We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Ranked #78 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chateauguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad beach”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

got at the hotel and our suite was not a vailable until ne next day. then we had to leave our luggage in the room but give back the key at 10am. Our siute was suppose to be ready at 2pm but was not and was told to come back in half and hour. we did that dance until 4:30. no apologies no complimentary anything. so no room and acces to out luggage for a full day with a 4 years old. horrible! the food at the buffet was almost always the samething. the beach is like a mine field, rocks every were. we were able to find a little area were my child was safely able to go in the water. the area looks amazing but the water in the pool and aqua park if freezing.

Room Tip: brink water shoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izab78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,735
    4,099
    1,414
    600
    458
See reviews for
5,427
4,167
153
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Just two words! Stunning and amazing! I saw the xcalacoco! Show, And it was the most amazing experience that I ever had in my entire life! It's a kind of sacrifice to the Mother Nature, I'll recommend you to see that you'll enjoy everything! Food, environment, the beach you've better go. Oh I will never forget, I spent 3 week and I saw the show 3 times and each time was like the first time. Go and enjoy it !

Room Tip: Beach view are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This resort far surpassed my expectations, from the kindest webstaff, Mariana, to the Front Desk Clerk Fabiola, to the Bartenders- can't remember their names...
As soon as we got there, we were upgraded to a suite with a jacuzzi, I'm assuming it's because I had asked someone about how to go about reserving time to renew our vows... Which we did on our own and it was fantastic!

We had such an amazing time. My husband and I absolutely needed time away from the craziness of working nonstop and raising twin toddlers. The resort had absolutely everything. You really felt kind of dumb leaving to go into town, or do some of the tours, when the hotel is FILLED with actualy Mayan Ruins, Authentic Cenotes, Turtle filled mangroves, and Mayan Trails used forever ago. After viewing the hotel, in full, which took a few days, we felt pretty bad for not having brought our kids. You always see the amazing staff in charge of the kids clubs, giving the kids the times of their lives! You can even find babysitters there! There is a special kids pool island, full with bar and hot dog stand! This pool island is like nothing I've ever seen. There had to be about 10 slides, and so much for the kids and parents to do. I imagine we would have spent a long time there... Aside from that they had an exotic zoo with 2 donkeys, 5 peacocks, 2 hairless prehispanic dogs and more. We saw monkeys, and turtles, and lizards all on the property.

We were so impressed with the streakhouse restaurant. We felt like we totally got our "all-inclusive" on there as well as at the bars. Unfortunately, we found it tough to get a buzz off the drinks, which I feel as though, on vacation, that is your only real job!

I though it was really great that they had free unlimited wifi in certain areas of the hotel. Skyping worked great!

This hotel had to be the cleanest one I've ever seen. The cleaning staff, and grounds maintanance was impeccable. The bartenders enjoyed the challenges of lighting my shots on fire...

Mariana, the webmaster, even called me to see how things we going. I thought that was such a nice touch.

We were super tempted by the final price that the vacation rental (timeshare) people offered. If my husband and I were to see eye-to-eye, we would be back a million times. Just loved this place! Awesome!

Oh, the last day, we took a romanitc mangrove cruise with Champagne and choc. covered strawberries and a Mayan in a Loin Cloth. (All INCLUDED) Awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kbooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Neches, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My granddaughter and I had another wonderful experience at Sandos Eco Resort in October. Mariana Urtaza, Guest Services Manager, is the most conscientious, gracious employee we have ever dealt with. She made sure every minute detail was arranged for us. As I am a senior citizen with health problems and my granddaughter is an active 23-year-old, Mariana assigned us accommodations and planned activities that were excellent for both of us. The shuttle awaited us upon arrival from the airport, checking in and checking out were fast and painless! The entire staff is cheerful and extremely attentive. As usual, the grounds were beautiful and immaculate and the food and drinks simply can't be beat! It was entertaining to watch the odd little animals and the beautiful cats who are taken care of, fed, and have their own designated spaces that are well tended to. The comfortable bed and hum of a remarkable AC unit were a delight for me while the shows and late night entertainment were available for my granddaughter. I pampered myself with 2 wonderful massages at the modern well-designed spa. Yes, we are going back!

Room Tip: I suggest travelers look at a detailed map of the resort. The different locations of the rooms give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 817JudyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

this place is paradise, the resort is phenomenal

everything about the experience has been excellent

id highly recommend Sandos Hotels and Resorts for anyone who is looking to have a great vacation

---------

what more can i say, go experience it first hand

the architecture will leave you astounded

the international buffet has food service all day, you can eat as much as you want

the drinks are great, service is great, everything is top notch

worth every penny

put your dollars down, close your eyes, then wake up in paradise

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthonyJReems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago area, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Our stay was from Nov. 9th – 16th. This our second time at Sandos Caracol and I must say our return trip was even better than our first. We were treated like visiting family and they thanked us for being returning guests. It is very apparent that the hotel is under new management ( positive change!) since our first stay in 2009. This is reflected in the care and concern by staff and the improvements to the resort. My compliments to Sandos Resorts for investing to upgrade and update their hotels. We had emailed our ala carte restaurant reservations (a tip from Sandos Caracol on Facebook) so those were presented to us at check-in. Marianna Urtaza of Guest Services is so very nice and a huge asset to Sandos Caracol, she goes above and beyond to be sure you have an enjoyable vacation. We had an excellent experience at check-in by Fabiola. She speaks great English, was very polite and went out of her way to be sure we were satisfied and taken care of. We were very impressed by her.
We really enjoyed the Friday night Mexican theme buffet, the Mariachi Band was a nice touch and they were fun and engaging guys. We tended to sit at the same table in the LaLaguna buffet and received great service and friendliness from Jeni and George. George can be quite the jokester! Vicky @ LaLaguna assisted us our first day and treated us like old friends the rest of the week. She’s got a sweet and bubbly personality, you can tell she genuinely loves her job and people! We loved the new Los Lirios restaurant (the whole new section is beautiful), our meal was fantastic and we received great service from Jose who was so incredibly polite and nice, we really appreciated him, he’s an impressive young man. This trip we enjoyed the privileges of the Select Club and I believe it was Alejandro (I hope I got his name right) who bartended. What a great guy, he’s always fun and smiling and made sure you were taken care of when it was your turn courteously and tactfully. Our waitress on the Select Club beach during the day was outstanding as well; however, I neglected to get her name. Our other favorite restaurant was LaRiviera; we sat by the falling water which was nice. We received great service and a delicious meal from our friendly waiter Lorenzo and both Alberto’s who were fun and made sure we had everything we needed. I don’t want to forget to mention our hotel room attendant. We never did meet him/her but they did a great job. Our room was always spotless, well stocked (w/ face cloths--it’s an American thing), perfectly made beds and cute towel animals made for us daily. We were in room 1203 (building 12) which is close to the beach.
The racoons and coatis were much more aggressive for food this trip, but this is because guests continue to feed them! There is a recording asking you to please not feed them, so don’t! They are cute and they’ve become excellent beggars but feeding them only encourages bad behavior and someone could get hurt. Their bad behavior annoys guests and the employees having to constantly chase them away.
In 2009 we chose Sandos Caracol because it fit our price point in all-inclusive resorts. It still fits our price point but we genuinely enjoy the hospitality, food, and amenities of this resort. As long as it remains within our budget, we’ll continue to be loyal customers. We find it to be a great value!
I have three suggestions and that would be to bring back the free shuttle to Playa del Carmen; even if only once or twice a week and just one way going there would be nice. Another is to have that fantastic guacamole available at all times at the buffets and snack bar!
And lastly to lower your prices at the spa, we would love to use them much more but the prices are way out of our budget. I think if you lowered them you would get many more customers.

Room Tip: Building 1-11 are for Royal Elite only then the lower the number of the building the closer to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nesquehoning, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Just got back on Monday 11/26/12, I will defiantly not be booking there again. I have been to Mexico twice in the past at other all inclusive resorts. Sandos Caracol is definitely ranked #3 of the 3 I have been too.

BEWARE OF THE BEST DAY TRAVEL DESK FOR EXCURSIONS!!!! I WAS THE VICTIM OF CREDIT CARD FRAUD! Arrived home and found fraudulent charges (charges to an internet porn site) to my Mastercard account. I ONLY used the card at the Best Day Travel desk to book 2 excursions on one day fraudulent charges showed up on my account 3 days later. Another person in my traveling party had the same thing happen to her. I also read on facebook of another gentleman having over $1300 in fraudulent charges. All there last week....all booked excursions thru Best Day Travel Desk. SANDOS CARACOL IS LAUNCHING AN INTERNAL INVESTIGATION AFTER OUR FACEBOOK COMMENTS.

Service = C-
- The best staff in the ENTIRE resort was at the Sports Bar. Roman, Alfredo and Socorro made our vacation at this resort AWESOME ! They were the ONLY staff that made us feel at home. Everyday they recognized us and took time to make us feel like Kings and Queens!
-90% of the staff ignored you as you walked past them. Not even a “hola”
-Received 2 calls from “guest service” (timeshare sales). 1st one on the day after we arrived @ 8am stating they had my “welcome package w/coupons” at the Guest Service desk. 2nd one 2 days before we were to LEAVE stating they had my “welcome package w/coupons” at the Guest Service desk. WHY couldn’t you give me my “welcome package” when I checked it at the front desk. Ohhh….you wanted to sit with me one on one to try to get me to go on the timeshare tour.

Shows = B

-nice theater shows
-entertainment staff at pool is lacking. Finally decided to take part in a dance by the pool. I was have fun and joking with the staff and the male staff member looked at me and said "respecto" I guess this means he wanted me to respect him. I AM ON VACATION TO HAVE FUN!

Food= C
- Buffet is HORRIBLE. Tables were never reset. You would walk in…get directed to a table and had to WAIT for a busboy to clean and reset a table for your party.
-Breakfast buffet was alright (how can you screw up breakfast) Omelet station took forever. One person/one grille making eggs. Usually had to wait 10 people deep for an omelet. Smoothie station never had fruit for smoothies. But….always seemed to have the cactus smoothie…hmmmm.
-My Family stayed 9 days/8 nights and I was entitled to 3 a la carte dinners. Went to book immediately and could only get reservations to the Italian 7 days AFTER arrival. I was told to check back every morning. I did and was able to get Brazilian twice. I have stayed at other all inclusive in Mexico and had no problems getting reservations. That is because they gave coupons out. You redeemed coupons for your reservations.
-Mexican Buffet was closed? Really? Only the International buffet was open.
- Italian/ Brazilian a la carte was very good. Very noisy in the Italian though.

Rooms = C
- Stayed in a Standard Room. I traveled with a group of 4 families. 1 month BEFORE I arrived I e-mailed Sandos requesting our group rooms near each other. I gave all the details and was assured we would be together. Well...4 rooms were together in the 37 & 38 block. I was the group leader and I was put in the 16 block. I immediately went to the front desk and advised our group should be together. I was told “I can put you over near your group on Wednesday “ (4 days AFTER arrival)
- upon arrival room smelled very moldy/musty. Called front desk for air freshener 3 times….never got it.
- maids are good just make sure you tip…although other rooms in our party got nice animal towels on their bed every night and we did not 


Beach = B
-Always seemed to run out of towels by 11am
-Beach sand beautiful …bring water shoes for the water!
-surprised they allowed “locals” on the beach selling their goods.
-snorkel off the beach is not good at all

Pool = A

- Very nice with a swim up bar

Hotel = 3 stars
-Overall nice place.
-IF YOU DON'T WANT KIDS AROUND ON YOUR VACATION DON'T STAY HERE. ITS A KID FRIENDLY RESORT. BUT IF YOU HAVE KIDS ITS A GREAT PLACE. NOT A PLACE FOR TEENS THOUGH. WE HAD 6 TEENS AGES 10 THRU 15 AND THERE WAS NO ACTIVITIES FOR THEM.

Room Tip: ask to see your room before accepting........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.2 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
17.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,304 reviews
16.2 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
16.1 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,367 reviews
17.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Caracol Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Property: Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Address: Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez Km 295, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#72 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandos Caracol Eco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Caracol Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracol Beach
Sandos Caracol Eco Hotel
Sandos Caracol Beach Resort Spa
Sandos Select Club
Sandos Caracol Mexico
Hotel Sandos Caracol Eco
Caracol Village Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sandos Caracol Beach & Spa Mayan Riviera
Sandos Caracol Resort
Sandos Caracol Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing