We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vacation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #19 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Awesome vacation!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Everything was simply perfect, food and services is out of this world! Royal Service is definitively worth the $$$. We had the partial ocean view suite. This is perfect if you want to have some intimacy in your balcony whirpool bath! Pool and Garden view doesn't offer such intimacy.

The only thing is that there is about a couple of meters of rock when entering the beach but once you pass it, it is clean sand. It does get steep rapidly so if you are looking for an extended shallow water beach with clean sand in water (no rock), not the best location to choose.

Room Tip: We had the partial ocean view suite. This is perfect if you want to have some intimacy in your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mathieu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Paradisus experience with us and with future guests.

As you were able to experience during your getaway at Royal Service, this is the perfect ambiance for couples willing to have some intimacy and a relaxing stay, we are pleased to know you decided to reserve your room at the Royal Service section and that you were completely satisfied with it.

It was really a pleasure for us to have the opportunity to host you and please consider us for your following Caribbean holidays.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,064
    1,300
    382
    138
    105
See reviews for
880
5,181
96
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,812)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff took care of me when I didn't even know I needed to be taken care of. Everyone always offered to get whatever I needed or wanted and had a genuine positive attitude. The staff was willing to go above and beyond for you to have a positive experience. La Perla had the best customer service I have experienced in a long time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Emily Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I visited La Perla April 26th - may 3rd and were thrilled for the most part. The weakest link was the front desk check-in process. This is the only resort of many we have visited in the Caribbean that didn't provide a room shortly after arrival. We had to wait 3 hours and then go ask again rather than someone come and tell us it was ready. When my husband complained about the delay, we received a room upgrade to a beautiful royal suite without the special service. The concierge only scheduled our dinner reservations and was not available at all times for other needs as at other resorts we have experienced. However, we tip and found servers going above and beyond as a result; so save the money for royal service. When the room was finally ready, our bellhop Freddy took control of what he could control- escorting us and delivering our bags to our room within 10 minutes. All of the restaurants had excellent servers and food including the breakfast buffet, a great Brazilian grill, steak and seafood. Even the pool snack area had grilled fish and vegetables. The only disappointing food was the "special" 7 course dinner at Passion. Skip this experience and save your money. The M Bar has a great bartender, martinis and the best wines. Pool guests were rude- reserving chairs and cabanas early in the morning and often not using them; but we were still always able to find chairs. A pool party day was fun and pool relaxation all the other days, drinks and service were great. There is a huge, well equipped gym and many varied classes available. So overall this is a beautiful place with great facilities and food where you can relax and recuperate as much as you want in paradise!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxseasonsurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.

We appreciate all guest feedback, so we certainly value yours. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had during your check-in process. Be sure that your notes have been sent to the Front Desk manager in order to improve and assure it will not happen again to our appreciated guests.

On the other hand, it is pleasant to read that you could enjoy the facilities in general the quality food at most of our restaurants , our gym and the varied activities we offer at Paradisus.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future!

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

People should be told that the family portion of the hotel is connected to the adult facility; there should be more entrances to the facility from the beach especially since they make you feel like 2nd class if you try to exit from the royal service side. The restaurants and service were great, exception, only due to the family places with children and passion for reasons earlier noted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Your comments are very important for us, it is through them how we learn about what we need to improve .Please be sure they will work on those aspects in order to provide our guests the best service.

Thank you again for sharing your point of view and we really appreciate if you give us a second opportunity to visit us again at Paradisus Playa del Carmen.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying I've traveled to the riviera maya more than 10 times and love the area. This was my first time at Paradisus la perla and I couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel. Every aspect of our stay was amazing from the service to the room to the food!

We traveled as two couples in our late 20s/ early 30's for a six day stay and booked two royal luxury suites, partial ocean view. Upon arrival at the resort we were escorted to the royal section -after a few hiccups as to where we had to check in - given a brief tour and since our room wasn't ready we headed to La Palapa for lunch. WOW! Not only was our first meal full of flavor and beyond delicious but our lovely waiter Arturo kept the drinks flowing and gave us many tips on excursions, where to go in Playa and what restaurants we must try.

After lunch we checked in to our magnificent rooms and they were certainly full ocean views overlooking the royal pool with Cozumel in the distance. We then met our butler Alma who had prearranged dinner reservations for the week and stocked our fridge! We literally did not have to do anything but enjoy our stay. She was a gem!

Alma found us daily by the pool to say hello and make sure we were enjoying our stay. Each evening we returned to our room with a gift from her. A bathtub full of roses, an aromatherapy pillow, strawberries and champagne!!! Such a nice touch!

We spent the week hopping back and forth from the pool to the beach where we met the best waiter on the property -- Jose Manuel Mena. He was there from morning to night and truly the hardest worker we encountered, not to mention the friendliest! Our drinks were always filled and snacks were brought -guacamole and chips. If you have the pleasure of being served by Jose you are in great hands!!!

The beach area is what I would call "intimate". We never fought or struggled for a seat and when you were warm the ocean was steps away. I've stayed at resorts with larger beach areas and much preferred this intimate setting.

We had dinner at Vento, Fuego, the Grill, Bana and the Market. From Mahi Mahi to ceviche to risotto and flank steak every meal was exceptional. There was not one meal that disappointed any of us and I can say this resort had the best food by far out of all the places I've stayed in the caribbean and riviera maya!

Nightly entertainment did end early but live music was wonderful and after days in the sun and exceptional meals we didn't mind! They did have a late night lounge with a DJ we checked out a few times.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and would definitely suggest the Royal section. The room location, private pool and beach area and la palapa restaurant were hands down worth the royal service extra!

Special thanks to Jose and Alma for making us want to return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lext484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your unforgettable experience with future tourists and with us on Trip Advisor. As you know, previous guests’ reviews help a lot of tourist to take the final decision when booking a resort.

By your complete review, we can see that you have taken advantage of being a Royal Service guests and you have enjoyed the facilities, tasted some delightful meals at our restaurants, the nightly entertainment, our unique beach surrounded by our protected mangrove and you felt pampered by our attentive staff , especially from Jose and Alma , they will be advised about your kind words in order to motivate them to continue pampering all of our guests the same way they did it with you.

Thank you very much for you recommendation and remember that Paradisus will be waiting for your return.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

After reading so many reviews on here about this hotel we decided to spend our honeymoon here. WHAT A BIG MISTAKE !!I. We have been to cancun before and we loved it so much that we wanted to go to Mexico again. They advertise that if you have been married less than 12 months we would get a fruit basket, and champagne to our room! When we came there we showed out marriage certificate from the day before and they just said OK. NONE OF THE FRUITS OR CHAMPANE WAS BOUGHT TO US ! Next day we ordered breakfast and had to wait for it for an hour and a half and guess what??? We called to inquire about our order and they said we didn't write it down please tell us what you guys wanted again! What???? They started laughing on the phone like it was funny to them that we were so upset! Me and my husband went to play beach volleyball so after walking for 15 min to the beach from our room we find that the beach is the most dirtiest beach !!! We have better beaches in NYC.!!! The water was dirty and a lot of rocks impossible to get into the water ! We finally got to the volleyball court after 20 min of playing with 6 other people they said we have to take the net down because of a wedding !! Are you freaking kidding me??? Like there is no other place on the whole beach to do a wedding???? We went back to our hotel pool , asked to put on music with a bunch of other people they said NO! NO MUSIC AT ALL!!! The only time the music will play is at 12 for 30 min for water aerobics! The food is really horrible , same food everyday in the buffet area. They give you the cheapest food possible ! Everything nice like shrimps,seafood nice drinks you have to pay extra ! They require dinner reservations at all restaurants and it seems they try to control everything about your dining experience instead of letting you have the freedom to eat when and where you want like other all inclusive resorts we've been to. If you want to eat lunch before noon your only option is the snack bar! Plus since this resort is connected to family resort la Esmeralda you will always see kids running around in the restoraunts!!! Worst experience ever please beware of the false advertisement of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank marina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla. At Paradisus we have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important for us, it is through them how we learn about what we need to improve and take corrective actions to avoid negative points in future guests experiences. That is why we have sent your notes to the managers of the involved areas. Please be sure they will work on those aspects because all our guests deserve to receive the best service.

Please accept our apologies for the diverse situations that made us fail you. It would be a pleasure for us if you could give us another opportunity to show you the authentic Paradisus experience.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I just traveled with my wife for 8 days from 4/26-5/4. We are experienced travelers, having been in Aruba, Grand Cayman, Punta Cana within the last year or two. I am going to give my positives and negatives about this resort.

Positives:

1) Food was actually good for an all-inclusive. Some restaurants better than others, depends on your taste. Any meat you eat outside of the US in general is not USDA prime, so manage your expectations a little.

2) Main pool was big and clean, very relaxing place to unwind.

3) Location near Playa del Carmen: great town to visit for shopping, good bars, restaurants, etc. We actually went twice and had a blast.

4) Excursion to Xel-ha is worth every penny. This was our favorite part of the trip by far. We had both done the combo with Tulum the first time, but it was much better to stay the day here since there is so much to do.

5) Spa was very nice and relaxing but very overpriced. We paid $337 USD for 2 80 minute massages, not worth the money but a good massage nonetheless.

6) In general, the people were friendly and accommodating at the bars and restaurants.

Negatives (but not deal breakers)

1) Royal Service: do NOT spend the extra money on Royal Service. We are pretty low maintenance, so we only used our concierge to make dinner reservations, otherwise we were pretty much self-sufficient. The private pool and beach area are EXTREMELY small. Most days all the Bali beds were taken by 7:30 AM, there are only 16 of them by the royal service pool (I counted). We spent most of our days at the regular adults-only pool and had a blast. In addition, you only miss out on one restaurant, La Palapa. 100% best way to go here is a swim-up room.

Also keep in mind that some restaurants are shared with the Esmeralda, so there will be kids at certain restaurants, which was not advertised either.

2) Check-in: We paid extra to be able to check -in at 11 AM. We were told that our room wasn't ready when we got there at 12:30, so we had to wait until 5 PM. Luckily, the concierge told us he wouldn't charge us the extra money. FYI, this happened to several couples who tried the same thing. You room will be ready by 4 or 5 PM, so be prepared.

3) BEACH is HORRIBLE, probably the worst beach we have ever stayed at. Where do I start, oh yeah, resort is not "on the beach". It is 50 yards off the beach, separated by a rainforest/mangrove. The Royal Service beach was small and very shallow (not more than 15 feet wide from rainforest end to water. Water is murky, rock-filled and rough. Most days they wouldn't let you go in water at Royal Service beach but make you walk 100 yards either way to swim. The beach at this resort is a 2/10, literally.

4) Upselling of certain alcohol and food items. I drink Patron at home, so if you want to drink it here, it will cost you approximately 350 pesos (8-9 bucks a shot). Wine is local, about average quality, but you can purchase better wine. All restaurants offer an upsell on steak or surf and turf for 500-800 pesos. Also need to pay about $50 per person to eat at Passions. We chose to go to Playa del Carmen instead which was a great choice for us.

So to summarize this resort, I feel that the pictures online do not give you the real scoop. The property is like all the other Melia/Paradisus resorts we have stayed at, on a smaller scale. The property is clean, well maintained and very nice. We were able to relax and enjoy time away from work and recharge, so that was nice. The beach was a huge letdown, so I personally will stay elsewhere. If the beach isn't your thing and you want a quality, relaxing resort with a good variety of food and drinks, this may be for you. We will probably go to Paradisus Palma Real in Punta Cana next vacation instead of coming back here.

Room Tip: Swim up is the best, NOT Royal Service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcadrian0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to receive reviews from experienced travelers. Thank you for your time.

Your opinion for us is as important as all our previous guests’ reviews. We are sorry to read we were not able to succeed your expectations due several aspects, especially at the Royal Service section ,we have sent your notes to their manager to let her know about the opportunity areas to work with her staff and improve the service at our most exclusive area in the resort. The extra benefits and services for our Royal Service guests (the opportunity to have breakfast and lunch at “La Palapa”, the private pool with pool concierge service, additional amenities in your suite, private lobby with a bar, butler assistance, etc.) are great motivation for returning guests.

On the other part , we are glad to know that you appreciate and enjoyed the quality food at most of at our restaurants , the pool area, the Spa and the customer service.

We are proud that you have had a great vacation at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,610 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,885 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#46 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,281 reviews
5.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,083 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing