We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food lovers paradise!!!and beautiful property!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Ranked #19 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food lovers paradise!!!and beautiful property!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I just got back from La perla Adult side.My wife and I go to this area of Mexico every year . This Resort was so relaxing with such a.beautiful pool .The service was perfect .Rooms were so modern and European high tech.My wife and I would go back ,a little pricey ,but they do it top shelf.The biggest drawback was beach and also how far it was 5th ave for shopping have to take a taxi.but would still go back

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roblobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We are glad to know that your overall experience was satisfactory and you truly liked the facilities, food and service.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to your second home, Paradisus Playa del Carmen.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,966
    1,275
    375
    136
    105
See reviews for
862
5,088
92
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,779)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I love this amazing hotel, personal, room, restaurants, buffets.
From the people that welcome you upon arrival to the people out side in the beach. Super service. Bar/grill at the pool, night entretainment, very well done. Excellent service. I got a room suite which it was espacious, fine decor, bathroom, terrace, I can't describe how great it was you will need to see it.Yes Gym it is well equipped. If you want to feel pampered step in at the Spa room.
Thanks so much to the people at any restaurants you guys rocks. food was 5 start, the staff welcome you with their best smile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,

We can read between the lines from your comment that you were even smiling when you were writing your review.

It is always pleasant to read when our guest´s expectations were completely covered after staying at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla. Please be sure we will keep the hard work to remain this way and continue creating everlasting memories in all our guests.

We will be pleased to receive you again in your future vacations at Playa del Carmen to get another unforgettable experience.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The property was amazing and the service was great. They had great entertainment during the day and night. Good room service. Definitely go there to have a good time! The food was also very good. The only bad thing I could say is that the restaurants and beach were shared with the kid friendly side. I love children and all, but we left our kids at home to get away and I did not appreciate having to be confronted with other people's children and I definitely did not appreciate sleepy whinny children at dinner way past their bed time which seemed to happen everywhere. Next time I plan an adult only vacation I will make sure the resort is actually adult only. Another small negative is that it was quite hard to get reservations at the restaurants. You need to make them in advance, so they make you schedule yourself which is what we try to get away from on vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us.

It is good to know your overall experience was great while you enjoyed the facilities, entertainment, food at our variety of restaurants and the staff service.

On the other hand, please be sure that we will work on those aspects you have mentioned in order to provide our guests the best service and unforgettable experiences.

We appreciate your words, and please honor us with your presence in a future stay.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile


We have been to Mexico 7 times and this resort was the best ever ,clean nice.and a great staff.the location is only about 35 minutes from the airport.and about 10 minutes from 5 ave which is the shopping district

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest,

It is always pleasant to read when our guest´s expectations where completely covered after staying at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla. Please be sure we will keep the hard work to remain this way and continue creating everlasting memories in all our guests.

Thank you for considering in coming back for your future vacation and consider Paradisus as your home away from home.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nova scotia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed 9-16Aug and had a fabulous birthday getaway, despite a few ‘hiccups’ along the way. It is all in how things are handled by guests and hotel staff/management that can make or break your experience.

Upon arrival, our room was not ready, so after receiving our wrist bands (not the tacky scratchy plastic ones either!), we retrieved our beach gear from our luggage, were shown to a hospitality area with bathroom/shower/change facilities. We stopped by Guests Services just outside the LaPerla lobby, made a reservation for 8pm that evening at Bana for a la carte, not hibachi or sushi bar with Aleksandra and then she escorted us to the main pool, providing an orientation enroute. We found an empty Bali bed to relax in while waiting for our room. We lunched at the poolside Sunset Grill and then headed back to the lobby.

Our room was ready for us, so the bell boy got our luggage from lock up and showed us to our room, #1233, 1 Bedroom Master Suite with a Partial Oceanview, an upgrade from our booked Luxury Junior Suite and a very nice surprise! Huge room with separate room with toilet, double rainhead shower stall and vanity area, another room with closets, drawers, safe, vanity area and soaking tub, large bedroom with oh-so-comfy King bed with access to the balcony where the jacuzzi was, a dining wet-bar area and living space with another access to the balcony with love seat and table with 4 chairs – plenty of space for just the two of us! All tastefully decorated with muted lighting, dark brown woods and 2 flatscreen TVs. No complaints here and housekeeping did a great job in keeping it cleaned and refreshed. We did not receive turn down service on one evening and we had to request our mini bar be re-stocked as well.

Water is not potable in room, but bottled water was provided in both vanity areas and in the bar area for making coffee. Mini bar was also stocked with bottled water. Bottled water was readily available throughout the resort, no problem.
We ate dinner at Mole twice, Fuego, LaPalapa, the Market Grill, Bana and Vento and all were very good with unique choices. We preferred the a/c options but the open air dining at Market Grill the night we were there was comfortable with the nice breeze; LaPalapa was OK at first and then it got just stifling hot; could not wait for dinner to be over with so we could retreat to a bar that had a/c for after dinner drink. We really enjoyed the M Bar and the Blue Agave Bar; less so, the Red Lounge and least Toji bar.

So hard to shout out to all the staff who helped make our stay as enjoyable an experience as it was BUT a big ‘hey’ to the swim up pool bar guys: Angel, Jesus, Marcos and Augustin, thank you!

Before heading on our trip, we read reviews and forum threads to get as much information as possible and also emailed the resort a couple times with questions. One thing we did not see mentioned, which was a deal-maker for us during the trip, is the different Guest Services. This is HUGE, IMHO! The ‘blue sash’ wearers are Guest Services for the resort LaPerla. While others are still Guest Service Reps (most with purple or green sashes and we dealt with Jorje, Rosario, Handsi), they are for the Melia hotel brand and they are the folks who will be your personal concierge while onsite – they will offer to make reservations for you, refer you to the Best Day Travel folks to book excursions, etc and they are the ones who will pitch to you the Vacation Club option. In my opinion they always have that ulterior motive and once we figured that out, we realized they were the issue with our issues, we avoided them like the plague and sought out the assistance of LaPerla Guest Services, the blue-sash gals! Muchas Gracias to Aleksandra and Paola at LaPerla guest Services who worked things out for us, making them right and with follow up!

While away we both celebrated our birthdays and we notified the resort in advance. Not that we expected any sort of recognition, although the room upgrade might have been as a result, a slice of birthday cake was delivered to our room the day after mine; nothing for my husband.

Our last night, we returned to Mole and immediately following our seating, were greeted by the Hotel Manager Annette. She ‘heard’ of our issues from Guest Services and wanted to ensure all had been dealt with satisfactorily, which had. She also introduced us to the Food & Beverage Manager whose name escapes me just now and asked him to ensure he had a special dessert for us. He then introduced us to the Chef, again, name escapes me and told him to ensure he made us a special dessert; I told him nothing chocolate due to allergy. The restaurant manager then came over , Paola, and introduced herself stating if there was anything she could do just to let her know. WOW, what attention!
Our Guacamole was prepared tableside, as it should have been on our first visit. I asked for the whole grasshopper, not just shreds and received some. The luck ritual was done by our waiter during our dessert course which was missed on our first visit. Oh and the dessert was not special for us at all – it was directly from the menu, the deconstructed lemon meringue pie! It was still good, but did not make me feel special, considering what the Hotel Manager had requested of the F&BManager, then onto Chef!

Our week was special for us and so glad we spent it at LaPerla. Great dining, wait staff that could not do enough for you, whether for tips or not and LaPerla Guests Services was our saving grace.

On another note, I had an incident at the beach and the LifeGuard was quick to respond and treat. Nice to also know there is an on-site Doctor; while service is not included, great peace of mind.

We agreed this resort was our best experience in Mexico to date, even given our ‘hiccups’. Except for the beach, we would consider a return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseAtBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest,

First, thank you for taking the time to share your Paradisus experience, and for letting us know your opinion about some aspects that you liked and some others that bothered you during your stay.

It is satisfactory for us to read that you had a birthday getaway while in the Resort, enjoying the comfortable suites, the variety of restaurants, and the staff friendliness. Your appreciation to some employees´ work like Angel, Jesus, Marcos, Agustin, Aleksandra and Paola from Guest Services and Paola from the Mole restaurant will be sent to them in order to motivate them to keep their enthusiasm in serving our guests.

On the other part, your notes have been transferred to the Meliá Club manager in order to review your comments and take corrective actions with their personnel.

Your statements have been invaluable for all of us and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were in Mexico for my husband's daughter's wedding last Oct 2013. We chose the all inclusive package @ Paradisus La Perla. It was grand, modern ,relaxing and entertaining. We chose a room with a pool outside our balcony. Enjoy a drink or two and swim from the steps of your balcony! We went to all the restaurants, all the buffets and sit down dinners you can imagine....There was entertainment every night...The staff were very courteous and helpful and the rooms were immaculate!!!.

Room Tip: The front desk staff are very accommodating with regards to upgrade for your room. Choose the room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panglaofanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your last visit in October 2013. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our modern facilities as well as your room, pool area, great restaurants and helpful staff service.

If you are thinking in coming back to Playa del Carmen, please consider to stay again in Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Pros:
1. Clear distinction between royal service area and "regular".
2. Only one exclusive restaurant for royal service guests (La Palapa)
3. Pool was relaxing and quiet.
4. All restaurants were exceptional and there's even an designated tequila bar.
5. Royal Service Junior suite swim-up was amazing! Separate pool for swim up guests.
6. Our butler, Diego was the sweetest person at the resort. From booking dinner reservations to preparing our room for a romantic night, we were spoiled beyond belief.
7. Housekeeping was on point with everything from room service to mini bar re-stocking.
8. Wine tasting, Sushing making, Tequila tasting, Mariachis...great mini events to attend throughout the day and night.
9. Best Day Travel host was a great help with booking tours and transportation to and form the airport* *Separate fee.
10. Nespresso machines in your room (bring your own pods, they use knock offs and are terrible).
11. Commercial line Nespresso machine in the royal service lounge daily was AMAZING!!

Cons:
1. Beach was not appealing whatsoever. Literally, a strip of sand and seaweed water. In some resorts that I've been too, there's usually a beach bar that is right on the beach. However, on the non royal service section there was a mini bar stand. Nothing for the royal service, which was odd. We went to the beach one time.

2. There's nothing outside of the resort except the run down village, so I wouldn't advise you go for a walk. Take a taxi to 5th Ave for NYC Canal street experience.


Overall:

I dream of being in Paradisus La Perla on a regular basis and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. Thank you for an amazing honeymoon!

Room Tip: Could've passed on the room with the swim up...really didn't hang out in that pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklynsgo2Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad to read the great impression that Paradisus left on you after celebrating your honeymoon with us. Thank you for taking advantage of all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest.

Will be an honor to host you again in your wedding anniversary!

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
9.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.9 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,296 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Property: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Address: 5a Avenida | Corner Calle 112, Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel catering to the discerning all-inclusive traveler. With 58 swim-up suites, opulent furnishings, and international cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, this adults-only hotel is a crowd pleaser. Rooms feature special touches like deep soaker tubs and rainfall showers. Marble floors, flat-screen TVs, Minibar, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, cable TV service and a DVD/CD player compliment the trendy interior design. Stay active with water sports like aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba and volleyball, or visit the spacious fitness facility. The Spa offers a wet and dry sauna($). Try a different menu every night with 14 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Melia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing