We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe everything you read......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #49 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't believe everything you read......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Some of the reviews had me a little nervous, but the RIU Tequila was a great get away. The hotel is in a gated community, Playa Car, where we felt very safe; went running in the community and walked to the ruins that were in the gated community. We could've easily walked into Playa del Carmen, but opt'ed to take a taxi for about $7 USD. About a week before we arrived I contacted the hotel asking for a room a little further from the center of things and they were very accommodating. While this property is not beach front, honestly you are a shorter walk to the beach than some of the mega resorts on the beach! The "all inclusive" has the typical buffet style....I found it hard to eat, but I eat a lot of salad and fresh (not canned) veggies; BBQ night was my favorite though. Staff was always helpful and friendly. For the cost I would recommend. Loved the mix of guests this hotel had too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HeatherM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,408
    2,298
    623
    159
    128
See reviews for
1,876
3,702
89
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've just read some of the reviews for this hotel and feel I need to write my thoughts. This is our 3rd time in Mexico, the first time in the Riu Yucatan and the last 2 years in the Riu Tequila, we stayed from the 15th to the 29th July. We are a family of 3 with a 13 year old son.

We love everything about this place, the hotel, the location, the beach and particularly the staff. The Entertainment staff work very hard and always have smiles on their faces, they are very sociable and great fun. The shows in the evenings are great. The waiters in the restaurants are brilliant, if you treat them with respect they go out of their way to make sure you are looked after, our waiter Jeremias remembered us from last year and was so attentive, a credit to The Riu Tequila.

Rose at the bar knows every cocktail under the sun.

The beach and sea is like paradise, you will never get sick of looking at the view, always lots of free beds and shade from the palm trees if needed. The fish in the sea do swim around you, they are fabulous.

The wildlife is around the hotel but no hassle, we found them very cute and funny, they were fascinating.

We met some great people and made some great friends.

Would we go back? Yes of course, we would go back tomorrow if we could. We generally try different places and have visited lots of places around the world and Caribbean but this place is different, highly recommended. By reading some of the negative reviews you can't please everyone but we have no negatives, just positives.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 142Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Travelled with the wife and my brother and his wife on our first visit to mexico from the 12th to the 26th of july . what can I say probably the best holiday we have had excellent food plenty of choice, good selection at the bar, can not single any of the staff out because they all work so hard fabulous beach we would defiantly go back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a wonderful holiday at the Riu Tequlia,visited here 10 year's ago, very little change. Rooms very clean however are now a little dated, there was talk that due for a make over like the Yucatan, hope they keep in the same Mexican theme as would be a shame. The Yucatan looks very nice after their make over but this hotel could now be at where in the world as very modern.The staff in the Tequila are so happy and friendly and work so hard for little pay, in the evenings they were the better option for entertainment. We met many lovley people of all ages.We had very lovely special meal for our anniversary in the steak house ( if you tell them you get a better meal like fillet steak instead of ribe eye and a special starter.)! The beach has had a wonderful makeover since the hurricane of approx 10 years ago much wider and was the cooler option as very hot and humid.
Coco Bongos us a must had a great evening, a bit like a mini Las Vegus show , owned by Jim Carey booked through hotel as offered transport where Thomson do not.Hotels here are far more superior than in Europe and cheaper than Turkey

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank holidayfreakenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Riu Tequila from JuIy 23rd - July 30th with my husband and our baby. This was our first family trip and was sold about staying at Riu Tequila with all the overwhelming positive reviews and awards. However, having been been to other resorts throughout Mexico and the world, I have never felt the need to review a resort. I strongly feel my experience needs to be brought to the attention of people trying to making a decision!


RECEPTION: When we first arrived to the reception desk, there was a lack of coordination. The employees were scattered all over the place and there was no system for servicing arriving guests and existing guests who needed assistance. There was no line and people just waited for service while scattered among the reception area. Meanwhile, I noticed that guests who booked their vacation through agencies were treated differently. Upon arriving they were greeted with sealed envelopes containing their room keys (bypassing the check-in process at the front desk). Overall our first impression was not a positive one upon arriving.

ROOM: Upon being escorted to our room with our luggage, I immediately realized the prevalent damp, musty smell. Upon inspecting the room I noticed that mold that was spread throughout the mattresses. (thanks to a previous guest that stated mold in their review. It was just too bad that I had already booked the reservation!) No matter how affordable Riu Tequila may seem, unsanitary and health-hazards should not be overlooked, especially MOLD! Check your mattress if you decide to go there. It's basic and no one should have to sleep in this hazardous condition. Upon bringing this matter to the attention of the front desk, they tried to remedy the situation by offering to switch our mattresses. I was appalled and demanded to switch rooms, which they did.
Once we arrived to our different room, there were no signs of mold. However though, the room still smelled damp and there were non-functioning ventilation systems in the bathroom to keep air flowing.
In addition, we submitted a request for a baby crib. Once we received it, we notice that the crib was old and the mattress looked unsanitary and beat up with stains. We decided for our baby to sleep with us on the bed.

FOOD: Yes, Riu Tequila has an abundance of food options, but the quality of food is very subpar. The breakfast at "Jalisco"offers every breakfast item that you can imagine. The coffee and fresh juices were good. However, lunch was not too appetizing. Like many other guests, we had lunch at "Margarita" since it's located on the beach. Unfortunately the food options were the same every day and tasteless. We also tried lunch at "Lupita" and the food there was worse than "Margarita."
The a la carte restaurants are a joke.
We first tried the Steakhouse which is "Lupita "converted from buffet-style for lunch to a la carte at night. The menu offers different varieties of appetizers, entree and desserts. However, everyone was served the same appetizer (shrimp and mozzarella sticks). As for entree, my husband and I chose the rib-eye steak. It was very low quality meat and to our surprise everyone received the same side dishes (three potato wedges and One broccoli floret). What's the purpose of a la carte when your only option is the entree.
The Bamboo Asian Restaurant was not at a la carte . It was buffet-style dinner. The drinks were served by the waiters and we got up to serve ourselves. Nothing special here.

BAR: Water down drinks, only one beer option. Over low quality drinks.

BEACH: It's the Riviera Maya...need I say more? The water is absolutely amazing!

POOL: Unfortunately if you need to cool off from the heat and don't want to go to the beach, then you are out of luck. The pools are too warm . While in the pool I didn't notice any filtering mechanism to keep the water flowing and clean. Also, many cushions on the pool chairs are old, broken and not very clean.

Other notable remarks, especially if traveling with a baby are the high chairs in the restaurants. They are not cleaned in between uses. After they're used they are placed back for the next family to use without a cleaning. The only time they are cleaned is at night after dinner for use the following morning during breakfast.
Another issue the resort doesn't have control over but is something you might want to consider is SMOKING! Guests smoke everywhere from the the pool, the beach and all around the resort. In the lobby you cannot escape it. It's terrible to be a victim of second-hand-smoke, especially when trying to relax on vacation with a baby!
I understand that smoking is a personal choice, but perhaps Riu should try to rectify this matter by designating smoking and non-smoking areas throughout the resort.

I gave Riu Tequila two stars based on how hard the waiters and other staff members worked. They were always polite and acknowledged guests.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Frida507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We went from May 29 to June 6.
Pros:
- Best night entertainment in a resort that we have ever seen
- The actual resort is very nice. As soon as you enter the resort, you feel the mexican culture all around you.
- Well kept resort, always clean
- Food is amazing
- Even though you had to walk to the beach (5 minutes), there is always a golf cart available for those who do not want to walk.
- Beach is super calm. There is always someone making sure that the beach is always clean.
- Nice to have the advantage of being able to use Riu Yucatan's services

Cons:
- Entertainment team focuses mainly on night shows. During the day there's not much to do.
- Too quiet. It would have been nice to have some music. During our stay we never heard music in the pool areas, as well as in the restaurants.
- Front desk staff needs improvement in customer service. They were always very cold, they did not pay too much attention to who was waiting for their assistance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank summerexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Tequila but felt the need to review it once again after reading a certain review over the last few days!! We were at the tequila from the 8th to the 22nd July - family of 3.
We were in fact some of the "chavs" as described in a previous review - can i say at this point that both myself and husband have tattoos but are in fact professional people certainly not CHAVS... The pool bar was fab and the staff in fact very friendly if you were friendly to them, and boy did they keep the drinks coming probably the reason that some people enjoyed their holiday a little too much at the bar - so what you are on holiday and it was in fact very funny watching the guy trying to get out of the pool after too much tequila.. If people bothered to go to the welcome meetings as instructed by the reps on the transfer bus they would in fact have found out that you are told you have to get the towels from the tequila and not the others hotels in the group - if you stop to think about this one it makes perfect sense otherwise the beach hotels would probably end up with all the towels being left down there and none at the tequila! The walk to the beach takes no more than 10 minutes and after eating all the lovely food that was avaialble for all meals - the walk even in the heat was a welcome exercise... An " average " buffet consisted of approximately 20 main course dishes every night along with theme nights - 20 main courses as well as fresh fish every night, always a chef carving a joint of meat of some description, a mexican station, a pizza station - thats if you managed to get past the starter station where every possible salad item was available along with smoked fish, prawns etc every night. Breakfast was again plentiful bacon, sausage, egg of every description, fresh juice, to much to mention honestly couldnt have been anything missed - anyone saying "average " food must have a serious eating problem!!
The entertainment team worked night and day to ensure everyone had a great time - "average" i would like to see anyone work the hours they did in that heat and still be talking to the guests at midnight - they put on some great shows, mamma mia, horror show inparticular, the michael Jackson show is always brilliant and he didnt let us down this time. - fantastic...
At least these "chavs" kept their shirts fastened whilst watching the entertainment however we did see 2 guys like this - happened to be dutch not english but never mind!!
The yucatan has just been renovated and is totally characterless it looks like Barbie should live there and i hope to goodness they dont do anything like this to the tequila when the refurbishment is done....
Now to our opinions - we have visited a LOT of places around the world , america, caribbean, europe, africa.... and this hotel is the ONLY hotel we have ever returned too - 3 times!!!! The staff remembered us even though it was 4 years since we were there last time - lovely! We had a quiet room in block 19 and had the little Coatis visiting us quite a lot... :) adorable.... anyone complaining about the wildlife should maybe not visit a jungle -they seem to forget the animals were there first - we invaded their territory - they should be chasing us not the other way round!!!
The beach was fabulous, our son did a lot of diving with Scuba caribe and it was very reasonable see the dive hut at the tequila for info our son has dived in various locations around the world and had an amazing time diving in mexico...
We were invited to a meal with the managers as we had been there before and the food and hospitality was fantastic...
All in all please dont listen to reviews of certian people go and judge for yourself, the service is 2nd to none as long as you speak to them the way you expect to be spoken too they are very friendly and extremely welcoming the drinks are a plenty and all named brands - if theres a cocktail that you want but its not on the menu please ask for it they will make it for you..... try the mudslides and of course the infamous mexican flags... :)
Would we go back - the world is a big place and theres more to see but YES if we wanted somewhere where we feel part of the family and come home thoroughly relaxed YES we would go back tomorrow.....

Room Tip: All rooms are good quiet rooms towards the back block 19 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank Gazzasunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#61 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,498 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,181 reviews
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#82 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing