We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Vive la Vida
Nearby Hotels
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$806
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
157
75
36
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
75
36
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed a couple of nightsmuchas graciassmall poolenjoyed my staybackpackerslockavenida
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Vive la Vida Hostel in Playa del Carmen is offering 15% off, if you visit Playa del Carmen and looking for a hostel make sure to check out this place.

Comfortable stay, nice ambiance, Great Place. WiFi, Takes Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Good for Groups or Parties.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Gerente at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again. And we still have the offer for groups.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at vive la vida longer than we thought we would, partly because of rain stopping us getting south but mainly because it was such a cool fun place to be! Very good social area meant that there was always people around, very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and really good staff, demian especially was really cool!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Propietario at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for your comments and for sharing your experience with other travelers, but, most of all, thanks for choosing us during your visit to Playa del Carmen. We hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hostel is awesome! I was there with my boyfriend and a friend, me spent some nights in a shared dorm and then in a private one, both were really good, clean and with enough space. The bathrooms are always clean. It has a great and well equiped kitchen and loved the location, cause its walking distance from the beach and main spots, but not in the middle of the buzz.
The people there were super friendly, kind and helped us with absolutely everything we needed. I actually spent my birthday in the hostel, and had the best night ever!
We are definetely going back there if we ever return to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Propietario at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for your comments! We're so glad you chose us during your visit to Playa but, most of all, glad that you shared such a special day like your birthday with us. You're more than welcome to stay with us anytime you visit Playa del Carmen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Me and my friend have landed unexpected in Viva la Vida, but we didn't regret it at all^^ it's close to the beach, everything was clean (important :p), nice kitchen, free wifiiii, nice staff and a great group feeling!! buenos recuerdos ;) adioossss! Astrid Y Siel de Bélgica xD

Room Tip: chose a not mixed room (the most man are snorring ;p)
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baiila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thanks for your comments! We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come to Playa again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at the Vive la Vida recently and saw the problems with the bed bugs. I killed a couple of them and pointed them out to the staff who said - "Lucky they weren't big ones!"
They had beds sunning on the lawn because of the bugs. The staff were also busy trying to spray. Otherwise the place is clean and just ok, but the bed bug situation makes it poor.
I would check out the Hostel Playa around the corner (beside the Walmart where they have a really cheap deli food). The Hostel Playa looks really relaxed not like Vive la Vida where the bed bugs sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocklawnmower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews