We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$467
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$556
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$399
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$232
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,006)
Filter reviews
7,006 results
Traveller rating
4,303
1,923
510
163
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,303
1,923
510
163
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelmagic showplenty of chairsapple vacationscab ride
Filter
Updating list...
1,667 - 1,672 of 7,006 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Booked ocean front room and got a view of a palm tree! Adult pool bar closed for 2 days. Pool service was horrible! 2nd time here and the last!!! Customer service has went down and staff doesnt seem to care!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dwright30253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write your observations to our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the room assignation, our Front Desk Manager does his best to fulfill all the requirements of our guests, but this depends on availability upon your arrival, and sometimes we are not able to fulfill them all.

We are sorry for any inconvenience that the temporary closing of the adult pool bar may has caused. It had to be closed because of the torrential rains and for the safety of our guests. After the rain it was reopened. We also would like to apologize if the service was not up to your expectations, and your suggestion will be worked on by the Management.

This being your second time with us, this is not the memory that we would have liked you to take back home and we wish to have another opportunity to host you at any of our IBEROSTAR resorts to regain your trust.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just got back from this resort on the 5th of June . Not a good experience at all too many children let unattended cost us too much for this. The swim up bar pool was closed many days of our vacation mind you the only pool for adults only closed due to rain however the other pool was open which had many children. The pool service was the worst we have ever had and this is the 15th year doing all inclusive vacations for us. It lacks a lot for the money even our private transportation was late picking us up to go home. Very disappointed I suggest you never look into this resort.

Room Tip: Don't pay for ocean view rooms like we did all we could see if tops of palm trees
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your comments on our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are sorry to read that you experience at our resort was not satisfactory and we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that our resort is a family oriented resort, but we also have spaces where adults can relax.

Our swim up pool bar was closed due to the torrential rains and for the safety of our guests. After the rain, the swim up pool bar was reopened. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. We also would like to apologize for the pool service and your suggestion has been forwarded to Food & Beverage Manager for improvements on the service.

Once again, we thank you for your suggestions and we wish to have another opportunity to welcome you at any resort IBEROSTAR worldwide.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

First time traveling to Mexico , I can say it won't be the last . The Tucan is a superb hotel resort right in the middle of the Playa Car gated community. Resort units set within a well maintained tropical woodland right down to the beautiful white sandy beach.

The staff were very friendly and attentive , the food was excellent and all hours. The room was spacious , clean , excellent service.
The in resort restaurants were very good though booking into them in advance means a spontanious choice isn't possible without a good amount of luck.

Venturing into town is easy, the local bars and restaurants good.

The dive centre Dressel were excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docOlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted with you compliments and we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your holiday experience at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We value your kind observations to our tropical jungle and beautiful beach area. We also appreciate that you highlighted the friendliness of our staff, the great quality of food at our a la carte restaurants and buffets, our comfortable rooms and the service in general. We will make sure that the Diving center receives your kind words.

We are very honored for meeting your expectations and it would be a great pleasure to host you again and offer you another memorable holiday experience.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Overall Iberostar Tucan is a good quality, low key resort that caters to groups of all types. Very clean, knowledgeable and pleasant staff. Our biggest complaint is the lack of air conditioned places to relax, eat and drink. All of the bars and lounge are outdoor venues, so on a very hot/humid day it was hard to enjoy a cool beverage or meal. There are 3 restaurants that are "air conditioned" but not in the actual dining area. We ate in two of them, and the air was very uncomfortable.
I was expecting more upscale evening shows, but the first few we attended started with cartoons on TVs and seemed focused for children. Plus, the outdoor environment was uncomfortable. Some of the pre-show activities were better than the actual shows. I enjoyed the Mexican dancing troupe.
Our room had A/C issues, but was addressed each time we asked for assistance.
I was expecting more variety between lunch and dinner in the buffet areas, but many of the offerings at lunch were present at dinner the same day. The food was good, not great, not memorable but there was something for everyone. We ate in the Mexican restaurant and if you are not a beef eater, I suggest going elsewhere. Our chicken tacos were tasty, but nothing special. Our best ala carte meal was Tropical, with seafood!
The best part of the resort is the pool! HUGE and not crowded. I was concerned that there would be no place to swim but when we were poolside, there was plenty of space available. We tried the adult pool bar, but with only 1 bartender, it was difficult getting a drink. Loved the paint your own pottery – great for getting out of the sun and rainy days.
This was my first experience with an AI and with Iberostar resorts. Now I know what to research specifically and will look into other Iberostar resorts when it's time to vacation again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
2  Thank Rascalsmama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments on our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. Your vacation experience will allow us to improve our services.

We value your kind remarks on our Tropical a la carte restaurant, our huge pool area and our pre show activities.

We have forwarded your comments about the Swim up bar to the Food & Beverage Manager. Our apologies about the lack of service you received during your stay.

We are sorry to read that you did not feel very comfortable at the outdoor venues. Our resort was projected to be integrated into the tropical jungle and its fauna, and thus create an unique environment and a very special experience for all. Our three a la carte restaurants are air conditioned and our maintenance team works daily to ensure that they are working properly. However, we take due note of your remark and it will be forwarded to the Management, to ensure that our guests can fully enjoy the air conditioned indoor areas. Our Executive Chef will also receive our periodical report which will include your review.

Please accept our apologies if the night shows did not please you, our Entertainment Manager is always looking to offer different types of shows to please all guests and your valuable suggestion has been forwarded to him.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at any IBEROSTAR resort worldwide.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I did A LOT of researching and reading reviews before I went to Mexico so I will try to break down my review as much as possible.

I traveled with my boyfriend (both 28) to this hotel may 29-june 4th. It was our first time in mexico and at an all inclusive.

If you are a family with children I highly recommend this resort-they cater a lot to families and have great activites/interaction with kids. If you are looking for a romantic getaway with your significant other-look elsewhere

FOOD: 2 stars. The buffet we didn't like that much at all-yes there is a wide variety but none of the food had much flavor. I lived off of fresh salsa, fruit, and rice for most of my lunch. Breakfast I usually had fruit with cereal. The buffet had all different stuff (pizza, chicken, fish, pasta, tacos, eggs, sausage, sushi, ect.) the fruit was always fresh and the best food I ate there. for the reservation dinners we liked japenese the best. They put on a show and cook it infront of you so you know what you are eating-its all fresh and was delicious. we always tried the steak house and the Mexican. The filet at the steakhouse was very good-the ribs not so much.

STAFF: 4 stars The star friends, bartenders and waiters were great. They went out of their way to help you and worked really hard. We always tipped when we got a drunk and when we went to the sit down restaurants. The front staff was nice but could have been friendlier. I used the computers to print my boarding pass only to find out they don't have printers to use? so that was a waste of money. The male staff knew a lot more English then the women..which brings me to my next topic

Guests of the hotel: 3 stars We are from the states and didn't met anyone else from here or who even spoke English for that matter. It is a very diverse resort-which is great but when we wanted to talk to people they all just talked amongst themselves in another language. It was also tough at times to converse with the staff-the language barrier was hard.

Grounds: The resort has animals EVERYWHERE. we saw tons of peacocks, monkeys, iguanas, and other small creatures. If you or your kids are into animals then they will love it. There is a jungle in the middle of resort you can walk through to get to the beach. There are also different birds everywhere. a lot of them would try to steal our food at breakfast which became annoying. The beach was beautiful though. The water was warm and clear-sand super soft! definitely go in the ocean : ) There is only one pool there but it is split up into four sections so it is huge. The pool was super nice and one of the best parts of the hotel. Also the whole pool is around 5 feet when you are in it-I am only 5.3 so it made it hard for me to walk around in the pool

Rooms: 3 stars. The room itself was fine and simple. The beds were super uncomfortable and VERY hard. we had a balcony but there wasn't much to see so we never went out on the deck. we were in building 17 which was near the buffet and far from the beach. I would recommend a room in buildings 1-15 so you don't have to walk much from beach to your room.

we did a day trip to xel ha. My boyfriend is really into fish and the ocean so he loved the snorkeling. we saw tons of fish there and swam around for a good five hours. the full day tour was way to long so we took a taxi back to hotel around 2.

It rained our entire trip so we didn't get the best feel of being there-I wish there was more indoor activities to do. most days we were just sitting in our room between 3-7 because it was downpouring everyday. overall it was a nice hotel and the staff go out of there way to make you comfortable. is it romantic? no. would I go back? probably not. but if you are looking for a family trip or budget trip then give it a shot-if you have the extra money go adults only instead! Hope this helped : )

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennafer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal and for taking your time to share your observations about our resort and services.

We value your kind comments regarding the freshness of our fruits and our gastronomy, especially at the Japanese, Mexican and Steak House restaurants. It is great to know that you had a joyful experience at our a la carte specialty restaurants; however, we are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations regarding our buffet and the ribs in the Steak House. Our Executive Chef is always looking into new ways to surprise our guests by offering different kind of dishes and spices. We will be passing your suggestion to our Chef in order for him to take into account and accommodate all guests’ requirements.

We really enjoy reading that you enjoyed our friendly staff, especially the entertainment team, bartenders and waiters. We also would like to apologize for the lack of friendliness you encountered with our Front Desk team, this is not the highly quality service standards that feature our resort and we will forward your comments to our Front Desk Manager and Customer Service Training Manager. Also, we apologize for the lack of printers and your valuable suggestion will be addressed to Management.

Our variety of fauna coexists harmoniously with our guests and brings a different kind of holiday experience; however, our maintenance team has been working daily on the net that surrounds the buffet in order to prevent any incident with birds, we truly apologize for the inconvenience.

We are sorry to hear you found our beds uncomfortable. We would like to take this opportunity to mention that we have replaced all the mattresses of the resort, and the new ones have pillow tops. Also, our housekeepers are always happy to help our guests by providing bed softeners and extra pillow toppers to soften the bed even more.

Last but not least, our entertainment team always looks to please our guests during rainy days by offering activities such as bingo, board games, movies, pool table and others. Your suggestion will be forwarded to our Entertainment Manager; we have already been reviewing this to add more activities for rainy days.

We wish you might consider giving us another opportunity to host you in the future at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews