We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The PERFECT week.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #26 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The PERFECT week.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

4 of us went to Riu Palace Mexico for a week to celebrate a birthday. The weather was perfect so no issue there.

The resort was better than I thought it would be. The open hotel room did not bother me, and the with the ceiling fan on, the temp was just fine. People complain about the must smell but none of our 3 rooms had an issue. But then again, I was never in my room except to sleep.

The resort was clean, clean, clean. I would go to bed at 2 am, be up by 6:00 am, and they would be cleaning the entire resort. All day long people are cleaning.

Food: It was what I expected. Nothing to rave about, but nothing was horrible either. Food was not a driving factor for me, so take my review for what it is. The buffet was just fine and had plenty to choose from. We ate at the Steakhouse, Italian place, Fusion place and Japanese place. My favorite of was the Italian, but we also ate and drank with friends we met down there, so that could have played into the dining experience overall. Nothing negative to say about the food.

Beach: The best part about the trip. There were always plenty of spots for the 4 of us, and the water was crazy gorgeous. There were small waves until the last day when the wind picked up and then waves more like I expected. 4-5 footers you could boogie board on. Joel was always bringing drinks around, but sometimes still had to walk back to the pool bar to get some more often. The vendors (Fake Oakley, fake jewelry, fake cuban cigars) would come by but not bother so no issues there.

Pool: Plenty of pool access and Omar at the pool bar was great. We were never short on drinks and closed the pool bar down everyday. Axle serviced the other pools and he was on top of it as well. Great experience.

Activities: I dominated all of the extra activities offered (Bocci Ball, beach and pool volleyball, shooting, horseshoes, ping pong) Always fun to play against and meet people from all over. There were some options close for snorkeling, wave running, para sailing etc if you are so inclined.

We went to 5th Ave for part of a day, it was worth the time. Don't fall for the, "I'm from your resort, this is my day off, come look at my cousin's jewelry store" bit. Also if you go down there, turn your wristband inside out so they can't tell which resort you are staying at.

They also had a live band pretty much every night in the open courtyard area. Then some sort of show in the theater. We payed little attention to these, but they did look entertaining.

Overall, I would go back to this place in a heartbeat. It was the most relaxed and ease of mind I have been in years.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JSnapp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,609
    1,196
    315
    127
    82
See reviews for
1,265
2,542
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape verde
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 22.4.2014 for 11 nights.

First impression walking through into reception. Wow, fantastic chandelier. We was the only 2 people checking in so it was super fast. We walked to our apartment (127) ground floor. Like other comments there was a musty smell on walking in. But let's face it noone airs the place it's just a mixture of Heat and air con. After leaving the door ajar over night this soon cured that issue.

The room. Looked great on arrival but after inspection the fixtures and fittings looked like they could do with replacing. Still can't get my head around the bath in the middle of the room :0 maid was fantastic full credit to him.

Restaurant buffet. Got quite repetitive at breakfast and dinner. Although Thursday was lobster day that was great. Note to management. Please replace knives in the main buffet totally useless. They couldn't cut butter let alone a piece of beef. The speciality restaurants were fantastic have to say. Mexican and miagi (japanese) being my favourite.

Reception bar was great serving fresh cocktails and branded drinks :)

Grounds.

Grounds were kept immaculate not alot else to say about that. Beautiful.

Pools

Didn't spend any time by the pool always went by that fantastic beach. Still miss it now :(

Overall I don't think you'll be disappointed with this hotel. Bear in mind it's a Riu chain and they all tend to be the same layout and decor. Although someone went a bit berserk with the purple paintbrush. Not everyone's cup of tea but I thought it looked pleasant.

Enjoy. :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank herringhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand junction
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Let me start by saying I am a bargain person. Ideally all inclusive would not be my first choice and it wasn't it was my friends. The grounds are beautiful and it is right on the beach with plenty of lounge chairs there and at the pool. With all inclusive you get buffet food that tastes like buffet food. Every morning you must get up before 8am and go down to a room to sign up for their special dining experiences. If you do not get in line before everyone else you may miss out. If you do you are eating buffet or eating out. I was there 6 nights and never could eat at 3 of the 6 specialty restaurants. The alcohol is tasteless and watered down. Overall i would say not worth the money to do all inclusive here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sindel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Flight with Sunwing was on time and without problems. Arriving at Cancun airport was very confusing. We had a hard time to find a sunwing rep, to tell them that we had a private transfer booked, and would not use the bus.
The transfer was with "USA TRANSFERS". We had to wait about half an hour (in awful heat and humidity) for their vehicle to arrive.(Unacceptable) The fee was $109.00, including the trip back, plus tips. The van was in a poor shape and rattling all over. The transportation for Sunwing was, in comparison, luxury. The trip took 50 minutes.
Upon arrival, checking in was quick and pleasant with a refreshing drink.We had a "junior suite superior", facing the courtyard fountain. (Well worth, the extra money) The room was very modern, bright and clean. The hotel is build in a U shape, with the 2 sides running towards the pool and beach, which are in the back of the property. If you are having problems with walking, I would suggest a ground floor room, since there are only 2 elevators on each side of the lobby. So if you have a room in the middle or at the end of the building, you will have to walk all the way back to the lobby area, to get to the elevator. There are at several parts in the building, where there are stairways down to the courtyard, to go to the beach or pool. (If stairs are no problem) There was NO musty smell in our room, contrary to what some people are saying! The reception personnel was the ultimate of willingness to help us with some personal problems.
No matter where you are in the hotel, the serving personnel were constantly checking if there was anything you would like.(The same around the pool and beach area)

The buffet restaurant was top notch. During the 10 days we were there, we ate something different every day. If you are into the restaurant scene, you can make reservations for a variety of beautiful restaurants. Entertainment in the courtyard, was a lot of fun, with excellent bands.
There was plenty of loungers and shade around the pool. No need to get up early for the towel game and reserve a spot.
Take a taxi to Playa Del Carmen for US $7.00, and do some shopping. But beware! Walking on 5th.Avenue, we felt like a couple of lambs, surrounded by a pack of wolfs,(vendors) ready to attack as soon as you make eye contact! At som point, there will be a young man, standing at a intersection, and asking you if you do not recognize him, because he works in the hotel which you are staying in. (They all look alike) He then takes you to the jewelry store, which his family owns. If you are planning to buy Mexican silver, DON'T! They are very smart. They put a high price on their merchandise, so you would think that this is the real thing. But it is not. It is (Silver?) plated copper.

Now about "Sunwing." The Sunwing rep was missing most of the time. When checking out, the reception told us that the plane was delayed by 4 hours. To make sure, we checked again later on and were told that it was delayed another 2 hours. After that, more delay. Instead of arriving at 7:35 PM in Toronto, it was 1:40 AM. No explanation, no apology! We should have listened to the warnings from travelers about SUNWING!

Anyway, beside that, we highly recommend the RIU PALCE MEXICO!!!!

Room Tip: All beautiful rooms! Noise from the entertainment is gone by 11:00 PM. If you like to spend some ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Pros:
* GREAT, friendly staff - no excpetions (Aida at front desk was especially great)
* Excellent food: Buffets were especially good. Great variety and everything was fresh. Specialty restaurants weren't so special.
* Beautiful grounds, very spacious resort and never felt crowded anywhere
* Felt safe - security everywhere
* Nice crowd at hotel - no riff raff
* Very clean resort - spotless

Con:
* One con but it is a big one and probably would be a reason I would never go back - room had a very strong musty smell. I have mold allergies and at night I literally felt like I was suffocating. It is dangerous to be surrounded by and breathing that much mold. My luggage and clothes still all have a moldy, musty smell that I can't get rid of. Not good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KurtBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our trip was for our senior in high school daughters' spring break. April 19-24, 2014. Upon arriving, we were warmly welcomed by Aida. She was friendly, informative and answered all of our questions. The resort is beautifully decorated and on a wonderful wide beach. Our room was very clean with a nice balcony. We quickly learned our way around the resort and took part in the entertainment activities. Francisco, Enrique, Angelina and Carolina were always entertaining us with water aerobics, salsa dancing, casino night and more. Their energy was contagious! The beach is wide and shaded with palm trees. The water was beautiful and free of rocks that can be found in this area. Lunch was served daily on the beach. Julio was always walking the beach with his tray of drinks for the guests. The gathering place in the evening was so much fun. Nando was a great bar captain and served us well! They had a band every evening along with activities such as casino night, Las Vegas night, Mexican night and an amazing acrobat show. Noella, another bar captain, was so friendly both in this evening area and at the pool bar. We loved the happiness of Angelus while she was serving drinks at top speed and a huge smile. The buffets had so many choices and were really good food. The 'served' restaurants were good but gave you too much food. We had a wonderful time and will return. The staff were all amazing and a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited this hotel last year when we stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya and we liked it so much we booked it when we got home. Based on some of the reviews we up graded to a suite which was well worth the money. We chose to add the up grade to our booking to make sure we got what we wanted. The room was huge with floor to ceiling windows along 2 sides. The balcony ran the whole length of the room which had 3 huge windows. The toilet had a door and was very large, the bathroom is open plan like the junior suites, we had no problem with this. I agree that there should be some ventilation for the bathroom but we just put the a/c on or opened the patio door which had a bug screen. The shower was huge and had shelves away from the water which was brilliant. The cleanliness was first class and we had a turn down service every night. There was plenty of storage space and a huge TV on a chest of drawers at the end of the bed and this could be turned around so you could watch it from the sofa, there was also a table and two chairs alongside the fridge which was kept fully stocked. There was always plenty of fluffy towels and toiletries. The view was over the fountains and we had the sun pretty much all day. The beach bar was brilliant and the view magnificent over looking the beach. The beach was lovely and we went there every day. We are not really pool people as why would you sit around a pool and miss the wonderful views of the beach and ocean. The lunch buffet was very good as was the dinner buffet. We never bothered with any of the other restaurants as there is so much choice on the buffet we never got bored with it. A tip for wine drinkers, go to the 24/7 lounge where you will find all the wines on offer, (self service) try them and then you can ask for what you like best. We found a couple of very drinkable wines this way. In the evenings there is generally a band which we enjoyed but the entertainment is not great although we did watch the Mariachi band with dancing which was good. There is a very good coffee bar called Cappuccino which was excellent. You cannot fail to be impressed with the level of service from all the staff at this hotel. We walked to Playa del Carmen a couple of times along the beach for shopping and you can catch the ferry to Cozumel if you wish. As we have visited this area of Mexico many times we did not do any excursions and just kicked back and enjoyed this lovely resort and brilliant service, cannot recommend highly enough. The only downside for us coming back is Cancun airport, absolutely awful place and they have the nerve to charge you over £40 when you leave! This country really needs to get their airport sorted out, be prepared for a long wait at immigration as all the flights arrive together, then you have to drag your luggage through X-Ray (why)? Then run the gauntlet of immigration with a traffic light system, pray for a green light! And then the madness of getting through arrivals and onto your transport. Be aware there are a lot of porters who will practically rip your bags out of your hands for a fee! Will this experience prevent us going back, probably not, but just be aware. We flew in premium cabin on the Dreamliner with Thomson Airways and it was fabulous.

Room Tip: Up grade to a suite, it is so worth the money, huge room and wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,278 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,324 reviews
12.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???L. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, RIU Hotels and Resorts and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing