We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #30 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at Riu Palace Mexico for 2 weeks at the beginning of March 2011 and we loved it.
The concept of 24h all inclusive it is, in European standards, like an ultra all inclusive. In here you have drinks and food included all day and all night long. The minibar and room service is also free :D. Only the spa and the laundry service is payable.
The only bad thing about this hotel it is the fact that it doesn't have wi-fi in the rooms or on the beach, not even payable. It only has a free wifi area in the hotel's lobby, where you can also pay for Internet if you didn't bring your own computer.
Service was very, very good, cleanliness as well. The hotel is well maintained with nice grass areas and lovely clean fountains. At 8:30 each night there is live music (not very good singers, but nice for the atmosphere). Shows at night were also good, with lots of dances, and they had a different show each night for 2 weeks.
Food is more than you can eat, and we also had sea food specialties, champagne and special nights st the main restaurant (Asian, Mexican). You have access to all the Riu in the area, where you can also eat in the morning and at lunch. We visited all of them, and we also liked Riu Palace Riviera Maya, which is a bit bigger and with the same layout.
The beach is huge, with crystal clear water and white fine sand. We also had great waves in the windy days. One day we had a fiesta on the beach with salsa music played live and special food. Otherwise all days are really quiet on the beach and relaxing. It is fantastic to read a good book under a palm tree's shade.
The pool is kind of small, and it doesn't have a special entrance for disabled people, but there are plenty of loge chairs at the pool, and at the beach also. You can also use the pool at Riu Yucatan very close and really huge.
Rooms are big with 2 huge beds put together and a nice sitting area. We also had an umbrella in the room for rainy afternoons. They do nice towel arrangements, and put balloons and fruits in the room if you are celebrating something. In the bathroom you have a bidee next to the the toilet in separate area. A light in the shower would have been nice.
Playa del Carmen is 5 minutes away in a taxi (70 pesos or 7$). It is nice for shopping, very colorful and with nice cafe places.
We visited Xcaret, for which we took a taxi for 20 minutes and 14$. We then bought our tickets at the door for 69$ or 99$(plus). It is much cheaper than booking this trip through an agency (they charge you 30$ per person only for transport). I would recommend to do the Tulum trip with a taxi as well, especially if you have already been on an organized trip to Chichen Itza (which is worfy) and you had already listened to the Maya history lesson. It is much faster and cheaper.
To sum up I would definitely return to Riu Palace Mexico. I really enjoyed my stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ladyinredk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,673 - 2,679 of 5,687 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

Our stay was in December (sorry for the late review, but I didn't know about TA until now).

This was our first trip to Mexico or a Riu hotel.
And first stay at All Inclusive.

The hotel staff was just amazing! So friendly and always with a smile.
And not a fake smile, if I may add.

The beach was so beautiful and the sand felt so soft. And the ocean was just gorgeous!

We only ate et the buffet and once at the Krystal.
But we both (me and my husband) did find the buffet was more our thing.

The gym or gym room was smallish. But it was ok. Nothing special.
But it was free to use, and it was nice to take a swim at the ocean or in the pool after the gym. And then go for a dinner and eat happy :)

The weather could have been better. But we didn't complain, there were nice sunny days too. And the hotel + staff did make the holiday to be the best relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady-Espoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

This is an all-inclusive hotel. If you are below 50, this might not be a good choice as most people are with families or older crowd.

About service: Every time they cleaned our room, all our things were moved around the room, even drawers were checked. We had to look for stuff after each “cleaning”. Bed sheets were wet all the time. It is humid in this palce, but at least fresh sheets should be dry! Some freshly changed towels were not clean!

On the last day, right before our departure, our room was “tidied up” and iPod and Camera were stolen. We did not have hot water for two evenings. I understand that sometimes there are issues and things get broken. But we tried to reach out reception by phone several times to find out what is going on. No answer! And that was unacceptable!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMM068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Great all inclusive. Beach, pool, rooms, entertainment is what you expect from top end resort. RIU complex nicely laid out so you can actually walk to each one and check them out and use their services. Staff was friendly and helpful. Big shoutouts to Alex at front desk, Giovanni at the restaurants and Tony at the bars.

Extra attention: daughter had too much sun one day and had to go back to room during dinner. wife took daughter back to room while daddy and son finished dinner. daddy made a plate at the buffet restaurant for mommy/daughter. giovanni had room service deliver it from restaurant to the room - that's superior service my friends

Room Tip: be nice at front desk during checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wopinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed at the Riu Palace as we always choose the Riu. We like the layout and the service is always good. However our last visit took a really bad turn. One evening we were enjoying ourselves at the Lobby Bar and one of the bartenders from the pool bar decided to join us. We (me and my fiance) had met him earlier in the day. He was very friendly however he started to become a little annoying. He reached out and grabbed my breast....i was totally embarassed. My friends told him it was time to leave.
We reported this to the hotel management who questioned me like i was some kind of bad person. Fortunately we had witnesses sitting with us during the questioning. The manager wasnt understanding at all. It really made me feel ackward and i didnt enjoy the rest of my stay. Please be careful with the bar staff, as my experience was not very pleasant. I still feel disgusted with what happened. Its hard to beleive this happened, we will never return to another Riu!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kimfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This is my second time to Mexico (1st time at the royal Playa Del Carmen which was great and 2nd at the riu) and would highly recommend the riu Mexico to anyone wanting a high standard hotel.

I have stayed at many hotels but the service at the Riu was the best by far.Nothing was ever too much trouble and the staff always smiling. Never a problem finding a sun bed at any time of the day, even though the hotel looked quite busy. Loads of food choice, although, we tried to book on a few occasions the a'la carte resturants and were always told the early sitting at 6.30pm was full and some times the second sitting at 8.45pm. But the food in the main resturant was very good and each night they did a different theme so wasn't really a problem.

The hotel surroundings is beautiful and the resort of playacar is very pretty. We did get a taxi to Playa Del Carmen a few times for shopping and the taxi was only 70pesos each way (approx £3).

Go to this hotel, you will love it

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed here for one week at the end of March 2011. Yes, the grounds are beautiful but our experience here will deter us from staying at another Riu again.

Pros:
- Great location $7 cab to town
- Beautiful beach with lots of chairs
- Great waiters, no problems getting drinks
- Free wifi in lobby

Cons:
- Not baby friendly. Hotel room does not provide purified tap water. (There is a sign on bathroom mirror). Kettle not provided to boil water for washing utensils or bathing baby
- Limited bottle waters provided in room
- Beds are hard and a have plastic cover which is annoying as you move around the bed
- Men must wear pants (can be jeans) for dinner even buffet exception is steakhouse (on patio)
- Cannot bring food from buffet or restaurant to pool area or room
- Food is tolerable at buffet. Lots of deep fried offering.
- Food at steakhouse not good. Japanese restaurant is better but not by much. Limited food choices at each location
- Earliest time for dinner is 6:30 pm
- Two elevators at front of property. Strollers/wheelchair - If your room is near the back (close to pool or beach) and not on ground leve
l it will make for a long walk to get to pool or restaurants
- Pillows are hard
- Air conditioning is not efficient. Room is so humid that everything feels damp and nothing dries overnight
- Three power outages during our stay
- Dental floss stolen by cleaning staff. Not a big thing but annoying. $5.00 for floss in town
- Very limited room service menu and not very accommodating
- Lots of mosquitos
- Small pools


  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,419 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,181 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £220 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing