We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd trip to Riu Palace Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #26 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“2nd trip to Riu Palace Mexico”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just got back from a week at the Riu Palace Mexico. The hotel is one of two Palace Brands of the RIU chain in Playa del Carmen. This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel, the first time was 2 years ago prior to the renovation.
I felt the renovation was an upgrade on all of the public spaces. The pool area went from being a very large pool to 4 smaller pools. During our last visit, the pools were so cold, we hardly went into the pool. Because they broke up the pools, the temperature of the water was way better and we spent significant amount of time in the pool. Additionally, they moved the pool bar from the side of the pool, to right in the front. The back side of the pool bar has 2 infinity ponds and a large sitting area overlooking the ocean - very nice way to end the day at the pool or just to escape and get some shade if needed. (I would mention to be very careful on the tiles - they are very slippery and as the day goes on the steps to/from the ocean are very hot (they are a charcoal gray tile). Restaurants received an upgrade, including food - far greater choices than I remember before and more trendy food including lobster, tapas, and a carving station. (They always had a carving station, this is just an upgrade in the food space). Lobby is much better - previously, there were giant doors in the lobby and that space was air conditioned. Now the whole lobby is air conditioned. Additionally, they added a Cappucino Bar in the lobby.
The private spaces in this hotel are not an upgrade from before, they are very open. There is a bathtub (whirlpool tub that didn't even work) in the midde of the room and a very small closet with no ventilation for a toilet. It was very bizarre. There are 80 rooms that have a curtain by the bathtub to allow for some privacy, I would certainly ask for one of thoswe rooms.
The hotel management was very visible. They were always asking if everything was ok and the service at the hotel was extraordinary. I would stay again if for no other reason than the service was excellent and was so personalized. They really made it a special trip, there is nothing bad to say about the service in any aspect of the hotel.
The property has a great beach, a beautiful courtyard with fountains (very impressive fountains I might add, wonderful chandliers in the hotel lobby....the beauty of the hotel adds to the ambiance of the hotel and the service.
There are no disco's at this location, it is relatively quiet - if you are looking for a party, you need to go across the street to Riu Tequila. The property seemed to be kid friendly, as I noticed more kids this time than the last time we were there.
We will be back, again! Thanks for a great trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room farther from the lobby if you want to be closer to the beach. There is onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Crnttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,607
    1,195
    315
    127
    82
See reviews for
1,264
2,540
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We just returned from a trip to the Riu Palace Mexico from Feb. 13-18, 2013. We couldn't check into our room when we arrived so the front desk suggested we take a walk around and check out the snack/lunch buffet at Guacamole. It was disappointing to have to wait but we made the best of it. Beautiful grounds kept up nicely. Great pools and beach, although the pools were very separated and it didn't feel very "resort like." It was nice to have different pools for different activities, I guess. The rooms were VERY DISAPPOINTING. I did not like the decor, very bright and way too modern- no traditional Mexican charm. The open concept floor plan of the rooms left NO privacy for changing, etc. which is not ideal for a family. My 12-year old daughter wanted to try out the jetted tub and had to do so in her swim suit. The beds in the Jr. Suite were VERY TINY, not even big enough for my husband and I. My family of 4 had to sleep one person per bed (a roll-away bed was in the room when we arrived, blocking the entrance to the balcony so we had to move it). My son slept on the floor on the couch cushions. Very inconvenient. Great shower but low water pressure. The bathroom/toilet area was gray, dismal and very closed in- no ventilation whatsoever. We called the desk for an extra blanket, which arrived fairly promptly. The food was really disappointing also. The main buffet was average at best, not good for picky teenagers. The reservation procedure was extremely frustrating- they said to come down between 8:30 and 10:30 am to make reservations. My husband was there by 7:45 and was number 42. Overall, an average experience. LOVE Mexico but would absolutely NOT stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Not a great hotel for a family with older children. Get a bigger room if you can with bigger beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Just got back from this resort and would have to rate it as an average resort with a great beach. Front desk people were helpful but the Riu management was not. Our flights were cancelled on our first day so everything got pushed back a day and the Riu management wouldn't let us move our days even though they had vacancies. We ended up paying for the last night and they didn't even offer a discounted rate. Service if fair but have definitely had better at same class of resorts. Bartenders were very good and did an excellent job. Restaurants were okay but then again we have had better at other AI resorts in Mexico.
Due to the managements handling of our room situation we will not stay at Riu resorts anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wysaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just got back from a beautiful week at the Riu Palace Mexico.

The hotel has a modern look that I liked. Overall the hotel is beautiful. Everything is kept extremely clean. The staff were all great!. The hotel isn't a party or loud place, if your looking for a party you can head across the street to the Riu Tequilla (they have a disco).

The Food was pretty good, however our group didn't much enjoy the Mexican a la carte. The a la cartes are very small and get booked up rather quickly. We discovered if you showed up shortly after the reservation time and people didn't show, you could ask to sit at the empty tables assuming there was room.

We had a great server in the lobby bar and for the shows. Nando by far made our trip even better. He kept our drinks topped up and had some great laughs with him. Our entire group thought he was the best. Hats off to Nando for being the best server you could have on a trip!

Downsides:
Humidity in the lower rooms. Our room was located on the lower lever and by the end of the week was horrible. The beds were damp, the clothes in the drawers and closets were soaked, even our passports curled up in the locked safe. We complained on one day and they quickly sent someone down to adjust the air conditioner which helped for only that day.

Jetski's... Stay away from these people on the beach... After 3 couples signed up for 30 minute rides ($65/30min) we were told we would have to wait about 20 minutes... Which is fine... We waited about 45 minutes and they told us they only had 2 machines and the other couple would have to wait another 30 minutes for us to get back.

So the other couple fought to get their money back because we all wanted to go at the same time. While we went out our machine died in the middle of the ocean... After about 5 minutes the one employee came out to see and said he would be right back.... After another 15 minutes of bobbing in the water I finally got it started... We puttered back to shore (barely able to make it) to have the guy say we were gone for the entire time. He refused to give us any refund and finally got him to agree to another 15 minutes the next day. These machines don't work great so safe your self the time and money and get a boogie board for free from the hotel!.


Overall though it was a great week. Not real complaints!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay2vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

we had a wonderful vacation at the tiu palace mexico from feb.2-10....had to stay an extra day because of the snow in new england...the front desk was very accomodating and we stayed in the same rooms for the extra day and even gave us a good rate....we had a funjet vacation through vacations to go...we had no trouble getting out the day after at the same time...the hotel is still beautiful, the people even more friendly and nice, the food still good...the only thing was the bathroom set up....like the old bathroom better....we did spend a day at the riu palace riviera maya at the pool,,,,very nice pool...all in all a wonderful vacation!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We just spent a week at the Riu Palace - what a treat. The flight down and back with Signature/Sunwing far exceeded expectations - pay for the extra leg room if its available - well worth it. The resort itself was absolutely beautiful. We booked the biggest room and were not disappointed - king size bed, separate sitting area, walk in closet, huge jacussi, and large shower. And very clean. Ask for room overlooking courtyard/pool - no rooms with great ocean view as far as we could tell as palm trees obscure view for most part. There was a good sized gym with two treadmills, two elliptically, and a stepper plus some free weights and several weight machines. The meals were impeccable but you can only book restaurants two nights at a time and sittings are either 6:30 pm or 8:30 pm. We went to the Mexican restaurant which was fine but ultimately decided the main dining room (Don Manolo) best suited us as could enjoy a pre-dinner drink outside and then eat outside listening to live music. The buffet was exquisite - tons of choice and constantly refreshed. The beach and pool were also terrific and didn't seem to be the irritating crowd who get up to book the best chaise longues at 6 AM. We always found a good spot on the beach/under palms arriving around 1 PM - and there were lots of chairs on the beach throughout the day. We don't make it a habit of returning to the same hotels but certainly plan to do so next year. Btw, make the effort to walk into Playa del Carmen - it's 15 mins from the hotel. 5th avenue is great for shopping and for little bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Home025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The Facts:
1. We went to Playa Del Carmen from Thursday 31-Jan-2013 (arrived around 12 PM local time at hotel) to Tuesday 04-Feb-2013 (left hotel at 11 AM local time)
2. There were 2 people in our party: me and my girlfriend. We are both adults in our 30's/40's. 3. We stayed at Riu Palace Mexico in a Junior Suite
4. We used pre-arranged transportation to and from Cancun airport

The Good Opinions:
1. Service at the hotel was tremendous. EVERY person we met was helpful, cheerful, friendly and professional.
2. The beach and the proximity to the beach was perfect. The resort had plenty of chairs out at the beach. We could walk from our room, down the main grounds and onto the beach.
3. The food quality was superb and the food choices were excellent. We were never hungry. The food was always prepared correctly. I had more sushi than a hungry bear catching salmon swimming up river.
4. The room size was adequate and always very clean.
5. The bars were great and had a fair selection of drinks. The bartenders worked extremely hard but were always pleasant!

The Not So Good Opinions:
1. The room, while very clean always felt a bit "damp". Even with the air conditioner on, the room had a humid and slightly, musty smell. It wasn't horrible but it was definitely noticeable. That same smell did not exist in the main part of the hotel or restaurants.
2. The privacy in the room was questionable. The main bathtub was in the open in the room. This was okay for me and my girlfriend but I couldn't see this working if I had been traveling with friends or family like siblings, kids o

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,278 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,436 reviews
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,321 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,572 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???L. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing