We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #47 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
manchester uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here june13 amazing weather food was great beach was gorgeous really nice walk to beach too. Drinks were amazing lost a few nights to Mexican flags and Mayan sacrifices loved victor the bar man!!! Atmosphere in the tequila was great and Amazing for the price well worth it Would return however will more than likely try the Yucatan as this was closed for a refurb whilst we were there. Got a taxi into 5th ave quite a few nights for drinks and food at the las pinatas restaurant on the beach! Fabulous and so cheap!!!!! Would recommend as you can sit facing the sea and watch the sun go down!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloex2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,404
    2,293
    622
    158
    128
See reviews for
1,869
3,698
89
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here ten years ago and was quite surprised that nothing much as changed but it was still very good. The services in the restaurant and bar is fantastic the rooms were spotless and the food was great. Being a celiac I have to be careful what I eat but in the two weeks we stayed I had no problems

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bunkersbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Resort was clean and beautiful. Was a little disappointed by walk to beach, but it only seemed long the first time. Beach was beautiful, white and spacious. Would like more chairs, but that's typical. The beach next door to Wyndam is also Rui. It was a favorite of the two Rui beach strips. At that beach, there were drinks served right to you. Sellers not too agressive, so that was nice. If you take the trolley to the beach from the lobby, they take you to the beach, but it was too busy. Walk down across from the market and walk through that Rui to the beach. Enjoyed that one more. Not much for snokelling, good waves and choppy for playing. White beautiful sand. If you take small children, becareful, the waves can take the feet out from under little people.

Room Tip: I liked the bottom floor so I could see and interact with the COADY ( animal similar to raccoon, fer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The food here was a lot better at this so-called 5 star resort(really its a four star) than at punta cana. there was a long walk to the beach as this resort is across the road. The five star Riu resort is the Riu Palace across the road on beachside. I walked up through there at lunch just to see and the food was a lot better in the buffet. The grounds were much nicer too. The Riu Yucatan on the opposite side had a more lively atmosphere and has been recently upgraded. A much younger crowd. stay there if you want to be closer to the beach. A taxi ride to the famous Playa Del Carmen shopping district is a safe $10.00 each way trip. the beach area is very nice. There is a bar which is a bit of a walk from the beach. Punta Cana was much better for this and also there was drink service at Punta Cana at night in the lobby. None here. It was inconvenient to have to get up from the show and pick up a round of drinks and carry them back in front of all the people. The shows were very good though and over all the service is much faster on Mexico time. Those bartenders could make 4 to 8 drinks per minute and make them good. The other affordable resort to the other side and also on the beach was Riu Playacar. We walked through there and found it quiet and maybe a 3 and a half star quality. One day we needed a new T.V. and it was there in 15 minutes. A call for more beer took about the same. All in all I would go back to this area because I like the idea of being close to shopping but I would stay at a resort right on the beach and upgrade the quality a little. The al a carte restaurants were okay. We were lucky because we had met a couple from the U.K.(Keith and Lee), and ended up dining with them twice which made the dining experience that much better. The shows were excellent though and the effort far surpasses that which we have seen in Punta Cana. Just a little comparison review. Hope it helps!

Room Tip: Closest to the hotel check in/lobby is the way to go to reduce walking as this is where the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Do not hang around the pool/swim up bar, crowded with the bar drinkers who don't seem to leave to use the WC, so I'll say an aroma lingers. Having said that this is the only negative I will say about the Tequila. Get down to the glorious beach only a short 5min walk way (or take the shuttle down and back) and avail of the facilities there, beds/food/bar as part of the RUI group set up. Free watersports and the guys at the scuba dive center were great (nine dives in warm clear waters, includind cenotes - caves) Food is good, varied and everyone will find something to their liking. I recommend you try the speciality Mexican restaurant in the evening at the beach, their Chicken with mole sauce hit the spot. The entertainment each evening was more than just that, it was great fun, involving the crowd to the enjoyment of all. Rooms perhaps dated but who stays in them for long anyway, they are cleaned and well stocked with many a good refreshement should you wish not to leave it. Staff were always more than helpful. Local shops just outside should you need any gifts to take home, with the main town only a safe 10/15min walk away. Stayed here for two weeks in October 13 and it may not get the reviews that others get but believe you me, give it go and you will not be disappointed. To add I recently stayed in Jan 14 as part of a cruise deal at the Occendential Grand Flameco Xcaret for 4 days just a 15min taxi ride from the Rui Tequila - avoid it all cost, the Tequila is head and shoulders above this for many reasons, I will do a review on it shortly and hence why I am only penning this review about the Tequil now as a comparision. Would I go back to the Tequila again, YES. Would I say to you to go there, without a doubt. Also while there take the 30min ferry ride over to Cozumel and if like me you are into diving, then give it ago there - unbelievable. As a footnote any taxi driver I spoke to (on both trips) stated theTequila is busy all year round, it is that popular, so what does that say about the place.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor, noise from rooms above can be loud which is expected with that p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Wow what mixed reviews this resort gets. This is not the most modern hotel but it keeps high standards with an army of staff, they keep it clean fed and entertained with a cheery smile. The accommodation is set in low level blocks around the pool and gardens, which are lush and jungly. It amused me at the number of reviews which complain about bedroom distance from the lobby, I know that less able guests are given those rooms closest so I reckon those people are lazy. Oh and that's a funny complaint "the beach is a 10 minute walk away and I did not want to wait in line for the last train, I mean complimentary train". The little train pulled away every 10 mins so never much of a queue. And the beach is stunning even in the rain.
Food is plentiful and varied and good quality - particularly enjoyed breakfasts . A fresh juice bar, omelette bar, pancake bar and lots of yummy stuff. If you need a decent caffeine fix the Sports bar is the place. Went to the steak house one night and that made a change.
The alcoholic drinks were more varied than other resorts we've visited ( including Amber beer ) a lot of care went in to a wide variety of cocktails many off menu such as the Mexican flag. Best ones at the Tequila main bar. Nice to have a number to wander round over at the Yucatan but the lobby bar trance music drove us crazy after a while.
What made our holiday really was that it was safe to walk out of your resort, other holidays in long haul all inclusive resorts has left us a little stir crazy. You can walk into Playa Del Carmen either down the street or down the beach - maybe half an hour stroll. We found a coffee bar with superfast free wifi (kalypso ) about 10 minutes the opposite way, turn left at the roundabout before the Riu Lupita. Over the main highway is a retail park for the locals - big bargains on essentials such as Tequila etc !;0) Entertainment is reasonable we liked the live singers but the shows were ok . The staff kept it moving - setting up indoor games when it rained. I enjoyed the Zumba, esp the beach Zumba. The shared gym is too small and not up to scratch however. Maybe 4.5 *.

Room Tip: Be the first off your bus and request an upstairs room facing the garden to reduce chance of critter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I dont really know where to start in describing this holiday. Every year when we go away I think it would be impossible to improve on the last but without doubt this is THE BEST holiday we have ever had.

The hotel itself is immaculate. There are lots of reviews saying it needs updating but i completely disagree. The hotel is beautiful. Bedrooms are spacious and the restaurants are all a decent size. We didn't want for anything during our two week stay and have no complaints. The decor had character and just added to the overall charm of the holiday.

Everywhere is spotless. Every day you see staff all over the hotel cleaning their areas thoroughly. I mean thoroughly - workers picking up leaves, bleaching the walkways, wiping down bannisters etc etc etc. All the staff are extremely friendly and courteous and will go out of their way to help you.

Usually on a two week, all inclusive holiday you would begin to get sick of the food. But there is no chance of that at the Tequila! As you have very easy access to other hotels which are also very close by, you have plenty of choice for lunch and dinner. We particularly loved the Asian restaurant. It was delicious and what was great is that you can book to eat at the specialty restaurants as often as you like. There was such a selection and wide variety it would take a real fusspot for someone to be fed up of the meals!

Every little detail is thought of, from optics in your room, drinks topped up in your fridge everyday, a buggy service to and from the beach, 24 hour service at the bars, food available at all hours, wifi in the reception area, fresh towels as often as you want them. Fun and games around the pool if you want to get involved. There really was nothing to fault!

This was our first experience in a Riu hotel and will certainly not be our last. One day we hope to return to the Tequila. Mexico is a beautiful country, so much to see and do and two weeks was barely long enough!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering it!

TAKE US BACK :)

Room Tip: All seemed lovely and are in a convenient location. We stayed on the top floor and were perfectly ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,490 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,685 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing