We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #29 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 13 July 2014

just back from 2 weeks at riu palace what a fantastic hotel. cannot fault anything or anyone.food was great rooms amazing staff brilliant would recommend it. hopefully going back next year.right on the beach which was beautiful. staff cannot do enough for you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,526 - 1,532 of 5,647 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I spent the first week of July here. We have visited this area over a dozen times and usually stay at Riu's. Upon checking in our front desk clerk did not offer us the usual welcome drink while others around us were getting theirs. While not a huge deal, a refreshing drink would have been appreciated. When getting into our room, it was clean and cool. The open concept wasn't a problem. We quickly got lunch and headed to the be each. The beach is one of the main reasons we pick this area. The water and the beach are so clean it's hard to beat. Having been to many Riu's this buffet was top notch. Why go to the speciality restaurants and be on a schedule? We did visit the steak house one night. Side note-don't visit on the same night Mexico loses their World Cup game. Ha! The staff was visibly sad.

Overall, the food was great, many option for everyone. Every evening a different drink was featured outside the buffet, by the plaza. In the evening on some nights they had bands playing and cocktails served. The staff/servers were so hard working to keep every body happy. It was fantastic!

I would recommend this resort to anybody looking for a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Gecko911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went with family here during the first week in July had a really good time. Staff was always cleaning keeping the grounds beautiful. I was very impressed with the food it was very good Frank in the buffet was always so helping and pleasant! Beach was beautiful and pools were nice wish they would have been cooler the water was very warm. Nando was a great server always recommending great drinks and excellent service! The rooms were nice I liked the open concept. I enjoyed the special drinks every night in the outdoor terrace area especially the fire tequila shot! My only complaint would be the activities staff made my sister and I uncomfortable with the over flirtatious talk and spotting us out wherever we were not very professional. Other than that the stay went well and our family had a good time.

Room Tip: If you do not like walking try to get a room closer to the beach as we were very close to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goofball15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This resort was a great little getaway for 5 nights of fun in the sun. We felt our stay was not too long but not too short. Here are the highlights:

Room-Air conditioning worked great. Fridge stocked daily with water, soda and beer. Liquor cabinet with 4 liquors to choose from. Bed was firm and sheets were on the scratchy side. Toiletries were of good quality. Room was spotless and always clean. Free Wi-Fi. Only negative was that the alarm clock did not have a built in I-pod docking station.

Pools-The swim-up bar pool was both warm and dirty. The filtration system did not work properly and we saw scum and gunk in the pool every day. That was unfortunate since we prefer to hang out at this pool. The 3 other pools were clean though. The children’s pool was empty as kids hung out in the other 3 pools instead. The saunas were only accessible thru the spa and both saunas were hot. Bathrooms for both the pool and beach were located at the steakhouse restaurant and they were smelly. Riu should really consider adding more bathrooms by the pools.

Dining-Be sure to get your name on a list if you want to eat at any of the restaurants besides the buffet. We didn't have a problem since we always got to the theater before 8 am to get a reservation. We loved the Mexican restaurant for both dinner and lunch. Jazmin was the best taco maker. The Japanese restaurant was good but it was very small (approx. 20 tables). The steakhouse was a solid choice. Our least favorite was the Italian. Our dinner was spoiled by a large children's table overrunning the restaurant. Not romantic in the very least.Breakfast had a good selection and variety of food. The 24 hour lounge was very disappointing. The Bar Cubano lobby bar area smelled like rotten eggs, probably since the tap lines were not sanitized properly. They did make good martinis though.

Beverages-Only 1 type of beer. Dos Equis lager and Dos Equis amber. This was disappointing as other palace properties also serve Bohemia beer. We got tired of Dos Equis after a day. They did have a large selection of hard liquors though. The red wine was undrinkable.

Sports/Activities-They offer catamarans for free but only if you know how to operate them. Otherwise, it costs $55/hr for 2 people with an instructor. We were bummed about that. The activities staff were very engaging. We enjoyed bingo, dancing lessons and darts. Others played volleyball in the pool and sand.

Entertainment-the nightly shows in the theater were awful, worse than a cruise ship. The piano player in the lobby was fantastic but he did not play on Saturday or Sunday.

We were a bit surprised that the vast majority of the guests were Europeans and very few Americans and Canadians. About one third (or more) of the guests were families. Be sure to tip the staff as they do a great job. We rarely saw anyone tip throughout our stay. The beach was a nice stretch and plenty of loungers for everyone. Overall, we had a good vacation. The property was very clean (besides the swim-up bar) and the staff was super friendly. A special thanks to Jeronimo, Francisco, Omar, and Axel at Los Mariachis and Miklos at check-in. Would we stay here again? Not sure. We would like to check out adults-only all-inclusives in the area instead.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank EscapeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Iasi, Romania
25
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I have been to a lot of All Inclusive hotels in Turkey,Dominican Republic,Tenerife,Greece etc.But this one was the best.The hotel looks amaizing.the food is good and the Mexican and Fusion Restaurants A la Carte are great.The best thing about this hotel is the services part.I dont know how they do it but they are the best.If you sit o a chair at a bar it doesnt take more that 30 sec to a waiter to come to you and take your order.its fabuloss.They smile all the time and are very friendly inspite the fact that they work hard.Comparing to other services from another contry All inclussive Hotels they are the best(for example if i compare with turkey that everyone sais that there you can find the best servicies its not true).Bravo Riu.you are the best at services.Maybe just a little improvement to the food part(witch is good now but it would be place for better).In this winter i want to go again to this hotel becase its real good

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed our six nights here spending the days by the pool and on the beach. Service has been excellent, food has been good as well. We never made a reservation to any of the specialty restaurants as we did not wAnt to be on a timeline. The beach was fantastic with plenty of ocean front. I would recommend an inside courtyard bottom floor room. We were in room 148. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 148 is bottom floor, close to main restaurant and you can sit on patio and see fountains and ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jvhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I'm really late in writing this review! I stayed at the Riu Palace for one week in May. The resort is beautiful, clean and modern. The beach is gorgeous, the food was fantastic and the staff were amazing! However, I don't think I would go back (but I rarely ever go back to the same resort)
My biggest problem with this resort is that there are no washrooms near the beach. The closest washroom was at the restaurant by the pool and around the back...a very long way from the beach! There was also no beach bar. I think a resort of this size should definitely have a beach bar (with a restroom attached!) This resort has a lovely bar in the front lobby which is air conditioned however there was no outside bar, other then the pool bar. The outdoor patio has lots of tables and seating with many waiters and waitresses to take your drink orders but I think a bar would have been nice for the social aspect. The Riu Tequila across the street has a wonderful outdoor bar and was a great meeting place for those staying at that hotel. I stayed there a few years ago with my family. I actually prefer that resort over the Riu Palace but it is located across the road from the beach. I would always choose beachfront over "across the road."
Still, it was a wonderful vacation but the resort needs to make a few changes...mostly, closer washrooms to the beach!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank kellywkellyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,887 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £199 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing