We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!”
Review of Kool Fish Restaurant - CLOSED

Kool Fish Restaurant
Price range: US$2 - US$33
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The oysters in the half shell were delish! The garlic shrimp and whole red snapper were amazing! Our waiter Jesus was very engaging and looked after us with a complimentary cocktail! The ambiance was a bit stark but overall very clean and inviting. The price point was also very good value for your money!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    89
    21
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everyone loved their dish”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Everything was delicious
Whole fish, half pineapple with every kind of fish, fish stuffed with shrimp, and attentive staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank healthyhearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
“Not a bad meal, not fantastic either.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A decent place to eat on 5th ave on a budget. We had calamari rings (so so taste 2 of 5), i had a fried grouper (3 of 5), my wife had the mayan shrimp (4 out of 5), chips/salsa, a beer, a margarita, and a coke. All for $41 USD. not a bad price for all of that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott_B830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
1 review
“One of the best restaurants in Playa”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We came to Mexico for the first time around two weeks ago and were told this would be one of the best but not so expensive restaurants that serve seafood and fish. We came to Kool Fish the very fist night hungry and tired after the flight. The place itself was very nice, not as fancy as everything else on the 5th avenue, nevertheless, definitely worth visiting. The staff was friendly, the food was awesome, oh, and not to forget their GIANT liter margaritas, that are less than 100 pesos! I tried the seafood in a pineapple (one of the specialties on the top right corner of the menu) and it was delicious. Everything about this place was kool: the service, the atmosphere, the meals, the final bill:). We are leaving Mexico tomorrow and our last dinner tonight will be here, no matter what. This night will be the fourth visit to Kool Fish, I am sure it will be a good experience again, as always. During our last visit our server, Jesus Palacios, gave us the business card of the restaurant and asked us to write a review to help them improve, which I gladly am doing. Thank you, Jesus! :) The card also had a free margarita, that I am definitely having tonight, thought not just it:)
If you are looking to come to a restaurant, as if to the museum, where it is suggested that you do not touch anything and behave yourself, this is not the place. This is the place where you come for the fresh delicious seafood and the feel of Mexico.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NataliaBykova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lazy fish”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

There is nothing cool about this restaurant. Our waiter was very disinterested in us at our arrival, we had flag him down, and we were the only people there.
The meal was not good, we had fish fillet, it was supposed to have habaneros but there were no spices at all.

Never again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baines47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kool Fish Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing