We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #56 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 11 nights at club hotel riu tequila and was very impressed with the hotel and all it had to offer. The hotel was decorated traditionally, and the grounds were kept very well. The all inclusive basis covered a lot, there was a stocked mini bar in the room that was regularly restocked with beer, water, and soft drinks, there were also 4 spirit dispenser optics in the room. As well as the main buffet restaurant there are three speciality restaurants - steak, Asian, and Mexican that you could eat at as many times as you like, there was also food available 24hours a day from one of the bars. The cocktail menu was amazing!!! The beach was a very short and pleasant walk away, it took 5 minutes maybe less, there was also a frequent shuttle going to and from beach but we liked the walk. You can also use two of the other neighbouring 4 star Riu hotels, we liked to use the chill out pool at the Riu Yucatan. The location is great so close to Playa del Carmen. Only point for improvement is I think the rooms could be updated at some point in the not too distant future. We would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank dorsetcamper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,407 - 2,413 of 8,098 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

superb hotel, superb holiday!! this hotel has everything, charm, character, etc.... staff excellent, food excellent, rooms lovely, cannot fault it. All essentials catered for pool towels provided every day, hair dryer in room, optics in room with the option of exchanging local brands for named brands. The choice of restaurants and food is excellent. The pool area is great the staff are entertaining all day long, take part or watch others its great fun. Children are entertained day and night. The beach is a 5 min walk and OMG is it worth it!!!!! for a first time holiday in the caribbean I will definatly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: a room near the pool is ideal as only 2 min walk to reception. we were in room 2609 if that helps an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I travelled to the riu tequila in May for 2 weeks, and what an amazing 2 weeks they were. We were greeted with a cocktail and sent straight to our rooms. We didn't even have to carry our suitcases, they were brought up about 15 minutes later.
The food is stunning. How people on here can moan about it, I don't know! There was plenty of selection! At most meal times, we couldn't believe just how much they had! BBQ night on a Sunday was amazing, the BBQ by the pool was lush as well. I recommend trying the 3 different restaurants, they were all amazing.
The staff at the riu tequila work so hard, nothing is ever a problem for them and they are all very friendly. They have activities during the day which you can join in on, I played bingo a few times and won!
The beach is stunning, the water is so clear. While we were swimming in there one day, we saw loads of fish just swimming around. The beach is also very clean and tidy, the waiters walk around all day collecting empty cups. I didn't see any rubbish lying around anywhere. The walk down to the beach takes about 5 mins and what a lovely walk it is. You can catch the little buggy that takes you back and forth but it's nice to walk it.
Everything was so clean, there are bacterial hand gels at the entrance of every restaurant to use. The rooms were cleaned everyday with a new little towel animal.
My boyfriend proposed to me while we were out there and the hotel decorated our room lovely, it's was such a nice touch and so thoughtful!
The coatis are so cute, they will never bother you, they just walk around minding there own business. I did see one family through things at one one day which was so cruel, but still, the coati didn't react, he just ran away. They are not violent at all.
Well done riu tequila, we are so sad to be back home in the rain but we are already planning on when we can return. Probably for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sophiemoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

don't really know where to start but here goes. just got home from 2 weeks at this riu hotel. it was just a brilliant holiday. hotel great food great drinks great but best of all wonderful staff. can't believe how hard they work to make your holiday great. must give a mention to donas, juan, victor& anna in pool bar. it was entertainment all day with them. will go here again soon

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wilomid53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have recentley had a 2 week holiday here and I want to go back now. EVERYTHING about the holiday was amazing. The staff were all so friendly, the service was brilliant from every member of staff, housekeeping, food, bars reception. (sorry if i missed anybody) The food was fabulous and so much choice, even the fussiest eater would be pleased here. The rooms were lovely and cleaned every day, the bar in our room was restocked everyday. Theres lots going on and if you want to just relax then thats fine, the entertainment team wont try and make you join in. The evening entertainment was ok, yes theres room for improvement but they work very hard and it is enjoyable. We will definately go back to this lovely hotel and I hope they do not change anything about it in the future, its perfect. The beach is beautifull and clean and if you dont fancy the 5 minute walk then there is a buggy outside reception that will take you. It was my birthday while we were there and our room was decorated, we were offered a special meal and there was a gift in our room for me. All the little touches that made you feel special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks & it was one of the most relaxing holidays ever. The check in was quick & easy, once in our rooms, we had a phone call to check everything was ok. Rooms are nice & big (cleaned every day by Fanny) & the fridge was kept well stocked with beer, water, soft drinks etc. It's hard to be quiet in the rooms as they echo a bit but the only real noise was the animals first thing - even that didn't last long. Would rather have had tea & coffee facilities than the 4 optics but... The air conditioning and ceiling fan worked well & there was plenty of hot water available at all times. We ate in all of the restaurants during our stay & had no problems. The plates weren't always as hot as I would like but the variety & choice was pretty good, unless you are particularly picky. There’s a choice of seating either indoors or out. The hotel staff work really hard & the entertainment was good too, the shows were enjoyable & they try hard to involve the audiences. We booked trips with Thomson - a bit disappointed with the advertised breakfast meal, which turned out to be 2 biscuits - by lunch time we were starving! In fairness, there were plenty of drinks available but the food issue was very poor - it needs to be sorted. The rep said they would look into it - but I think that has been said on many occasions. Jamie organised a complementary weekly walking tour of Playa Del Carmen (pay for your own taxi & then he shows places of interest in the town including a tequila tasting factory) which was really good. Plenty of sun beds and shade around the pool, although some people do like to reserve the best seats! We witnessed 2 issues around the pool which were dealt with very quickly by the Management on both occasions. The animals wander around freely & are lovely but beware of leaving items that they can drag off - we saw 2 bags disappearing into the trees which guests managed to recover! The cocktails were wonderful, especially in the evening - thanks to Veronica and Ricky Martin Jr!
The hotel decor is dark woods, reds, blues and yellows – not the usual bright white everywhere and it’s a little more laid back that some of the others like the Riu Yucatan and Playacar, which can be disappointing to some but that is part of the charm. It does need a bit of TLC in places but I understand it is due to be decorated soon. The cleaning staff work extremely hard to keep everything tidy.
Good walking shoes, insect repellent and hats are a must for the trips – water etc was freely available on the Thomson trips
If you want something extra, this isn't the place for you but if like us, you just want to chill out then this place is lovely & gives you a small taste of Mexico. We would definitely book again

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the reception area, facing in towards the pool get the best sun but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Longshanks186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just got back from the Riu Tequila this week and had such a fun time! The hotel was really clean and the staff was so friendly. Check in was really fast. The food there was excellent. I'm a VERY picky eater and never had a problem finding something good to eat. The pools were clean and the beach is breath taking. The shows were great and we enjoyed going to the sports bar after dinner to play pool. We will definitely be going back!! I would highly recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carter111511 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#62 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#79 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £125 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing