We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth It !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #47 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well Worth It !”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We signed up several months ago to stay at Riu Tequila for 10 days. Having never been there we, and another couple that went with us, read a number of reviews from other guests about this hotel as well as a number of others in the Playa area. After several weeks of reviewing comments -when we had the chance - we made our selection and can honestly say at the end of our stay we were wishing it was just beginning all over again. We will be returning.

Since everyone may have different issues, I can list a few of our experiences:
CLEAN - hotel and rooms were very, very clean
STAFF - we found them very helpful and friendly. The nightly entertainment was good,
especially the Michael Jackson Show.
BEACH it was a 5 minute walk which was fine, as beach hotels can get a lot of crowd
noise. Beach was great -lots of activities as well as food & drinks provided
FOOD to eat at the specialty restaurants you usually had to make reservations by 8
am. Almost every night we preferred the buffet, which had good food, featured a
different theme each night, and did not require a reservation. (And in the
morning, get one of Mary's omelets)
SECURITY - the Playacar neighborhood had security check points as well as at the
hotels. Never a thought of problems or theft & the in room safe is a nice feature.
HOTEL layout of hotel & grounds were impressive, with a variety of small native
animals that roam. The individual buildings were limited to 2 floors, which
was nice - although there was some 3 am noise from doors closing loudly
from the young party crowd. Still, a large majority of the guests were families
with children or couples from a variety of countries.
ROOMS were of good size with private patios or balconies. Beds were OK (a little hard)
and pillows were a little flat for my taste - but my wife thought they were fine.
LOCATION is central to many areas. Town is a $5 (8 minute) cab ride, beach as
mentioned, is a 5 minute walk, Wal-Mart a 12 minute cab ride, Xcaret 15
minutes, Xel-Ha and Tulum less than an hour away - but take the time to do the
last two on different days because they are worth it for different reasons.
HINTS Chichen Itza is amazing (the light show is very informative) but take lots to drink
(Selene with Grayline gives a terrific tour).
I understand that some of the tour stands (a couple of blocks left as you walk
out of the hotel) offer better prices than those at the hotel or online. We took a 5
minute cab ride to the ADO bus station downtown and purchased bus and
park tickets to Tulum and Xel-Ha for even less. Try the ADO bus line. It uses
new Mercedes buses with more comfortable seats than the airlines and for
about $4.25 you can go about anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurleySuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,404
    2,293
    622
    158
    128
See reviews for
1,869
3,698
89
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
johnwood0804
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This was our second trip to the riu tequila and again we had a wonderful time.Flight was a little bit of a pain,Flew with Thomson ,[who were fantastic as allways]left Birmingham 8.30am but had to stop in Manchester for change of crew and refueling which was a bit of a pain.arrived cancun about 3.00pm there time and no problems getting through there customs,but make sure you fill in the immigration forms correctly as they are strict on this.It is then about an hour to the hotel by coach.
On arrival you are given a drink your keys and wrist band and you go to your room,your bags arrive shortly afterwards.
Rooms are good with toilet and shower and two large beds.ive never slept so far from my wife.The room has a free safe and the mini bar is free.roomsarecleaned everyday.
Entertainment weather it is activities such as games are excellent and evening entertainment is fantastic with something for anyone from young to old.
Food is again brilliant from steaks to burgers fantastic salads and much more.
This really is a great hotel and we had a superb time. visit my youtube video search for johnwood0804.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnwood0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

It's hard to fully describe this holiday as I spent most of it in a drunken haze. I'll let you know about the bits I recollect and apologise for lapses in memory.

This was our first experience of an all inclusive holiday and boy would we recommend it. Basically, the equation is simple - the more you drink, the more you save.

The room was fine, but my wife was a bit dissappointed with the balcony. She likes to stretch herself out in the evenings or for an afternoon siesta but found the space slighty cramped. Having optics in your room definately helped with getting the kids to bed, but left them with headaches in the morning. You can't win them all? The room was cleaned every day and the cleaners services were welcomed.

The pool was lovely, although a bit warm at times. Not sure why?

I wasn't a big drinker until this holiday but I found a few mid morning beers set me up for the day. The alcohol then continued, through lunch, afternoon and evenings. Unfortunately at some point between afternoon and evening my memory becomes vauge.

Tequila is available in all drinks and I would definately recommend drinking this instead of the water.

The Canadians were very loud although my daughters found them very attentive. My youngest daughter enjoyed a few sundowners back in the room with them. When I say them, I don't mean every Canadian as we were only there for 10 days.

Met some lovely people and thank one family in particular for there enthusiasm in introducing me to the joys of cocktails, no matter what time of day it was. Guys, you kill me (or tried to - not sure which?)

Although it's more fun without the kids, I'd recommend taking them so that at least they'll get you back to the room in one piece every night. They were tipped so it's not as if I was using cheap child labour.

Definately going back again. Just need to detox and find a new liver...............

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tequila_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

A super hotel with very good entertainment, good food, good service and a good location.
Agree that the many spanish young people were extremely noicy - but so are the americans - who think they are the only people in the world. Funny to see that they
find "!other people" reacting strangely to them - think about that for a while - how could that be !!
I am not surprised that americans like the iberostar hotels better - they are huge monuments - but there is no charm about it and service stinks.
I would go back to Riu Tequila any time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phoej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We were moved here from the RIU Palace Mayan for an extra two days due to the volcanic ash problem over Europe. All I can say is that having stayed in all inclusive hotels all over the world, this is by far the worst I have experienced. The only pluses are the friendly staff and clean rooms. If mosquitoes, foul food, plastic patio chairs, bent cutlery, watery cocktails and dining with people in vests are your thing then this is the place for you. Also if you're travelling with Thomsons look out for Wendy the rep from hell who takes criticism of the hotel as a personal insult and passes sarcastic comments to other guests when she THINKS nobody can hear her. How wrong she was......I think she's been there too long or maybe it is some form of puinishment for past misdeamenours. Go to Thre Iberostar Tucan a far superior hotel to this although rated the same. The Tequila is 3 star tops.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Magx52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed here from April 10 2010 until April 21 2010 and were quite disappointed. A lot of Spanish students stayed at the complex as well as your average Butlin holiday camper both creating a noisy and strange atmosphere around the pool area and during dinner time. Also the cleaning staff woke us up each morning around 8, talking very loudly while cleaning the hallway, as well as guests coming home in the middle of the night, talking loudly and slamming doors.
Making a reservation for one of the a la carte restaurants is nearly impossible unless you are prepared to get up early and stand in line at 7 a.m., as reservations could only be made between 7 a.m. and 10 a.m., but close as soon as it is full which is usually between 7 and 8 a.m.
Breakfast was the best meal, lunch was terrible (no dress code and should have been at the main restaurant instead of the pool and beach restaurants), dinner was o.k. but not a lot of variation. (for example only 1 choice of fish) During all meals it was always quite messy with people walking back and forth between their table and the buffet, but one can expect that with buffet meals.
Anyway I'll give you the pros and the cons:
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, well maintained grounds, breakfast, wildlife around hotel.

Cons: Noisy, type of guests, a la carte reservation system, lunch (at pool area and beach area, very crowded).

All and all we enjoyed our holiday but we would not go back there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor ont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Just returned from our third, 10 day vacation to this resort...in the past 4 yrs! Needless to day we enjoy this place! Can't quite figure out all the complaints though...travelling is about the experience! You can find "peace" or " trouble" where ever you go! The service is out of this world at this resort & in Mexico in general. ( this was my 11 visit to this country!) The hotel staff is beyond friendly & helpful. Food is good and safe to eat at all venues. Yes, a bit of a drag to get up to sign up for a la carte, but it is a beautiful time of day! Take advantage of dawn on the beach...grab a coffee and stroll the beautiful beach or even just stroll down the street. (very safe to leave the resort...no one gets in to Playacar with identification...let alone the resort itself ) During our stay this time Spainards were celebrating graduation and pretty much took over the pool a day a few days. We also found them loud & overbearing & disruptive. But hey, they are young......weren't we all??! Annoyed yes, but did not complain to hotel. Not the hotels fault....but am confident they would have moved us from our high traffic room. Just a note: hallways carry an echo.....be it conversation or closing the door to the room...hey it's a structure thing...:) We again, had a fab time and found great value for our Canadian dollar! Will again return to this resort. ( should note that we met up with 4 other couples who have also been to the Tequila AT LEAST 3 previous times...some with kids, some without.....I think that speaks volumes!) If you want a pretenious, uppity, formal vacation, where you have to dress up for every meal & do not want to hear another voice of another person or see any wild life....then this is NOT the resort for you. ( also would like to mention, we stayed in Jamaica Sandal Grande Ocho Rios & an Almond resort in St. Lucia and the RIU is a thousand s time better!!!!!) Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mentalmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,490 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,681 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing