon was especially friendly and helpful.
Entertainment was first rate, with professional dancers and acrobats performing nightly. Also, more laid back nightly entertainment in the South Lounge. Don't miss the excellent Michael Jackson show! Plus Gabi Fire was about 6 performers doing unbelievable tricks with fire.
The food was like eating at a laid back, different 5 star restaurant every night! Japanese, Mexican, Mediterranean, Brazilian, etc; all were superb! The service is terrific!
We stayed at La Perla, the adult side. Adjacent to La Perla is La Esmerelda, which is for families with kids. The children attend shows with adults and go to the same restaurants at night. Enjoyed the pool daily free of screaming kids, but most children were well behaved at the restaurants and shows.
The pool and beach are wonderful, but not as spectacular as Iberostar. You have to weigh which is more important to you: spectacular food, service, and accomodations with a good pool and beach vs. great pool and beach and good food, service, and accomodations.
If you want to pay more, you can indulge in a poolside room, but the pool is just steps from each room. If you want to pay still more, you can get the Royal Service with your own butler. Since we didn't bring our children, we couldn't figure out why we would need a butler to aid us.
Also, the concierge will give you a hard sell to sit through an hour and a half presentation on Melia's (the corporate parent of Paradisus) vacation club. After negoitiating two free massages and a $50 resort credit, we succumbed and sat tthrough the sales talk. For the lowest rate of $15,000; you can buy into their vacation club. No, we didn't buy, but sure enjoyed the massages at the wonderful day spa.
One tip: bring some drug store ear plugs since the dance shows can be loud.
The worst part of the only week was having to leave! What a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: If you want to spend extra money, you can get a poolside room or Royal Service with a butler. We didn't bother and were quite happy with our luxurious room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us and with other tourists the fantastic experience you had during your last visit to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Our most important goal is to exceed our guests´ expectations in all the possible ways and we feel pleased to know we did it with you. Our LUXEclusive plan were well appreciated for you, like the beautiful facilities, the comfort in your suite, the entertainment and the quality food in our restaurants.

Please consider Paradisus for your next Mexican Caribbean getaway.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were quite disappointed in the requirement to make reservations for dinner every night. In the second night of our stay we made reservations. The earliest we got was 9pm or later! The most interesting part was the restaurants were nearly empty? Made no sense. When I go on vacation, I don't want to have a schedule. I want I decide when I want to eat dinner. We were also told that he early reservations are saved for families with children. Don't expect to eat early if you don't have kids!

The ocean is not viewable from the resort unless you have a ocean view room. I have always been used to being able to see the ocean from the pool.

Definitely a kid friendly resort! Kids everywhere.

Nice rooms. Good food. Great entertainment at night.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreezingMinnesotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla. At Paradisus we have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important.

We are sorry to read that your expectations regarding your room view and restaurant reservations were not fully covered. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences and we can assure you that your notes were helpful for us.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope you would be willing to give us a second chance to give you the experience you deserve.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews