We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ClubHotel Riu Tequila”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #54 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

its the 1st time i have been on long haul flight and it was one of the best holiday ever so far we have been on.All i can say is, it is a great place to go and relax. We had a great time. food was excellent , the staff were friendly and polite. Would go back definetly. loved the white beach.and you could walk or get the free bus down.The room was clean and cool had 2 double beds so plenty of space and free drinks in fridge and optics were there own brands which was ok.you got brand shorts also if you asked for them. the grounds were well groomed and the cleaning staff were very good.

Room Tip: ask for rooms from 3000
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hammer065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,020)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Tequila
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,296 - 2,302 of 8,020 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Set off from a dull damp England and arrived in a dull damp mexico :(( check in was fast and our room was not far from reception . Rooms very large and once unpacked made a start on the free drinks in fridge and optics very nice. Then headed out to 24hr sports bar didn't like plastic beakers although drinks were lovely. The first few days it was quite cold and rainy :(( what to do yes 24hr bars met some great people from all nationalities and all doing same lol and we all took it in turn to get the drinks in !!!! Bar staff were friendly and drinks were fab went to other bars at riu yucatan too recently refurbished pink n silver !!! The whole area is very safe felt comfortable walking round even at 5am after a few drinks :)) did have a problem with safe one nite and spent an hour waiting for management coming to fix it when rang again the management was very rude and told us to go out and leave it unlocked !!! Don't think so I asked if they wud pay if anything went missing !!! They soon turned up.

Then the sun finally came went to beach and what a glorious beach it is soo white and sea soo clear. It's a 5 min walk from tequila no need for shuttle really !!! If u want more lively go front of yucatan more peaceful playacar either always found lots of beds. Lots of cocktails brought down to beach took our bubba cup to keep drinks cool no problem with refilling these even with a pint of wine and soda bloody lovely . Lots of wildlife around hotels don't feed the coatis :)) sorry but couldn't resist one nite I had a bag of nuts next minute there were hundreds at my feet bloody scary bloody mums dads and babies !!

Food at the hotel was lovely never would go hungry even the fussiest people . Went to Asian al a carte one nite it was lovely and the fried ice cream was delicious too. The hotels animation and shows aren't really our thing but looked a little amateur to be honest .

Had a fab time would return all staff friendly maids did a great job lots of choice of food and drinks even had a few tequilas lol riu tequila by name and nature :)))

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank YorkshireClarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

All i can say is, it is a great place to go and relax. We had a great time. food was awsome, the staff was wonderful. Would go back in a heartbeat. loved the option to get to the other resorts and enjoy the beach. room was clean and cool. the grounds were well groomed and the cleaning staff are top notch. the one thing i didnt like was all the kids running around naked and not supervised (drunk parents). there are perverts everywhere. even on vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank donya2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband, our 2 kids and my mother. Overall, we had a nice vacation!
PROS: Food at buffets was very good and a huge selection of it too. Very clean rooms and grounds. Friendly staff. The beach is a short walk away and is absolutely gorgeous, however, lots of waves.
CONS: No music at the beach. Night entertainment was poor. Drinks were just bad...alcohol seemed to be diluted. A la carte resto not so great, especially the Asian one... we simply stuck to the buffets. The Coatis' "mexican racoons" are all over the resort, dozens and dozens of them. They come in the restaurants and up to people if they are eating. While we were swimming at the pool, they attacked our strollers, ripped my beach and diaper bags and completely emptied my pack of baby wipes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary-Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in January for 2 weeks with another two couples and loved everything about it. Found the Playacar Hotel beach to be the best - not as busy as Yucatan, more personal service and an outdoor restaurant to have lunch with proper glasses rather than plastic at other hotels! (cover is there if you require!)

If I say we're returning next week with our 'children' aged 23, 20 and 16, for our 'last' family holiday before everyone spreads their wings, does that tell you enough??
It's AMAZING and I'm super excited to be returning!


Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank brownpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at the Tequila and it was still brilliant. The whole complex is kept so clean and the staff are so friendly they all speak whether its a bar person or a gardener! The rooms are spacious and kept very clean again the cleaner was always smiling and friendly. We loved the towel animals she made and she'd often leave us 2 or 3 of them!
The choice and quality of the food is exceptional there is something for everyone.
We were really pleased to see we still had the same Thomson Reps Jamie, Laureen and Meredith (sorry if I spelt your names wrong) they are so knowledgeable and professional the manager of the Tequila is very lucky to have them working there. This time we went to Coco bongos, on the pirate ship, fat cat and xcaret all the trips were well worth the money and so much better than similar trips we've been on in different countries. Thanks for the recommendations for these trips Thomson's Jamie. Hopefully we can return to the Tequila because we still want to go to coba and xplore in the evening but we didn't have time on this holiday.
Love the optics and mini bar in the room we used to sit on our terrace with a drink before going for dinner lovely start to the evening.
The bar staff were very efficient it might look busy at the bar but you were soon served and they remembered what you liked to drink even though they had lots of guests.
We did go to 5th Avenue a couple of times for a change, a good variation of shops, bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank PennyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Straight to the bottom line: this was a great location for our family vacation!

After a relatively long journey we were pleased to see a reception area with no lines. check in was a breeze and came with a welcoming drink. After attaching our "all inclusive" wristbands, a short walk through the palm trees took us to our two adjacent rooms. One for wife and I, other for 16 and 17 year olds. Rooms were very clean with effective and quiet air conditioning. Fridge was stocked with sodas and beers, four bottles of liquor graced the optics.
The grounds are very well maintained - an army goes around cleaning and tidying all the time - and include two large pools. One has a swim-up bar, one come with a pool-side bar. Plenty of loungers (and polite signs asking not to "book" loungers and then not use them) meant that we always had somewhere to sit and relax. During the day there were organised activities which were fun but not intrusive at all if you preferred to do nothing.
The main buffet was so good we ate there 6 out of 7 nights. Each night they had a core of similar foods but also each night there was something different. Mexican, Asian, BBQ, etc. meant that certainly for a week there was no real repetition. One night we booked the beach club which overlooks the ocean - a nice change and opportunity to go paddling after dinner.
the hotel area (Playacar) is gated with security at each of the gates so it feels very safe walking/exercising within the neighborhood. However, at Riu Tequila we enjoyed the atmosphere so much we hardly went out of the resort at all.
The beach, and beach club, are about 5 minutes easy walk from the hotel reception. If you need it, a free shuttle (a stretch golf cart!) runs up and down all day.
In addition to the relaxing environment, clean and comfortable rooms and good food, what really made this stand out was the fantastic attitude of ALL of the staff! Everyone was friendly, welcoming and helpful.
As well as the staff, the international nature of the guests made for a fun atmosphere - I counted nine different nationalities, with a very large European bias.

Our objective in coming here was to find something which would be fun and relaxing for two active teenagers (active once pried out of bed) and two older folks in need of serious RnR. in Riu Tequila we really hit the jackpot and would come back in a heartbeat.
Regrets? Only that that most of the Europeans were there for two weeks and that us Americans were there for only one!

Room Tip: Free wifi in the spacious hotel lobby area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#78 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,541 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £124 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing