We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #50 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 March 2009

They have done a lot to improve the beach after the hurricane last year. It is beautiful and wide. No local vendors bothering you on the beach except for once in a while staff from the resort ask you if you want a massage at the poolside massage table. Food was fine, drinks flowed freely from the several bars. Beds were rock hard! But I still slept well. Grounds are very well maintained. Staff is extremely friendly. Reminded me of a cruise, because there are lots of activities you can take part in or just lie on the beach or by the pool. However, that is if you can find a lounge chair by the pool. People were reserving their chairs with towels, books, shoes starting at 6:30am! (the only reason I know this is because I finally figured this out on our last day there, and understood why I could never get a seat by the pool...when we were leaving early to get to the airport, I saw people saving seats.) I would highly reccomend this beautiful resort. I loved that it was on a loop of other resorts and I could do a powerwalk every morning, feeling very safe. You can also walk into playa del carmen for the mega load of shopping if you like to walk that far. (about a 30 minute walk).

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vacations1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,435 - 3,441 of 6,809 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2009

We spent Feb 21-25 at the Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal. The property is lovely, well-cared for, and the staff are very friendly. If you know a little Spanish, you should definitely use it as it brings even bigger smiles to the staff.

Rooms were very nice. We had a double on the ground floor in building 18 of the Tucan. No problems. No noise. No monkeys, nothing to complain about. Very clean and good beds. Great tv - but barely stayed awake long enough in the evenings to watch.

Bathrooms very new, good shower pressure, hot water and really appreciated the hair dryer in the bathroom. Nice touch.

Food- buffet food was very good. If you want good Mexican guacamole and fresh corn tortillas this is the place. We tended to eat more "local" foods at the buffet and didn't go for the more "northern" traditional foods like carvery meats or breads. I think that made a difference in that we think the food was excellent and ate accordingly.

Drinks/bar - Very nice drinks, especially when we requested our own version of the standard gimlet. Both the wait staff and bar tenders were very accomodating and offered good brands of gin as opposed to the house brand. This is where the Spanish really helped put that extra sparkle in our drinks.

Beach- the only slight slight disappointment was the fact that it is clear the resorts are all battling the seas to keep their beached intact. That said, the property has the best beach and deck chair/palapa situation in the entire cluster of resorts in the area. Definitely book here is you want the best beach.

Local market outside entrance of resort - very nice little shopping plaza with GREAT discounted souvenirs and t-shirts. Nice to stroll around after a day of lazing around the beach and pool. For those that love Starbucks, there is one here.

I would recommend this resort. It more than met our needs and we had a really nice time.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mah116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

My family and I have been to Mexico many times before and love the country and its people. We had never been to the Riviera Maya, however, so we decided to try the Iberostar Tucan with our 3 children because they love the all-inclusive type vacations. It generally also works well for us, but the Iberostar Tucan was a nightmare.

We booked 2 rooms. Although both rooms were supposed to be non-smoking, one smelled like a stale ashtray. We requested to be moved, but management told us they could not accomodate us if we wanted two rooms near each other, which we did since we have small kids. So, we were stuck with a smelly room.

That was not the worst problem, however, because our videocamera was stolen from our room while we were out for the day. Not only did we lose our camcorder, but we also lost the CD's that were in the camera bag and those contained videos of our kids' activites over the past 6-9 months. those memories obviously cannot be replaced.

To make matters even worse, hotel management was totally unsympathetic and uncaring. They told us that since the camera was not locked in the safe, it was not their responsibility. This is a ridiculous policy, especially since the safe is only about 8"x10" in size and we already had our passports, wallets, jewelry and cell phones in there. How could we possibly fit all our other things, including our Nikon SLR camera and othe things we consider valuable (clothes,etc.), in such a small safe. More importantly, however, why shouldn't we be able to rest assured that our belongings are safe and secure in a locked room in a hotel that promotes itself as "five star"?

Since the only people who had access to our room were hotel employees, it is unbelievable that the Iberostar Hotel should be able disclaim all responsibility for the negligent hiring and supervision of its own employees? In other words, what the hotel is saying is that even if you lock your room when you leave, nothing is safe in there, and hotel employees are free to steal whatever is in your room, including your clothes, luggage, shoes, toiletries, etc. and, on top of it all, the hotel claims that it has absolutely no liability. This is absurd.

So if you go to the Iberostar Tucan, beware of the thieves. You should also also be prepared for unhelpful and uncaring hotel management, non-existent security and unreasonable security policies!! The safety of guests is obviously a very low priority for the folks at Iberostar. They are more concerned with taking your money and valuables than the safety of their guest!!

Travelers beware!! Proceed at your own risk!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tgc-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We just got back from the Iberostar Tucan after a week stay, and I was greatly pleased with the quality of our vacation!
We flew into Cancun Airport and just outside the terminal we met with Apple Reps to get transport down to the Iberostar. The drive was a little under an hour due South.
At check in we were lucky and got a room (the other group that rode the van in with us had to wait).
The room was on the first floor in building #15 (kind of centrally located) and it was clean and comfortable. Previous reviews mentioned the hardness of the beds, but after a long day of sun at the beach I was so tired I fell asleep in about 10 minutes anyway!! The maid service was excellent...on the first day we had a clogged drain in the shower and after we mentioned it to the maid, it was fixed the next day. The maid did a good job so we left $3 in tips each day.

The Main pool was very nice, but it could get crowded in the middle of the day. If you expect to do laps after 1000 am, you might bump into some kids. There were always some activities around the main pool during the middle of the day which entertained the kiddies. I stayed away from the Adult Pool, since it was filled with drunk, loud people.

The beach in front of the resort was nice. We walked along the beach infront of the other resorts, and it seems like the Iberostar has more beachfront than all the other nearby resorts. If you like to take walks on the beach, this is the place! Walking North is crowded, but if you walk south you can stroll along an undeveloped portion of the beach (you just have to walk past the Sandos resort and you'll get to this "wild" beach, literally a few minutes walk away). If you want to swim (like, really swim not just bob around in water) you'll have to walk down to this undeveloped beach since the sandbags they put infront of the resorts make it tough to swim. Be carefull if you are not a strong swimmer as the waves can get fairly large and the water does get deep quick. For lounging purposes, we hung out at the Iberostar beach lounge chairs. If you want a beach chair you WILL NEED TO RESERVE the chair by 0700 (place your beach towel and a couple of magazines on the chair and then go to breakfast...even though its not allowed, EVERYONE does it).
If you have young children be wary of disgusting topless women exposing themselves (don't blame it all on the Europeans either, I was horrified to find out that the nastiest of the bunch were actually Americans). It disgusted me when some topless woman would just go into the water in plain view of kids playing in the waves. And seriously, I dont wanna see that either....

I went on the snorkling trip that left from the resort (if your interested ask by the boat rental place by the pool). It was only a 15 minute ride to the reef. Its a nice beginners snorkel since it was close to shore and relatively calm, while it didn't have as many fish as reefs in the Florida Keys, it was still very nice.....and there were SEA TURTLES!!! If you do go PLEASE PLEASE dont step on the reef it DESTROYS IT.

The grounds of the Iberostar are like a jungle park! Very beautiful with tropical trees and lots of animals (the roosters were very friendly). Watch out for peacocks on your balcony if you live on the first floor!!

The food was good. The breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were good and I didnt get any stomache upset (which is amazing since I have a sensitive stomache)....just eat in moderation and don't go for the exotic stuff and you'll be fine (the french fries were yummy). Deserts were really good, and they totally ruined my diet. We went to 3 a la cartes. The Japanese resteraunt was entertaining, and the food was good (nothing compared to japanese restaurants in america, but they tried!). The Italian was our favorite...very good food. The Mexican restaurant was our least favorite, probably because everything was very fried and I don't like heavily fried food as much. The service at all the resteraunts, and even the buffets, was great! There was always someone asking if you wanted another drink or clearing out your dirty plates. We tipped after each meal.

We went each night to the lobby bar, and the bartenders there are good and the drinks are the best out of the other bars (I think they use the cheapest liquour at the beach bar)

The nightly shows were entertaining. We went to all of them, and the best were the Mexican cultural ones (like mexican pop and mexican folk). The only complaint is that they start pretty late (2145). We went to the disco afterwards which was nice. Once again, my biggest complaint was that the disco didn't get started until 2300 and we only got to hang out there for about an hour before we were just too tired!!

We felt very safe the entire time. The resort is located within a gated community of resorts and lovely condos. The beach is patrolled each morning by Mexican police and there is always security.
Overall, the service was great and I have no major complaints about the Iberostar Tucan. I would recommend it for anyone. We met some people who say they stayed in Cancun before, and that the Riviera Maya is far, far better.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ebl719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

My wife & I enjoyed 1 week at the Tucan after 1 week at Iberostar Cozumel early in February, 2009. Both resorts are fine, yet different: the Tucan is larger, busier, and slightly more upscale. There hardly seems to be any reason to venture off site insofar as the amenities can keep most people entertained for a week or perhaps more: restaurants, bars, evening stage productions, swimming and lounging around the pool, playing in the ocean, sunning or walking on the beach beach, kayaks, catamarans, scuba, various organized activities, walking through tamed jungle in center of resort observing various birds and animals: examples include peacock and hens, monkeys, flamingos, etc. and, of course, a pair of caged Tucans, and much more. A mall across the street and a short walk to the north can be a destination for an evening walk (it has a Starbucks). The staff are great and it's good vibes all around. We recommend taking a meal at the adjoining resort, Quetzel, for a slight change of pace, e.g. the grotto with waterfall and swans. The Tucan is fine both for families with children and for couples.

Despite advice from the front desk to the contrary, we recommend that you go with the flow, i.e. get up at dawn to find a place you like either at the pool or on the beach - provided that you genuinely intend to spend your day there. Otherwise, good luck. The same advice could apply to getting good seating for the evening shows, i.e. get there early; but, if not, there are many tables/seats, and the ones further away from the stage have big-screen TVs.

Another tip: for a nice cocktail only the lobby bar and, in the evening, the theater bar, have the top-shelf liquor (you may have to ask for it). A gratuity is not necessary every time, but seems appropriate - especially when a server takes your drink order and brings it to you. The beach and lunch bars are adequate to quench the thirst; also, there is a pool bar ,which is segregated from the large main pool.

If I had to look for a fault, it might be visual effect of the huge sandbags on the beach, but I understand that these are necessary in order to restore the beach from, and to buffer the hurricanes that occur from time to time. On the other hand, the tourists (mostly kids and young dads) sure like to catch a wave and then try to stay on top of a sandbag - it's all good.

Travel arrangements, with Signature Vacations (via CAA), as well as the check-in and check out were trouble-free. The resort is busy, so the room assignment may not be the one you had hoped for; and, if so, it should not be a problem, because so little time should be spent in the room. We'll not hesitate to come here again when we want to see the Riviera Maya again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VandCWpg_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Grounds were absolutely beautiful!! Loved seeing all the animals, water ways, water falls, flowers, etc. All the staff was wonderful and very friendly.

The food was good, even at the buffet. By the end of the week we were ready for a change but the atmosphere of the buffet restaurants made up for any hesitation to go there and eat! We ate at the Steakhouse and the Mexican restaurant. Both were GREAT! Being from Iowa we didn't know how the steaks would be but the ribeye was out of this world!

The room was nice and the person who cleaned our room left flower petals on our bed each night along with an animal shaped out of towels.. it was always fun to come back from the beach to see what she made for us.

Absolutely beautiful beach and view! Wonderful pool - best we've seen. However, even though there are signs posted that you can't save seats by the pool and on the beach, if you didn't get to either one before 7:30 am you wouldn't find a seat. People would then show up around 11:00 or after. Advice - take the seats and keep their towels nearby. By the time you're done and ready to head in they won't have even showed up yet.

The only downfall of this hotel, along with all the others we've stayed at in Mexico, was the extremely HARD mattress. That was the only reason I was ready to come home - to sleep in my bed again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank all4him2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We enjoyed our stay with a pretty beach out front, but, call us prudes, we didn't enjoy the topless show each day. Too many Europeans deciding to go with out was a little too much.
Also, disregard the hotel note about not saving chairs....beach or pool!!!
There is NEVER anyone to patrol and remove towels left on chairs. Their policy of returning a towel to get your id card back so that you won't be charged for a towel at the end of your stay just doesn't allow for staff to remove towels.. my meaning being that angry guests trying to reclaim their stuff = non-returning guests! So our suggestion, someone gets up at the crack of dawn, places towels on ALL CHAIRS NEEDED and then goes back to bed.
There is a decent amount of erosion on the beach. Very uneven and soft, but still nice for long walks. Head away from town for uncrowded beaches. Not too far and absolutely beautiful.
Food reviews were correct. Fair food, wonderful guacamole, chips, salsa...just put salsa on everything and it will taste fine. We opted to eat in downtown one night at a moderate restaurant and it was the best meal of the trip!
They did "forget" to clean our room one day and finally did clean it at 5:00 after 2 calls.
LOVED the 3 p.m. monkeys swinging in the trees outside our room each day.
The jungle that traveled from the lobby to the beach was fantastic. So many sightings of animals and birds and just wonderful to stroll back and forth.
Friendly staff. Try the bike ride. 20 minute stroll around the neighborhood...very relaxing!
Playa is a wonderful town to walk around. Nice shops along with your typical Mexican shops.
Wireless Internet was SLOW, EXPENSIVE and only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chicagofamof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#45 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,032 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#58 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,215 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £144 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing