We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$397
US$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$379
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$689
US$671
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$378
US$336
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$656
US$506
BlueBay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,076
US$1,004
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,033
US$551
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$723
US$654
HotelsForEveryone
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,954)
Filter reviews
6,954 results
Traveller rating
4,265
1,914
505
163
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,265
1,914
505
163
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelmagic showplenty of chairsapple vacationscab ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,804 - 1,809 of 6,954 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This resort is excellent, and we enjoyed our stay here in March 2014. The grounds are clean, attractive, the beach is pristine and the pool is spacious and deep. The food is very good for an all inclusive and we never got bored. The size of the resort is very walkable, and the exotic animals on the grounds add a nice touch. A few things to be aware of here, and I am sure this is the case with other Mexican all-inclusives:
1.) You are on "Mexican time" here. Nothing is done at the time they tell you. We arrived at the resort at 1pm, and were told the room would be ready at 2. The rooms were not ready until 3pm (the published check in time on the website), so do not expect to check in early. We were, however, permitted to eat lunch at the buffet before we checked in, which was very nice. Also, we had laundry done at the hotel, and although they told us our clothes would be ready at 9am the next morning, they were delivered at 1pm.
2.) They do not always refill the fridge with water as they are supposed to, and we had to request water bottles a few times. Same with the shampoo/lotion in the bathrooms.
3.) The specialty restaurants are largely the same food you find at the buffets; the Mexican restaurant, however, has a different menu and is excellent. Would not recommend the Japanese restaurant-very bright halogen lights glaring at you and the food is generic.
4.) The resort is very convenient to Playa del Carmen and small shops in Playacar. A taxi to Playa del Carmen will run you $7 each way, and it is a 5 minute walk to Starbucks in Playacar down the street.
5.) There is a dive shop with excursions on site. My husband and I did a local reef dive, which was great. They offer many options for diving.
6.) The lounge chairs are claimed by 7:30am with towels, despite the resort's rule against claiming and holding a chair for yourself.
7.) I recommend keeping your safe locked whenever you are out of your room. We left for a few minutes, and when we got back found that someone had been in our room. The resort has a policy that if they find your safe open, they lock it themselves and reset the code, so you have to call the front desk to come and open your safe. Again, the "Mexican time" comes in here because you could be waiting awhile.
Overall, this is a fantastic resort with great amenities-we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
7  Thank Sarahbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Appreciated Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments of excellence regarding our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal in the beautiful Mexican Caribbean!

We want to express our gratitude for your detailed comments and observations on our services and compliments to our team members who were very attentive in offering you a quality stay.

We are very glad to know that we set up your expectations; however, we want to apologize for any delay regarding the delivery of your laundry and the re-stock of water and beauty supplies at your room. We are sharing your feedback with our room service department for their attention and a quicker response to our beloved client’s requests.

In regards to our check in time, this is scheduled at 3:00 pm. Our guests can make use of the facilities while their room is being prepared for them. We apologize if someone from our staff gave you different information, we will speak with our front desk manager order to avoid this kind of situations.

We will be very happy to have the opportunity to host you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our family of four(two teens) had an awesmoe vacation at the Tucan Resort! It was everything that we had hoped for and more. The complex is not overly large and makes it feel that the hotel is all yours with its layout and jungle center. The jungle is awesome filled with all sorts of native animals and birds. Loved wathcing for the monkeys high in the trees. We were in building 11 which was very close to the pool and beach and would recomend this end of the complex. Our room was great but we did not spend any time in it :) Beach is the best I have been too and you could always get a beach chair but you did need to get up with the sun to get a palapas or preferred spot. Enjoyed the sunrise every morning! There are activities for everyone if that is your thing and the Star Friends are awesome at getting people involved and having fun. The Pool is large and very clean and was super warm. Food was was very good in the main buffet and beach bar areas. We ate at the Japenese and Mexican specialty restaurants and would recomend the Japenese one highly! The buffets were awesome with plenty of variety and the quality is top notch. We would go back tomorrow if trhe funds allowed it! Thanks Tucan and the hard working employees!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank AKD2U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, on behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we want to express our most sincere gratitude for your detailed comments and observations on our resort that always help us to maintain the quality of services that guests like you and your family deserve.


We value your kind comments regarding our tropical grounds that include endemic flora and fauna from the Maya jungles. We also appreciate your nice words to our Star Friends that perform an enthusiastic job to entertain all our beloved guests!

Thank you for highlighting our beach facilities and the beauty of our location in the Mexican Caribbean, that will help other travelers of the TripAdvisor community to choose our tropical resort for their next vacations to the Riviera Maya.

Once more, we thank you for writing your review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My Girlfriend and I just got back from 10 days at the Iberostar Tucan. Had a great time overall and we will return again. The Jungle walking paths with up close exposure to the birds and animals were a very nice touch. The monkeys we amazing to watch.

Food: The buffet was OK but not very large or diverse. not the best i have seen by far. The ala'carte restaurants were the best offerings. The only negative experience was the Japanese Steak House, apparently we had a trainee cook, because other guests raved about the dinning there. I came away horrified. The presentation was non existent and the food ranged from destroyed to scary (photo attached). The Mexican Restaurant was our favorite.

Pool Bar: A subject that is very near to my heart... This resort had one of the best pool bars i have ever seen. it was in an adults only pool. It was kind of a sunken pool with a waterfall and lots of seating. The staff was very fun and seemed to enjoy that duty.

Beach: was very nice with lots of seating and shade if you want it. it was about a two mile walk to Palya Del Carmen along the beach.

Comms: Cell service was spotty, but no mrs then any other place i have been. but the WiFi was exceptional. If that matters to you like it does to me it was nice to see. But there was an additional charge For the service.

Kids: We did not have any kids with us on this trip but this resort seemed very kid friendly to us.

Room Tip: We had a beach front room but others in our party had Jungle front rooms. The beach front rooms were very nice but the jungle front rooms got a little show every morning from the monkeys screwing around in the canopy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike8758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal as your holiday destination, and for taking the time to post your comments about your stay on the TripAdvisor traveler’s community site.

We would like to express how honored we are to read that you and your girlfriend enjoyed a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your motivating comments referring our varied gastronomy, our services and the beauty of our grounds.

On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning our Japanese restaurant. We are going to share your prompt review it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement and enhance our quality. However we would like to clarify that our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte Restaurants.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fabulous location, beautiful beach and great staff! Tips -if you want to be near the ocean, ask for bldgs. 10 or 11.Ocean view and minimal monkey chatter. Know that you will now be on opposite end of resort, away from the main lobby, some restaurants and main bar. Clean rooms - no elevators. Minimal night life as no bars/social areas outside in beach/pool area which is too bad as the ocean sounds are peaceful and stars are abundant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank 1Chloegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to share your nice travel note sent on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback provides us a positive feedback in our guest satisfaction and quality service. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our resort, our services and location.

We will be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

this was the 2nd visit for my daughter and i and it was as good as the first time we went 4 yrs ago.yes the rooms are a little basic but we only use it as a base to sleep in.everything worked.love the beach and the pool is huge.always got a sunlounger ( not sad enough to get up at 6 lol ) the staff are amazing.dont know how they keep going tn that heat and are very pleasant ( with or without tipping ) food is good with plenty of choice and if the drinks arnt strong enough ask for a double.went to a the mexican,italian,japanese and the steakhouse al la cartes.enjoyed them all.my daughter got married on the 28th feb on the beach.it was stress free and beautiful,big thanks to alexandra who organized it and helping us when we 4got underskirt for the dress,your a star.it was my partner, family and friends first time there and they also love it. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathymaddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the General Management of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we want to thank you for choosing us to have a wonderful holyday for a second occasion, and to celebrate your daughter’s wedding at our premises.

We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy our services.

We specially want to thank you for your positive compliments to our team members and our wedding coordinator Alejandra. She had the honor to plan every detail regarding your daughter’s wedding with attention and quality.

Your review will definitely help other potential Bride and Grooms considering IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal as their venue so thank you once again for sharing your impressions, we appreciate them very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our tropical hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews