We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, grounds, food, service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #41 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good room, grounds, food, service and location”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed here with wife and 2yo daughter in October 2010 for almost 2 weeks and really enjoyed it.
From the beach, Tucan is the half of the resort on the left, Quetzal the one on the right. Virtually the same, minor difference would be that on the Quetzal side of the pool you're closer to music and sports, and on the Tucan side you're closer to towels and pool-lunch area. When we were there (low season), the restaurant on the Tucan side was open, where the one on the Quetzal side was not. Had been to Iberostar Bavaro in the Dominican Republic before, so can compare here.

Room: Spacious (seating area not as big as in the DR) and comfortable, with small balcony. We stayed in a room in block 11 (blocks run from 10 on the beach to 19 near the reception, Quetzal has similar numbering from 20 to 29). So close to pool-side restaurant, beach, towels, and away from the sounds of the jungle & monkeys located between the beach and restaurant. Room was thoroughly cleaned every day.

Food & Drinks: Good quality food and drinks (I liked the fruit and vegetables a little better in the DR), and friendly service. Of the restaurants besides the buffet (Italian, Mexican, Japanese, and Steak House), we favored the Italian. Steak House is also good, but as it's open-walled near the beach, we had mosquitos bothering us there at night.

Grounds: Beautiful (better than DR) and spacious, with a jungle full of animals (great for our daughter) to walk through on your way to the bigger of the 2 breakfast buffet areas. Agoutis, Monkeys, Tucans, Peacocks, Flamingos, Chickens, Lizzards, Turtles, and many more animals were present. There is a separate childrens pool, and right next to it a slide, climb rack and the usual playground apparatus in the sand for the little ones: ideal!

Location: This hotel is located just 5 minutes and 50 pesos (roughly usd 5 or eur 3) by taxi from Playa del Carmen. Good for shopping, a massage, or diving (significant cost difference with those services at or around the hotel), and the ferry to Cozumel (140 pesos one way, 30 minutes by boat). About 5 minutes walk towards Playa del Carmen from the hotel you can find a Starbucks with free internet. (fyi - In case you're considering different Iberostars - the Iberostar Paraiso Maya is located away from everything between Cancun and Playa del Carmen).

Other: Thrifty has on-site car rental available next to the Quetzal reception, and it's easy to rent a car and visit Chichen Itza and the city of Valladolid together in a day. Pre-arranged and organized excursions are bookable on-site as well if you like.
Hotel also has tennis courts, a fitness center, a spa, and a night club, though I didn't make use of them.

Would recommend, and if you have any questions, feel free to ask.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,022
    1,783
    457
    153
    97
See reviews for
2,328
2,345
75
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My (now) Husband and I searched for the perfect resort to have our friends and family come to join us for our wedding. We had a party of 35 coming to see us on our special day so we wanted to make sure it was special for not only us but for all of them as well.
Let me break it down for you :)
The Resort:
We wanted a place that was plush with trees, not one of those resorts that have a palm tree thrown around every 50 feet or more. It is in the middle of a jungle. So many different trees, plants, flowers etc. There is also many animals that are able to roam free around the grounds. Don't worry...they don't bother you at all:) You've got monkeys swinging in the trees, tortoise, peacocks, swans and so many more. The pathways through the resort are beautiful, but are slightly hard to walk on. They are made out of some kind of stone, but you can always take the outside walkway to get to where you want as well. The Quetzel side has some beautiful scenery through out the walkways with waterfalls and ponds. Also there is this crazy tree that looks like it is growing in and out of itself next to building 25 on the Quetzel side...you have to check it out.
The food at the buffets and snack bars is good. We stayed 11 days so it did get boring at that point! Wasn't too fond of any of the fish though so that was a bummer, but there was plenty variety there anyhow. All of our guests were pleased as well with their menu options. Restaurants were great as well.
There is a great pool...just be careful when getting into the pool from the stairs...there is a big drop! It was funny watching everyone get in for their first time. The swim up bar and Iray the bartender were outstanding! We spent much of our time there during our trip. It has to be our favorite spot! It's a great way to chill out, have some good drinks and even meet some great people! (Hello Fiona and Ian!!!) The beach was renovated earlier this year and it looked great. Very big with plenty of chairs to sit. The water was very blue and warm.
Because of our wedding we stayed in two different rooms. The first was in building 13. The beds in most rooms were hard, as you'll read in several other reviews, but have a drink and you'll sleep just fine. We brought our own pillows because we both use memory foam so I am not sure how those were. This building has a path that goes directly to the pool so its a great location! Also the monkeys tend to hang out near this building so you'll hear them and catch them often. We then moved our wedding day morning to the beach front building 10. Beautiful view and quite. The bed was much more comfortable. Both rooms were nice.
The staff at the resort are all so great. They are always around taking care of the grounds. Room service and maids do a great job. The bartenders make great drinks...no gipping you out of anything! They are all wonderful from the second you step onto their grounds to the second you leave.
Things to do:
As I said, great pool and even better pool bar. They have all kinds of water sports you could do. None of us did any of that though. We did rent some snorkels and walked down the beach past the Sandos resort and did some snorkeling. They have this area not too far out that has some great fish and even octopus were seen. I have snorkeled twice in the past with adventure tours and this was the best I've seen! The town of Playa Del Carmen is just a 5 minute $5.00 cab ride away. You can get some great things there. There are many restaurants as well if you want to get out of the resort for the day. Check out the "Jelly Fish" store! http://www.jellyfish.com.mx/
Weather:
Hot! We went in September knowing the temps would be in the 80's and 90's and that it was in the middle of hurricane season. But after a few days of the heat...you get used to it no problem. Put that sunscreen on! Don't try to "get a tan"!
The day my husband and I left..the bellman came to get our bags and when we came back out it was pouring! First time all trip. That day the hurricane came through and it was crappy weather for at least 2 wks. Talk about timing huh?!?
The Wedding:
Gabriella, the wedding coordinator, was wonderful from start to finish! We started through email in the beginning of the year. It's a little hard to plan a wedding from so far away, but she tried to help make it as easy and as stress free as possible. She is a great asset to their resort. On Friday September 10 I watched from my balcony as the ceremony was set up and the guests started to arrive. We didn't want too much decor...but the decorations we did choose looked beautiful. Especially with the ocean behind it! Everything on our wedding day went great! The ceremony was beautiful, the dinner at the Italian restaurant was tasty, the private after party at the beach bar was so much fun and to end the night anyone left standing went to the disco to finish the party! FANTASTIC WEDDING!
Thank you to our coordinators,Gabriella and Liliana, for making our wedding that special day that we will never forget!
We are still hearing comments from our guests that came how much fun they had and how beautiful the resort and wedding was.
We HIGHLY recommend the Iberostar Tucan for your vacation and if you are getting married, for your wedding as well!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALola19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed here between 21/09 and the 05/10/10.

Rooms are kept clean and the maid gave us towel art every day but the stocking of the mini bar and tea and coffee was hit and miss. Beds we found ok and didnt need to get padding. We had room service one evening, a limit menu but quite quick.

Food was ok, had roast beef, pork etc but no vegeatables to go with them, but following morning was offered sprouts cauliflower and brocoli for brekfast??? We ate the steakhouse twice and the food and service was good. You can get International brands at the bars and they are waitress service if you want.

Only swam in the pool once (as we prefer the beach) the swim up bar pool was digusting, it looked like it had a film of grease over the top of the water.

Beach was big, with plenty of sunbeds and shade but everything was took close togeather, it didn't feel like you had any privacy. They also have a beach service.

Grounds had wild animals roaming, monkeys, peacocks chickens etc also my favourite mosquito's!!!! In the first 3 days I had been biten over 30 times even whilst wearing tropical strength repelant. They are vicious!!!!

Iberostar have built one giant hotel and split it in 2 and called them the Tucan and Quetzal, they meet in the middle and share the entertainment, pools and beach. Whilst we stayed there was only 800 people there so some on the resterants were closed. If the hotel was at full capacity (1800 people) then you will struggle for a place at the pool and shade on the beach (you can get umberellas from the towel hut for the beach). They have a policy on No Reserving sunbeds but not once was it enforced. We also found that tipping didnt get us better service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Just got back from a hurricane "field trip" here...only stayed one night so I am not an expert, but I wanted to share my experience. This place is absolutely beautiful and HUGE! It's size was a bit overwhelming to me...the beach was quite a hike from my room. At night the mariachi music from the central entertainment area was loud in my room and to top it off, about 6:00 am, I was awakened by this terribly loud screaming sound outside my window.....it was a monkey on the roof top....not a quiet little "oo ahah", but a tortured bellow!! It went on for hours!! Not the way I wanted to be awakened!! Yes, the food was great, the amenities wonderful, but sleep is important to ME!! I'm sure other rooms in the facility did not have my experience, but BE PREPARED!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toobz2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I'll describe it in a few words: clean rooms, good food, friendly staff, nice beach, beutifull resort with wild animals, great shows and fun overall - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank romirga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grafton ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

first of all we enjoyed our stay so much we just today booked another week (10/23/10)
The hotel, staff and facilities were all great.Over the last 10 to 15 years we have stayed at many properties.This property is all that it sugest. We have decided we wiould be happerior down in playa del carmen than up in the more traffeled cancun are.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bryano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This resort is everthing that you would want for a memorable and comfortable vacation. It's an all inclusive resort of moderate size with ambiance and surroundings that make vacationing relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Menz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
12.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,674 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,463 reviews
13.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing