We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Yucatan(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viva Wyndham Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Lupita(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Tucan Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viva Wyndham Azteca(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (8,454)
Filter reviews
8,454 results
Traveller rating
4,895
2,548
679
183
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,895
2,548
679
183
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports baryucatan hotelmain restaurantthomson repsgreat holidaygolf buggyasian restaurantanimation teamplenty of sunbedsevery other daypool restaurantshort walk to the beachthemed nightspalm treesevening entertainmentcancun airportswimming with dolphins
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,642 - 2,647 of 8,454 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just got back from the Riu Tequila this week and had such a fun time! The hotel was really clean and the staff was so friendly. Check in was really fast. The food there was excellent. I'm a VERY picky eater and never had a problem finding something good to eat. The pools were clean and the beach is breath taking. The shows were great and we enjoyed going to the sports bar after dinner to play pool. We will definitely be going back!! I would highly recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carter111511 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After reading numerous reviews we decided on the Tequila rather than the Yucatan and we made the right choice. The Tequila felt authentically Mexican, from the hotel to the surroundings and not forgetting the Coatis roaming around freely. Great rooms in small clusters so no noise problems. Ours was 2512 near the children's area on the upper level, it couldn't have been better positioned. Spotlessly clean and ample big enough for three adults.
The pool area was picturesque, with plenty of sun beds, split in two by the bar/ restaurant. We twice went to the beach, only a five minute walk away. Although it was beautiful the sea was very rough.
The food is very good and varied and we can't say we had a bad meal but this is the first all inclusive holiday we have been on and we do prefer to eat out but that is just our preference. The drinks were excellent with a wide range of cocktails to chose from.
But what really enhances the hotel are the staff. They are making me smile now just thinking about their friendly smiling faces. They work so hard but appear to enjoy every minute.
While we were there my husband and son played a round of golf and I went along. What an impressive course, lots of interesting dog legs and plenty of water! ! ! Beautiful scenery for me as well, and not forgetting the refreshment man who stopped by four times with drinks and nibbles. An excellent afternoon in the sun.
We went to Akumel to swim with the Turtles and had such a fabulous time went back a few days later. Saw lots of Turtles, fish and Stingrays. The bay it's self is stunning and the sea very calm.
All in all one of the best holidays we've had and the Tequila played a big part in that.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floor half way down the complex
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KASHMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived back in Manchester on 2nd June after two weeks in the Riu Tequila. We had visited the Tequila several years ago while staying at the Riu Yucatan and decided then that if we returned to Playacar we would stay at the Tequila.
The hotel staff, check in, rooms, food and entertainment team were fantastic. The team of Thomson reps were great, one of the team seemed to be on duty every time we walked past their desks. Every query was answered, they were informative, polite and great fun, probably the best reps we have ever encountered while on holiday. Jamie organised a complementary walking tour of Playa Del Carmen (which he does weekly), you pay for your own taxi and then Jamie shows places of interest in the town which includes entertainers, tequila tasting and also a traditional Mayan performance which was breath taking.
We ate at all the special restaurants at the hotel. The Mexican was very disappointing, cold food, little choice of food left, poor service. Needless to say we only went there once.
The steak restaurant and the Asian restaurant were both excellent, as was the buffet restaurant.
We went to Coco Bongos which seemed expensive but we had a great time. My main criticism was that the show didn't start until 11.30pm and finished at 3.30am, which is way past my usual bedtime, but well worth staying up for.
Our rooms were very clean, large and quiet, the only noise was one night when it was raining and the coitis were making screeching noises (they don't like the rain either).

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms we were in 1709 & 1710
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Val009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I would love to give the Tequila five stars as my wife and I had such a wonderful holiday in Mexico however to do so would perhaps raise readers expectations to high so three stars it is, which I think is fair. We did get a very good discount, had we paid full price I would have been a little disappointed however we would still have enjoyed ourselves. Anyway, the hotel is well located being a 5-10 minute stroll to the beach or a short journey on the hotel "beach bus". Playa del Carmen is a 20-30 min beach walk or a £4 taxi ride. The Tequila's decor is traditional Mexican, dark woods, reds, blues and yellows and such a nice change from typical modern hotels. We arrived on a very sunny day so it was very welcoming, on wet and cloudy days it may appear a little dull. Service at reception was very efficient and speedy, we arrived before other package holiday makers as we arranged a taxi online with Blue Oval, around £30 one way and worth every penny to beat the rush. Service in general was very good and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We emailed in advance and requested a top floor room in a quieter location which we received. The hotel rooms are large and also traditional, with high ceilings which adds to the sense of space. A curtain separates the bathroom from the sleeping area which for some may not give adequate privacy, the wc does have a door. Take a kettle, there isn't one in the room however there are optics in the bathroom which is a little odd, together with a fridge/mini bar. The room was spotless though a little frayed at the edges, our sink was cracked, a loose handle on a drawer, a couple of cracked tiles, nothing that worried us though.Air conditioning worked well and there is also a ceiling fan. The room did smell slightly damp but it is the tropics, very humid and it does rain. You may get a beetle in the room, we found two in two weeks. Some people said they were bitten by mosquitos though we didn't have a problem at all, oh and there are coatimundis everywhere as well as the occasional agouti, great if you like wild animals though perhaps not for everyone. Birds at outside dining tables are also a nuisance. Food overall was good, very easy to assemble a different four or five course dinner each day, including items such as sushi, sashimi and carpaccio. Lunch and breakfast not as good but perfectly acceptable. If you do pile different dishes on the same plate then you will not get the best dining experience. Hotel entertainment was very enjoyable and the animation team work very hard. The hotel grounds are very well kept and we didn't have a problem getting sunbeds either at the hotel or on the beach. A bonus is that you can also use the facilities at the Riu Yucatan and Playacar though not for breakfast or dinner. Lunch overlooking the Caribbean followed by cocktails at the Yucatan beach bar is very nice. Non powered watersports are free including catamarans, if you can't sail take a course of three 45 minute lessons for around $70.
Would we go back? definitely. Would I recommend? yes but be realistic, you can easily pay two or three times as much for a five star in this area, some people will love the Tequila others may hate it (read a selection of reviews), we loved it, though five stars not quite.

Tips, if you have the budget book VIP lounge at departure airport and also return from Cancun. Arrange a private transfers to avoid the rush, fly premium on the Dreamliner (excellent service), choose your queue at Cancun customs, some move much quicker than others and above all have a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cheshireLemsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed eight nights in May 2014.
Room. Pro's - clean, ample storage for clothes/goods, always plenty of water supplied.
Cons - poor ventilation in the bathroom, the main closet located in the bathroom, mattress covered in some awful plastic
Beach. Pros - huge, and sea is great :) Buffet with self-serve drinks overlooking the sea. Very few beach vendors.
Cons. Far from hotel. There is a tiny cart running, but it is only one (!) and runs from 8 to 6 with a two hour siesta at the most inconvenient time. Poor grooming of the beach, shade is provided only by palm trees ( at noon-ish time very sparse thus), washrooms are far. Beach bar is overcrowded and far from the main area. Massages are very poor quality - they are lazy and hardly touch you - and overpriced (from my experience in other places).
Food. We didn't go to any a la carte places, just the lobby and beach buffets. Pros - indoor/outdoor sitting option, wide variety of food.
Cons - Out of four of us three got food poisoning on different occasions ( and none of us usually does, we even take activated charcoal pills as a precaution on vacations) My daughter was so sick, we had to call doctor and put her on antibiotics.
Drinks. Good and easily available.
Service - a-ok. We are very generous tippers and usually get exceptional service. Here it was just average.
Entertainment - poor. Mostly comedy-based on selecting victims from public.
Disco - good. Small but diverse music selection.
Pools - n/a. We never go to pools so I can't rate those. ( The Spanish for a pool is pisina, makes a lot of sense to me :) )
Overall, as I ultimately go for the sake of being in the sea, I would still come back - but only if there is a mind-blowing deal of the century. 've been to cheaper and way better hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickshaw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews