We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #51 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice- quite hospitable. Was a bit warm in June, but that's just how it is. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a 2 year old with us, and this was fine, as others did too. Excessive partiers largely relegated to the separated pool bar. Great beach! Right next to border with jungle. Short taxi ride to town doesn't cost too much. However, buyer beware in town! Prices on tequila in town are significantly higher than the same brands at home! Japanese restaurant in the resort is particularly enjoyable. The internet charge didn't seem very 'all inclusive', though. Bring lots of small bills- the staff works hard so they shoud get tips!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and suggestions regarding your recent experience at our Hotels IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal and the Mayan Riviera.

Thank you for your kind words towards our outstanding staff. Additionally, our Executive Chef will be very happy to know that you enjoyed the Japanese restaurant. Your positive remarks about our beautiful location and facilities are highly appreciated since the team constantly works on keeping all facilities and areas impeccable.

Last but not least, we would like to mention that thanks to our guests` suggestions the company recently has expanded this service to offer WIFI at the resort with accessible prices to our guests. Management will be notified about this particular comment.

It will be great to welcome you back at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for another amazing holiday experience.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 6,757 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Iberostar is located on a long, sandy beach. Very shallow and no rocks so it is perfect for swimming and hanging out. The people at the hotel are really very helpful, but it looks to me like the management made some poor choices to keep the guests happy. For example, there were lines at the bar on the beach (and there is only one!). Many times we had to wait 10 minutes in line for a mojito or a beer. One day they closed the bar at 5:00 pm for a wedding (really??). Also some rooms are close to the show place (like ours) and it can be very noisy until 11pm. So, if you plan to go to bed early like us, this could be an issue (and they couldn't change our room). The food is in general good but after 7 days you get tired of the same stuff over and over. The diving shop is awesome and the people there were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal Management and staff we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our resort.

We would like to thank you for your praise about our beautiful beach, great staff and rich gastronomy.

On the other hand, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We would like to mention that as soon as we knew that the beach bar was closed, corrective actions were taken in order to avoid this from happening again. We also would like to mention that the service was offered in the Tropical restaurant which is near the beach bar.

In regard to the noise from the show we would like to apologize for any discomfort experienced. When our guests present any issue with their room assignment, we always try to assign them another room as soon as possible if the availability allows it.

Last but not least, we are sorry to read that our variety of food did not meet your expectations, our Executive Chef is in constantly in search of new dishes and flavors in order to please all the different tastes of our guests. You suggestion will be forwarded to him.

We will be privileged to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future under more favorable circumstances.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I would rate hotel 3 star staff worked very hard we stayed in block 13 there was always traffic going passed all day and night food was ok but always cold and rooms are basic would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal and for writing your review.

We appreciate your praise to our exceptional staff.

Nevertheless, we apologize if the food did not meet your expectations, our Executive Chef works incessantly to offer a great variety and quality of food to please our worldwide guests. Regarding our rooms we are sorry to read that our Caribbean décor did not please you.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you again at any resort IBEROSTAR worldwide.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked our trip based on friends recommendations. First of all, the beach was fantastic! We had no problem getting a palapa and beach chairs for 4 people each day. Staff was always available for drink service and many organized activities made days at the beach great. Like other reviewers, we found the pool a bit warm but still worth a quick dip to cool off. The adult bar was fantastic and the bartender Daniel constantly churned out great drinks. As for the restaurants, the buffets were relatively predictable. Breakfast was best with made to order omelets. Lunch was better at the hamburger/hot dog stand by the beach, and the dinner buffet was ordinary except for the fajita station. However, we found the theme restaurants very good. We ate at the Japanese, Steakhouse, Mexican, and Tropical restaurants. The food was well prepared and the service was outstanding. We did not buy anything at the resort stores as it was way overpriced. The entertainment was mostly good, with many audience participation activities. The resort is a short cab ride from Playa Del Carmen which is convenient for shopping. The rooms were well kept and clean. We were concerned about the mattresses before we arrived, but we all slept great.

Overall, we enjoyed the resort and will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor in the middle buildings is close to beach, specialty restaurants, and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you to sharing your observations on our resort.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our paradisiacal beach, great service from our staff and numerous activities from our entertainment team “Star Friends”. Furthermore, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our adult bar and Daniel will receive your gentle words.

Regarding our gastronomy at the a la carte restaurants we are very excited to know that our service and culinary was in accordance with your standards; our Executive Chef will be very pleased with your compliments. Thank you for your praising to our rooms, thanks to our guests suggestions we were able to replace all the mattresses to pillow top mattresses and we are happy to know that you had a comfortable sleep.

Once more, we thank you for writing your travel experience at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We have taken note of all of your feedback, for consideration and future changes.

It would be a pleasure for us to host you back in the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our second time going to the Tucan - we absolutely loved it!!! - When we arrived they only had a room with 2 double beds, as this was our 28th anniversary we wanted a king as I had booked - they were able to get us the correct room the very next morning. The beach is absolutely beautiful if no Palapas were available they have umbrellas you can get from the towel hut along with towels. The pool was very nice but a bit on the warm side also a bit deep if you are short like me. The food was good had no complaints at all and the specialty restaurants were very good we went to all but the Japanese one. One thing we noticed and are very upset about is that nobody was tipping the waitstaff at all. They work so hard to make your vacation very enjoyable and nobody took care of them which we did. Along those lines one issue we did have was no change was available in the lobby so we really encourage them to offer this so maybe more people will start tipping better. We were in building 12 which was close to the beach and pool and the hotel was very pretty and the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted with your review, thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal to celebrate your 28th anniversary.

We are glad that you were able to get the room you were expecting. Our Front Desk Manager always does his best to accommodate requests, which cannot be guaranteed in advance.

We would like to thank you for praising our beach and pool area. In regards to our culinary offerings, we are very excited to know that you appreciated our buffet and a la carte restaurants; our Chef will be very happy with your kind words.

Once again, we thank you for your review and for the trust you have deposited in us for such a special celebration, we hope to welcome you for many other celebrations at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the Iberostar Tucan at the beginning of June with my boyfriend. We are both in our 20s and this was our first time in Mexico.

The location of the hotel is great. 5 minute walk away from a starbucks, a couple of souvenir type shops and drug stores and only 70 pesos for a taxi to Fifth Avenue if you want a wider variety of shops, restaurants and bars.

The beach is beautiful and we could always find a sun lounger and usually could get one in the shade. There was always activities you could take part in on the beach and all non-motorised equipment was free (kayaks etc). We took out jet skis one day which cost the equivalent of £40 for half an hour and was a lot of fun. Having stayed in Ibiza previously where jet skis cost £100+ we thought it was good value for money.

The swimming pool was good as well and we also didn't have any problems finding sun loungers here. One annoying thing was guests who would reserve the cabanas and then disappear for hours. The pool is a great size however we sometimes found the water was quite warm which isn't always ideal when you want to cool down from 30 degree heat. We also liked the adults only pool and swim up bar. There was occasionally plasters, cups etc floating about in the pools which was a bit off putting.

In the area between the beach and the pool there are showers, a beach bar, ice cream vendor and a grill where you can get burgers, hot dogs etc. There are also waitresses who come round the sun loungers taking drinks orders.

We stayed in block 16 on the ground floor, which we loved as we had visits from a crowd of peacocks every morning. The room was very nice, moderns but traditional Mexican decor. We found the bed to be very comfortable. Our only problem with our room was that the hairdryer in our bathroom didn't work.

The grounds of the hotel are really nice we loved seeing all the animals roaming about. If you are not an animal lover this hotel might not be for you. Howler monkeys, coaties, agoutis, parrots, lizards, tucans and even a cat can all be spotted in various areas of the hotel. Peacocks can often be seen walking through the lobby too. We loved walking through the jungle and looking out for what different animals we could see!

The buffet restaurant was a bit hit and miss for us, Breakfast was always great - lots of variety. Lunch was good but got a bit samey after a week and dinner was never very great. We did also have a problem with ants at one of the tables we were sat at in the buffet restaurant. We booked the Mexican restaurant on of our first nights but we really didn't enjoy it and this put us off of booking any of the other restaurants. We ended up eating out in Fifth Avenue quite often which suited us fine. (We particularly enjoyed the Blue Lobster and Texas Burger joint).

Drinks were better than some other all inclusive hotels we have stayed in however by the end of the week we realised the cocktails all pretty much tasted the same. The bar staff were great, especially the bar where the entertainment was. If you asked for smirnoff etc you got it.

As is to be expected, the hotel shops are very over priced.

You can book excursions through the hotel, we went to Chechen Itza, Coco Bongo and Xplor all of which we would recommend. For all excursions we were picked up and dropped off at the hotel lobby. One tip would be to book the vip experience for Cogo Bongo, definitely worth the extra money as your chances of actually being able to see the show without a seat are slim!

We went for a couples massage at the spa which was very good - 1680 pesos which we thought was an okay price. There were various locations where you could have your massage including the beach, the pool, the jungle or the spa at the front of the hotel. The ladies who worked in the spa were all very nice.

We are never really big on hotel entertainment and only seen a couple of the shows at night, however we found them enjoyable and it is clear how hard the star team work.

One tip is to be careful with your room keys. We went through about 5, apparently if you hold your key too close to your camera of mobile phone it becomes de-magnetised and no longer works.

Overall we loved this holiday and would definitely return to the Iberostar Tucan!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank nicolacanavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to express our gratitude for taking your time to share your great observations regarding our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We highly value your comments about our great location and beautiful beach. Also, we are glad to know that you did some of the water activities and were able to enjoy our huge pool area. Moreover, our snack stand at the beach, ice cream and waitress service is a plus to make our guests feel more relaxed to enjoy their day at the beach or pool area.

Thank you for your words about our cozy room and its décor. Thanks to our guests' suggestions we have changed all the mattresses of the resort to new ones which include pillow tops.

Regarding our amazing tropical jungle and its fauna, our intention is to offer our guest a special holiday experience by getting our guests closer to our exotic Mexican fauna, so we are very excited to know that you enjoyed this experience. In regards to our gastronomy, we would like to thank you for your kind words about our breakfast and lunch. Thank you for praising our bar staff and our spa staff, they will receive your compliments.

On the other hand, we would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have encountered with the sun beds, our guests are informed about our policy of not reserving sun beds and we have placed extra sun beds to ensure that all guests have a chair at the pool or beach area. We also have a Pool Concierge to assist our guests with this.

Regarding the pool temperature on the hot days the pool gets warm because of the sun, our pool does not have a heater and we apologize for the inconvenience. Also we would like to mention that our pool is cleaned daily. Your suggestions will be addressed to the Maintenance Manager.

Furthermore, we are sorry to read that our buffet and a la carte Mexican restaurant did not live up the experience you were expecting, our Executive Chef only works with fresh ingredients and his team is constantly looking to offer new dishes and flavors to our worldwide guests. Your valuable suggestion will be redirected to him for improvements. Last but not least, your suggestion regarding our drinks will be forwarded to the Food & Beverage Manager.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have been here multiple times with family and friends. We celebrated our 25 wedding anniversary there in 2013 and sons graduation all in one trip. It was fun for all and Ivan at the adult pool was a champ. He made so many drinks for our group but never quit smiling.

The resort is well taken care of with the garden area with all the wild animals is a treat to be seen.
Just a fun place to relax or cut loose.

Room Tip: The buildings in the middle like building 12 &13 are close to everything. We always get a beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted with your review and we would like to thank you for the trust that you and your family have deposited in us. It is a honor for us at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal to be part of so many special moments.

Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort and we will make sure that Ivan receives your compliments. Additionally, your appreciation for our jungle and fauna are highly valuable for us.

We hope to be able to be part of many other celebrations and encounters of your family and friends; it would be a great pleasure for us to host you soon at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,970 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,222 reviews
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £156 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing