We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal attention by all staff”
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Playacar
Ranked #51 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great personal attention by all staff”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Second time at Hotel last time three years ago. Feels like a family hotel, great food, all you could ask for.
Will be back sooner next time.
We have never been to such a friendly Hotel. Entertainment every night and thirty mins walk from Playa Del Carmen along the beach.
Reception staff are Ace and every staff member down to the garden ears always greet you

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,372
    1,707
    488
    182
    107
See reviews for
1,297
2,084
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Riu Playacar has an amazing beach, Okay Pool, The Hotel is okay - Definitely outdated compared to the Riu Yucatan in the same area. Buffet food was average, Great Entertainment Staff, Terrible Resturants - Was just deep fried - same old buffet food for the most part - we didn't even use all our resturant visits & just ate buffet the were so bad!
The thing I was really Not impressed with was the amout of people trying to sell you drugs!! Not only on the Beach, but in front of the Disco on the resort!!!! Made me feel very uncomfortable.. not sure if Riu promotes this activity, but it definitely turned me off to never book with them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Visited Riu Playacar in November, 2013. This time, I was looking for good quality all-inclusive resort to rest and spend time with my friends not too far from Playa del Carmen.
As a scuba diver, I was interested primarily in close proximity to the diveshop ( Scubacaribe, right in the hotel ) and cenotes.

Pro:
- 5 star service. Staff is polite, helpful and is doing best to make your stay as much fun as it can be.
- Good food
- Very clean
- Beautiful and clean beach
- Close to Playa-del-Carmen. For $7 taxi brings you to this nice little town with many local tourist attractions, bars, shops and everything else.
- Can visit and use amenities from several other Riu hotels nearby
- Not overly expensive for what you get

Con:
- Dated rooms .Not a big concern, really. Everything in good shape and working.
- Terrible coffee. If that bothers you, you can still go to Starbucks right across from hotel's gate.

Room Tip: Since buildings are low-rise, no point to select ocean-view room. I would select room closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I had a great experiance at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel and its grounds are quite small which I really liked. The entertainment staff were great and I and girlfriend had a really fun night out with them and had a fun Spainish lesson off Charlie.

I travelled with Thomsons and their rep Jasmine was very helpful and infomative. We also flew out on the dream liner and it really is superior to other aircraft I have been on with Thomson.

Having had all inclusive in Egypt on previous holidays and thinking it was good, having all inclusive in Mexico blows it out the water. I loved all the coctails and the bar men kept them coming all day.

Being right on the beach was great. Being a keen windsurfer there kitis only begginer and very beat up but it was free. I went in November and getting places round the pool and on the beach was no problem at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

For my 60th birthday, my daughter, 3 sisters, 2 nieces and I went to the Riu Playacar. We all had a wonderful time. Had birthday dinner at the Asian restaurant and it was fabulous. They brought out birthday cake and sang. I loved all the restaurants that we ate at. All the activities by the pool were such fun. We were "persuaded" to join in the dancing, which I was totally horrible at but it was fun. We are going again in 2014. Can hardly wait. The rooms did have a musty smell but not too bad. It is one of the smallest of the Riu's and that is why we picked this one. We walked up the beach to Playa del Carmen one day to shop. A little far for older people.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktalex52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

There are several RUI hotels in Playacar and I think RIU Playacar is the most authentically Mexican. Comparatively there are a high percentage of Latinos staying at this resort and you tend to hear more Spanish spoken than English (although all staff can speak English I was pleased I could practise my Spanglish!).

The rooms all have a mini bar in the bathroom, which is fun, although we did find that the booze was required in binge proportions in order to have an effect! The rooms were a decent size, the beds were comfortable, with a large wardrobe that came with iron and board. There was also shower gel in the shower. I've noticed that some people complained about there not being a private bathroom but I disagree. You can pull a curtain across the arch for privacy and open it up to give the room more space, we hardly ever pulled our curtain, as the shower had a curtain and was big enough to dry off in before leaving the bathroom area. The loo obviously had a door! The set up worked fine for me and my friend, staying in a twin room.The rooms are clean and tidy, they have a fridge and sufficiently stocked drinks (both alcoholic and non).

The food was lovely, there is always something new on the menu and I never had the same meal twice and we were there for 2 weeks. We didn't have the most of the cocktail bar in the Turquesa in hindsight, but we weren't ever short of a drink or munch so can't complain (I just wished I'd discovered the Espresso Martini sooner!). There is always a staple of Mexican food along with Pasta and Junk food for the Western Eater. They had so much variety, it is difficult to fault anything with the food. We tended to eat around 7.30 and on occasion that we eat around 6ish, the food looked really amazing all laid out. They have 3 bookable restaurants, a Steak House (fine), a Mexican (great) and an Asian, this is laid out as a all you can eat buffet and the food was just ok.

The facilities run by the hotel were fine, the pool bar entertainment was always well attended. The yoga in the morning wasn't bad either. We did laugh at the fluctuations of the attendance on the volley court and the competition levels! I booked a course of scuba diving trips with ScubaCaribe and they Scubamasters were always excellent, friendly and informative. However the ScubaCaribe shop in the resort where things are booked for left a lot to be desired. They were always the last activity shop around our area to open in the morning and the first one to close in the evening. They were the first to pull the equipment (kayaks, boogieboards etc) when the weather turned and the last one to open when the weather improved. Compared with the two hotels on either side, who were always active helping people out with their equipment, our ScubaCaribe staff were extremely invisible! My friend also tried to book scuba trips several times and was bumped off when larger groups needed a trip, not great service. I'd highly recommend the hotel continue to use the service of the diver company, but loose the staff on site, they would be better employing their own if they want to keep up with their neighbours!

We missed out on a lot of entertainment but would say that when they have external entertainers we were pleasantly surprised. The Animation team worked hard and were always enthusiastic.

We did visit the Tequila (way too far from the beach and many more rooms that our place), Yukatan, decent food (bit more european) and a couple of nice bars for sunset and attempted to go to the Palace, but we were too lowly to gain entrance!

If I were to go back to Playacar I would definitely revisit RUI playa car for it's Mexican feel. I'm sad at the rumors that they are rebranding it, to give it the modern and generic style of the other RIUs.

Room Tip: The 2 blocks nearer the Turquesa restaurant can really hear the "entertainment" so perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mand282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have seen the other reviews and they are just about right, some of the negs are unfair, so this is a short review with some tips.
On the flight fill in all the forms, the bit they give back to you is your exit visa, don't lose it. The luggage trolleys are not allowed out of the airport so you will have take your bags to the bus, not far. At the hotel your luggage will be taken to your room by the porter, all reception staff speak excellent English
The hotel is very relaxed and the envy of other hotels, their guests will tell you, it's true. Reception are all very helpful, we spoke to Nico more than any other, a fine young man who will try to complete any request, even the impossible.
The rep, Jasmine was never late, has mountains of information, very considerate to our needs, another excellent.
Mosquitos a few, we took Jungle products and Raid, and brought most of it back, stay away from the green bushes and you will be ok
We had our Golden at the hotel, Jasmine, the reception, and the restaurant staff gave us night to remember, ending with applause and cheers from the other guests, it was more like Wembley than Playacar.
Will we return? at first we said no, now a few weeks down the line it's maybe.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#61 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#87 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Property: Hotel Riu Playacar
Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 8 annexed buildings * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 21,000 m2/25,000 sq. Yards of tropical gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing