We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #40 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. This was our first holiday to Mexico and it has been one of the best we've had.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and seeing the animals roaming around never gets boring. As for the beach it's simply stunning.

The rooms and hotel in general are spotless. Although the lack of free wifi was the only downer We had no issues with the food at all and, whilst it did not vary much, it was always full of flavour. The Mexican food was especially good. The al a carte restaurants are good and you get a lot of choice. The drinks selection is also superb in the bars, good high end spirits etc. Buffet restaurants are hard to get right and this was certainly one of the better we've experienced.

A major factor in our great holiday was the entertainment team and evening shows. Toni and the team are fantastic and we enjoyed every single show. Boogie Nights on our last night was awesome! Also, Cristal of the Kid's club did an absolutely amazing job entertaining our little girl and the she could not wait for the mini disco every night. A big thank you to Cristal!

Whilst I would not class the hotel as a 5 star it certainly ranks as a high 4 and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If there where not so many other places to see in the world we would most definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your opinion regarding our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. It is truly an honor for us to have welcomed you on your first time in Mexico.

We highly value your comments regarding our spectacular grounds and its fauna, astonishing beach and comfortable rooms. Furthermore, we are very excited to know that you enjoyed our buffet and a la carte restaurants, especially the Mexican food. Our Chef will be very pleased with your compliments, also we appreciate that you were satisfied with our liquor selection.

In regards to our entertainment staff we are delighted with your remarks on our day activities and night shows. We will make sure that the entertainment team, Toni and Crystal receive your compliments.

Last but not least, thanks to our guests' suggestions we were able to offer Wi Fi at the resort, and our Management team has been working on creating prices accessible to our guests.

We want to express our gratitude for all the trust you have deposited in us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you back in the future at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,901
    1,731
    447
    152
    94
See reviews for
2,241
2,275
72
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived on the 9th june 2014 to a warm welcome and a tropical drink. The staff were friendly and happy to assist in delivering your bags to the room! 8 adults and 1 child were in our group and check in was quick and painless which was great after our 10 hour flight plus transfer times!
The resort is just beautiful! Very open spaces and nature is everywhere! We stayed in a standard double room with our daughter. It was very clean and all its facilities were in good working order. The maids are very thorough in their work too.
Food in the buffet restaurants has something for everyone, lots of variety and always cooked to a delicious standard no matter what time you dine. We tried 3 of the speciality restaurants during our 2 week stay (mexican, steakhouse, japanese) all were delicious but the Japanese in particular was very entertaining!
The star friends and entertainment shows at night are a little cheesy but lots of fun! There is something for everyone in regards to activities throughout the day and the star friends just inject fun into everything! Muricio is particular was one of our favs!
The elder members of our group prefered to relax in the lobby bar in the evenings rather than the show, and were looked after exceptionally well by Rosy, who was witty and always smiling! She was just lovely!
On the 17th my husband and I got married in the jungle setting which is located behind the show house. Our wedding coordinator Alejandra was so helpful and did everything she could to assist us! 4 days before our wedding we discovered that my bridesmaid no longer fit in her dress, and super efficiently and putting us at ease once more Alejandra found a seamstress to fix the problem within 24 hours! Everything about the day was just perfect! Our guest particularly liked the cocktail hour and mariachi band which entertained them for an hour whilst my new husband and I went around the grounds and on to the beach for photo opportunities with a photographer from the photo pro store located in the lobby. He was also fantastic, and the end result being 90photos in a photo book and the disc of all the photos he took, was stunning. As a wedding couple, the next night we were given a private romantic 5 course meal for two in a cabana on the beach with our own private waiter, called Andy, which was just breathtaking! And the food and view were to die for! We also received a couples massage earlier in the day.
Overall I would most definately recommend this hotel to anybody. It was perfect from start to finish! So glad I chose to have my wedding here!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal to celebrate such a special moment. We are much honored to have welcomed you, your family and friends.

Thank you for your compliments to our staff, our services and beautiful grounds. We are glad to know that you were comfortable in your room and that the cleaning was made the way you expected. Our Chef will be very excited with your kind words about our gastronomy at the buffets and a la carte restaurants. Our team of cooks works daily to make sure that the food is delicious and varied for our guests. We are glad to read that you liked it.

Regarding our entertainment team “Star Friends”, they will be very pleased with your praise. It brings us great joy to know that you liked our daily activities and night shows. We are also thrilled to know that you enjoyed so much your dinner at the beach.

We appreciate your kind words about Rosy from the lobby bar, Andy, and our wedding coordinator Alejandra, who was able to plan your wedding the way you dreamed of. Your gentle words will be redirected to all these members of staff.

We hope to be able to host you back at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for many other celebrations.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocheport, Mo, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice- quite hospitable. Was a bit warm in June, but that's just how it is. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a 2 year old with us, and this was fine, as others did too. Excessive partiers largely relegated to the separated pool bar. Great beach! Right next to border with jungle. Short taxi ride to town doesn't cost too much. However, buyer beware in town! Prices on tequila in town are significantly higher than the same brands at home! Japanese restaurant in the resort is particularly enjoyable. The internet charge didn't seem very 'all inclusive', though. Bring lots of small bills- the staff works hard so they shoud get tips!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and suggestions regarding your recent experience at our Hotels IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal and the Mayan Riviera.

Thank you for your kind words towards our outstanding staff. Additionally, our Executive Chef will be very happy to know that you enjoyed the Japanese restaurant. Your positive remarks about our beautiful location and facilities are highly appreciated since the team constantly works on keeping all facilities and areas impeccable.

Last but not least, we would like to mention that thanks to our guests` suggestions the company recently has expanded this service to offer WIFI at the resort with accessible prices to our guests. Management will be notified about this particular comment.

It will be great to welcome you back at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for another amazing holiday experience.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Iberostar is located on a long, sandy beach. Very shallow and no rocks so it is perfect for swimming and hanging out. The people at the hotel are really very helpful, but it looks to me like the management made some poor choices to keep the guests happy. For example, there were lines at the bar on the beach (and there is only one!). Many times we had to wait 10 minutes in line for a mojito or a beer. One day they closed the bar at 5:00 pm for a wedding (really??). Also some rooms are close to the show place (like ours) and it can be very noisy until 11pm. So, if you plan to go to bed early like us, this could be an issue (and they couldn't change our room). The food is in general good but after 7 days you get tired of the same stuff over and over. The diving shop is awesome and the people there were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal Management and staff we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our resort.

We would like to thank you for your praise about our beautiful beach, great staff and rich gastronomy.

On the other hand, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We would like to mention that as soon as we knew that the beach bar was closed, corrective actions were taken in order to avoid this from happening again. We also would like to mention that the service was offered in the Tropical restaurant which is near the beach bar.

In regard to the noise from the show we would like to apologize for any discomfort experienced. When our guests present any issue with their room assignment, we always try to assign them another room as soon as possible if the availability allows it.

Last but not least, we are sorry to read that our variety of food did not meet your expectations, our Executive Chef is in constantly in search of new dishes and flavors in order to please all the different tastes of our guests. You suggestion will be forwarded to him.

We will be privileged to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future under more favorable circumstances.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I would rate hotel 3 star staff worked very hard we stayed in block 13 there was always traffic going passed all day and night food was ok but always cold and rooms are basic would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal and for writing your review.

We appreciate your praise to our exceptional staff.

Nevertheless, we apologize if the food did not meet your expectations, our Executive Chef works incessantly to offer a great variety and quality of food to please our worldwide guests. Regarding our rooms we are sorry to read that our Caribbean décor did not please you.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you again at any resort IBEROSTAR worldwide.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked our trip based on friends recommendations. First of all, the beach was fantastic! We had no problem getting a palapa and beach chairs for 4 people each day. Staff was always available for drink service and many organized activities made days at the beach great. Like other reviewers, we found the pool a bit warm but still worth a quick dip to cool off. The adult bar was fantastic and the bartender Daniel constantly churned out great drinks. As for the restaurants, the buffets were relatively predictable. Breakfast was best with made to order omelets. Lunch was better at the hamburger/hot dog stand by the beach, and the dinner buffet was ordinary except for the fajita station. However, we found the theme restaurants very good. We ate at the Japanese, Steakhouse, Mexican, and Tropical restaurants. The food was well prepared and the service was outstanding. We did not buy anything at the resort stores as it was way overpriced. The entertainment was mostly good, with many audience participation activities. The resort is a short cab ride from Playa Del Carmen which is convenient for shopping. The rooms were well kept and clean. We were concerned about the mattresses before we arrived, but we all slept great.

Overall, we enjoyed the resort and will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor in the middle buildings is close to beach, specialty restaurants, and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you to sharing your observations on our resort.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our paradisiacal beach, great service from our staff and numerous activities from our entertainment team “Star Friends”. Furthermore, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our adult bar and Daniel will receive your gentle words.

Regarding our gastronomy at the a la carte restaurants we are very excited to know that our service and culinary was in accordance with your standards; our Executive Chef will be very pleased with your compliments. Thank you for your praising to our rooms, thanks to our guests suggestions we were able to replace all the mattresses to pillow top mattresses and we are happy to know that you had a comfortable sleep.

Once more, we thank you for writing your travel experience at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We have taken note of all of your feedback, for consideration and future changes.

It would be a pleasure for us to host you back in the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our second time going to the Tucan - we absolutely loved it!!! - When we arrived they only had a room with 2 double beds, as this was our 28th anniversary we wanted a king as I had booked - they were able to get us the correct room the very next morning. The beach is absolutely beautiful if no Palapas were available they have umbrellas you can get from the towel hut along with towels. The pool was very nice but a bit on the warm side also a bit deep if you are short like me. The food was good had no complaints at all and the specialty restaurants were very good we went to all but the Japanese one. One thing we noticed and are very upset about is that nobody was tipping the waitstaff at all. They work so hard to make your vacation very enjoyable and nobody took care of them which we did. Along those lines one issue we did have was no change was available in the lobby so we really encourage them to offer this so maybe more people will start tipping better. We were in building 12 which was close to the beach and pool and the hotel was very pretty and the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted with your review, thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal to celebrate your 28th anniversary.

We are glad that you were able to get the room you were expecting. Our Front Desk Manager always does his best to accommodate requests, which cannot be guaranteed in advance.

We would like to thank you for praising our beach and pool area. In regards to our culinary offerings, we are very excited to know that you appreciated our buffet and a la carte restaurants; our Chef will be very happy with your kind words.

Once again, we thank you for your review and for the trust you have deposited in us for such a special celebration, we hope to welcome you for many other celebrations at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
13.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
12.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,169 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing