We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #43 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Despite the fact I did suffer numerous mosquitoe bites I would go back to the hotel again and again. The hotel was absolutely fantastic, brilliant. The people there were friendly and willing to do anything and everything for you. The entertainment team were wonferful, they didn't push for you to get involved in anything you didn't want to do but they had things on the go all the time. The food was delicious in all the resteraunts, the main one had different types of food every time you looked and everything was mouthwatering, from the variety of choices at breakfast to the tender meats, potatoes, vegtables, and choices of fruit. The hotel itself was absolutely beautiful with animals everywhere, a huge swimming pool, well kept bright grounds, a large reception, and fantastic rooms. The beach was right on the doorstep and out of this world with golden sands leading onto an absolutely beautiful sapphire sea.
The area itself had loads to do no matter what type of thing you are interested in and you could never get bored. The two weeks went way too quickly and I didn't want to leave. Would advise going to this hotel to anyone and plan on going back myself.
My dad and now step-mum were married there and have definetely made me consider marrying abroad myself, the details that the staff went to were beyond what we expected. the day was beautiful, everyone in the hotel made it a lovely day. Their bedroom that night was decorated with rose petals all over the bed, floor, bathroom, shelves, headboard and sofa, the curtains had been twisted into a bow with flowers in them, two towel swans were on the bed. the flowers were amazing and the photographer and video men made it fun and enjoyable while getting the pictures done. The cake was delicious and everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crimson4tears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,042
    1,791
    462
    153
    97
See reviews for
2,351
2,353
75
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

If you like watching animals - this is the place for you. My boyfriend and i stayed at the Iberostar Tucan in Playacar. I had some hesitations but this place far exceeded my expectations. We stayed on the Tucan side (there is another identical side called Quetzal. I thought I would have preferred the Quetzal side once we arrived as it is quieter and has more wildlife (flamingos, swans, monkeys, birds and yes roosters), but the Tucan side was more convenient for the beach and buffet and it is lovely too. We woke up to Howler monkeys every morning and there are peacockes everywhere. The staff was awesome. We tipped well and we got everything we wanted. The only thing that was disappointing was how you are limited on the a la carte dining to the amount of nights you stay but the hotel was not at capacity so we got in a few more dinners and never felt deprived. The food is very good and although we never used room service, it is available. We are going back next year. Can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamalyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

this was by far one of the best vacations i have ever been on...food was excellent, rooms were nice, everything was clean, drinks were good, and the staff "star friends"...they were incredible...they help make the experience a good one...definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmcmindes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We arrived on Sunday, July 12th 2009, and stayed for 6 days. There were a total of eight in our family, ages ranging from 5 months old to 54 years old.

We booked through our travel agency at Iberostar Quetzal, but requested the Tucan side and a higher and closer to the beach room if available. Upon checking in at the reception desk, we were greeted appropriately. Checking in was fairly easy, as there were no lines. The clerk advised us that we were book on the Tucan side, two buildings from the beach. That was a definite plus. While we were being checked in, another member of the staff brought orange drinks to us, and served us all. From the reception desk, a bell boy put all off our luggage in a golf cart, and transported us to our room.

Our room was nice, the beds very hard, but ended up sleeping very well. We requested a crib prior to check in, and we had to call twice in order to get the crib to our room. When the staff member brought the crib, he set it up for us, along with lining the crib with the sheets.

The pools were very nice, not too crowded. Watch your kids during the water sports as at times, our kids were dunked by older kids and adults trying to play. The beach was nice as well, however several women topless sunbathing. The water at the beach was great. however there were several whales (sand bags) approximately 20 -30 feet out if not closer. There were always activities going on, and the staff was very friendly. It's amazing the amout of time that staff puts in a day to make sure you have an enjoyable and memorable stay.

The food was good, there were a total of three buffets. Two larges ones (cozumel and tulum), and one smaller one (la palapa). About day three the food started getting old, but by then it was time for the A la carte restaurants. We had two A la carte restaurants, La Gondola, and La Marimba. Both were good, but not great. I would have almost rather ate at the buffets. The drinks at the resorts were o.k., nothing spectacular. Our young children liked the non-alcoholic drinks (pina colada), however make sure you try them before they drink them. On more than one occasion, my children ending up having alcohol in their drink.

The nightly entertainment was very good, and very enjoyable. Like I said earlier, the staff does the best, to make sure you have an enjoyable experience.

We rented a cab a couple times to go to Playa Del Carmen, 5 bucks each ways, cheap enough.

This resort has privileges with Iberostar Del Mar, and Iberostar Cozumel. We took the boat to Cozumel, transportation extra, and stayed at Iberostar Cozumel for the day. By far Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal is better than Cozumel, and cheaper.

The landscape, nature, and wildlife at Tucan/Quetzal was also a treat and an experience. Many iguanas, tailless squirrel types animals, monkeys, birds, and more at the resort, a definite treat. Watch out for the mosquitos as they bit my wife up pretty good, and still has the marks to show for it. Make sure to take bug spray.

Some of the amenities at the resort include snorkeling, kayaking, sailing. We took out the kayaks a couple of times, and had a good time. You can rent them for free an hour a day.

Our room was cleaned and stocked daily. Houskeeping was very friendly, and very attentive. They definitely deserve a tip. Towel art was left daily for us.
This resort is recommended for family fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HoggNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

the service and food was excellent. the rooms were bright and roomy, the hotel was spotlessley clean and the grounds kept very neat and tidy, lots of wildlife monkeys, small brown rodent type animals, and peacocks with babies!! also ducks nesting on balconys, no probs with sunbeds lots of them, beach towels provided and changed every day, hotel right on the gorgeous beach at playacar, lovely white soft sand and the warm carribean sea, entertainment very good but if your sat at the rear of the very large room your view is restricted by the tv,s and iron girders so get there early for a closer seat, there is a lovely spa, a few shops and bikes if you want to go out and explore, we had a lovely two weeks all inclusive holiday and would definately return to this hotel. power/web familys bristol england

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytwobristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We just returned from our vacation at Iberostar Tucan. This was our third trip to this area and stayed at Wyndham Maya and Sandos Playacar before.
Sandos Playacar and Iberostar are comparable. The rooms at Wyndham Maya were not as nice. This time we had our son of 3 years with us and he had a great time. The kids pool had always available chairs around it and it was right next to the big pool so we would switch between both pools. The pool water is very warm but that makes it nice if you travel with smaller children. Please make sure you get a towel card as well for your children at time of check in because we had a small issue with that and they almost made us pay for a new towel card. Our room had no bathtub so this is important to know for families thinking about traveling with babies. The kids show at night was sometimes a little bit lame but they tried really hard and were so nice to my son. My son really liked to participate and looked forward to the show each night. We didn't watch any of the night shows as they start too late for families with small children but I like it that they had a band playing between the kids show and the big show and they were pretty good. I really loved the food at the buffet and is one of the reasons I like to stay at an Iberostar. We didn't try any of the specialty restaurants because they usually disappoint us and it takes too long with a small child.
The sandbags are really an eyesore but I think I will still return to this area because of the good value for your money. I love all inclusive hotels as it makes your vacation extra relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The hotel is beautiful and extremely relaxing. The staff were friendly and professional. The hotel room was clean and nice. The grounds were gorgeous. The beach was perfect. The food was great! Great vacation spot if you want to total relax and have no worries! Great value too! I highly recommend the Iberostar Tucan. I can't wait to go there again!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovinMySurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,976 reviews
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,603 reviews
12.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing