We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny! ”
Review of Exploratours

Exploratours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Exploratours specializes in small group tours that may be customized to your preference. With our vast knowledge of the Riviera Maya, we offer a variety of memorable adventures, above and below the water. Extreme or laid-back, popular or off the beaten track, there’s something for everyone. Experience the indigenous history, cultural mysteries, and be amazed by the natural beauty of this unique landscape. We provide comfortable, safe and reliable transportation.
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We booked the cozumel Isla tour and snorkel and we are glad we did. First they pick you up in an old army crew truck and tour around, Open air and covered to shade from Sun. You get to see old Mayan ruins and the way they could tell if hurricanes were coming which was really neat as they said it warned them of Katrina. Then you get to see the light house from all the Corona commercials which is such a cool place. The view is worth the price of admission alone. Lots of stairs and it's kind of steep but once your up there wow. You also get to see a lagoon and they have a bunch of animals... Crocodiles are like a foot from you and are huge! It's very safe as you are on a boardwalk but you definitely get goosebumps. The snorkel part is the best I've ever done, you go off the beach onto the Belize reef which is second biggest in the world. Bring a waterproof camera trust me. Once you get back in your get to eat at the buffet... The food is better then any 5 star resort I'd put money on it. After you go out and see more beach such a nice peaceful trip

1  Thank Frozen_gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Miguel is the best! He organized 2 tours for me in May 2012, Chizen-Itza and Whale Shark, helped me with the transfers to the hotel and airport and also gave me great tips for what to visit! Try Exploratours! You won't regret!

1  Thank Sophdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Miguel was the best host. He was so knowledgeable and respectful about the culture and history and he was so helpful and patient. We had booked two tours with Exploratours - a half day swimming with turtles and visiting a cenote, and a full day visiting Tulum, the Mayan village, and Coba. Both trips were excellent. The swimming with turtles and cenote were the highlight for our family. Miguel put together a video of our turtle experience. I could not imagine a more enjoyable and interesting set of tours. Thanks Miguel!!

Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked with Exploratours in advance before we got to mexico going by all the great reviews on trip advisor, All tour pick ups arrived on time and were very well organised. Miguel and his co-workers Really looked after us and made all the tours interesting, educational and great fun. We went on the Sian kaan jeep safari, Tulum/Coba and the Ek Balam tours together and I done the bull shark dive whilst my girlfriend waited on the resort.All were incredible experiances and I would 100% go with exploratours in the future. Thanks Miguel for Memories we will never forget.

Thank Lewis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We booked the ExploraTours through our resort in Playa for a Cozumel day trip. We were picked up promptly at 9:15 am and met up at Senor Frogs to wait for the Ferry.
The tour we assumed was an open air tour so rain could have been an issue, but we were willing to take our chances. So once we arrive in Cozumel we were greeted with a tour bus. Not so great but it would do to get us to our stops. We ended up doing some very slow driving with the rain washing out the roads, having AC issues, and the bus blew out a tire on the way to our first stop. This was not going well from the start but we made it there to the beach club in about an hour. The beach was amazing and the food was edible, Pacifico beer was not very good but it was included so we drank it. After an hour we packed up and readied for the next stop in the same bus(30 minutes behind schedule). We got a call on our way off that the new bus was on the way so we waited. The new bus was the same coach bus but the air was cold and had all of it's tires in tact. We rushed though the light house, the ruins, and back to the ferry terminal for 20 minutes of rushed snorkeling with 50 people on the boat. My wife and I had enough at this point so we decided to hang out in the plaza and wait for the ferry there. The Ultramar ferry ride back was probably the best part of the tour as we got there early and got good seats on the mid-deck rear right where the band played for 40 minutes with a view of the coastline on the trip back.
Reuben was very accommodating and the team did their best to make it enjoyable, but it just wasn't going to happen on November 19th, 2013.

Thank InspireMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelExploratours, Propietario at Exploratours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Good morning Mr Inspire MI

Please review your comment. You posted it in a wrong Agency.

We are Exploratours in Playa del Carmen, and DO NOT HAVE tours to Cozumel.

Please check our web site to see who we are.

http://www.exploratours.info/en/

We would appreciate if could move your comment to the correct place.

Have a good day!

Miguel Castela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exploratours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Exploratours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing