We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful !!!!”
Review of Oh Lala!

Oh Lala!
Reserve with OpenTable
Oh Lala! is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The cuisine at Oh Lala! Is a refreshing change from that of other, more conventional restaurants. Guests are treated like good old friends in a relaxing atmosphere coupled with personalized service and good food. Opened in January, 2011, by co-owners George and Mikaela, Oh Lala! Offers personalized experiences for its guests, ranging from a laidback sampling of hors d'oeuvres and wines, to a leisurely look at the full menu. With a total of 9 tables divided between the indoor and outdoors seating, and an open kitchen, Chef George, Mikaela, and their staff, make sure that every visit to Oh Lala, International Cuisine by George, Is a unique and a delicious one.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful !!!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Oh Lala is an amazing dining experience. It's elegant simplicity, from the setting to the menu, is delightful. Mikaela and George strive to serve no more than 10 people at any one time, enabling them to preserve the friendly, relaxed atmosphere that made the four of us feel so comfortable. The food was marvelous! Two in our party had the butter soy tuna and both felt that it was the best tuna they had ever eaten. One had the filet mignon, which was prepared perfectly. I had the Thai curry with vegetables and the flavor was amazing! The appetizers and desserts were equally outstanding. We would highly recommend that you put Oh Lala at the top of your dining list in Playa del Carmen. Be sure and book reservations way ahead as they only serve 28 guests per night. If you can only eat one meal while in town, this is the place to choose. Mikaela and George will make it an unforgettable dining experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,626
    170
    57
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Serris, France
Level Contributor
173 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

So glad that we saved the best until last.

We ate here for our anniversary dinner and had been looking forward to it for ages.

We enjoyed ourselves that much that we immediately booked for 2 nights later and it will be our last meal at the end of our 5 month stay here.

Everything was superbe from the moment we were met at the door of the restaurant until the moment we left. No faults whatsoever.

The service was attentive but never overbearing. You really feel that they care about you and your experience in the restaurant.

The food was just yummy, each bite better than the last and the flavours that you wondered if they really would go together all did. Everything gelled perfectly.

We had 2 starters - The funghi assortment and the Oh lala salad.The funghi was my favourite, it was so full of flavour from the garlic and cream and the melt in the mouth mushrooms.

Then the Seared Tuna in the soy and butter sauce and the Lobster special which was served with a mango chutney and steamed rice.

The lobster was very good but the tuna was on a whole other level. This was one of those dishes that you didn't want to finish eating. It was buttery, melt in the mouth, a perfect mix of flavours and textures.

We choose an Argentinian wine which complemented well our choices.
Too full for dessert we finished with a Affogato each.

Thank you so much for everything and we wish you all the best for your continuing succes in Playa.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charliehonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and Hospitality”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our 3rd wedding anniversary in Playa Del Carmen recently and we were looking for a restaurant to celebrate and escape the typical fare. Thanks so much to Mikaela and George for preparing an impeccable meal, welcoming us into their charming and quaint restaurant, and making our anniversary very special with a surprise delicious dessert. I wish I could come back weekly for the Thai curry! Oh Lala is a must visit for anyone traveling to Playa del Carmen.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durand, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had reservations here on the last night of our honeymoon. We couldn't have had a better ending to a wonderful trip. The owners are amazing as are all of the staff. You truly feel like you are having dinner at their home and they do everything to make sure you are completely satisfied. They take obviously pride and pleasure in what they do and it shows. Not only was the food incredible, but they even surprised us with the most delicious crepe desert we've ever eaten. It was by far the best dining experience we had in PDC and we will always remember it. Thank you for such a special night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMartin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Style with creation”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Worth the find I looked for the restaurant the night before and i found it on the second night They were full but I left my cell number and got the call an hour later for a spot for a cancelled reservation. the staff and owners made us feel very special to the end of our night. The lobster special exploded with different spices and a broth that is very creative. And the end my wife was acknowledged for her birthday a card along with a dessert. was presented to here. This was our first and will look forward to the net time

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgrenteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oh Lala! also viewed

Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Oh Lala!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing