We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Ranked #2 of 1,220 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very satisfied!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had wonderful dinner here and were able to get to know about Venezuela and its food. The restaurant has 5 or 6 tables outside, comfortable, relaxing, and casual. Very friendly staff members and they explained their food well. Delicious and inexpensive. I highly recommend this place as one of your dinner option in Playa Del Carmen!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yutaka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,665
    280
    84
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and extemely delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We just arrived to our hotel in playa and went out looking for a great different fresh lunch to take to our room. I found this restaurant in the trip advisor reviews. When I got to the restaurant I was welcomed by a very kind and smiley waiter that I later found out was the owner (Juan Ramos) . I did not know what to order because it was my first time eating Venezuelan food and at the same time I wanted my family to try all the plates because everything on the menu looked delicious. So I asked Juan Ramos his recommendation, he quickly suggested a combination of plates that we could share, feed the 7 of us and get to try most of the options. Everything was absolutely delicious, fresh a different flavor, just perfect. w had the arepas, empanadas, cachapas, petacones, pabellon criollo, the kaxapa. Everything tasted different, everything tasted delicious. While I was waiting for the food to be ready I was offered to try a fresh beverage sampler. I ended up ordering several of those drinks, the names are difficult to remember but the flavors are a combination of Maracuya, lemon and other fresh fruits.... outstanding you might think all of these was expensive... think again... very convenient prices, impressive service and awesome food. I recommend it and I could go over and over again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EzVacations4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“simply delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

the cachapa catira, guanabana juice and quesillo de coco is a staple in my visits. the family that owns it is absolutely wonderful! the service is excellent! great job on the renovation!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank serrano930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vegan food ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were so well looked after here, being offered vegan versions of pretty much the entire menu. Everything was freshly-made and very tasty, with some lovely juices served to accompany meals. The staff were all lovely and we returned to this restaurant several times on our one-week trip!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful little please, great chance to try Venezuelan cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Perhaps it's not your first thought while visiting Mexico, to stop by this tiny, family-owned, 6-table eatery on a side street in Playa to try Venezuelan food for the first time. We turned up there by chance and were instantly charmed by the beautiful staff, their warm welcome, and the delicious and reasonably priced (a nice change for Playa!) food. Definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank marvicruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing