We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #20 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is paradise”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

You are waited on hand and foot.
Room service in an all inclusive? Incredible.
Ask an employee for directions and they take you there.
Super rooms.
Super clean!
Food? Pretty good.
************************

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenR1642PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad to read that you appreciate our room service, the suites , the quality food and the attentive service of our employee.

Thank you for your preference.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,062
    1,298
    382
    138
    105
See reviews for
880
5,178
96
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,809)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Paradisus la perla was awesome! We've stayed in many inclusive hotels in the Caribbean over the past 20 years and this was the best by far overall! The food was superb, service outstanding & a beautiful facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Rochee3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting us as a destination for your Caribbean Vacations.

We appreciate you highlighted our LUXEclusive plan that distinguish us from other all inclusive hotels, with our wide variety and quality in restaurants and bars options, where our guests never get bored and enjoy every single meal; our beautiful facilities and the outstanding service provided by our personal that is to be expected of the Meliá brand.

It would be an honor for us to receive you again at Paradisus: your home at the Riviera Maya.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

this was a great resort with excellent food, staff, and service. the rooms (suite) were high standard. we could not have asked for a better resort, location (10 minutes from 5th ave), and vacation. sorry to leave and looking forward to going back. carlos (consierge) was great as anyone one of the staff would go out of their way for you.

Room Tip: newer hotel so all the rooms should be good. upgrade to a suite if you can. huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westeccgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

Our most important goal is to exceed our guests´ expectations in all the possible ways and we feel pleased to know we did it with you. Our LUXEclusive plan were well appreciated for you, as well as our, facilities, rooms and helpful service from our personnel.

We will transfer you recognition to Carlos, who took excellent care of you and he deserves to know he was an important part of your holidays.

Thank you for your preference and recommendation.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall we really enjoyed our trip here - excellent food (la palapa, mole, bana were our favorites), great drinks, amazing pool, clean rooms (I am a neat freak so this was a big deal to me) and very friendly staff. HOWEVER, we did have two big disappointments. 1. I had a $100 necklace stolen from our room. Yes, this is probably partially my fault because I did not use the safe, but the jewelry was hidden in-between my clothes in the drawers, in a bag. I have reported it to the resort staff and HAVE NOT HEARD BACK YET - this is really the disappointing part. 2. The resort is not on the ocean and in fact, we couldn't really see much of the ocean from our room, which was on the top floor. We have stayed at Secrets Maroma Beach and the Excellence in years past and have really loved being RIGHT on the ocean. At Paradisus, you have to walk through a pathway with trees all around it to get to the ocean... and the ocean is very, very narrow. We were there for 6 days and spent all but 30 minutes at the pool as opposed to the ocean. The pool is gorgeous so we were ok with this but more of an FYI for anyone expecting to be on the ocean. Overall though, a great trip. I am not sure if we would return. Possibly, but there are so many other resorts to try. For anyone resort shopping for this particular area of Mexico, check out Secrets Maroma Beach!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

Our top priority is the safe of our guests and their belongings, what you describe is simply unacceptable and certainly not up to our standards. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention, be sure that we will verified with the departments involved and we will continue monitoring the situation.

On the other hand, despite not having exceeded your expectations regarding the beach, we are pleased to know you enjoyed the food quality and variety in most of our restaurants and bars especially at La Palapa, Mole and Bana; the service of our friendly staff and the facilities in general.

We’re truly sorry this incident left you with a negative impression of the hotel and we sincerely hope to have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Literally, from the moment I entered this resort, my breath was taken away by the beauty of the decor and the wonderful fragrant aroma. The staff greet you warmly and are more than willing to assist you with check-in. My husband and I were struck with the fact that the staff seemed genuinely warm...not warm because they wanted a tip...but genuinely warm. This was a refreshing difference. (Napoleon, Carlos, and Trinia were just a few of the staff that made us feel welcome.) I can't speak enough about the cleanliness and beauty of the resort. There was clearly a great deal of care taken when the interior decorators designed the interior. From the lighting fixtures to the big comfortable sofas and love seats, to the colors used...I just can't say enough. Lastly, the food selection and the fact that there was an "adults only" side of the resort added to this wonderful experience.The only negative I would share is that our room's terrace faced the roadway used by staff. Of course, that was not attractive or appealing and therefore, we never used the terrace. Nonetheless, I recommend this resort to fellow travelers with NO RESERVATION! Have a great time.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay additional money for a swim up room or for "Royal Service" becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for describing shortly your amazing experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Our staff always willing to help, our beautiful facilities and enjoying several delicacies options at our restaurants are some of the basic elements of our LUXEclusive plan. We are glad to read you took advantage of it.

We appreciate your recommendation to other tourists to visit us and it would be a pleasure to host your again at this portion of Paradise.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 days and 5 nights in a Royal Service room from March 26-March 31. Immediately upon arrival we were extremely pleased by just how beautiful the hotel is, photos do not do it justice. Everything is immaculately clean and most of the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. If you don't understand or speak Spanish it is not a problem whatsoever. We didn't find out about the forms you could fill out for room service until a few days in but we did order coffee to the room with juices every morning and Luis was excellent and timely there on out. The restaurants and food options were fantastic, fresh and there was never an issue modifying a menu option to fit my admittedly picky tastes. The food was outstanding notably La Palapa (great options for ever meal) Bana (hibachi or not) , The Market, and Fuego were all we had time to visit wish we had time to do dinners at the others. The bar scene at night was perfect for pre or post dinner drinks, we really enjoyed the M Bar for espresso martins, but we frequented Toji which was the bar in Bana Almost every one of the five nights we were there simply because the drinks were amazing and the bartenders David and Jorge were fantastic, they even went out of their way one night to get us our favorite dessert from the restaurant delivered to the bar which was sweet and appreciated. The Royal Service pool area though is where we received the best service and that was from both Alfredo and Arturo. Alfredo was to put it plainly AMAZING. He was at our beck and call constantly following up to refill our drinks and see if there was anything else he could do for us to make our experience more pleasurable. I am not sure there is anything I could have asked of him that he wouldn't have done for us. This guy is an absolute gem and he deserves a raise AND a promotion; outstanding service is his specialty. Arturo was also really fantastic kept an eye on our Bali bed and every time we left would come around making sure our towels were laid out and situated and guys like Arturo and Alfredo really take a good resort experience to a great one.
Now for the most disappointing portion of our stay ....butler service!!! What an absolute letdown. Our butler was Neftali and he was a nice guy but I never quite got the feeling he really cared much about ensuring our stay was a memorable one. We advised them we were there celebrating an anniversary and after seeing reviews here and by a girlfriend who actually stayed the week before us I was definitely anticipating a few little extras to make our room and stay romantic. BOY WERE WE DISAPPOINTED. My boyfriend had to instruct our butler to set up a bathtub to be waiting for us when we got back the night of our anniversary, we had zero candles, chocolates, champagne NADA. In addition to that we were informed by other couples on our transport home that they regularly had smaller bottles of vodka and rum in their rooms which we never received. We had to go downstairs and steal a bottle from the royal service bar. What an absolute let down. For being a couples focused side with TWO jacuzzis in a room you'd expect more emphasis on romance. We considered actually complaining about paying for butler service which we truly received nothing from. The whole butler experience put a bad taste in our mouths about an otherwise picturesque trip. Overall amazing resort we would definitely stay at again but next time we'd speak up about things we thought were missing out on.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

As service-oriented company, we have a firm devotion to accomplish our guest’s satisfaction; therefore, we are sorry to read the butler service was not what you were expecting in your anniversary day. That special service provided to our Royal Services guests, must be totally impeccable and helpful during your holidays. Be confident that we will take corrective measures to prevent future incidences about it .

On the other part, it is rewarding for us to know that you enjoyed some delicacies at our specialty restaurants and being pampered for our warm staff. All of them will be pleased to know that their efforts did not go unnoticed.

We understand we didn't provide you with the hotel experience you expected and sincerely hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes and welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent time here with family and friends. The resort is beautiful! The grounds are lovely and everything is especially clean. The entire staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating to all of us. We had a wonderful dinner at the market and the wait staff was exceptional. Beautiful place to stay in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneG5352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your concrete review from your Paradisus experience, affirming that you had a wonderful time with us, enjoying our facilities , the service of our staff and everything offered at Paradise.

We would love to host you again in the future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,597 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,909 reviews
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,438 reviews
9.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing