We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome girls vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Totally awesome girls vacation!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were greeted with smiles and drinks! We did not like the view of our room and the we were gladly moved. All the staff were so clean cut, well groomed, and so welcoming! The food was pretty good, lots of selection. I liked all the fresh fruit and the juices. Did I mention the alcohol dispenser? Too cool and by the way, we went through a bottle of Brandy in the room alone! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Room service was included, shows nightly, and a swim up bar. Lots of beach lounging area including hammock.

Many reviews I read talked about a mildew smell, we never smelt it. We noticed the cleaning staff were using vinegar to clean the floors. The property in general was very clean!

When we checked out at 12pm we got a massage and still was invited to eat and drink until the shuttle came for us. Very hospitable!!

Close to the ferry to Cozumel and lots of the parks like Xcaret! and Xplore!

Room Tip: Some rooms with a view are extra, but there are rooms that have an okay view without the price. Be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deirdre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,692
    1,214
    326
    130
    84
See reviews for
1,298
2,603
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Firstly we would rate this as 5 star plus.
This review will be split into separate parts.
The first part is about the hotel
The second part is out and about and some handy tips
Part 1.
This was our first time to a riu palace hotel
and we can now see why they are called palaces.
The decor is very modern with lots of purple, but very well styled.
The rooms are a good size with plenty of space, if possible request a courtyard facing room. There are even optics in the rooms as well as a fridge that gets restocked daily with beers, water and soft drinks.
The grounds are very well cared for and the staff are always friendly, it was the attention to detail that impressed us the most, they are always cleaning even mopping up if there has been a rain shower.
The main buffet restaurant has a bewildering choice of different foods available to catering for multi-national people who are staying in the hotel, it gives you a good opportunity to try different foods.
They also have a selection of speciality Restaurants
we tried some of these la bogoda and la dolce vita were our favourites.
Some of the extra touches that impressed us the most, they have a bar area which most evenings has an excellent pianist, you can have cocktails and they even have a martini bar the waiters continually come round and ask you if you would like another drink, close by is the capucchino bar where you can get liquor coffees, latte's, milkshake's and a wonderful selection of little cakes, chocolate covered strawberries, and at lunch time a selection of sandwiches.
Being in the Palace enables you to use the facilities of the other hotels in the area so its nice to have drink and lunch in one of the other hotels.
The entertainment was better than average. During the day there are activities that you can get involved with or not its up to you. There is often live music which is very good we also saw a very good magical act.
Part 2.
There are mosquitoes (as in any humid country) so bring a good deterrent with you.
Be careful with the salt and pepper it is opposite to what we use in the uk.
We used the taxis and the local bus's to get to the Cancun hotels to use their facilities (its a bit daunting but it can be done). (ask if you require details)
There are a few shops close by, the main ones are in Playa Del Carmen these are about 35 mins walk away or 70 pesos in a taxi(approximately £3.50)
Some of the shops have prices in dollars some are in pesos and some have even euros so it can get a little confusing! there are 2 main shopping malls one at the start of Playa del Carmen the other one 3/4 of the way down fifth Ave. There is also a large wal mart at calle8/ave30
We really enjoyed our holiday and our stay at the riu palace made it extra special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mrbnetherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ont.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

my wife and I stayed here with two other couples for a week away. We chose the hotel based on Trip zdvisor recommendations. It was a toss up whether we stayed here or another Tiu hotel with an equal rating a few hotels down the beach. We chose this hotel and loved it. I have never had such great service from all staff members at a hotel. Right from check in with "Ida" we knew we had made a good choice. The hotel has a more modern theme than I personally like but I could not find a fault with anything. The location is fantastic with a 15 minute walk along the beach to downtown Playa Del Carmen. The beach is a 10. Beautiful white sand with not stones or corral to injure your feet. We did check out the sister Riu hotels in the area and did find one other Riu that had high standards like this location, Riu Palace Riviera Maya. This was the other hotel that we were contemplating and fou.d it to have the same high standards. I think we will choose this other hotel next time only based on the decor - more Mexican feel and not the modern look.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have been in this hotel from 26/5 till 02/06 and it was my first time in Riu and also in Mexico and i have to say it was simply amazing! The best thing about this place is the beach, is like being in paradise. So if you like to stay on the beach this is the place for you definitelly.
Hotel is huge and the quality is really high. We loved our room, we didnt have any upgrades,regular room on the ground floor, closer to the beach. Me and my boyfriend we didnt mind the open bathroom idea. Was something different and i actually liked it when i got used to it. Of course if you travel with somebody you dont have confidence with, can be the issue. Room was well equiped, you could find there everything what you needed. I have to mention the super big bed which i loved. There can be the issue with the beds cause lot of rooms have two beds put together so i requested in advance to have one king size bed and we had it. Only thing what i minded in the room was the humidity. After reading reviews on this page i was quite worried about the musty smell and at the end it wasnt such a big deal. Me personally im not a fan of air condition so we never had it in room a long time on. The thing is if you turn off aircondition there is comming the musty smell and humidity, even the bed sheets got wet a little! But of course this is the Caribien thing and its not the fault of the hotel. My advice would be keep your aircondition on all the time and no musty smell. No need to complain.

Food. I have to admit im quite a difficult eater. i loved breakfast cause there is a planty of choice for everybody. Lunch we had always in the restaurant, although you can choose to eat BBQ on the beach. Lunch buffet was ok, but nothing special. For dinner you can go or to buffet restaurant or choose other 5 restaurants which you have to book in advance. Here i dont understand complains from the people. You can book restaurants from the early morning until breakfast finishes so there is a plenty of time to come there and reserve restaurant. Complains about early waking up because of reservations are silly. We always came there to reserve restaurant after 9.30 and there was always still place in each restaurant. We have tried 3. Italian one, which was the best one. Very nice food! Than we have tried Japanese. Well here it wasnt anything special. I love sushi but this sushi wasnt the best quality. Was still nice, but not as expected. And last restaurant what we have tried was mexican. And here we got dissapointed. We wanted to try mexican food but it was the same like in a buffet. You could have a fajitas and some more. Nothing special. But off course you can always find something what you like.
The staff is all amazing. Dont forget to go to have a coffe to a coffe bar, much more better coffe than in restaurant. We didnt see a lot of animation in the night. But it seemed good. The entertainers were very visible and if you wanted to do something you could find some activity what you like.
Safety in hotel is no issue. the resort is in a private area so you dont need to be afraid. Few nights we went to Playa del Carmen, and there is a plenty of bars and very good night life if you are looking for some party time. We always went with taxi (70-90 pesos). Pity was that last 2 days was raining all the time, i guess the rainy season over there starts now.
To sum it up, it was perfect holiday in perfect resort, with no big issues to be worried about. I would definitelly come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laur1tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned from our first trip to Riu Palace Mexico! We spent 6 days there from June 7-12. We are already planning our next trip back there. The service was excellent. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They are very hard-working and go out of their way to make sure your every need is met.
The entertainment staff was terrific. Paola, Francisco and Enrique were the absolute best! They made our vacation truly memorable.
Manuel was one of the best members of the wait staff and everyone always greeted us with a smile and asked how we were doing.
I would recommend this resort without hesitation! We met people from all over the world and made many new friends. We cannot wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have read previous reviews for this hotel and all I can say is some people will moan about anything. If there were any issues with this hotel they were tiny!!
I booked this hotel to celebrate my 50th Birthday and contacted them to arrange a quiet room on a high floor as we had 10 year old with us and we all enjoy our sleep and this was provided.

The Rooms - Okay it is an unusual design for a bath dividing the sinks and the beds but it was no issue. Especially when I realised I could catch up on the news while drinking a rum in the bath (Win, Win). The rooms are well equipped with very comfortable beds enough space for the 3 of us. Full bar available in the room and ice machines on each floor.

The main buffet restaurant had more than enough choice to keep anyone happy at breakfast and the evening meal. Obviously if you have everything at every sitting it will feel repetitive!! The quality was of the highest standards and included lobster on some nights and a selection of fish through the week. The salad bar was constantly refreshed, choice of cheese each day, fresh breads and delicious cakes. No complaints

At lunch you can eat in either the beachside restaurant which was also of the highest quality or there was a cooking stations on the beach each day offering burgers, hotdogs, pizza etc in case you could not tear yourself away from an immaculate beach.

There were 5 other restaurants you could book as often as you wished and I never had an issue booking them.
The Italian - The best of the lot ( The lasagne and the beef in Borolo where my favourites)
Krystal - a fusion of different foods (The Red Snapper and Beef are to die for)
Myagi - The Japanese, another great restaurant with sushi and vrious oriental dishes
The Steakhouse - The Steak and Lobster where superb (Credit to Ana for the service here)
The Mexican - Not my favourite but still a good standard

I must say that the service received at all of the restaurant was the best I have received anywhere. Nothing was ever too much trouble.

The only issue I had at this hotel was during a downpour when a flood appeared near the balcony but it was not spotted by us. The maid had spotted it and the first we knew was when they left us a note under the door offering to move us to another room with an upgrade due to the inconvenience as it could not be repaired until the rain stopped. We declined the offer purely because we liked the room we were in so they cleaned up the water and laid towels down and sure enough as soon as the rain stopped they were there to fix the problem - Great service (without being asked)

The pools were not the biggest but big enough due to the fact most people went to the beach, however there were always sunbeds available both at the pool and at the beach.

With booking this hotel you could visit the other 5 Riu hotels located within a short walk which was great for a change of scenery. We often had our evening then went to another Riu for a few drinks or popped in for refreshments while walking to and from Playa del Carmen.

There are not many hotels that I would go back to (like the variety) but this one I definitely would. Great Food, impeccable service and the friendliest staff I have experienced.

One final note - We booked this through Thomson Holiday and I must commend the onsite rep (Ami) who despite her short time in Mexico and her young age offered great advice around things to do, places to see, what to avoid, what this hotel and the others had to offer. Thanks Ami you made the trip even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if possible. We were in room 2023 that faced the hotel next door (trees in bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Kevster5664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jones, OK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

WE have made our vacation plans for this October, 2014 AND 2015 at the Riu Palace Mexico. October, 2014, we are treating my brother and sister-in-law. October, 2015, we are treating our granddaughter and her best friend as a high school graduation gift. Why? Because of the fantastic accommodations, the wonderful wait staff and knowing that there will be no unexpected 'surprises'. Yes, we could go anywhere for vacation but I don't like 'surprises'. I know that the money spent is more than worth it going to Riu Palace Mexico. Manuel greets us at the door and tells us 'Welcome Home'. WE request the same room each time we visit. We have gotten to know our room staff personally. Likewise, with the staff for the daily meals. We know the work staff interacts with millions of guests each year. But, when they remember you and are excited to see you year after year, it is like seeing family again. We treated our daughter and son-in-law last October. Guess who has booked a trip this October at the Riu Palace Mexico? My son-in-law said they won't be disappointed because they know what is waiting for them!!! Thank you everyone at Riu Palace Mexico. You work hard to make our stay memorable. From the chefs, the front desk personnel, the Piano Bar servers, the activity staff, the show staff, the entrance gate personnel, the beach servers, the workers who are on the job when the majority of the guests are still sleeping in the wee hours of the morning....you are the reason we come back year after year. Bill & Maryann Campbell

Room Tip: We have visited Riu Palace Mexico 9 times since 2009. We have had rooms on each level and on both s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mlcampbellokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
22.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,937 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing