We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #56 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just back from a 2 week holiday with the family..had an amazing time..Hotel is a but dated but I knew that before we went..saying that it's immaculate, staff are sooo helpful, food is fab, lots of choice..Plenty going on for the kids...basketball, water basketball, volleyball, table tennis, football and also a large sports room.. Very family oriented and the animation team get kids and adults involved in activities..about a few minutes walk to the beach which is gorgeous or there's a buggy to drop you there and back..I would defo go back and highly recommend a visit to this hotel..My son has Ceoliac and again Hotel Manager introduced us to the chef and we were given a card and they would make him some thing without gluten if he wanted anything in particular.

Room Tip: We were ground floor room 2308 and it was fine..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,296 - 2,302 of 8,152 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel, we don't usually return to the same place twice but since our first visit was great we decided to go for it.

Unfortunately, I felt that the hotel wasn't as good overall this time. Upon arrival we found the staff to be abrupt,when I noticed our rooms weren't next to each other, as requested by email and mentioned this, I was told "the hotel is full". We also weren't directed to our rooms, just given maps to find our own way.We weren't offered drinks on arrival, although I noticed that these were offered to other arrivals.

The rooms were clean and well maintained throughout our stay, and we couldn't fault this. The rooms sometimes weren't cleaned until 3.30 in the afternoon, although we were out of the rooms at 11 am. This wasn't a problem most days, except for 1 day when I returned to the room with a headache and wasn't able to lie down. Unfortunately, my daughter had a flood in her room from the air conditioning, there was no contact tel. nos. in the room and took a while to contact reception. It took a long time for someone to come and sort it. Next day, our last day, a list of contact tel. nos. were delivered to all rooms in our block, a bit late.

We had no trouble finding sunbeds around the pool and did not need to reserve them. Even though we didn't go to the pool until 11am. Pool towels were readily available.

Food I can't fault it was excellent plenty of choice in the main dining rooms. But staff were very slow at relaying tables and most mornings we had to ask for a table to be laid for us. Evenings service was also slow. The lunchtime barbecue finished at various times each day and we only ate there once because of this.

We only used the Speciality restaurant once as we were unable to book. You have to be up quite early, prefer the way the other Riu hotels run their booking system when you first arrive.

Overall the staff didn't seem as friendly on this visit. Yes they did their jobs but did not go above & beyond as on our previous visit.

We found the Yucatan beach restaurant food wasn't as good as Tequila lunch food, when we went to the beach. Beware of ants on the beach under the trees.

Entertainment at the hotel wasn't advertised well in the evenings. They constantly advertised evening show at 9.30, but sometimes it didn't start til 10pm, One evening the show finished at 9.30. Some evenings the main show consisted of Karaoke or games. Although the shows like Grease, Rocky Horror & Michael Jackson were overall good, the dancers really need to practice their timing which was constantly out. Some evenings there was a band playing but don't know what time they were on.
Even though we mentioned the excessive use of strobe lighting the DJ still continued to use this so be warned if you have epilepsy.
Overall the entertainment was pretty average.

Daily entertainment was not as good as the Yucatan where they seemed to be more high energy.

The atmosphere at the hotel was not as good as our previous visit, this may be due to the clientele at the hotel being more European and not as many Americans, but in general it was quite quiet around the pool.

Overall if this had been our first visit we would have been more than happy with our stay, but compared to our previous stay this wasn't as good

Room Tip: We stayed in 3102, there is no sun on the balcony due to the trees, daughter was in 3107, which face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our first time in a Riu hotel and we were not disappointed. Check-in was smooth and well organised. The complex is spread out over a large area as the rooms are in blocks of 16 and are 2 stories high.
ROOMS: are spacious and typical Mexican style as is the hotel. They are spotlessly clean with an iron, ironing board, travel type hairdryer, safe, fridge stocked with soft drinks and beer as well as optics. If your tipple is not in there they will change it for you. There are plenty of hangers in the wardrobe as well as plenty of drawers. There is an alarm clock as well as a tv. Our aircon was not that great but our friends said their's was really cold.
POOL: is lovely with plenty of sunbeds. The Coates are lovely and will not bother you unless you leave food and drink out. They climb up on the table and pull your drink over so they can drink it off the floor.
BEACH: is lovely. Water exceptionally clear first thing in the morning. Watch out for the undercurrents as they can be quite strong. There is a golf cart that runs down to the beach from 8am til 1pm and 3pm til 6pm. You can get drinks, snacks and lunch at both the Yucatan or the Playacar. Would recommend taking a travel mug for your drinks.
ENTERTAINMENT: they work very hard and is mainly dance based. The disco starts at 11pm and is in a separate building that is airconditioned.
FOOD: there is so much choice you can't fail to find something. The attention to detail is amazing. The food at lunchtime is better in the tequila than the Yukatan. Steak restaurant was lovely and it was nice to have waiter service.
TIPS: make sure you take insect repellent. All trips, shops etc are priced in dollars and this is the main currency used. Thomson advise you to take pesos but then price the trips in dollars. They then rip you off with the exchange rate from pesos to dollars so you end up paying commission to change your money a second time. There are also lots of people in the hotel offering trips so shop around as they are all endorsed by the hotel. We used BD Travel for a snorkeling trip who were very reasonable and was a fabulous trip.
All in all this was a very enjoyable holiday and I would return to this hotel. I just hope that when they renovated it they keep the Mexican feel and don't make it like the Yukatan.
Coco bongos is a must. The most amazing show ever. Get the gold member as it is worth every penny.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet with the doors shut and the entertainment finishes around 10.30pm. If you are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Rachael072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is a good family friendly hotel, the service was excellent the ppl are super friendly, if you wanted to join in with the entertainment staff you felt welcomed and if you chose to stay relaxed by the pool you could without feeling pressured to join in.. I would recommend this hotel.. Food great, people great, hotel great, what's not to love :)

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank debzmase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 14 nights though a package booked though Thomson , everything was absolutely stunning , the food, staff and all the facilities , we would definitely return***** the staff could not do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble!

They have steak nights where you go up and choose your raw steak & tell them exactly how you would like it

Their is a shopping area called fifth avenue which costs $5 which you can buy
Some great gifts! Also with staying here you can also have use of the hotel across the road and just further down the road!

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank Scotty28888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is our 3rd time in Mexico but 1st time staying at the tequila and it won't be our last. Can I start by saying we hired a private taxi from the airport to the hotel and it was brilliant no waiting on the bus for people, we were out of the airport in about 20 mins and straight to the hotel would defelinty do it again. Check in was quick and easy and cases to our room in about 10 mins we asked for 1st floor rooms which we got so we were happy we were a party of two couples and our rooms we next door to each other what more could we ask for.
As all other reviews have said the rooms in this hotel are spotless yes they are a little dated but towels bed linen etc always very clean and changed daily our maid Benjamin did a great job and always left us towel art animal on our bed thank you.
Some reviews say that the coatis are a pest not at all IF you don't feed them as you are asked not to they do not bother you at all they just wander past the babies are very cute.
I must mention Andrea in the sports bar where we went every day after a day at the beach she was a lovely friendly girl who was always smiling and remembered what you wanted to drink she always kept her bar and surrounding tables spotless she made the best chocolate martini thank you Andrea.
The kiosk bar what can I say.......... Florencio you are a star you are the shot man from Mexican flags to B52 to making up a shot in your countries colour's we did read before we came people saying drinks are watered down after a night at the kiosk my husband and my cousin can say 100% they are not watered down!!!!!!!!
All waiters in restaurant to many to name were wonderful very friendly and helpful nothing to much trouble for them as for the food plenty to choose from every night we went to steak house food was ok nothing special manger on that night was very rude and abrupt just wanted you in and out he was the only one like that in the whole 2weeks we were there.
We went to the beach every day as there was a great breeze and loads of beds available the beach and water was out of this world.
Animation team were great and always on the go they were not pushy at all if you didn't want to take part they would just leave you, there were no children in our party but they seemed to be very good with them, the shows at night were very good.
We did Congo bongo's which we enjoyed and would do again we booked gold members through our Thomson rep Lauren.
From the start to the end the tequila had it all and we are already looking to book for next year.
Well done to you all keep up the good work.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank grahamgaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Riu Tequila the last 2 weeks of July, the weather was glorious 14 days of sunshine. We had an excellent time & met some pretty amazing people.YNWA

The hotel decor is very authentic hacienda style Mexican, which oozes personality.
The rooms are a decent size & very spotlessly clean. The rooms are all equipped with an iron, ironing board,soft drinks,water,optics consisting of vodka , brandy & of course tequila. The air conditioning worked brilliantly essential with the high humidity levels. I would also like to give a special mention to the most brilliant towel art that greeted us each evening when we returned to the room; teddy bears, giraffes, elephants you name it we had it during the fortnight.

I also need to mention the Coati's that live in the hotel grounds, they are members of the raccoon family. We found them very cute & very entertaining to observe. We were so taken with them if it were possible we would have one as a pet.

The staff at the hotel are second to none; I would however like to give a special mention to the animation team; Fernando, Mike, Viktor, Daniel, Karla, Brisa to name a few but they were all excellent. They had tireless energy throughout the day, never pushed you to join in but if you did they made it so much fun & you had the chance to win Riu T shirts, hats etc.
The shows in the evening were very good a mixture of outside acts & Riu animation team teamed with the Riu dancing team. I must admit my favourite were the Riu staff due to their talent & the amazing choreography.

The food was very good in the buffet restaurant. We also went to the steak restaurant & to the Asian both of which was very good. We didn't try the Mexican. The frozen cocktails were the best we ever tasted on an all inclusive, ask Rose behind the bar at the Kiosk there is nothing that she doesn't know how to make.

The beach was amazing, white sands, pure blue seas, palm trees & an excellent buffet restaurant.
We did find the Yucatan a bit too modern as in it lacked character & the Yucatan main pool was a bit rowdy.I did however enjoy escaping from the beach & grabbing a strawberry daiquiri & laying on one of the many loungers in the pool.

Playa Del Carmen itself is well worth a wander for a few hours;5th Avenue is full of bars restaurants, bars, well known stores & souvenir shops. They also have excellent Mayan outdoor shows that take place around 6pm each evening by the square by the harbour.
The Thomson Reps were excellent, I recommend participating in Jamie's walking tour of Playa Del Carmen which is free & takes place on Thursday afternoons, it's very informative & a great help on where to go & what to do during your stay.

I would definitely recommend an excursion to Chichen Itza. Thomson's guaranteed we would be the first coach there and we were, we missed all the crowds so we were able to take amazing pictures. It's also well worth catching the 30 minute ferry ride to the island of Cozumel, the fare is pretty cheap too.

We have only 2 minor points that we could moan about;
1. The cost of the pool tables, these were approx £1.50 a game.We have stayed in other resorts of this standard or higher and haven' t been charged.When you got a 13 year old teenage boy it becomes a pain.
2. The wifi you get 90 mins free a day, which in theory doesn't sound that bad (most resorts we have been to this has been free & unlimited) unfortunately it has to be exactly to the second 24 hours after you last logged on. This strict timing causes connection overload.

If you want a hotel that caters for all ages with lot's to do, great food, drink & entertainment chose the Riu Tequila!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
11  Thank mrcornelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#78 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#30 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,601 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £138 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing