We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #23 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a great week!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from one of our best vacations! We stayed in a Royal Service swim up room and it was fabulous. I had emailed the resort a couple of weeks before our arrival and received a very quick response from the concierge. Our butler was Hector and besides offering over the top service, he was genuinley a very nice person. He went out of his way to make sure every day was special. We have been fortunate enough to stay at very nice all inclusives and this one ranks right at the top. From the food, to great service from all the employees we came in contact with, to the beautiful grounds we were overwhelmed. If you were in the mood for just a quiet day, that could be found. Or if you wanted more activity, that was offered too. Thursday they have a really fun pool party and we really had a great time. I know this is one resort we will return to every chance we get! Paradisus La Perla just does it right.

Room Tip: Royal Service is worth ever penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunset777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us part of your Paradisus Royal Service experience and for highlighting the aspects you enjoyed the most during your stay, like the beautiful facilities, the delicious and assorted food at our restaurants and of course the warm service provided by our staff, special mention to Hector. We will pass along your notes about his outstanding service and the importance he had on your overall Paradisus experience.

We look forward to welcome you once more very soon.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,497
    1,389
    417
    150
    111
See reviews for
974
5,538
100
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,943)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A destination Wedding in Mexico was the reason we stayed at Paradisus (La Perla) in Playa del Carmen,Mexico. ~ When we arrived in Cancun,there were lots of neatly dressed men and women trying to sell all kinds of tours,activities,etc. as we exited the airport. We just moved quickly and said,"No thank you!" several times. The town that Paradisus is near,Playa del Carmen, is a 40 minutes ride by taxi from the Cancun Airport. Our transfer to the resort from the airport took well over an hour because Olympus dropped passengers with us at two other resorts first. When we arrived at the resort there was a check in gate and we rode past a few long, plain-looking concrete buildings. As we got out of the van we were greeted by two pleasant people who handed us a hot face towel and ushered us into the lobby of La Perla. ( Paradisus is divided into two parts,La Perla, for adults only,and La Esmeralda, for families with children.Each has its own pools,etc. but you can move freely back and forth using the facilities at both.) At the front desk we were given our room "keys" (cards really) and had an attractive wrist band with the Paradisus logo on it put on our right wrists. We were told not to remove it during our stay. A young lady,dressed in an attractive robe-like unjform sat us down to explain the facilities.We were given a map and showed where different things were in this very large resort complex and told about the restaurants and how to make dinner reservations. Other things were explained but it was rather overwhelming,for sure. My wife whispered to me,"By the time we figure this place out, it will be time to leave!" At this point we were brought to our room,with our baggage, and the escort gave us an overview. We were in the least expensive room category,"Jr. Executive Suite" (One of the block of rooms reserved for wedding guests) on the third floor and it was gorgeous as well as very large. The private balcony overlooked a Mangrove forrest,which we could see over from the 3rd floor vantage point. To the left we saw the ocean and to the right the local neighborhood,which was very interesting and colorful. There was a large tub in the bathroom,which was divided from the main room by sliding tinted glass doors,as well as a separate shower which was really big and equipped for two. The room has lots of closet/drawer space,a big-screen color tv,a cd player,coffee maker,etc. Past the bathroom was a king-sized bed with a realistic looking glass aquarium mural which could be lit up if desired. Then the living area had a full-size couch,table,and large table with two chairs.(This came in handy since we ordered room service breakfast every morning.) EVERYTHING was included so the only money we spent was on tips,and shopping on 5th Ave. ~ Tip: Bring lots of one dollar bills for tips.You don't have to tip,but we found that old habits made it more comfortable. The reason I gave Pasadisus 4 stars rather than 5 was because of the food. To begin with,it helps if you like Mexican food,which I don't.In general I found the food to be good,but average,which should not be the case in a luxury resort. Breakfast was consistently very good. Lots of choices,and in our case brought to the room daily. For lunch there were casual buffets,or you could order at one of the restaurants if you wanted something different. We found ourselves at the pool most days where there was a short,but decent,menu.For me,the club sandwich with fries was really good,while my wife enjoyed grilled veggies and a salad. There are 11 restaurants open for dinner.One is fancy with a $15 extra charge. The other 10 provide a variety of types. ex: One is Asian Fussion,another Mexican,etc. "The Market" was my favorite. In addition to a full salad bar,11 different kinds of grilled meats were brought to the table,one at a time,during the course of dinner. "The Grill" was another good one,where I had a rib eye steak while my wife enjoyed a fish dish. (Tip: Do NOT order the pizza from Room Service! It's horrible!!) ~ The pool at La Perla is great! Water is warm,there's a bar at the pool,you can grab a bite to eat,and there are NO Kids! You also can use the really nice pool at La Esmeralda,as well as several other pools and canals in the resort. ~ The beach is nice,but not great. It's not very wide due to the Mandoves and bushes borsering it,and there are lots of rocks in the water.(Bring your water shoes!) BUT,the water is warm with a beautiful color,there are plenty of comfortable lounges and umbrellas. AND there is a bar at the beach as well as waitress service. ~ One side trip that I strongly recommend is a stroll down 5th Ave.,a 10 minutes taxi ride away.We went twice and picked up some nifty items good prices.In many cases we were able to negotiate for a much lower price.Not in the dept. stores or things like the tee shirts though.We liked it so much we went back a 2nd time. Tip: Go early in the day before it gets uncomfortably hot & humid. (It's humid all the time here in this part of Mexico due to its location sticking out in the Gulf of Mexico.) ~ All things considered,my wife and I had a wonderful time during our stay at Paradisus La Perla,and I highly recommend it if you're looking for a Mexican vacation.

Room Tip: 1st floor swim-up rooms are less private.(Need to keep drapes closed for privacy.) ~ Least expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teach_Travel_REC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We appreciate your full description of our facilities including rooms, food, pool area, beach and service. For us, it means you really were impressed about them and you felt it was necessary to share it with us and future Paradisus visitors. We are sure they will take your suggestions in consideration to enjoy their vacations as much as you did.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and observations, we are sure for your next visit we will deserve a 5 stars rating.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Simply my best hotel in the area I've ever been too. The hotel atmosphere, zen and contemporain, the music ambiance, the night shows (for once very deiversified and with good taste!), the people so kind and pampering, the excellent food, the hotel room so confortable... The warm ocean, and white sand beach. We were treated like kings and queens. we bought a shirt with the Paradisus name on it, wich we never do!! This time it didn't feel tacky at all!! ; ) Simply one of my best stay in Mexico. I will definitely go back one day and recommand this hotel Paradisus to all. We were staying at La perla, but each building is outstanding, even the family building is awesome with the river and play area. If you can afford it, The Royal service is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Marjoly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are completely satisfied to know that you enjoyed all the areas and services of our resort , where you only had to worry about letting us pamper you. It is so great to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience.

Thank you for your kind words and please remember you have a home away from home at Paradisus.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our friend got married at Paradisus La Perla and we stayed 5 nights at the end of July/beginning of August. There was 35 people in our group. From the second we arrived, everything was perfect. The food and drinks were delicious, the hotel was gorgeous and the staff was incredible. Angel took great care of us at the pool- he was quick and even learned our drinks and started preparing them right when he saw us. One day there was a pool party on the adult side which was the most fun party I've ever seen and Angel did an amazing job managing the large crowd. On the beach, Reyes was absolutely wonderful. He would have chairs ready for us before we arrived and drinks on the way before we could even order. We were never without a fresh drink in hand thanks to Reyes. I can honestly say that Reyes helped make our trip worthwhile. If you ever visit Paradisus- La Perla make sure to say hi to Angel at the pool and sit in Reyes's section at the beach- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Paradisus experience with us and with future tourist.
We strongly believe our employees are our biggest strength to provide the service all our guests deserve, that is why your recognition to Reyes and Angel has been sent to their supervisor in order to encourage them to continue providing an outstanding service.

Please honor us with your visit in your next vacation.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is place to go in cancun hands down.The staff is amazing the service is phenomenal, and the food is out of this world.If u go please visit my boy Reyes on the beach the guy is amazing and super vigilant to all your needs including reserving beach chairs and bringing drinks right after u finish ur first one. He took very good care of us as well as Angel the bartender on the adult side pool he is an beverage genius. Overall the resort was excellent. PS.. They throw one hell of a wedding there friends wedding was absolutely stunning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that your overall experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla was completely satisfactory and you had the opportunity to enjoy our facilities and the attentiveness of our staff, especially from Reyes at the beach and Angel at the pool bar, they will receive your notes about your recognition to their amazing job.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Trip Advisor and we will be waiting for your prompt return.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I would only stay at the Royal Service It was worth my whole trip La Palapa and Fuego were amazing restaurants. Highly recommended I ate mostly at these two. Royal pool was really relaxing and the beach was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your concrete review from your Paradisus-Royal Service experience, affirming that you enjoyed our wide variety and quality in restaurants; especially at La Palapa and Fuego restaurants, where our guests enjoy every single meal.

If you are thinking in coming back to Playa del Carmen, please consider to stay again in Paradisus Playa del Carmen.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed at the Paradisus Play Conchal in Costa Rica and wanted to give this new property a try. We were not disappointed with the location, service, and attention to detail. We booked a Royal Service room and stayed for 5 nights the last week in July. They granted every request we made including my wife's picky palate. I will breakdown the review so you can find the areas you are looking for:
Location to/from airport: The property is located within about 40 minutes on the Cancun airport, we set up private transportation which was lovely. You enter through some shady neighborhoods but the security at the gate is top notch.
Check In/Out: We booked Royal Service and we were whisked away from the main entrance to the Royal Service lounge. The check-in process is very easy where they set you up with your cell phone (to call butler), and talk about the property in general. Lucia worked with us prior to the trip and everything was handled by the time we arrived, she is truly a blessing to deal with. Check out took about 5 minutes, very pain free, just hard to leave.
Rooms: Our room was partial ocean view, the resort is located far enough away from the beach where you can't really hear the ocean, but can see it just fine. The property itself is gorgeous so you don't end up missing an ocean front room. Rooms were spacious and very clean. The balcony is very spacious and Jacuzzi tub outside is a great addition, they will also place your wet clothes on drying racks outside your room just ask. Shower was truly our favorite part of the room, two headed shower that was very clean and great temperature and water pressure.
Food/Drink: Monica our butler made all of our arrangements each evening and we were not disappointed. We would usually do breakfast in La Palapa (RS only), lunch at the pool or the Grill, and dinner at the different restaurants. You can't really go wrong anywhere, however we didn't think Mole was all that great. Just be prepared that in some restaurants, even if you book a late reservation children will be around, yes even at 10pm. Parents just don't seem to care if the kid passes out asleep in the restaurant or throws a huge fit. We really tried to veer towards the adults only restaurants, no problems there. The resort has a pretty good nightlife until midnight, at which point about everything shuts down. Lots of fun at Gabi club, Red Lounge, etc. The empanada's at the Grill are amazing.
Service: Alfredo at the Royal Service pool area was amazing, always bringing us new drinks, special things to eat, etc. Our butler Monica also went way above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay. In Royal Service all the staff will get to know your name and your likes/dislikes, in speaking with other people at the resort this doesn't happen everywhere.
Excursions: We went to Xplor Fuego and had a blast. Better value for the admission to go at night and less lines, children, etc. One tip is to just take a cab, we booked through Xcaret website and spent $20 each for transportation (1 hour from resort based on stops), when we were ready to leave the cab ride was $20 for 4 people total and only took 20 minutes. Pick up time was 11:15pm as well, and we were finished with everything about 10pm. It is a workout and bring some kind of shoes that can get wet and still walk around in (aquasocks).
If you have any specific questions please send me an email. We are planning on going back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigPoke89 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are pleased to read that you had a great time with us and you enjoyed the comfort in your suite, tasted some delightful dishes at our a la carte restaurants and felt pampered by the attentive service from Lucia, Mónica and Alfredo.

We appreciate your recommendation to future tourists to stay at Paradisus and enjoy the extra amenities and services offered at Royal Service. We will be waiting for your return next summer.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
651 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,145 reviews
4.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
22.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Melia, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus By Melia Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing