We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be faulted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #49 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Can't be faulted”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I have just got back from a two week stay at this resort. There is nothing that can be faulted. A beautiful beach, although the sea was a bit rough so swimming was difficult, but fine for "playing" !! The beach is around a 5 minute walk away from the Hotel, but there is a regular free shuttle to the beach. In the two weeks we never had a problem finding a sun bed at the beach, but people do move your towel at the pool. Twice we heard people complaining that their towels had been moved and someone else had their sunbed.The Riu Tequila beach bar closes at 3, but you are able to use the pool bar at the Riu Yucatán, which is less than 50 yards away, so it is no problem.

There is a huge selection of food at the main restaurant, and it would be impossible not to find something that you like. All of the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I cannot understand the comment made by one contributor about wanting two entrees. Why would anyone want two entrees on a seven course meal ???

The entertainment staff put a lot of effort into their evening shows, and are of a better standard than similar types of show that we have seen at other resorts. It has to be remembered that they are catering for many different languages and they have to find a formula that works for everyone, and I feel that they successfully achieved that.The entertainment was, however, sometimes spoiled by very loud people at the bar, who had clearly had too much to drink, and quite frankly are old enough to know better. Why do they have to talk so loudly at each other when they are only a couple of feet apart. Not everyone wants to know what a great time they are having
I agree with the comments about the Yucutan, the reception is too bright and too glitzy, we called it the pink palace, updating does not always work and it definitely does not work there. I also hope that the Riu Tequila does not go down that route.
The air conditioning in our room was not as cold as we would have liked. We called an engineer to look at it and he tested it and it showed that the air was coming out at 20.9 degrees, (70F), which, he said, was correct.
I have to mention all of the wildlife that are there, Coatis, (with a tail) and Agoutis (without a tail). as well as the colourful birds. I just wish that people would read the signs that say "do not feed the wildlife". They are wild animals it would be nice if they could stay that way. There is plenty of natural food about without being given bread, cakes etc. just so that someone can take a photo !!

I cannot finish this review without mentioning the Thomson reps, Kirsty, Jamie, Kia and Meredith (apologies if I have missed anyone out). They are without a shadow of doubt the best reps. that we have ever known. They were always happy and welcoming and went out of their way to meet any requests. Nothing was too much trouble for them and I hope that Thomson are aware just how good this team are. If you are going to see them Kirsty asked me to mention that they all like chocolate !!

All in all a very good holiday , and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brillEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,469
    2,326
    630
    161
    130
See reviews for
1,905
3,758
90
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

It was clean. The staff was great. Who cares for a la carte when the buffet had a huge selection and something for everyone. The food was amazing. I didn't even mind that it was an 800 meter walk to the beach, it was a nice little stroll. The beach in Playacar is one of the best I've been at in Mexico and better than Punta Cana even.

The few issues that I had of this resort was that the only bars at night were in a very loud area by the entertainment stage so you couldn't escape the loudness from the stage to relax and have a drink. The entertainment. I have nothing good to say other than it was very sad but this has become the norm in these resorts.

Taquila lacks in amenities that I grew to appreciate at other resorts like a beach bar, beach snackbar, etc... Though you could get your lunch at the buffet restaurant at the beach it closed by 3 and there were no bars except self serve pop and beer. The pool was small and cramped so we avoided it.

$7 cab ride to 5th avenue was really worth it. This is where I recommend to spend the evenings because the entertainment at the resort is so sad.

Though nothing to do with the hotel, I think Mexico has the best excursions packages in any of the places I've been.

I would definitely go back to Playacar in Playa Del Carmen. The Taquila was priced right, but I might spend a few more bucks and opt for adult only resort.

Room Tip: If someone is going to be loud in your hallway, you'll hear it. If someone slams a door at 4am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nbcanadaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I booked this resort for my son, his girlfriend and another couple as I am a travel agent. The rooms were basic but clean, Teresa did a great job! The food was great but at Lupita my son asked for two entrees and was told he could only order one. Thought this was an all inclusive resort? Why can't one order two entrees? The restaurant buffet manager was rude to my son and his traveling party. Told them they couldn't wear baseball caps in the restaurant and they waited more than 15 minutes for a waiter to come and take their beverage order.

My son's girlfriend became ill on the second day of their stay at Riu Tequila and my son was going to bring some food back to his girlfriend from the buffet and once again the restaurant manager was once again rude and told my son it was the resort's policy that food could not be brought back to the rooms. Without room service, if food cannot be brought back to the rooms, when there is a sick guest I guess they don't eat or they go to the buffet ill? My son felt his traveling party were treated rudely by the restaurant manager and staff their entire stay.

As a travel agent, I don't think I will be referring guests to the resort anytime in the future.

Room Tip: I had requested rooms in building 27. They were given rooms in building 28 which they said was in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drakeshake2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Staff excellent (so tips always appreciated but not expected) best AI I've been to, includes branded drinks (if you ask for them) optics,water and fridge full of drinks in room. Food very good but as always with buffet style not always hot.
Tequila has a lovely jungle setting and has a Mexican theme to it, I do hope they don't spoil it and make it like the Yucatan,which we called the big perfume bottle it does have a lovely setting on the beach and is very new but for us was too glitzy and modern.

No it is not 5 star but remember you have not paid 5 star price, if you want 5 Star pay for it!

The entertainment was better than expected, we saw some good shows (Myan and El Divo worth seeing) as were the animation team shows (for the critics out there just remember it is very hard to entertain in numerous languages!)
Enjoyed trips to Coba, Tulum, Chichen Itza.
Had a great game of golf (lovely course, challenging at times, AI, clubs weren't the best for the price especially the ladies, check grips before accepting)
Loved Playa Del Carmen, very lively of an evening, would recommend Vagabunda for a meal.
Took ferry to Cozumel to snorkel and were very lucky to have some dolphins join us ( free in the sea, exactly where they should be, not trapped and trained in a big pool for human pleasure!)


Only gripe with hotel far too many broken sun beds
(always check under topper first or you may end going through)
As very reasonable attracts shall we say a few undesirables

My top tips would be:-
If you like a cuppa take a kettle/mugs (does take a long time to boil but worth it)

If you react to mosi bites go prepared, I let my guard down one night and suffered for it.

Check sun beds and complain about them otherwise they won't be changed.

I hope you enjoy your holiday as much as we did.


Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had a brilliant holiday, very relaxing complete with wonderful weather. Would like to complement all the wonderful staff at this hotel everyone worked very hard to make the holiday perfect. The food was first class with so much choice at each meal time the waiters were very friendly always smiling. The animation team were something else, on the go from 10am till 11pm every day providing game sand exercises during the day and fabulous shows on a night - the best we've ever seen in a hotel!. Rooms were immaculate cleaned thoroughly every day lots of clean linen etc.The walk to the beach is approximately 5mins no problems. Walked to Playacar a few times around 30mins lovely walk or along beach 45mins.The hotel itself has lots of character with lovely old wood and frescos - take note Riu management don't loose all of this and make it another faceless monstrosity like the Riu Yucatan! The grounds are beautiful with lots of wildlife, coati,iguanas etc. but please don't feed them they are supposed to be wild animals not pets! Overall a great experience and would definitely recommend this hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 and 2 are close to facilities all are 2 stories high
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Elder, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very nice and well kept club/hotel. The rooms were clean and in good repair, and the grounds were well maintained and quite beautiful. They had a nice pool with a swim-up bar and s organized pool activities for those who wanted to join in. The only disappointment was that the food was of mediocre quality, I expected much better from an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had a wonderful time. Lovely people, animation team very good. Food tasty. Very beautiful at Christmas.
But the location is a bit far from the beach, luckily there is a car that can take you there. The territory is very big so it feels like forever until you get from your room to the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,570 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing