We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Tucan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #46 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Four of us stayed for 10 days in June. I was worried about it being the rainy season but we had perfect weather...only 45 minutes of rain the entire time. The staff is wonderful. The hotel is not new but they have done a good job keeping it updated and it was very clean. The grounds are beautiful and all the jungle animals add a little something special. The beach is gorgeous but was rather rough. I have been to Playa in June before and the water was calm that time. My only complaint was that they had no air on in the theater...the duct work is there but nothing was running. I know it is expensive to just let cold air run in the open. But we left shows early or did not go at all as it is not my idea of fun to get dressed up and then sit a sweat. But we all thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Tucan and I would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winddancer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,

We sincerely thank you for sharing your travel experience at our beautiful resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are delighted to know that you were at our property for 10 days and had a fantastic stay.

Thank you for your lovely words about our well kept resort. Our exceptional staff works really hard to ensure that all areas are immaculate and our guests well served.

On the other hand, we are sorry to read that you were unable to go to our night shows because of the heat, our theatre was projected to make the breeze go through the area, your suggestion has been forwarded to the Management to look for improvements.

We look forward to seeing you again and welcome you back to IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,600)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Tucan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 6,600 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We just got back from a 9 day stay in Iberostar Tucan. I want to start by saying that the grounds are very well kept and the jungle like pathway is awesome. The beach is definitely the high light of the place. Words cannot describe how beautiful this is. Waves are small, you can be way in and its not deep. perfect for people with family. Star friends are great too! I enjoyed water aerobics with Mauricio everyday. He has so much great energy that its hard to not to be infected with his great attitude. Loved my water aerobics! Overall a great place to stay in terms of what I just described.

Now on to the negatives...THE FOOD! The food was just food! nothing worth raving about. Got very tired of it after the first meal. Everyday it was THE SAME THING! If this place had better food i would definitely come back but i wont because my family and i did not enjoy the food at all. I've been to other all inclusive so i know what to expect but this place was lacking a lot more. Iberostar needs to improve the quality of their food and provide more variety.

To wrap it up I'd say if you dont mind eating the same thing every day or care about the quality of the food then stay here! Beach is amazing so it makes up for it.

Room Tip: Building 11 is close to the beach
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank marissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal we would like to thank you for sharing your observations and suggestions regarding our resort.

It was an honor for us to have welcomed you for 9 days at our property. We appreciate your remarks about our grounds and beautiful tropical jungle. Our beach is really astonishing, we are glad that you liked it.

We are very excited to know that you participated in some of the activities offered by our entertainment team “Star Friends”, we will make sure they receive your compliments, especially Mauricio.

On the other hand, we are deeply sorry to hear that your culinary experience with us did not meet your expectations. However we are always working on improving the different gastronomic options offered at our buffets and a la carte restaurants, so we will share your comments with our Chef so he can look for improvements and enhance the quality that appreciated guests like you deserve.

We wish you might consider giving us another opportunity to host you in the near future to experience all the positive changes made based on our guests recommendations with the intention of enhancing our facilities.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My new wife and i choose Iberostar Tucan after much deliberation, for our honeymoon and it was indeed a once in a lifetime experience. This resort was Beautiful however we personal felt the Quetzal side was the prettier. It was very difficult to get reservations for the A La Carte restraints which was a little frustrating so do plan and book early (we we advised 48 hours in advance however it is more like 4 days.) Our biggest gripe was that although it was our honeymoon (and the venue was informed of this by our travel agent) there was no effort to make this holiday extra special. We were given a bowl of fruit and some t shirts and any real romantic gesture were an extra cost. I know we shouldn't expect upgrade but it would be nice to think that they are making an effort. The room we were given was in block 17 and although it was nice, we would have preferred either a jungle view or beach view (however we were told beach view was an extra cost.)
In conclusion i think if you are going with that someone special and you can afford to upgrade the level of service you get with this is well worth it.
A special holiday but not perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for beach or jungle
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for such special occasion. We are much honored to know that you enjoyed our beautiful resort.

We apologize about the difficulties encountered to make your dinner reservations; our guests are able to make their reservation before arrival by sending an email to our Public Relations Department.

We are sorry to read that our amenities did not please you, and we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that additional amenities other than the standard are usually organized by our guests' travel agency. We appreciate your suggestion and we will forward it to the Management for further improvements.

Last but not least, our Front Desk team do their best to fulfill our guests’ requests but they are subject to availability, and at times, depending on occupancy, it is harder to grant special requests. We are very sorry about your disappointment.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at any resort IBEROSTAR worldwide and show you that we really care about our customers' satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was a wonderful place for all our families to vacation together. There was something for everyone. We had a large group with ages ranging from 3 to 73. The food was good with a lot of variety. A great value for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
3  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,

Just a short note to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal for your family vacation.

We are delighted to know that you and your family had a wonderful time. Our entertainment staff are focused on offering a variety of activities that integrates all guests of all ages, they will be very pleased to know that your family enjoyed themselves.

Thank you for your praise about our gastronomy, we will make sure that our Executive Chef and his team receive your gentle words.

It would be a pleasure to host you and your family again for another memorable family vacation in the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Tucan 8 years ago so much that we decided to return with our 2 teenage boys for a family vacation!! The resort is still beautiful just like we remembered!! It was so fun showing our sons the jungle, the animals, the gorgeous white sand on the beach and the amazing turquoise blue water!!

Being that it was June, we were nervous about it being the "rainy season", but we only experienced 2 mins of rain one day and 5 mins of rain another. The rest of the week was sunny, hot, and humid!!

The beach was clean and beautiful!! Water was gorgeous and comfortable!! Pools were like bath water, but nice.

The grounds are immaculate!! They scrub the pool surroundings (stones) at night. There is always someone cleaning and buffing the floors of the buildings and the walkways.

The Star Friends are great!! So friendly and nice!! I took part in many activities this vacation and was glad I did. Made it so much more memorable. I did Zumba on the beach and kayak race in the pool. My son rode the mechanical bull on the beach and we took part in many "guessing" games. The shows at night were fun also. We saw a magic show and "Broadway" songs show. The Star Friends work very hard to make sure everyone is having a good time!!

We also went on two excursions with Olympus Tours while we were here. I have reviews about them posted. They were SNorkel Extreme and Chichen itza. Very worthwhile and fun!!

And when staying at this resort you do need to make your way down to Fifth Avenue for shopping. It is an experience.

Tips: Wifi is expensive at this resort so my son would walk to the plaza located 5 mins away to the Starbucks cafe which had free Wifi. It is safe as it is a gated resort.

Also, watch your towel, while you are at the beach. These things are worth 10.00 a piece and if you lose them, you have to pay for them. We saw a lady pick up our towel and walk away with it as we were in the pool and could not catch up to her. When I reported it to the Towel kiosk, they said I needed to go get it as it would cost me 10.00 to replace. Maybe, pack your own beach towels and take them with you out to the beach. It could add up if you have towel
thieves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank bjanie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your remarks on our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. It is an honor for us to have welcomed you back after so many years for a family holiday.

We are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed our tropical atmosphere and wide variety of wildlife walking freely at our grounds.

We are in a privileged area with an astonishing beach. It is great to know that you were able to relax under the sun at the beautiful blue sea or in our huge pool area.

Regarding the cleaning we appreciate your comment. Our staff works very hard to make sure that all areas from our resort are immaculate for our guests.

Thank you for your compliments about our entertainment team, Star Friends. We are very happy to know that you and your family participated in some of their daily fun activities and were able to see the shows at night. They will be very pleased to receive your gentle words.

Once again, thank you for great review and we hope to host you and your family many others years to come at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

the food isn't as great as the last trip we took here 8 years ago. The theme restaurants were "inauthentic" to their theme, for example fake alfredo sauce at the Italian restaurant. The experience at Japanese restaurant was boring and we get better quality food at home in Kansas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
1  Thank Shanon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It was truly a honor for us to welcome you after so many years.

However, we are sorry to read that your culinary experience at our a la carte restaurants did not live up your expectations. Our team of cooks and the Executive Chef receive fresh ingredients from our providers every day and they only work with high quality products. Your suggestions are appreciated and will be addressed to the Chef.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again to any resort IBEROSTAR worldwide.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is very nice and the rooms were fine however the food offering is very poor. Most of all our experience at check in and check out were the worst I have EVER had! It took us 35 minutes just to check in with a receptionist who was rude and surly and constantly disappeared to do other work wile checking us in. We decided to leave after just one night and checking out the next day we encountered the same long delay and the same surliness which when we commented on it was greeted with complete indifference. To be fair to Iberostar this is not normally what they do to clients but it was enough for us to cancel our week there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank Roisin165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations regarding your short visit to our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We value all remarks from our guests about our customer service and the way we deliver our products to our visitors. We regret to hear the negative impression you got of our check-in process since, as you mentioned on your review, this is not the service we aim to provide at IBEROSTAR.

Please note that all incidents and comments from our guests are documented accordingly and forwarded to our Management. Our staff works hard to be as accommodating as possible, however, in this case, the was no previous reservation and we were experiencing high occupancy, so unfortunately we were only able to offer you the rooms for one night. Availability had to be verified as well to ensure the rooms were ready to be delivered in impeccable conditions. We are truly sorry about the delay. Please be sure we are working on making this process more effective for our clients.

We are also sorry to read that our cuisine did not meet your expectations, our Executive Chef works incessantly to offer a wide variety of quality food. Your feedback will be reviewed as all our guests' feedback is, to keep improving.

We wish to offer you an apology for the negative experience, and we hope to have the chance of hosting you in the near future for you to experience the real IBEROSTAR hospitality. We would also like to invite you to visit our web page or your Travel Agency in order to book your future visit in advance and have your family's dream vacation organized with anticipation.

Your status as a guest is highly valued by our company. Please feel free to contact our Guests Service representative for further information. We certainly will be organizing different training sessions for our staff to deliver the fantastic service you rightly expect from us.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,076 reviews
23.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,020 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £140 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing