We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”
Review of Delphinus Xcaret

Delphinus Xcaret
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delphinus Xcaret is located inside Xcaret Eco Park; just 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. If you are visiting this lovely park, enjoy the opportunity of swimming with dolphins the same day at the best place.The provision of space and care of every detail at Delphinus Xcaret has enabled us to develop innovative and high quality dolphin swim programs. Here, you will enjoy a swim with dolphins program that suits your spare time and taste, and your family will love it!Delphinus Xcaret, is awarded with the Guinness World Record for being the dolphinarium with more dolphins born in one facility along one year.Visit us and enjoy your Swim with Dolphins at Delphinus Xcaret selecting from 3 programs: Delphinus Interax, Delphinus Primax and Delphinus Dolphin Ride.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This would be a 5 (was our unanimous fav trip) if not a bit disappointed by the video ( read below).

Family of 4 booked via Thomson on silver package. Lots of time with dolphins (about an hour in the water), staff superb and the foot push a real treat. If you ever fancied this, Delphinus are fab.

The photo and video package: we saw some of the photos and an excerpt from the video so purchased this package (on USB and DVD) but of course couldn't view until back in Scotland. Photos great but DVD poor value as 2 thirds from one section of swim with lots missed out ( dancing with Pal, kisses with Pal, and others) hence why not 5 as the package isn't cheap. I recommend watching video before deciding.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    328
    91
    41
    41
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We came here on our honeymoon and paid a bit extra for the silver package. It was well worth it. We spent an hour in the water with a dolphin my husband and I.it was a magical experience. Loved every minute. I would defos recommend. The dolphins are very well looked after.

Helpful?
Thank Cbear1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Primax package is awesome....photographers and pictures not do much”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Let me start off by saying the Primax package is amazing. The dolphins are phenomenal, the trainers are very knowledgeable and caring, but the photograph package was excessively expensive!

We arrived at the lagoon during a rainstorm and when there was a break in the clouds we entered the lagoon to swim with the dolphins. Once on the dock we were assigned our own personal paparazzi since we paid extra to have a dolphin experience with just our family. Once we got in the water it started raining again and our personal paparazzi disappeared (understandable as they wouldn't want the equipment ruined). After a few minutes we had to get out of the lagoon due to lightning, so we waited about 10 minutes for the storm to pass. Once we got back in the lagoon our photographers did not return, so our trainer kept making us do the same stunts over and over hoping the photographer (who was now photographing a different group) would return.

We could tell the trainer was getting frustrated and moved us closer to the photographer in another pool. When we finally had the pictures taken we were asked to get out of the pool and that our experience was complete.

We were ushered into a photo/video hut to view the videos and photos of our group. Our video had other people on it even though we paid for the primax, but our photos were good. The price however, was craaaaazy. For $199 USD you could purchase 12 digital pictures on a USB, Or for I think it was $249 you could purchase the video plus all 80 pictures that were taken...ummmm....WHAT? We asked if we could change out of our wet clothes and let them know once we were changed-all of a sudden our sales person no longer spoke English other than the word 'no'.


This was our kids first tropical vacation and dolphin encounter so we reluctantly purchased the bigger package, but are REALLY unhappy with the price...as a bonus they printed four of our pictures on really cheap photo paper and said we would get 4 frames (which we never got).

I realize there is nothing we can do about the weather, and the trainer seemed just as aggregated as we were, so I will say the experience was worth it... But for our family of four the little experience cost us over $800USD for 45 minutes. Yikes!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Osterlunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herriman, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dream Couples Swim”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We did the couples dream swim at Xcaret (not in the park we came through a separate way just for the dolphins). The swim was great, our dolphin was very nice and looked happy. All the dolphins were given great care (our swim was stopped to make sure our dolphin got medical care for a small injury she had on her dorsal fin). Our trainer was AMAZING! Every time I go to places like this I ask a lot of questions because I want to learn & she was never annoyed & very informative. Her name was Stephanie and she spoke English and Spanish very well!

I really loved this place (although prices for pictures are ridiculous). We got a deal because our video didn't record, if we hadn't gotten the deal I wouldn't have purchased them.

I would not recommend doing the excursion in the park, it was much better going there for only the dolphins because you go in a different secluded area. Also, you get special pictures with the couples swim and instead of waiting in line for the next thing (which you do if you have more than 2 in a group) you get to touch and play with the dolphin.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great time; the Dolphins and trainers were truly amazing. The Dolphins are clearly very well looked after and from their behaviour you can see how happy and relaxed they are. We picked this complex after seeing just how much better their large natural pools were compared to some of the other swimming pool style ones in the area. They also take you through how the animals are treated and how rescue animals are rehabilitated. Would highly recommend this bucket list activity. Only bad thing is they really lock you in to buying their photos which are a little overpriced though they are very professionally taken.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aurelius1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delphinus Xcaret also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Delphinus Xcaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing