We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #39 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend's family and I took a trip to Iberostar Tucan Hotel arranged through The Tropical Travelers booking agency. We used Stephanie Lockhart as our travel agent and nothing could have been smoother (minus a little hiccup of our first plane out of STL... no one's fault!). From the time I e-mailed Stephanie to stepping onto Mexican soil we had nothing but quality treatment, timely communication, and great service. The Iberostar Tucan is a beautiful resort with an amazing and very large beach with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas, which was important to us. Our room was impressive compared to other Mexican all inclusives I have been to, the pool was wonderful, the drinks did their job, and the food for the most part was great. I would highly suggest using the Tropical Travelers to book your next vacation- it took all worry and research off of our shoulders and allowed us to have a really great time knowing that everything was taken care of by the best people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AshleyeGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort and for writing such great review about your stay.

We appreciate your praise about our beautiful resort and paradisiacal beach. Moreover, we are pleased to read that you liked your room, our huge pool area, refreshing drinks and delicious cuisine.

We hope to be able to host you once again for another memorable vacation experience at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,870
    1,720
    442
    148
    91
See reviews for
2,211
2,260
71
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Iberostar Tucan June 25th-July 3rd. This was our third time at this resort, have stay at 2 others but prefer this resort. 5th ave shopping is close and the beach here is amazing!!! Only thing I would love to see is maybe a little more air conditioning used in the restaurants. Staff is VERY customer service oriented. Also another great aspect of this resort was the dive shop. Dressel did the intro scuba with my 12 year old son, and my 16 year old and husband enjoyed a 100 foot shipwreck dive. LOVE IT!!

Room Tip: Building 11, 12 are close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Just a short note to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for your family holiday at the sunny Playa del Carmen.

It is a great honor for us to have welcomed you and your family for the third time, we highly value our loyal guests like you.

We appreciate your remarks about our amazing staff and the high standards of service that our resorts and hotels around the world are famous for. Furthermore, we are very happy to know that you had a great experience with the Dressel Divers and we will make sure they receive your praise.

We would like to thank you for the suggestion about the air conditioning in our restaurants, we will share it with our maintenance department for their consideration.

Once again, thank you for your great review and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you and your family again at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family just returned from Iberostar Tucan in Playa del Carmen and we couldn't wait to tell everyone how much we loved it there. If you love a spectacular beach with soft white sand and excellent swimming in warm blue water, if you love great food that changes every day and is available somewhere on the property, pretty much 24/7, if you love a pool area that has cabanas and thatched roof umbrellas with gorgeous landscaping and wild animals roaming everywhere (think beautiful peacocks, and monkeys swinging from trees, lizards who are so cool, meandering by, flamingos, and on and on), if you love to have a great time, (because every single person who helped us or waited on us was friendly and happy, I swear), then go to this resort. We've been to a lot of All Inclusive resorts all over the world, but we all agreed that this was by far our favorite one. The staff had everything to do with it and everything was done with first class in mind. I would highly recommend Iberostar Tucan/Quexztal and will return!

Room Tip: If you don't get the ocean view, ask for the rooms that look over where the flamingos live, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patty952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are thrilled to receive such a great review, thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are very excited to know that we were able to offer an outstanding vacation experience for you.

Thank you for praising our paradisiacal beach, large pool area and beautiful tropical jungle and wildlife; as well as your compliments about our staff; our commitment is to provide our guests a high standard of service that features our hotels and resorts worldwide.

Our Executive Chef and his team will be very pleased to know that our cuisine exceeded your expectations. Our team of cooks are in constant search of new recipes in order to please our worldwide guests, we are very happy to read that you truly enjoyed it.

Once again, we thank you for your great review and we hope to have the honor of hosting you back soon at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family and I had a great vacation in this first time to the region. The property was very well maintained and the staff was courteous and attentive. The variety and quality of the food was top notch. The only negatives were they should have had fans in the main bar, clocks in the room and someone at front desk who speaks fluid English. There were a couple of communication problems. The biggest complaint, though, for us and those we spoke to, was that WiFi was not free. Very inconvenient and a mood changer right from check-in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

First and foremost, on behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for your observations regarding our resort.

It is an honor for us to have welcomed you and your family on your first time in this part of Mexico.

Thank you for your great remarks on our beautiful property and amazing staff. Moreover, we are very pleased to know that we exceeded you expectations with our cuisine at the buffets and a la carte restaurants.

We offer an apology for any discomfort you may have had at the main bar and we would like to add that we have fans in that area, but not A/C as our resort is designed to be mostly outdoors, so that it is more integrated into nature. We will address your suggestion to the Management for improvements.

In regards to the Front Desk we would like to offer our sincere apologies for any communication problems. Our staff speaks English, Spanish and other languages, and they can also access to lessons when necessary. However, we will review this with the Front Desk Manager to see if we need to reinforce lessons in terms of different accents and expressions.

Last but not least, we kindly inform you that thanks to our guests' suggestions, an important investment was made a few months ago to introduce Wi Fi in all areas of all our hotels in Mexico, and our Management did their best to offer affordable rates to our guests. We apologize for any inconvenience. Your comment has been forwarded to the Management for further evaluation.

It would be a pleasure to host you and your family again at the resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for a second visit in the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herriman, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The only thing that stopped me from giving a great review is the food. The beach is beautiful! Crowded, but beautiful! The staff was very nice, they had a lot of actives for you to do (Zumba on the beach, kayak, paddle board) and things you could pay extra for (parasailing, scuba diving, jet skis).
The best thing about this resort is how in touch with nature they are, there are animals all over the grounds and they are allowed to go wherever they want. The resort is very clean and well kept, it's in a gated community and a very nice place to stay.

The only reason I wouldn't go here again is because of the food, it was buffet style for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and it wasn't very good. I actually lost weight on this trip because I didn't eat much of the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for a sunny holiday at the beautiful Riviera Maya.

We appreciate your praise of our beach, amazing staff and fun activities offered by our entertainment team “Star Friends”.

Thank you very much for your great remarks on our tropical jungle and its wildlife, our concept is to offer a unique experience to our guests, we are glad that you liked it.

On the other hand, we offer our sincere apology if our cuisine did not meet your expectations, our Executive Chef is always looking to offer new flavors and great quality and variety in order to please the different tastes of our worldwide guests. Your valuable suggestion will be addressed to the Executive Chef to take into account when making changes.

Hopefully we will have another opportunity to host you again in the future at any resort IBEROSTAR worldwide.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first holiday in mexico and we loved this hotel. The jungle made it even more fantastic with all the animals just wandering freely. We saw something new almost everyday
and we were there for 14 nights!
Stayed on Tucan side, although both sides are the same. Check in was fast and easy with friendly staff.
We were disappointed with our room which was block 19. I did email before we left if we could have block 12 as it was near to the jungle. I went straight to reception and asked if at all possible if we could go to block 12 and it was no trouble at all and the lady at reception said we could move the next day when it came available at 3pm.I was very happy and she didn't mind at all. Fantastic service.
Got our new room in block 12(1243) HIGH FLOOR PERFECT.
Room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was great too. I always take extra hangers as
there is never enough(good move) Maid done a great job everyday.
We had many howler monkeys on our balcony!
Pablo Thomson Rep was really nice and gave us lots of help and info on excursions and getting around. The whole area of playacar is really safe as its a gated posh area and no need to worry about going out for walks to the nearby shops.

The food was a great selection and it was very tastey as our waistlines grew loads!!! Only gripe there was it seemed to get cold really quick. One suggestion would be to have warmed plates.

All the staff were amazing and the Star Friends work sooooo hard and are all brilliant. Big Hola
to Maurriccio and Crystal.

The pool and the beach are fantastic. Watch the waves in the sea though, gets a bit choppy.
Drinks were self-serve for soft which was great and then staff also available too.

The lunch self-serve burger and hot dogs was my husbands favourite! and also self-serve whippy ice-cream brilliant.

The only thing that wasn't 100% was the weather, it did rain for almost 4 days. If it wasn't raining it was really cloudy but that's no reflection on the hotel ! Luckily we had 10 days of scorching sun :)

We also travelled on the Thomson Dreamliner which was a fantastic ride.

OVERALL I WOULD RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE
and we would with out a doubt return again.

stayed 22nd May-5th June

Room Tip: block 12 near to pool and beach. Also its on the edge of the jungle so you haven't got trees ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kittybumsqueek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your observations regarding your stay at our resort.
We highly value your comments on our beautiful jungle and its wildlife. It is truly a unique experience to our guests.

We are very happy to read that you had a quick check in and that our Front Desk staff was able to fulfill your room request. We are also happy that you liked your room, and had the privilege of having the howler monkeys on your balcony.

In regards to our cuisine, our Executive Chef will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed our buffets and a la carte restaurants. Additionally, our snacks at the beach are the best option for those who just want to relax in the sun. It is great to know that your husband enjoyed it.

Thank you for your praise of our entertainment team “Star Friends”. They offer outstanding daily activities and night shows and we will make sure that Mauricio and Crystal receive your gentle words.

Regarding food temperature, our team is constantly gathering efforts to keep our food always warm, by putting smaller platters and checking the temperature of the food and underneath the platters. Thank you very much for your suggestion, which will be sent to our Executive Chef to evaluate.

Once again, we thank you for your great review and we hope to have another opportunity to host you again for another relaxing holiday in the sun in our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

hi we've just returned from our 5th visit, & once again we were overwhelmed with the service we received, from the free welcome drink all the way to the departure day. The reception, bell boys, waitresses, housekeepers, gardeners etc.were so friendly & helpful, nothing was too much for them, I could go on & on but I think people need to make their own minds up. All I can say is we enjoyed it that much, we will be going back again next year, after all " if it's not broken then don't mend it "

Room Tip: The best rooms in our view are blocks 16 & 17, they are in the middle of the complex & ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigste2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are honored to have welcomed you for the 5th time at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It is truly a pleasure for us to have such loyal guests and to be in your preference, we highly appreciate the trust deposited in us.

Thank you for praising our amazing staff from the reception, bell boys, waitresses, housekeepers and gardeners. We are delighted to know that you were once again very well cared of by our staff.

It will be a great pleasure for us to host you again for the 6th time and many other years to come at your second home IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
13.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,475 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
10.7 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing