We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,939)
Filter reviews
5,939 results
Traveller rating
4,014
1,325
359
141
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,014
1,325
359
141
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla bodegapalm treesdon julianspecialty restaurantsgala nightcourtyard viewpool barbeds pushed togethermusty smellbuffet restauranthour loungescuba caribelobstergated communitymain buffetother resortsplenty of chairs
Filter
Updating list...
2,623 - 2,628 of 5,939 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Just back from our second trip in under a year and stayed at the wonderful Riu Palace Mexico playa car. Was not sure if second time around after our honeymoon the experience would be as good. It was not good it was absolutely fantastic. The rooms in the junior suits are brilliant. The food and variety suits anyone. The staff and animation team cant do enough for you. You choose to do as much or as little as you want. We went and in October 2011 2 weeks. Overall 11 out of 14 days brilliant plus a hurrican which was downgraded to a 1 tropical storm - lovely for us glaswegians used to the rain except it was warm rain and were out walking about in our shorts whilst the rest of the guests and staff took shelter. However true to the excellent staff delivery next day all back to normal service and you would not have known the day previously the staff were pending hurrican Rita. Fantastic hotel fantastic service food and drink - honestly except for the odd moscito which is just part of nature you could not fault a thing lets face it midgie bite in the glens of scotland or miscito bite in the scorching mexican sun ... cant wait to go back again in 6 - 8 months time... Thanks Riu Palace Mexico especially Katy and animation team Aida and MR D lol Therese and Chris XX

Room Tip: Junior suits - ground floor facing water features we found to be best
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Returned from the Riu Palace on 2nd October. We had a totally awesome time, the hotel, staff, food, service, rooms, bars were all excellent. We could not fault any part of the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff in the buffet restaurant were excellent especially German who used to save a table for us in the evenings and he would decorate it with flowers!!

I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would go back tomorrow if the funds allowed!

Awesome!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I always read the negative reviews and smile. How anyone could find anything to complain about at RPM amazes me and I can be as objective as anyone.
We have just returned from 2 weeks from 17th October - 1st November. This was our 3rd trip to this hotel - 6th time in Mexico. We keep returning because the hotel maintains its consistently high standard. From the moment we stepped off the bus and were greeted by the doorman to "welcome home".
Its not just us that keep returning either - we have met a few friends over the years. This time there were 6 couples that we knew from previous visits. We also recognised 3 other couples over the 2 weeks and reading the reviews so many people write that its a return trip.
Reception were wonderful and welcoming as we had a cool drink whilst being allocated our room. We had a lovely room at the end of one of the blocks. A huge bed - which was 2 doubles pushed together but they never moved so we had no issues at all and slept fantastically. The beds were so comfortable.
The rooms are lovely. Nice and simple with a large bathroom, tiled floor throughout, bedroom area with plenty of hanging space (and hangers) and then a seating area with tv. The balcony is great and has 2 large chairs to enjoy the caribbean air (with a bacardi and coke from the optics / fridge).
We dont use much of the supplied drinks - purely because we dont spend a huge time in the room and when we do it tends to be water we drink. The fridge has beer, water, coke, orange, lemonade, tonic, club soda - everything! I have always noticed that if you tend to drink diet coke then this is what is replaced with additional stock to ensure you have plenty! Nice thoughtful touch.
The staff at the hotel throughout work constantly to ensure it is spotless. There is a smell throughout but then its the caribbean and the air conditioning is on constantly. To be honest its not something we notice until we get home and open our case - but the clothes are going in the wash and its really not anything awful. Again - you are not at home - expect something a little different that is all!
We tend to mainly eat in the buffet as the food is delicious with so much choice that this suits us. We can eat then as and when we are ready. We did eat at the steakhouse and that was lovely and nice to have the special service for 1 evening.
There is so much choice in the buffet which is where we ate breakfast and evening meal.
The fresh omelettes are so nice that I had this, fruit and yoghurt each day. The choices varied from 10 cereal options, pastries, toast, pancakes, waffles, eggs a multitude of ways, sausage, bacon, salad, ham, cheese.
In the evening a huge salad bar with all salad types, pastas, sushi, cold meats and fish, cheese, fruit. The hot area with varying choices of meat and vegetable, pasta and fish. And always some form of speciality whether mexican wraps made fresh and to your choice or roast joints, whole fish or pasta stations. There would always be pizza and chips too if that was more suited. The dessert area also has a huge array of choices but my favourite was the fresh crepes with flambe fruit.
We chose to eat lunch in the pool restaurant and again we never had any issues on choosing something delicious to eat.
The waiting staff are amazing and go out of their way to make your stay all the more special. Joel looked after us at breakfast and remembered us from last year (and that we loved the hazelnut cappucinos), Abraham was so helpful with information if we asked and made sure we had water waiting at our table at lunch and German in the evening who set our table with flowers each evening. The bar staff are just the same and if you tend to order similar drinks they will remember each evening. We love the cocktails and there is more than enough alcohol in these. If you want more just ask - nothing is too much trouble. If you want a branded drink ask for it - if you ask for vodka and coke you will understandably get the local brand.
The beach area has plenty of sun loungers and lots of palm trees which provide shade of varying degrees if you need. The sea can be rough at times but its great for body boarding on these days (borrow boards, cannoes, snorkels from the beach team). If you want to book a trip id recommend doing from the beach team. Have to say they seem to know if its not your thing and never hassle us - we are happy just to relax and they seem to pick up on this straight away but its good to know who to ask if we did.
Weve stayed in Cancun a couple of times but prefer Playacar. We enjoy walking into town in the evening and having a beer in one of the bars or just a walk round the shops. The people there do pester you to have a look inside which is a shame as im sure they would get more business if they didnt. The shopping area has grown incredibly since our first visit in 2006 and has some good shops, bars and restaurants. You can also catch the ferry to Cozumel from here.
While we were there we did have Hurrican Rina threaten. The staff were amazing and must have been at work all night to prepare. Everything was boarded and fastened down and sandbags placed along the walkways to try to keep the water at bay. We were given packed lunches for our rooms as the storm was expected at lunch time. It downgraded to a tropical storm and didnt hit till that evening but that was no problem and it was good to know that the hotel was prepared.
We just cannot fault this hotel and cant wait to return in 2012. Thanks for another great holiday RPM

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GeorgieBillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Spent 7 days at Riu palace Mexico rreturned Oct. 30. Hotel is lovely, staff is great, food is wonderful, beach is expansive. We were there when hurricane Rina threatened. Staff was amazing with preparations. Cannot praise them enough. Always felt safe and well cared for.

We were in rooms on first floor behind main dining 80-90 numbers - not too nice, very smelly, no air circulation, view only of side of Wyndham next door. Avoid these if you can. Fortunately we do not spend much time in room, but were confined there for a short time anticipating storm.

Riu is smaller than we are used to as we have stayed at Grand Palladium, Grand Sirenis, Iberostar, Fiesta Americana Condesa, but close to playa del Carmen which we enjoyed

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firstnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife andA I arrived Oct 21 and departed Oct 30. We had a great ground floor room toward the front (room 0148) near the restaurants and night life facing the beautiful court yard. We were scheduled to leave on the 27th but due to hurricane Rina our flight was canceled and we had to extend our
stay for three days. This was not a problem until the assistant manager told us we had to move to a lower class Riu hotel down the street. After a good part of the day
this was a finally resolved and we were allowed to stay at the Riu Palace Mexico. Other than the hurricane and assistant manager in no particular order, we highly recommend the Riu Mexico and the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. We normally visit one of the Riu
Palace hotels about four to five times a year.

All the other staff are great and I do tell them that it's because of them that we continue to return.

All the good reviews are accurate no need to hear over again, but I will add that if you plan to visit in the next fees weeks you will probably find the pool water getting to cold to enjoy. The ocean was still
maintaining comfortable temperature of about 79-82 degrees. The nights will be more comfortable with light jacket or sweater. If you need anything in the Dinning rooms ask for Giovanni the head captain, we is the best.
If you like the late night conversation try the lobby bar at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. Theirs
Islas the best bar tender in town, tell him the Baby Boomer sent you.
Also at the Maya is the 24 hour sports bar where you usually find the same late night die hards.
Personality wise the mexico is a little more laid back with more Europeans where the riviera Maya
is more up beat and more U.S.
Either way the staff will make you feel at home.

Enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art1139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews