We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$436
US$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$450
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$689
US$671
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$497
US$463
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$387
US$344
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$710
US$383
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,076
US$1,004
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,033
US$553
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$477
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,956)
Filter reviews
6,956 results
Traveller rating
4,267
1,914
505
163
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,267
1,914
505
163
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelmagic showplenty of chairsapple vacationscab ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,803 - 1,808 of 6,956 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I'm at 72 TA reviews as of this writing. A huge TA fan and usually find the reviews spot on. In the case of the Iberostar Tucan, our family absolutely hated it and left after only 1 night of an 8 night stay to move to the Banyan Tree Myakoba.

Overview: We thought we were going to get a wildlife friendly, great service all inclusive vacation. What we got was a dump of a room, overlooking the back of a restaurant and ping pong table and not a Iberostar person in sight who was willing to help us fix it.

Why we think this place was rotten:

1. At booking, asked for a room by the wildlife areas. We confirmed it with the front desk at check in and she assured us it was a good area. It was a LIE! We checked in during toward sunset so we couldn't tell at that time, but by the next morning we realized we were looking at the back of a restaurant and got totally screwed.
2. It took 6 tries to get the front desk the next morning. When we did and asked about changing rooms or adding a room, we were told they couldn't help us. Keep in mind we had a 8 night stay for 4 people booked...not exactly a weekender. No help. They couldn't care less.
3. Room service will not deliver beverages. We ordered up some breakfast and were told we had to go to the pool area to get beverages. All you can eat room services as long as you can choke it down without a beverage! Major weird and disappointing.
4. Other than the buffet, all restaurants require reservations. You have to stand in line to talk to the SINGLE reservation attendant in the lobby and we were told that for an 8 night stay, we could request up to 3 restaurant reservations. All inclusive my patootie! The first night we go in, we asked if we could eat at any of the restaurants but were told at 6 pm that no reservations were available that night. We ate the buffet which was fair to OK...basically cruise food. Walking around the property, non of the reservation restaurants were full...most only about 50%. Another lie and way for this property to keep you at the buffet with the cheap food.
5. Competition for chairs is RIDICULOUS! All pool chairs and anything on the beach with shade is gone by 9 am. The place is full of empty chairs which people have reserved. What chairs you do get are packed one next to the other. Literally, you will be sharing an armrest with the stranger next to you.
6. WiFi - $20/day PER device! Really?!?! Oh, and you can't order it from your room...you have to go the front desk to fill out forms and sign for it...per device. Wow, major weirdness again.
7. The rooms: What a dump! Beds are absurdly hard, the room smells and is cheap and run down and the pods they are constructed in are like staying in a youth hostel. They pack in tons of rooms to maximize people in a small area. No privacy, no joy, not staying!

OK, I'm tired of writing anything else. So, read my reviews, see where I've stayed and see if I'm nuts by nature. I'm not...this place stinks! Literally. So many other choices in Cancun/Playa del Carmen...you can do WAY better.

Room Tip: Be careful where they put you. They lied to us about where our room was and we were overlooking the back of a restaurant and it's equipment. :(
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we are deeply sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

After carefully reading your review, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with our different services and facilities. We are definitely looking into this situation as our staff must be committed to high standard and personal service in order to ensure continuous customer satisfaction.

Regarding dinner reservations, we would like to clarify how our sittings system works, we have the 4 different timings which we do not fill to their complete capacity, this is due to the reason that we try to guarantee our guests a good personalized service which would not be the same if we had a full restaurant, plus this way we give our guests more time to enjoy their dinning without feeling pressured to have to leave the restaurant for the following sitting coming. Although sometimes guests do not show up, we have to give them a 15-20 minutes toleration time, after this time, due to availability, we are able to receive other guests before their reservation time. Please be sure that your comments will be considered. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

We would like to mention that all the mattresses in our rooms comply with a standard; nevertheless, we have toppers to soften the beds upon our guests’ request.

We are sorry to hear your stay with us did not fulfill your expectations.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at any of our other IBEROSTAR resorts worldwide so we can offer you a different experience with the quality and attentions that distinguishes our brand.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

First time in at a resort. This was an excellent choice. My husband and I had a wonderful time. The grounds are lush. Loved to walk to the beach through the jungle path and watch the monkey's, peacocks and all the other animals. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good and the drinks plentiful. This would be a great get away for families,or couples. I would return.

Room Tip: Unit 17 is near the lobby and far enough away from the main monkey business.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Goodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This resort is excellent, and we enjoyed our stay here in March 2014. The grounds are clean, attractive, the beach is pristine and the pool is spacious and deep. The food is very good for an all inclusive and we never got bored. The size of the resort is very walkable, and the exotic animals on the grounds add a nice touch. A few things to be aware of here, and I am sure this is the case with other Mexican all-inclusives:
1.) You are on "Mexican time" here. Nothing is done at the time they tell you. We arrived at the resort at 1pm, and were told the room would be ready at 2. The rooms were not ready until 3pm (the published check in time on the website), so do not expect to check in early. We were, however, permitted to eat lunch at the buffet before we checked in, which was very nice. Also, we had laundry done at the hotel, and although they told us our clothes would be ready at 9am the next morning, they were delivered at 1pm.
2.) They do not always refill the fridge with water as they are supposed to, and we had to request water bottles a few times. Same with the shampoo/lotion in the bathrooms.
3.) The specialty restaurants are largely the same food you find at the buffets; the Mexican restaurant, however, has a different menu and is excellent. Would not recommend the Japanese restaurant-very bright halogen lights glaring at you and the food is generic.
4.) The resort is very convenient to Playa del Carmen and small shops in Playacar. A taxi to Playa del Carmen will run you $7 each way, and it is a 5 minute walk to Starbucks in Playacar down the street.
5.) There is a dive shop with excursions on site. My husband and I did a local reef dive, which was great. They offer many options for diving.
6.) The lounge chairs are claimed by 7:30am with towels, despite the resort's rule against claiming and holding a chair for yourself.
7.) I recommend keeping your safe locked whenever you are out of your room. We left for a few minutes, and when we got back found that someone had been in our room. The resort has a policy that if they find your safe open, they lock it themselves and reset the code, so you have to call the front desk to come and open your safe. Again, the "Mexican time" comes in here because you could be waiting awhile.
Overall, this is a fantastic resort with great amenities-we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
7  Thank Sarahbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Appreciated Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments of excellence regarding our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal in the beautiful Mexican Caribbean!

We want to express our gratitude for your detailed comments and observations on our services and compliments to our team members who were very attentive in offering you a quality stay.

We are very glad to know that we set up your expectations; however, we want to apologize for any delay regarding the delivery of your laundry and the re-stock of water and beauty supplies at your room. We are sharing your feedback with our room service department for their attention and a quicker response to our beloved client’s requests.

In regards to our check in time, this is scheduled at 3:00 pm. Our guests can make use of the facilities while their room is being prepared for them. We apologize if someone from our staff gave you different information, we will speak with our front desk manager order to avoid this kind of situations.

We will be very happy to have the opportunity to host you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our family of four(two teens) had an awesmoe vacation at the Tucan Resort! It was everything that we had hoped for and more. The complex is not overly large and makes it feel that the hotel is all yours with its layout and jungle center. The jungle is awesome filled with all sorts of native animals and birds. Loved wathcing for the monkeys high in the trees. We were in building 11 which was very close to the pool and beach and would recomend this end of the complex. Our room was great but we did not spend any time in it :) Beach is the best I have been too and you could always get a beach chair but you did need to get up with the sun to get a palapas or preferred spot. Enjoyed the sunrise every morning! There are activities for everyone if that is your thing and the Star Friends are awesome at getting people involved and having fun. The Pool is large and very clean and was super warm. Food was was very good in the main buffet and beach bar areas. We ate at the Japenese and Mexican specialty restaurants and would recomend the Japenese one highly! The buffets were awesome with plenty of variety and the quality is top notch. We would go back tomorrow if trhe funds allowed it! Thanks Tucan and the hard working employees!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank AKD2U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, on behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we want to express our most sincere gratitude for your detailed comments and observations on our resort that always help us to maintain the quality of services that guests like you and your family deserve.


We value your kind comments regarding our tropical grounds that include endemic flora and fauna from the Maya jungles. We also appreciate your nice words to our Star Friends that perform an enthusiastic job to entertain all our beloved guests!

Thank you for highlighting our beach facilities and the beauty of our location in the Mexican Caribbean, that will help other travelers of the TripAdvisor community to choose our tropical resort for their next vacations to the Riviera Maya.

Once more, we thank you for writing your review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My Girlfriend and I just got back from 10 days at the Iberostar Tucan. Had a great time overall and we will return again. The Jungle walking paths with up close exposure to the birds and animals were a very nice touch. The monkeys we amazing to watch.

Food: The buffet was OK but not very large or diverse. not the best i have seen by far. The ala'carte restaurants were the best offerings. The only negative experience was the Japanese Steak House, apparently we had a trainee cook, because other guests raved about the dinning there. I came away horrified. The presentation was non existent and the food ranged from destroyed to scary (photo attached). The Mexican Restaurant was our favorite.

Pool Bar: A subject that is very near to my heart... This resort had one of the best pool bars i have ever seen. it was in an adults only pool. It was kind of a sunken pool with a waterfall and lots of seating. The staff was very fun and seemed to enjoy that duty.

Beach: was very nice with lots of seating and shade if you want it. it was about a two mile walk to Palya Del Carmen along the beach.

Comms: Cell service was spotty, but no mrs then any other place i have been. but the WiFi was exceptional. If that matters to you like it does to me it was nice to see. But there was an additional charge For the service.

Kids: We did not have any kids with us on this trip but this resort seemed very kid friendly to us.

Room Tip: We had a beach front room but others in our party had Jungle front rooms. The beach front rooms were very nice but the jungle front rooms got a little show every morning from the monkeys screwing around in the canopy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike8758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal as your holiday destination, and for taking the time to post your comments about your stay on the TripAdvisor traveler’s community site.

We would like to express how honored we are to read that you and your girlfriend enjoyed a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your motivating comments referring our varied gastronomy, our services and the beauty of our grounds.

On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning our Japanese restaurant. We are going to share your prompt review it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement and enhance our quality. However we would like to clarify that our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte Restaurants.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews