We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping into decay until 2015 renos.”
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Playacar
Ranked #52 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is due for renos in 2015, and they're just letting it slip into decay in the mean time.
Management is HORRID. We launched many complaints and only one was addressed despited promises to "look into it". This is some (not all) of the problems we had:
1) Ant infestation on the bathroom counters (microscopic little buggers - almost brushed my teeth with them - YUCK) - They sprayed raid to get rid of them for us. This is the only concern they addressed.
2) Internet - Allowance is 90 minutes. The connection is terrible if it even works at all. It timed out after 45 minutes, sometimes earlier, and reception just looked at us and said "well you clearly misjudged your time remaining". If you stay here, be ready to pay $5 for a drink to use Starbuck's wifi across the street.
3) Toilet - The toilet in the room wouldn't flush.
4) Bathtub - The bathtub in the room was clogged and drained very slowly. Be ready to stand in your own filth while you shower.
5) Sheets stained - all of them had large 3" stains on them. God knows what they were. My sister threw hers on the floor in the corner to have it replaced, and the maid remade the bed with it.
6) Umbrella - It rains a lot in Playa Del Carmen. It's beautiful, and a nice way to cool down, but really puts a damper on your holiday because there are no umbrellas available. They are supposed to provide one in every room, but they're all broken, and have no replacements available. We asked every day for 4 days and just received attitude in return so we gave up.
7) No warnings in orientation or signage anywhere about the mosquitos on the beach. These lovely little bugs provide you with large welt-sized rashes. Bring OFF mosquito repellant, they're everywhere after dark.
8) Main receptionist was very rude, spoke very little english, and did nothing to resolve the problems.
9) Pool water uncomfortably cold. I would be shocked if they have a pool heater. It was rare to see people "enjoying" the pool unless they were at the swim-up bar. Everybody else got in and ran right back out.
10) You're unable to keep your bracelet. The Riu Palace lets you keep yours.
11) No elevator and 3 levels per building. If you're unable to do stairs, go elsewhere, as their management is too terrible to guarantee you a floor-level room.

The food is the only thing this place has going for it. Some of the waiters hang around like lost dogs until you hand them a tip, so while the service is good, it's annoying and extremely uncomfortable. Pay a little extra and go anywhere else. This place is definitely not 5 stars. Everybody we talked to was extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Tip for choosing a good room - go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 5,215 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We found the hotel very mexican and this was why we enjoyed our experience there,we picked this hotel because we did not want to stay in a "hospital sterile looking hotel" as we understand most of the Riu hotels are being changed this way,We found all the staff very friendly and helpfull and even though the rooms and most of the hotel does need updating we hope it does not change from being a Mexican themed hotel this is most of the charm..
We found the food very good and they catered for all tastes we did not need to leave the hotel at all as the restaurants had such a good selection.
The beach was very nice and children friendly.This was our first time in Mexico and we would love to go back.,but not if they change the hotel to match all the other Riu hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Second time at Hotel last time three years ago. Feels like a family hotel, great food, all you could ask for.
Will be back sooner next time.
We have never been to such a friendly Hotel. Entertainment every night and thirty mins walk from Playa Del Carmen along the beach.
Reception staff are Ace and every staff member down to the garden ears always greet you

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Riu Playacar has an amazing beach, Okay Pool, The Hotel is okay - Definitely outdated compared to the Riu Yucatan in the same area. Buffet food was average, Great Entertainment Staff, Terrible Resturants - Was just deep fried - same old buffet food for the most part - we didn't even use all our resturant visits & just ate buffet the were so bad!
The thing I was really Not impressed with was the amout of people trying to sell you drugs!! Not only on the Beach, but in front of the Disco on the resort!!!! Made me feel very uncomfortable.. not sure if Riu promotes this activity, but it definitely turned me off to never book with them again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Visited Riu Playacar in November, 2013. This time, I was looking for good quality all-inclusive resort to rest and spend time with my friends not too far from Playa del Carmen.
As a scuba diver, I was interested primarily in close proximity to the diveshop ( Scubacaribe, right in the hotel ) and cenotes.

Pro:
- 5 star service. Staff is polite, helpful and is doing best to make your stay as much fun as it can be.
- Good food
- Very clean
- Beautiful and clean beach
- Close to Playa-del-Carmen. For $7 taxi brings you to this nice little town with many local tourist attractions, bars, shops and everything else.
- Can visit and use amenities from several other Riu hotels nearby
- Not overly expensive for what you get

Con:
- Dated rooms .Not a big concern, really. Everything in good shape and working.
- Terrible coffee. If that bothers you, you can still go to Starbucks right across from hotel's gate.

Room Tip: Since buildings are low-rise, no point to select ocean-view room. I would select room closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I had a great experiance at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel and its grounds are quite small which I really liked. The entertainment staff were great and I and girlfriend had a really fun night out with them and had a fun Spainish lesson off Charlie.

I travelled with Thomsons and their rep Jasmine was very helpful and infomative. We also flew out on the dream liner and it really is superior to other aircraft I have been on with Thomson.

Having had all inclusive in Egypt on previous holidays and thinking it was good, having all inclusive in Mexico blows it out the water. I loved all the coctails and the bar men kept them coming all day.

Being right on the beach was great. Being a keen windsurfer there kitis only begginer and very beat up but it was free. I went in November and getting places round the pool and on the beach was no problem at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

For my 60th birthday, my daughter, 3 sisters, 2 nieces and I went to the Riu Playacar. We all had a wonderful time. Had birthday dinner at the Asian restaurant and it was fabulous. They brought out birthday cake and sang. I loved all the restaurants that we ate at. All the activities by the pool were such fun. We were "persuaded" to join in the dancing, which I was totally horrible at but it was fun. We are going again in 2014. Can hardly wait. The rooms did have a musty smell but not too bad. It is one of the smallest of the Riu's and that is why we picked this one. We walked up the beach to Playa del Carmen one day to shop. A little far for older people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktalex52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#35 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#64 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
6,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#47 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#54 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
8,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#58 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#89 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £167 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 8 annexed buildings * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 21,000 m2/25,000 sq. Yards of tropical gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing