We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced for value/would not go back/HEALTH HAZARD.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #29 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I don't understand these reviews. Pros - Staff very accomodating, clean, many palm trees on beach, well-kept grounds.
Cons - Hotel set way back and no view of the ocean. Upon arrival to the lobby, strong smell of mildew and mold. Same pungent smell in the theater.
Room merely adequate. Two double beds made separately and pushed together - GEEZ - how romantic. Also had noisy, hot, plastic mattress covers - YUCK! Only one sink in bathroom, broken-down hide-a-bed couch, too uncomfortable to sit in. Broken slats on the closet door. Air-conditioner inadequate. Ceiling fan only operated on high and wobbbled with a clicking. Unable to operate when napping or at night.
DRINKS WATERED DOWN OR NO ALCOHOL. Very disappointed that could not even get a slight "buzz" from any of the beverages - wine, champagne, any bar drinks.
Food VERY disappointing. A few nice surprises, but overall mediocre. Japenese restaurant was good.
Hot tub as warm as the pool. They should have called it a Cool tub!
All of clean clothes and luggage remained with strong moldy smell when got home. Wife of traveling companions asthma acted up and she needed to use her inhaler due to the mold. 24-hour room service menu lacking.
Visited friends at RIU Caribe in Cancun. They had the same amenities, just not 24-hour room service, but had restaurants available. Had ocean views from all rooms, two sinks - half the price as the "Palace." No moldy smell there. Would go back there for the price.
I don't know how they get away with such a high rating.
If you are looking for an all-adult all-inclusive, we stayed at the Excellence Riviera last year. AWESOME, and will go back there next Feb.

Room Tip: Internet only available in main moldy lobby. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,331 - 2,337 of 5,647 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were at the Riu Palace Mexico for five days in late January and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort! The hotel is located about 45 minutes from Cancun airport, so the transfer to the hotel is not bad at just under an hour. The resort is well maintained and kept very clean from the rooms to the lobby to the grounds. They have a selection of about four to five a la carte restaurants and a large buffet which is pretty typical for most Riu Palace resorts. The food and service were very good, although not excellent. The beach area is very large and even has a bar located on it. During the time we were there, there was no need to grab towels early and save seats at either the pool of the beach, as we were always able to find them.

Although we did have a nice time at the resort there were a few things that we did notice that were working against it. First, the resort appears to have been built in the early 90s and is really in need of a makeover to bring it up to the same standards as most other RIU Palace resorts. The pool area was very dated (a little grimy) and does not have any access for those that are either disabled, or older and need assistance getting into the pool. In other words there are no ladders, or stairs (like we see in newer pools) for those needing assistance. The rooms, although very clean, were also a bit dated. Finally, the other surprising thing was that there were no ocean view/front rooms at the resort. The resort is set quite a distance from the beach area and based on the setup of the hotel, there is are no views from the rooms, other than the garden. We were told that the resort will be closed during the summer months and major areas will be renovated. So, if you are looking to make a trip down to Playa and want the true RIU Palace experience, maybe consider the RIU Palace Riveria Maya which is just down the street and newer, until this one is redone in August. However, if you are looking for a pretty good resort at a good rate, stick with the RIU Palace Mexico.

Overall for the discounted rates available for this hotel at this time, I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get a Garden View Room. That way you have a nicer view and you don't back into the road that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife chose this hotel from a wide list of hotel in Play Del Carmen, and when we get there both of us were surprised in many aspects. I must say that we had high expectations about Riu Palace Mexico, and all of them were highly fulfilled.
Its a beautiful place, good beach, good food, good service, good restaurants, good spa and the best of all the entertainment crew... they manage to give good mood and fun and we were never bored.
For sure i will return.
Thank you Riu, for a marvelous vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NALucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is the second time I've vacationed at this resort. The location is excellent if you are looking for a mix of all-inclusive beach vacation and a bit of city fun in Playa del Carmen. The place is immaculately clean and the food is above average compared to other 5 star resorts. The rooms and some common areas need to be refreshed and it seems as if they are renovating room by room.

It is only a 30 minute walk through the gated Playacar community to the centre of Playa del Carmen with great restaurants and night life. It's only a 30 minute walk along the beach to the public beaches in Playa del Carmen which are great for people watching.

I will definitely return and would recommend this resort to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlanBGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

There's very little to add to previous reviews but I think it's important to mention that whilst we were worried by the weather forecasts before we went, forecasting rain and storms, we didn't see one drop of rain just lots of sunshine.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here from 2nd February to 16th February for my 50th Birthday.
We booked with Thomson holidays in the travel agents and got the internet price. To upgrade the room to a fountain view room Thomson wanted £54 per room per night, however if you email the hotel beforehand they will upgrade for 60USDollars ( £40 ) per night. We had a top floor outside facing room and were happy with this ( saved £540 for trips )
Our first trip to Mexico and we loved it
Fabulous hotel, food, cocktails, rooms, beach, poolside and waiter service, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my best friends ! I shall certainly be visiting other Riu Palace Hotels in other countries.
The staff decorated our room for my birthday and sang Happy Birthday to me in the Krystal Restaurant ! The hotel also celebrated Valentines Day by giving all the women a red rose, which was a nice touch.
In my opinion, the other Rius in the area were not as good, Diluted drinks and more noisy.
Walked into Playa Del Carmen, 5th Avenue, a few times, a casual 30 minute walk either along the roadside or along the beach, ( believe me you do need to exercise to prevent weight increase) A taxi cost 70 Mex Pesos,
Booked day trip to Chitzen Itza, with Thomsons, probably more expensive but well worth it, as had an excellent guide.
Did "Trainer for the day", swam with dolphins, had approx 3 hrs in the water swimmimg with dolphins/manatees/stingrays/sharks. It was a great experience for my Birthday treat,
We took the local bus from 5th Avenue to Tulum to visit the Mayan Ruins and beach and saved money compared to an organised trip. You could also travel up to Cancun for the day and use the Riu hotels for meals and drinks.
The trip to Si'an nature Reserve was good to see dolphins and turtles in natural surroundings
and for snorkling.
To sum up, yes I would go back to Mexico and to the Riu Palace Hotel however there are so many other places to see in the world.

Room Tip: Email the hotel beforehand,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovesholidies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Visited first week in February 2012. Only one day of rain (staff switched gears to find things to do!). We have visited Rie Palace in Costa Rica, and one in Cancun. This is very best beach! Lovely Palms, ots of chairs fro beach and pools.Exceptional staff and food. Took eco tour and into city twice. No concerns for security.

Only two elevators and they go through service areas at the gorund level where food service and beach are located. So, if knees are a prroblem a ground level room would be best! 1st floor is lobby level and will require stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,887 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £199 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing