We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Experience I had at Playa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Vive la Vida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Vive la Vida
San Diego, California
1 review
“Best Experience I had at Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The atmosphere here is amazing. The staff is super friendly and take care of your every need. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. I traveled alone but it didn't feel like it at all thanks to warm personalities of the people in Hostel vive la vida. The place is large and very clean. It's also near the beach, stores, restaurants, etc. I recommend this place a lot.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Heavenly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Gerente at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again. And remember "Vive la Vida".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    69
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
5
53
114
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I didn't think i could have so much fun in a hostel, the staff make you feel welcome and part of a family. You will have a great time there, chilling out with your friends while having dinner or late night drinks, everything with great background music and excellent company.
I met great people there and ended up with a group of a new friends that I hope to see again when I come back, now I'll know for sure that that's the best place where I can stay in Playa del Carmen.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndreaMMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Gerente at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again. And remember "Vive la Vida".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecos, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I arrived in Playa de Carmen planning to stay for a few days and ended staying a little over two weeks. The hostel was very comfortable and the atmosphere was great. The staff really made you feel as though your were family in a new home. And thanks to Pablito's Adventure Tours I actually got some adventuring done. Vive la Vida has a great location with a walk to the beach. Love it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Gerente at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again. And remember "Vive la Vida".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Vive la Vida Hostel in Playa del Carmen is offering 15% off, if you visit Playa del Carmen and looking for a hostel make sure to check out this place.

Comfortable stay, nice ambiance, Great Place. WiFi, Takes Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Good for Groups or Parties.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Gerente at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again. And we still have the offer for groups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at vive la vida longer than we thought we would, partly because of rain stopping us getting south but mainly because it was such a cool fun place to be! Very good social area meant that there was always people around, very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and really good staff, demian especially was really cool!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Propietario at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thanks for your comments and for sharing your experience with other travelers, but, most of all, thanks for choosing us during your visit to Playa del Carmen. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hostel is awesome! I was there with my boyfriend and a friend, me spent some nights in a shared dorm and then in a private one, both were really good, clean and with enough space. The bathrooms are always clean. It has a great and well equiped kitchen and loved the location, cause its walking distance from the beach and main spots, but not in the middle of the buzz.
The people there were super friendly, kind and helped us with absolutely everything we needed. I actually spent my birthday in the hostel, and had the best night ever!
We are definetely going back there if we ever return to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelvivelavida, Propietario at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thanks for your comments! We're so glad you chose us during your visit to Playa but, most of all, glad that you shared such a special day like your birthday with us. You're more than welcome to stay with us anytime you visit Playa del Carmen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa de Palma, Mallorca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Me and my friend have landed unexpected in Viva la Vida, but we didn't regret it at all^^ it's close to the beach, everything was clean (important :p), nice kitchen, free wifiiii, nice staff and a great group feeling!! buenos recuerdos ;) adioossss! Astrid Y Siel de Bélgica xD

Room Tip: chose a not mixed room (the most man are snorring ;p)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baiila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for your comments! We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come to Playa again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#12 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#20 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#25 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yak
The Yak
#5 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#8 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vive la Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vive la Vida

Property: Hostel Vive la Vida
Address: Calle 2 Norte 141 | Av. 25 y Av. 30, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Vive la Vida 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Vive la Vida is new in town. It's a new building totally prepared for the international travelers and inspired by the huge Frida Kahlo.The Hostel Vive la Vida is conceived with the experience of more than 120 cities visited across more than 20 countries as backpacker just as you are. We expect that you feel like at home and discover the multicultural and cosmopolitan atmosphere of our city.We are located few steps of the beach and 500 mts from the 5th Avenue, the most amused, famous and cosmopolitan pedestrian avenue of the the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Vive la Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Vive La Vida Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing