We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation in Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #44 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Vacation in Mexico”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a great time at this resort! We loved seeing the monkeys, iguanas, etc. while we were there. They were right off our balcony in the 1400 rooms. We asked for a room near them and they got us up close to the action! The resort is beautiful. The water is perfect. The food was great. Staff was friendly. I would go back to this resort again. Never got tired of relaxing on the beach under a thatch umbrella having wait staff bring me cold smoothies and margaritas! So relaxing! We didn't leave the resort to go on any excursions. I love and miss this beautiful place!

Room Tip: If you don't like waking up early stay away from buildings 1300 and 1400 because the monkeys wak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Management of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal resort, we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us for your most recent vacations in the sunny Riviera Maya.

We are so grateful to read the travel note that you have shared with other readers of Trip Advisor. Thank you for highlighting our services and the friendliness of our team members!

We would be honored if you gave us another opportunity to offer you the quality and comfort of our accommodations, our gastronomy, services and the hospitality that characterizes us in the Mexican Caribbean.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,979
    1,770
    456
    152
    97
See reviews for
2,292
2,329
75
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Brilliant, animals fantastic in hotel. Staff excellent, especially the star friends team, who work really hard to get you involved in daily activities. Beach is clean and life guards are there. We went to Xhelha, swam with dolphins and all the other fish in a fabulous natural lagoon. Can't wait to go back again. Holiday of a lifetime. Thanks to everyone who made it so special. Xxxx

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your most recent stay.

Your experience with our services and friendly team members will help others to choose our tropical resort for their next vacation in Mexico.

Thank you once again for your comments and for sharing them with the Trip Advisors travelers community.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our tropical resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our 13th time to Mexico and our 4th time to this resort. We LOVE this resort. The Animation team is Excellente' ! Andrez, Mauricio, Wendy and Karlos are Wonderful. They make sure you have fun. They always get you involved in the different activities throughout they day. The Animation team works 6 days a week and are always happy. What a great group of people! As far as the resort itself, absolutely beautiful! Room very clean and well stocked with water, beer and soda. .White sand beaches and crystal clear water. The resort is also very close to 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, 5-10 taxi ride. This is where you wanna do any shopping for souvenirs. We have done many off site trips and did one again the year to Coba and Tulum. 5 adults on this trip ranging from 24 to 57yrs. LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PLACE♥♥♥♥♥

Room Tip: Building 12 is right by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments of excellence regarding our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal in the beautiful Mexican Caribbean!

Thank you for highlighting our performance and services, but most especially, for choosing us for a fourth consecutive visit and remain in your preference to enjoy your holidays.

We particularly appreciate your compliments about our Star Friends: Andres, Mauricio, Wendy and Karlos. They do such an energetic and enthusiastic job every day, and happily entertain our worldwide beloved guests.

Please consider us for another visit to this beautiful corner of Mexico, Playa del Carmen in the Riviera Maya.

With our best appreciation,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Ideal beach front location, beautiful sands lovely turquoise sea , beach beds kept well back from waters edge so good feeling of space.
N.B. if you are comparing hotels in the Playacar area, this is the only one that has beach brolliys
They all have the thatched roof cabanas, but we went for a swim every morning at 7 and they had mostly gone already.
Great size swimming pool plenty beds both beach and pool.
Buffet food generally pretty good and varied, restaurants bit too spacious,could do with a bit of division to personalise them.
Five themed restaurants of varying standards, we managed 9 visits out of 14 days.
Tropical bit bland and Spartan.
Steakhouse very good apart from the chef,s pre cooking the baked spuds and sweetcorn, so you get a first class steak with a cold baked spud and soggy sweetcorn, very bizarre
Italian, nice food nice setting
Japanese(not all sushi.) nice food and a great bit of theatre
Mexican...sorry, had better in UK...also no chilli?????
Hotel and rooms a little bit tired, we had a few plumbing and related problems with our room,
all dealt with promptly and efficiently.
All the hotel staff friendly and helpful.
The one area where the hotel fails is in the extremely poor quality house wine.
They have this suited and badged " Somelier" with his little silver cup round his neck, he wanders around and doesnt actually appear to do anything.
If he chose the wine, he should be unfrocked or de badged worst still, made to drink a bottle of the wine!
Handy location, walk to Playadel Carmen 40 minutes or taxi 70 pesos
From there you can bus to Tulum 70p or we took a Collectivo shared taxi 40p drops and picks up at site.
Other option is ferry to Cocumel 160p then taxi on to one of the snorkelling sites
Carlos,the first choice rep very helpful and informative.
Ignore any previous reports that infer you need to take pesos and no dollars.
That issue with the banks is all resolved.
Dollars are everywhere and the ones and fives are great for tips, lowest value peso note is a twenty.
Departure tax 765 pesos and best paid in pesos due to exchange rates

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jack000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we esteem your lovely comments in regards to our property and your travel recommendations of the Riviera Maya during your last holidays.

We thank you for your considerations about our premises and the kindness of our team members during your stay.

We endeavor to make our guests feel comfortable and cared at our resort, and for that reason, we truly appreciate your constructive comments that allow us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

It was our pleasure to have served you as we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We visited the Tucan for the third time Feb,15 -Feb 22.I was concerned the weather would not be as warm as we would like ,because we had never traveled this early in Feb.The weather was fantastic,it rained for 2 minutes one day while we sat on the beach and the sun never stopped shining,it's was warm (84) and sunny every day.They have updated the linens and mattresses since our last visit (April of 2012).We also felt the food was better.The beach at this resort is beautiful.One of the reasons we started coming to this resort is because the huts on the beach are so plentiful (some resorts don't have any) and the price is so reasonable.We always spend a few nights walking around playa del Carmen and have never felt unsafe, they only have one cab company and if you stay on the main road (5th st) your fine.This is a beautiful well maintained resort with lots of friendly staff and a great value.A shout out to Angelica one of the hardest working and sweetest staff members there

Room Tip: If you like monkeys get a top floor room in building 14 they were on our balcony everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tricia12262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and your preference for choosing our beautiful resort for a third time.

We are much honored to know that we remain in your preference, and also that you noticed some of the updates that we continuously make to improve and to reach the goals that please our customers.

We sincerely thank you for your words of appreciation about our services in general, and particularly our gastronomy, amenities, beach settings and the friendliness of our team members.

We will share your compliments with Angelica for the excellent service she provided you.

We will be very happy if you considered us for your next visit so that we can welcome you again to our tropical resort in the heart of Playa del Carmen!

Yours truly,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

For the last 5 years we have taken our February week in Playa del Carmen, each year at a different Playacar all-inclusive. This year's experience at the Tucan was so good that we hope to return there in 2015.
We took a Saturday morning flight non-stop from Boston, arriving Cancun late morning, and about 90 minutes later at the hotel. After clearing customs at the airport, walk very rapidly ooutside to your ground transportation, and AVOID the official looking representatives inside.. At After a 50 minute van ride, hotel check-in was efficient, although of all the wonderful staff we encountered during the week, the front desk staff seemed the least smiling and attentive. Because we were a couple of hours early for the 3pm check-in, the hotel gave us our bracelets, a changing room with shower,and a place to store our bags. We changed, went to lunch, and to the beach. At 3 o'clock our room was ready. We lucked out with a ground floor room in the 1400 building, with our back balcony facing the jungle and our front door guarded by a 2-1/2 foot long iguana. The room was nice, especially the tiled walk-in shower. The minifridge was stocked with soft drinks, water, beer. (Absent were those tacky inverted bottles of hard liquor we found other places.) The mattress was firm but not rock-hard as has been our experience elsewhere. Room was cleaned daily by our housekeeper Carmella, who left towel creations and chocolates every afternoon, left our room and bathroom spotless, and changed the sheets every third day (more often if you request). The air conditioning was adequate and the room never felt damp (our experience elsewhere).
The room opened to a balcony at the back, facing a jungle. This left the room fairly dark and the balcony always in shade, but after a day in the sun we liked this! One of the nicest aspects of this resort was it's location among tall trees and jungle. Most other resorts have ostentatiously landscaped grounds with a paved central walkway with fountains and tall buildings. The Tucan and it's twin next door - the Quetzal are separated by several acres of natural habitat and a stone walkway that is the home of howler monkeys, other small mammals, birds, and lizards, etc. No buildings were taller than the trees, so the resort felt smaller. The howler monkeys are aptly named, and each morning woke us at 6:00, in time for in-room coffee, and a three mile walk before the day got really hot. Playacar is excellent for walking, very safe, good sidewalks, with a three mile loop that passes golf courses and a Starbucks.
There were several things we liked about the pool. First was that the swim-up bar was in a separate location. Perfect for us, who aren't fans of the all-day swim-up bar scenes. And the section of the pool we sat at was five feet deep, so small children either stayed at the shallow section or in an even shallower kiddie pool. The beach was the best we have been to at Playacar. Wide, shallow drop off, plenty of lounge chairs and shade. Of course the towel reservation game is played here, too, despite signs forbidding it. After the first day I learned to keep a fresh towel for the previous day and simply go serve our places when the monkeys woke us up in the morning. Even then, we were hardly the first people there!
The food was good. Plenty of fresh fruits and vegatables, salads, etc. at every meal, together with pasta, Mexican dishes, a carving station, deserts, etc. Sure, it get repetitive after a few days, but there are plenty of restaurants a short cab ride away in Playa del Carmen! Go! We went to dinner one night at the Mexican restaurant and really enjoyed it. Service was attentive, ingredients fresh, choices good. Even the Mexican wines were pretty good!
Lastly, a word about tipping. Bring a stack of US $1 bills. A couple of dollars each day for the maid, a dollar or two to your wait staff at meals, etc. goes a long way in promoting better service and it's only a small fraction of what we've budgeted for vacation. While it isn't much to us, it is to the recipients. If you don't tip you will still get excellent service from every staff member.
We hope to return to the Tucan next year, as it was the best of all the resorts we've stayed at in Playacar.

Room Tip: The 1400 bldg was midway from the lobby to the beach, near the monkeys and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DunbartonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to express our gratitude for choosing our nice resort in the Riviera Maya to enjoy your holidays.

We absolutely enjoyed your nice comments where our services, gastronomy and the friendliness of our team members are considered.

At the same time, we are glad to know that you appreciated the beauty of our premises and the tropical jungle where we stand. Our resort has a tropical atmosphere very unique in the area that allows our guests to admire part of our local flora and fauna closely.

We are proud to know that we provided you a quality stay. Once more, on behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we thank you for writing your travel experience and share it with the rest of the Trip Advisor travel community.

Please consider us to welcome you again for your vacations in the Mexican Caribbean!

Sincerely yours,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Ninth time at the Tucan / Quetzal! Going back next year for 2 weeks... Best waiter - Natanael at the Italian restaurant (& Cozumel breakfast buffet) -was at the Steak House for a few years. Service fabulous..food great...weather perfect...did the yoga, zumba - husband did the diving (as usual) and the Hobie -cats. On the last day - watched 10 monkeys (from large to quite small) saunter along the balcony rails - as the peacocks and peahens had done a few day before.Finally saw a couple of coati.... Excellent vacation destination -- thank you for the return visit gifts - champagne and shirts!

Room Tip: love corner rooms/top floor/near beach/Tucan side ... one maintenance issue resolved within an ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardengalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip Advisor.

Your insightful comments are highly appreciated and gratefully received, especially for choosing us for a fourth consecutive visit and remain in your preference to enjoy your holidays at IBEROSTAR.

Thank you for pointing out our restaurants, service and the activities offered by our Entertainment team!

Looking forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again and again! Receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
12.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,636 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,868 reviews
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#87 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing