We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Tucan-Playa Del Carmen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #50 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family and I had a great vacation in this first time to the region. The property was very well maintained and the staff was courteous and attentive. The variety and quality of the food was top notch. The only negatives were they should have had fans in the main bar, clocks in the room and someone at front desk who speaks fluid English. There were a couple of communication problems. The biggest complaint, though, for us and those we spoke to, was that WiFi was not free. Very inconvenient and a mood changer right from check-in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
2  Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

First and foremost, on behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for your observations regarding our resort.

It is an honor for us to have welcomed you and your family on your first time in this part of Mexico.

Thank you for your great remarks on our beautiful property and amazing staff. Moreover, we are very pleased to know that we exceeded you expectations with our cuisine at the buffets and a la carte restaurants.

We offer an apology for any discomfort you may have had at the main bar and we would like to add that we have fans in that area, but not A/C as our resort is designed to be mostly outdoors, so that it is more integrated into nature. We will address your suggestion to the Management for improvements.

In regards to the Front Desk we would like to offer our sincere apologies for any communication problems. Our staff speaks English, Spanish and other languages, and they can also access to lessons when necessary. However, we will review this with the Front Desk Manager to see if we need to reinforce lessons in terms of different accents and expressions.

Last but not least, we kindly inform you that thanks to our guests' suggestions, an important investment was made a few months ago to introduce Wi Fi in all areas of all our hotels in Mexico, and our Management did their best to offer affordable rates to our guests. We apologize for any inconvenience. Your comment has been forwarded to the Management for further evaluation.

It would be a pleasure to host you and your family again at the resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for a second visit in the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 6,747 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

The only thing that stopped me from giving a great review is the food. The beach is beautiful! Crowded, but beautiful! The staff was very nice, they had a lot of actives for you to do (Zumba on the beach, kayak, paddle board) and things you could pay extra for (parasailing, scuba diving, jet skis).
The best thing about this resort is how in touch with nature they are, there are animals all over the grounds and they are allowed to go wherever they want. The resort is very clean and well kept, it's in a gated community and a very nice place to stay.

The only reason I wouldn't go here again is because of the food, it was buffet style for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and it wasn't very good. I actually lost weight on this trip because I didn't eat much of the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for a sunny holiday at the beautiful Riviera Maya.

We appreciate your praise of our beach, amazing staff and fun activities offered by our entertainment team “Star Friends”.

Thank you very much for your great remarks on our tropical jungle and its wildlife, our concept is to offer a unique experience to our guests, we are glad that you liked it.

On the other hand, we offer our sincere apology if our cuisine did not meet your expectations, our Executive Chef is always looking to offer new flavors and great quality and variety in order to please the different tastes of our worldwide guests. Your valuable suggestion will be addressed to the Executive Chef to take into account when making changes.

Hopefully we will have another opportunity to host you again in the future at any resort IBEROSTAR worldwide.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first holiday in mexico and we loved this hotel. The jungle made it even more fantastic with all the animals just wandering freely. We saw something new almost everyday
and we were there for 14 nights!
Stayed on Tucan side, although both sides are the same. Check in was fast and easy with friendly staff.
We were disappointed with our room which was block 19. I did email before we left if we could have block 12 as it was near to the jungle. I went straight to reception and asked if at all possible if we could go to block 12 and it was no trouble at all and the lady at reception said we could move the next day when it came available at 3pm.I was very happy and she didn't mind at all. Fantastic service.
Got our new room in block 12(1243) HIGH FLOOR PERFECT.
Room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was great too. I always take extra hangers as
there is never enough(good move) Maid done a great job everyday.
We had many howler monkeys on our balcony!
Pablo Thomson Rep was really nice and gave us lots of help and info on excursions and getting around. The whole area of playacar is really safe as its a gated posh area and no need to worry about going out for walks to the nearby shops.

The food was a great selection and it was very tastey as our waistlines grew loads!!! Only gripe there was it seemed to get cold really quick. One suggestion would be to have warmed plates.

All the staff were amazing and the Star Friends work sooooo hard and are all brilliant. Big Hola
to Maurriccio and Crystal.

The pool and the beach are fantastic. Watch the waves in the sea though, gets a bit choppy.
Drinks were self-serve for soft which was great and then staff also available too.

The lunch self-serve burger and hot dogs was my husbands favourite! and also self-serve whippy ice-cream brilliant.

The only thing that wasn't 100% was the weather, it did rain for almost 4 days. If it wasn't raining it was really cloudy but that's no reflection on the hotel ! Luckily we had 10 days of scorching sun :)

We also travelled on the Thomson Dreamliner which was a fantastic ride.

OVERALL I WOULD RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE
and we would with out a doubt return again.

stayed 22nd May-5th June

Room Tip: block 12 near to pool and beach. Also its on the edge of the jungle so you haven't got trees ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kittybumsqueek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your observations regarding your stay at our resort.
We highly value your comments on our beautiful jungle and its wildlife. It is truly a unique experience to our guests.

We are very happy to read that you had a quick check in and that our Front Desk staff was able to fulfill your room request. We are also happy that you liked your room, and had the privilege of having the howler monkeys on your balcony.

In regards to our cuisine, our Executive Chef will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed our buffets and a la carte restaurants. Additionally, our snacks at the beach are the best option for those who just want to relax in the sun. It is great to know that your husband enjoyed it.

Thank you for your praise of our entertainment team “Star Friends”. They offer outstanding daily activities and night shows and we will make sure that Mauricio and Crystal receive your gentle words.

Regarding food temperature, our team is constantly gathering efforts to keep our food always warm, by putting smaller platters and checking the temperature of the food and underneath the platters. Thank you very much for your suggestion, which will be sent to our Executive Chef to evaluate.

Once again, we thank you for your great review and we hope to have another opportunity to host you again for another relaxing holiday in the sun in our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

hi we've just returned from our 5th visit, & once again we were overwhelmed with the service we received, from the free welcome drink all the way to the departure day. The reception, bell boys, waitresses, housekeepers, gardeners etc.were so friendly & helpful, nothing was too much for them, I could go on & on but I think people need to make their own minds up. All I can say is we enjoyed it that much, we will be going back again next year, after all " if it's not broken then don't mend it "

Room Tip: The best rooms in our view are blocks 16 & 17, they are in the middle of the complex & ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigste2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are honored to have welcomed you for the 5th time at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It is truly a pleasure for us to have such loyal guests and to be in your preference, we highly appreciate the trust deposited in us.

Thank you for praising our amazing staff from the reception, bell boys, waitresses, housekeepers and gardeners. We are delighted to know that you were once again very well cared of by our staff.

It will be a great pleasure for us to host you again for the 6th time and many other years to come at your second home IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We took a 7 & 9 year old with us and they had a great time. The room was clean and both the beach and swimming pool were great. They got to experience Scuba diving and also explore the hotel. We all love seeing the animals around the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
2  Thank Ximena V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We appreciate that you and your family had a wonderful time at our resort. Thank you for your kind words about the cleanliness of your room, beautiful beach and huge swimming pool area.

We are delighted to know that your children loved to explore our resort and see the different animals that we have.

Hopefully we will be able to host you and your family again for another great family holiday at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in the Iberostar tucan hotel from the 8th June - 18th June 2014 & what a fantastic time we had.every day there was several new things to discover not one day was the same.
We arrived from airport in around 40 mins & my partner & I was fortunate enough to be first to check in which took no more than a minute, we also asked for room facing jungle which was granted.then made are way to our room whilst waiting for suitcases we had a look round room it was spacious, clean & we felt at home straight away
After suitcases arrived we unpacked & got ready & went onto balcony to enjoy a cold beer from mini bar, & was soon enjoying the first of many visits from the howler monkeys who are resident in hotel jungle,these monkeys would go on to join us every morning in there various numbers, one morning we had 7 including 2 babies,no need to visit the zoo it was all there lizards,flamingos,giant tortoises,toucans to name but a few.
The beach was absolutely gorgeous but everyday we was drawn to the huge & stunning pool where we would spend hours ,I had all intentions of watching all the World Cup matches which was shown in the disco on the big screen & 4 tv screens with unlimited bar popcorn,but in the end managed 7 out of 17 matches the lure of the pool was too powerful.
The pool bar was extra special where barman Daniel worked wonders keeping every happy with various cocktails, also round by the pool I never found myself waiting for a beer the girls was always there when your glass was empty.gemma was on our side of pool & looked after us well.
We would always visit snack bar for food by beach ,for burgers,nachos & cheesey sauce,hot dogs,
The buffet restaurants I never got bored of I looked forward to them everyday such a wide choice of stuff I would of had again & again,breakfast ,lunch & dinner, also a cheeky late night snack when coming out of mascara night club(disco).
The entertainment team star friends were very hard working we enjoyed the shows especially mr Iberostar ( which England should of won) .in the daytime they would be doing various activitys ,volley ball ,bingo,beach party's ,pool aerobics etc. & they would always come round meeting & chatting to everyone .we was joined by Marcello for lunch one day which was a nice touch.
The hotel also has Japanese,steak,Mexican ,Italian & tropical restaurants .we enjoyed the Italian & Japanese but didn't get round to trying the Mexican, we was happy with buffet one of which was surrounded by a tranquil bird enclosure , we loved it.
After evening meal we would be off to catch the entertainment , then finish off in lobby bar on some occasions we would take the night further & go to the hotel night club(mascara) which was always fun.
We had a sort of routine but like I said earlier everyday was different always discovering different things & incase anyone was wondering we did leave the hotel some days to do chichen itza,snorkelling with whale sharks & 10th avenue bars & shops but that's another story.
Also can't forget a mention to our maid wendy who done the most fantastic towel arrangements never seen a towel dinosaur before & kept our room spotless & well stocked.
Overall we had the most amazing time & although there are many places in the world to visit we will try to make sure we come back again sooner rather than later.
Thank you so much everyone at ibeorostar tucan
Nigel & Michelle

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ReadingWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we want to express our gratitude for choosing IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal to enjoy your latest holiday.

We are very happy to know that you had a quick check in and that our front desk team was able to fulfill your room request. In addition, it is fantastic that you liked your room and that you had the privilege to receive the visit of the howler monkeys every day.

It is great to know that you had great moments at our pool. Our pool bar and the delicious snacks at the beach are the perfect option for those who just want to relax in the sun.

We will make sure that Daniel, Gemma and Wendy receive your kind words.

In regard to our cuisine, our Chef will be very excited to know that you enjoyed our buffets and the Japanese and Italian restaurants.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our entertainment team and their innumerous activities during the day and night shows, as well as the disco and the lobby with its great atmosphere.

Once again thank you for your great review. It would be a pleasure to host you again for another memorable experience.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here from 17th March till 1st April. Our first impressions were very good but this soon dropped when we entered our room. We paid for upgrade with sea view overlooking the beach, the view was stunning but the room disappointing. The bed and furniture are made out of concrete, bed side tables were blocks of concrete, decoration was dull, never seen this before and having stayed in Mexico before it was quite a surprise, the shower area was pretty bad looked dirty as the tiles had been badly painted, with lumps of silicon sealer sticking out along the bottom, not very inviting and very poor making the hotel look like a 3 star at the most, defiantly NOT worth the money.
The bars and reception area were really good, we paid for WiFi which is expensive at about £25 per week, first time we have had to pay as always been free were ever we have stayed, but on the plus side it was a very good and you could even get it on the beach, the beach is stunning by the way.
I used the Gym which was ok, not much equipment but did its purpose.
The big selling point of this hotel is the woodland in the centre, never seen this before, there are various animals, but the big attraction is the monkeys, managed to see a few, some rooms are on the edge of the woodland and monkeys come onto there balconies, the main drawback we could see is that those rooms looked very dark.
There was a good selection of food but it was never hot, a few times it was actually cold, having said that I did enjoy most of my meals, my wife struggled to find something she fancied quite a few times. We have stayed in this area before but at a Riu hotel the food there was much superior to this, more choice and always at least warm but mostly hot.
The drinks at the Bar were the normal choice of local beers, wine, spirits and cocktails. Service was ok not having to wait too long for service, however the service dropped dramatically during our last few days as the hotel was overrun with American teenagers who were very Loud and some very drunk. The hotel could not cope with the service being very poor in the bars and the restaurants as there were just not enough staff to cope with the numbers. Plates pilled up at our table and it was difficult to get a drink of wine or water with your meal as the staff were too busy setting up tables, also there were long waits in the bars to get a drink as not enough staff.
So if you want a good service and less teenagers DO NOT GO last week of March or first week of April has it's their annual holiday, we were told it's always like that at this time of year.
To sum up the hotel is slightly disappointing in some respects but overhaul ok, but it did NOT spoil our holiday as we both love Mexico and love this area.
Would we come back to Mexico YES.
Would we come back to Playa Car YES.
Would we come back to this hotel. NO.
Back to Riu hotels for us next time in Mexico



Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pitabread15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your observations and suggestions regarding our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We appreciate your praise of our beautiful tropical jungle and its wildlife. Our concept is to offer a unique experience to our guests by allowing interaction with the fauna. Furthermore, we are pleased that you enjoyed our bars and the lobby.

On the other hand, we would like to offer our sincere apologies if our rooms did not meet your expectations, our hotel and rooms were projected to have a Caribbean décor integrated into our beautiful jungle.

In regards to the Wi Fi, we would like to mention that thanks to our guests’ suggestions, the hotel made an investment to introduce the service at our resort. Our Management team has been working constantly to offer the most accessible prices to our guests. Your valuable suggestion has been forwarded to them.

Regarding our gastronomy, we are sorry to read that the food did not please your wife. Our Executive Chef and his team work incessantly to maintain the quality and variety of our cuisine and your suggestions have been forwarded to him. Efforts are made to avoid food getting cold by presenting smaller platters so that they can be replaced more often, and constantly checking temperatures by our Health & Safety Department to ensure our food is safe for our guests. Regarding our service at the bar and restaurants, we offer our deepest apologies for the lack of service you experienced which is in no way the experience we aim for our clients to take home.

All the points of your review will be seen with the corresponding Department Managers to look for ways of improvement.

Once more, we thank you for writing your review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you back again in the near future. Your status as guests is very important to us.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,961 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,214 reviews
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £155 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing